6th August 2010, 10:43 PM
niks1912

How much time one should devote for GATE preparation?

hi i m nitin. i've completed my Btech dis year only ...........i would like to appear for next GATE exam ..........i am appearing for GATE for d first time. Is it possible to clear GATE after Btech? or is dis my wrong decision to prepare for GATE too late?...as evry1 says dat its gud to prepare for it from 3rd year.....
so i really need a help and suggestion regarding preparation for GATE exam.....I've also applied for a postal study course for its preparation..

7th August 2010, 08:16 AM
khusi

Default Re: How much time one should devote for GATE preparation?

there is nothing wrong in preparing for gate now,
you have to do hard work and be really strong in the basics,
try to practice as many problems as possible,
7th August 2010, 09:07 AM
satyavani

you should join some coaching institute like ace academy,there you will have the right environment for your preparation
7th August 2010, 02:52 PM
adityabhushan

dear,
time to prepare for gate is enough 6 month.
yes you are right that its good to start in 3rd year,.
but now too you have enough time.so be ready.
with best wishes.
aditya
7th August 2010, 05:39 PM
August

Thumbs up Re: How much time one should devote for GATE preparation?

to score good in GATE time is not important the important thing is your hard work, concept and practice.

as u have done b.tech then u can apply for GATE . study from now on wards very smartly. practice objective questions a lot.

1 year is a good time to prepare well for the examination.

for good result u can join a coaching center as well.

7th August 2010, 05:55 PM
rohit_k

your b.tech have been completed so you can starting preparation for gate for one year with also join coaching class .because classes is best option for you.
7th August 2010, 06:21 PM
sparkle

Hi Nitin,

You are absolutely correct in your decision. Just do your study the best way you can.

You are not too late for appearing at GATE. Yes,one can appear in GATE from 3rd year,but he/she should give enough time to be well prepared for the exam.

Without preparation how much one can expect from an exam where there is so much competition!

As you have completed your B.Tech you can totally devote yourself to the preparation of GATE.

It is good to know that you have already ordered for postal correspondence study materials.

Also look for study materials online and the previous year question papers. Get started to practice with them keeping the time factor in mind.

Here are some sites where you can get online study materials:

www.onestopgate.com,
www.gateforum.com

so prepare well ...wish you best of luck!
7th August 2010, 07:35 PM
rohitkumarramesh

As you also know for any exam earlier preparation must be required if you want to score best in that particular exam.
Since GATE is one of the exam in which you need attention at the starting of your graduation. But don't worry you are not to late . If you are well in your academics and all the concepts are clear to you then you are not too late for this exam.
Just do one thing devote your time more on this so that you can recover your time easily.
GOOD LUCK
7th August 2010, 08:38 PM
Sathishkannan

Main thing for the GATE exam is you should be thorough of basic concepts so start prepare from the begining itself and daily preparation is must.
8th August 2010, 10:44 PM
bholag

To Qualify in GATE exam it will be enough if you devote
at least 3-4 hours daily for it but you have to go
through deep study and your basic concept
must be cleared .
You have to workhard or
you can join coaching classes like GATEforum
which provide study materials and gives tricks to solve the problem.
8th August 2010, 11:51 PM
niks1912

thanx every 1 for ur suggestions.....ur suggestions has greatly boosted my confidence......
i hav one more querry.........as i'll b appearing for GATE 2011 i.e exactly in 6 months from now.....so how much time shall i devote each day? is it possible to cover complete syllabus during dis time? How should i plan my revision of each topic..I am from electronics & Communication branch???.....plz help.... Nitin
9th August 2010, 12:58 AM
prashantmeghalia

Talking Re: How much time one should devote for GATE preparation?

Originally Posted by niks1912 View Post
hi i m nitin. i've completed my Btech dis year only ...........i would like to appear for next GATE exam ..........i am appearing for GATE for d first time. Is it possible to clear GATE after Btech? or is dis my wrong decision to prepare for GATE too late?...as evry1 says dat its gud to prepare for it from 3rd year.....
so i really need a help and suggestion regarding preparation for GATE exam.....I've also applied for a postal study course for its preparation..
you can start preparing for gate exam from now onwards. it doesn,t matter when you have started your preparation. you must prepare well. if you are not good in studies in btech then you can take coaching as well. otherwise just improve your basics, emphasize on numericals and you will get good marks.
9th August 2010, 03:07 AM
Sushant Roy

No , you took a right decision but i would like to say you that either you join an coaching institute for gate preparation or join a test series atleast.
This would obviosly helps you. You need not to devote much time for it . Daily practise of five hours is more than sufficient from now.
Gate exam demands not only coverage but also thorough study in subject.
9th August 2010, 03:13 PM

It depends on the individual how much quality time he can spend for preparation. Solve previous years question papers. Make a list of formulae for ready reference. Contact the persons who have appeared for GATE. Appear for the test series. Ensure that your basics are clear. If you are doing graduation you can start preparing from the third year of graduation.
22nd August 2010, 07:16 AM

dear friends.

you have to do hard work and be really strong in the basics,just improve your basics,

emphasize on numerical and you will get good marks.try to practice as many problems as

possible,you join an coaching institute for gate preparation or join a test series at least.

This would obviously helps you.
24th August 2010, 02:56 PM
robart

yes, you can starts preparation right now. it is not too late.

as far as the time for GATE preparation is concerned then it depends on the personal stamina.

you can prepare according to your interest.some students study for 12 hours.some study even for 5 hours.

but main thing is to grasp the things.also study with some recreation will be better.
30th August 2010, 02:34 PM
rajesh gupta 1

Hi friend;

As you have completed your B.Tech . And you would like to appear

for next GATE exam. It is very good decision. Keep in mind that

only three to four moth serious study is sufficient.
31st August 2010, 02:55 AM
Saikiran M

Dear friend.

You are really too late. You will have to spend one year now to write GATE.
But one thing, Scoring high in GATE will shine you career like anything. Trust me.
So I will strongly recommend to appear for GATE

Few things about GATE...
* GATE = Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (stated as people seldom know this)
* GATE is conduted on 2nd sunday of February every Year.
* It gives you access to M.Tech in IISc's, IITs, NIT's & many Other Universities.

You have few benefits in writing GATE now...

1. you can prepare exclusively for GATE alloting more time in a day.
2. You could learn things faster as the subjects in GATE are the same what you have
studied in BTech.

So Forget everything and prepare for GATE.
Good Luck.

MASK
31st August 2010, 09:09 AM

it is not essential to take GATE coaching class to crack the GATE exam.if you prepare your self seriously, then you can easily crack the gate exam.

but for better preparation you may take coacking classes.

some of good coaching institutes are given below

1.gate forum.

2.ellite.

3.guidance.

all the best........
31st August 2010, 10:12 AM
cenaetion

it is totally upon you, that how much potential you have ... you can devote at least 5 hours for GATE preparation..

it is good to take preparation for GATE from 3rd year..

GATE is a tough exam , but not impossible... if work hard then you will surely can crack GATE..

so. study seriously, try to make the basic concept clear, solve many problems from competitive exam books..

all the best..
31st August 2010, 10:46 AM
princearyan

devoting the time for the gate exams is not only a way to get the success.

matter how you utilize that time,

how make you goal plan,

so concentrate on your study.
31st August 2010, 11:23 AM
kool

As every one tell that the preparation for GATE should be started from 3rd year is absolutely right,
because most of the syllabus of GATE has been finished in 3rd year & also GATE score card is valid for two years , So that a student after getting success in GATE during 3rd year can easily take admission in M.tech as per his/her GATE score.

Now you are in 4th year & you are not late , then you have also a time to take well preparation of GATE for next year.

31st August 2010, 05:10 PM
poplu13

if you are preparing for GATE ....then time table is most important....you have to plan your schedule....three hours of sincere study everyday....is very important...atleast for 6 months...
31st August 2010, 06:03 PM
subhash5687

here are some sites where you can get online study materials:

www.onestopgate.com,
www.gateforum.com
best of luck dear
31st August 2010, 06:04 PM
subhash5687

apply these things you will win
To Qualify in GATE exam it will be enough if you devote
at least 3-4 hours daily for it but you have to go
through deep study and your basic concept
must be cleared .
You have to workhard or
you can join coaching classes like GATEforum
which provide study materials and gives tricks to solve the problem
1st September 2010, 12:38 AM
princearyan

good decision friend i think 3 months are enough .....\
you prepare through out your basics ...'
it is tough exam .......
so take help of gate forum materials
good luck..
1st September 2010, 03:35 PM
miss kiran

it's good time for prepration for Gate exam b'cause you have completed your b.tech . and also the syllbus of Gate and NTPC exam is almost same so you can also apply for that . you can take the help of made easy notes.
you have enough time to crack the gate exam.
1st September 2010, 08:38 PM
avinash kr.

about one year for preparation for the GATE examination. thanking you, best oof luck
2nd September 2010, 12:03 AM
tina toms

its never late for studying anything...to get through in GATE exam you have to give your best..you have to devote a great amount of time..also this year the GATE question pattern has been changed very well..please go through..now its 55 questions of 100 marks..
3rd September 2010, 07:55 PM

i m sumit kumar B.tech 3rd yr from electrical branch which path is best for life.jobs or gate.
13th September 2010, 03:21 PM
Sushant Roy

Time devotion is totally upto to you, however since you are preparing only for GATE examination, it is better that you spend atleast 5 hours on GATE. GATE is not a much competitive and hard exam that can not be beaten. It an exam based upon fundamental formulae and concepts. Try to solve last year papers and revive basic concept from them.
Aptitutde is also there but you dont have to worry for that since the question in aptitude is also of basic type.

I have two different year paper for that . Try to practise on that.
File Type: pdf ec2006.pdf(766.3 KB, 229 views)
File Type: pdf ec2001.pdf(788.9 KB, 177 views)
18th October 2010, 08:11 PM

I'm in final year of B.Tech and i already appeared for GATE in my pre-final year. Can i appear for GATE thrice i.e this year and the next time too f i don't get a proper score this year?
28th October 2010, 01:51 PM
ram2587

i compleied my B.E just now can i prepare gate in 3 months because i did an extra course of 2 months after my be result and then i decided to prepare a gate and now i have only 3 months maximum and how much time i will have to spend per day for preparing a gate exam
30th October 2010, 11:08 AM

compleied my B.E just now can i prepare gate in 3 months because i did an extra course of 2 months after my be result and then i decided to prepare a gate and now i have only 3 months maximum and how much time i will have to spend per day for preparing a gate exam
12th November 2010, 02:35 AM
Gaurav.jain88

If you have decent knowledge then Two and half month are good to prepare for gate and can score very good score.
But if you are very weak in technical then 5 month are more then enough for you to clear gate.
15th November 2010, 09:46 PM
malini k

You can prepare for GATE even though you have completed your course
Since you completed the course ,you will have the concepts of each and every topic in the GATE exam syllabus
So you can easily crack the GATE exam by just giving little effort to build up your basic knowledge to strong one
Its very good that you have joined the postal study course,
Practice the previous year's papers and try to make good confidence
Try hard ,then you can get good score in that
Good luck friend
24th November 2010, 09:20 PM

hi frns..m in last year of MCA n aspiring to take GATE(CS) 2012 . can u pls guide me hw to strt prparing .. wat things to b kept in mind..
24th November 2010, 09:52 PM

is it the right decision to go for gate coahing in the 2nd b.tech? as there is 2 years expiry time for the rank , i ant to appear for gate in the 3rd year?
1st December 2010, 07:21 PM
neethubobby

hey hi
its not the matter of time.it solely depends on how much you know and how much more should you learn.
thats more important and based on that you can decide the amount of time you would need to complete your studies.
23rd January 2011, 01:38 AM

I Dont Have strong knowledge on Subjets like Analog Electronics,Digital Electronics,Microprocessor etc? How much time I will need for GATE preparation?
How preparation can be done? What are the steps to be taken?I am giving the GATE after three years of experience in company.I passed out in 2007.
I want stability and working conditions of the Company are not good.Is it is the right time?
23rd January 2011, 02:04 AM
souvikchakraborty2011

I Dont have Knowledge On Digital Electronics,Analog Electronics ,Microprocessor.
I want to Appear for GATE-2012.How much time will be required for preparation?
What are the steps to be followed?I am currently working in a company and wants stability.The working conditions are not great there. I have passed in 2007. Is the decision right?
Upto how much age GATE can be give
Please guide
Thanking You
Yours Fatihfully
Souvik Chakraborty
MOB:09858624857
29th January 2011, 06:04 AM
lvnareshsunrise

Yes, you have a taken a right decision, but it is little bit late. You have realized the importance of GATE a bit later. It could have been better for you if You had attempted the GATE last time.

Anyway no problem. You attempt the GATE the next time. Meanwhile collect all weapons which are required for GATE exam in the form subject knowledge and good preparation with practice and attempt the exam well.

Now, you have completed your B.Tech. So, so much free time for you. Spend much of the time in preparing for GATE exam and practice previous papers and if you are not able to prepare on your own, join in some reputed coaching institute.

As per the time, one can not specify the exact time required to prepare for the GATE exam. It varies from one to another depending upon their time allocation for preparation in a day, and the fastness in understanding the studied aspects and some other parameters. At an average, 4-8 months will be more than enough to prepare for GATE exam
11th February 2011, 09:19 PM
shiraj

Good to know that you are appearing for GATE exam.Yes it is possible to clear it.You need to have faith in your self that you can do it and you will be able to do.Nothing is impossible.Don.t panic and take your own time to prepare for this exam.Don't worry.You can refer to books like R.S.Agrawal and NCERT for the preparation.You can make it through.You can even join coaching centers for it.
2nd April 2011, 05:12 PM
Revathy GM

Dear Friend

Cover all technical subjects in your department. learn formulas, short hints, circuits, probability . Revise what you learn . Learn aptitude, Some english portions( Synonyms, antonyms)
Learn at least one hour daily with dedication

4th April 2011, 08:19 PM
chiranjeev90

hii,
a smart thinker can easily get through GATE exam if he/ she is strongly determined to pursue his/her higher education in MTECH.
daily u have to devotee 2-3 hours for ur GATE preparation to get more than CUT-OFF marks in GATE exam.
basic tips:-
1)focus on the subjects u are good at.
2)be conceptually strong
3)try solving as many questions as u can.

refer good books like
kanodia,gk publication for previous year questions

27th April 2011, 09:40 AM
zeeshan87

hii, you need to dedicate 6 hours for 6 months,

solve all papers and concepsts well and take up the mock exams, prepare well you will crack best of luck.
20th May 2011, 11:19 AM

i want to preprare for ies help me
23rd May 2011, 01:03 PM

hey i completed my 2nd yr and want to prepare for GATE from now...............plz tel me how much time i should devote for the preparation????????????
29th May 2011, 07:10 PM
mailmeshekhar2011

You are absolutely correct in your decision. Just do your study the best way you can.

You are not too late for appearing at GATE. Yes,one can appear in GATE from 3rd year,but he/she should give enough time to be well prepared for the exam.

Without preparation how much one can expect from an exam where there is so much competition!

As you have completed your B.Tech you can totally devote yourself to the preparation of GATE.

It is good to know that you have already ordered for postal correspondence study materials.

Also look for study materials online and the previous year question papers. Get started to practice with them keeping the time factor in mind.

Here are some sites where you can get online study materials:

www.onestopgate.com,
www.gateforum.com

so prepare well ...wish you best of luck!
5th June 2011, 07:20 PM

please suggest me some good institutes for gate coaching near kukatpally.It takes really a long time to travel for me after college.so pls suggest me some best institutes near to kukatpally area.thank u