12th July 2011, 09:31 PM
ragasudha ranadev

Is not being good in spoken English a problem for being selected in IAS? How may I improve my communication skills?

i want to become an IAS officer. but i am not very good in english. i studied in tamil meadium in my village. now only i learn little bit. now i can able to write and read in english. But i am not able to speak properly in english. that is my problem. so i get fear with this. is this will affect my aim in anyway?

22nd February 2012, 10:51 PM
SANDEEP891985
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Is not being good in spoken English a problem for being selected in IAS? How may I improve my communication skills?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragasudha ranadev View Post
i want to become an IAS officer. but i am not very good in english. i studied in tamil meadium in my village. now only i learn little bit. now i can able to write and read in english. But i am not able to speak properly in english. that is my problem. so i get fear with this. is this will affect my aim in anyway?
Indian Administrative Service Officers do hold one of the highest ranked post in Government Administration in India. Since you are willing to become one, in itself is a competitive journey. There are thousand of aspirants who are willing to give it a go.
It is not mandatory for an IAS aspirants to be fluent in English, however having good command in it will help you in great deal. Since, it is a highly ranked post, you may have to interact with people who are qualified at the same level. You may have to counter during the interview round as well.
To start with, you have to get rid of the fear factor. If you are willing to learn a particular language you have to ignore your fear and fell of embarrassment.
Initially start conversation with those people with whom you are comfortable with. But be sure that those people have a good command over the language.