Government Colleges for Bachelor of Siddha Medicine & Surgery

Bachelor of Siddha Medicine & Surgery course is shortly called as BSMS course and this course deals with the study of Siddha system of medicine, which is the oldest system of medicine in India.

This system of medicine is known to have been contributed by 18 prominent Siddhars, whose basic concept is that ‘food is medicine and medicine is food’. Therefore, this system of medicine cures any types of ailments by offering food as medicine to the patients. Since siddha is a natural form of medicine and it originated in India, many students wish to take up the BSMS course, even though the number of colleges offering this course is lesser. The list of government colleges offering this course in India is given below:

Government College for BSMS:

Government Siddha Medical College, Tirunelveli District, Tamil Nadu

Government Siddha Medical College, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

National Institute of Siddha, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Government Siddha Medical Institute, Palani

Educational qualification required to join BSMS course:

Since the aforesaid medical colleges offering BSMS course are coming under the state of Tamil Nadu and are affiliated to the Tamil Nadu Dr. MGR Medical University, candidates must have completed their higher secondary examination from the Tamil Nadu Higher Secondary State Board in their first attempt to apply to the BSMS course in these colleges. Candidates should have studied physics, chemistry, botany & zoology/physics, chemistry & Biology at their higher secondary level and should have secured not less than 60% of marks in these subjects and the aggregate percentage of marks in these subjects should not be less than 140 out of 200 marks. This qualifying percentage of marks is 55% and 40% respectively for candidates falling under MBC and SC/ST categories respectively.

Admission procedure followed for BSMS admission:

In the aforesaid government colleges, which are coming under the Health & Family Welfare Department of the Government of Tamil Nadu, admission to the BSMS course is done purely on the merit secured by the students in the qualifying examination as per the aforesaid percentage of marks and the reservation of seats applicable is:

1% of seat for Scheduled Tribe Candidates

18% for Scheduled Caste candidates

20% for MBC & DC candidates

30% for BC candidates

31% for OC candidates

Higher studies after BSMS:

Candidates, who have completed their degree course in Siddha Medicine, can take up PG course in Siddha Medicine with any of the following specializations, which is offered in the National Institute of Siddha located at Chennai:

Nanju Noolum Maruthuva Needhi Noolum

Noi Nadal

Kuzhandhai Maruthuvam

Sirappu Maruthuvam

Gunapadam

Maruthuvam

Candidates can also take up MD in siddha medicine after completing their PG course.

Job prospects after BSMS:

Siddha medicine is widely accepted nowadays as an alternative medicine due to the lesser side-effects as compared to modern system of medicine. Candidates with BSMS graduation can find job opportunities in pharmaceutical industry, drug research institutions, medical colleges, health departments, nursing homes, clinics and private and government hospitals in the Siddha department.

In addition to the aforesaid government colleges, some private colleges also offer BSMS course.

123 Responses to “Government Colleges for Bachelor of Siddha Medicine & Surgery”

1. 123
    s.renuka devi:

my cut off is 191.75 will I get merit seat in dr .mgr university siddha medical college in arrumbakkam.

2. 122
    LAKSHMIDEVI.M:

when admissions starts

3. 121
    saraswathi:

sir when bsms merit list will be published cell 9443693782

4. 120
    saraswathi:

mob 9443693782 sir when is the counselling for bsms

5. 119
    nagarajan:

sir when bsms merit will be published and counselling date mob 8190076987

6. 118
    saraswathi:

mob 9443693782 pl inform the counselling dt bsms send sms

7. 117
    dinesh:

when will u release the siddha ranklist..?

8. 116
    mohamed ajmal:

wen is the counselling starts

9. 115
    arul sugam:

pls inform the counselling date for bsms…….
    my no;9524630905

10. 114
    M.THIVYA SUNDARI:

sir,my cut off is 194.can i get a seat in government bsms?when is counselling for bsms?

11. 113
    sathiyaraj.A:

please inform to me. Counseling schedule and general merit list for BSMS,BHMS,BUMS,BAMS. My no 8508899029.

12. 112
    sharmiladevi:

when the bsms counselling started

13. 111
    rakshantha:

sir please kindly inform the date of release the merit list of indian medicine bsms/bhms/bums courses

14. 110
    ramachandran:

when will bsms merit list announced.my cut off is 186.5.can i get seat in government college?

15. 109
    sara:

sir,my cut off is 189.75.i belong bc category.can i get seat in siddha govt college

16. 108
    Rosma:

my cut off:179.75.can I get gvt ceat for bsms? & counselling schedule 2013

17. 107
    Gaja lakshmi:

i got 168 cut off mark in hsc…. i belonging to st category….. can i get govt bsms college?………. please replay me…….

when will be the counselling date announced?
    please replay me…..soon………..

18. 106
    sathiyaraj:

please tell me, general merit list issue date for bsms/bhms/bams/bums 2013-14 session.

19. 105
    kiran:

i completed 12 th HSC in tn..my medical cut off is 179.25. i belong to MBC category.Can i get seat in gov college

20. 104
    anbudasan.j:

my cutoff mark 157.50 can i get bsms gvt clg. plese counselling date.for email id

21. 103
    selvamalar:

when will be the counselling date announced?

22. 102
    Soniya devi:

Sir, i have 835 marks sir, i join the govt.college

23. 101
    therasa:

is it possible to get siddha for155 cut off?

24. 100
    Praveen:

Please…

Announce the B.A.M.S , B.S.M.S 2013 Counsellng date or rank list

25. 99
    arul sugam:

sir…….
    when will the counselling starts?
    pls inform to my number……..
    pls…..inform soon…….

26. 98
    priya.r:

when will be the counselling date announced,and whts the cutoff marks going updates ar required,my kind request

27. 97
    SARITHAA:

2012 CUT OFF MARK FOR OC IN SIDDHA

28. 96
    SARANYA:

Siddha last cut off mark for oc?

29. 95
    siranjeevi:

sir 2012 bsms cut of mark sir

30. 94
    padmapriyaxyz:

when&where shall i get counselling application for bsms?plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz reply soon.

31. 93
    priya.v:

i want to know where r application forms available for bsms & its fees structure

32. 92
    sathish:

what is the last last date for applying siddha

33. 91
    vennila:

my cut off is 149.25.can i get siddha in government collage?

34. 90
    gajalakshmi:

sir when will be the siddha application issued

my medical cutoff is 185.33
    am i eligible for BSMS & what will be the cutoff

35. 89
    r.latha:

respected sir , i am r.latha when will be the TN GOVERNMENT siddha medical college announced bsms application?

36. 88
    elango:

when will bsms application issued ?

37. 87
    vijayalakshmi:

when will the siddha forms are published?

38. 86
    thenmozhi:

sir,my medical cut off mark is 179.75 , will i get a seat in government sidha medical college?

39. 85
    hemilaa:

siddha counselling date and schedule

40. 84
    justin:

when the councelling for BAMS and BSMS gets started sir?

41. 83
    Tamilselvi .c:

sir, how can i get application form for bsms then when will you issue date ?

42. 82
    Aravinthan:

Sir what is the last date for applying application form

43. 81
    manikandan:

sir, how can i get application form for bsms then when will you issue?

44. 80
    HEMANANTHA BHARATHI:

Sir, i have completed my HSC with 135 as my medical cutoff and i belongs to O.C category so can i get BSMS seat in this year in any of the tamilnadu siddha colleges. And i please you to inform the date for applying.

45. 79
    Swatha:

When will you give application sir

46. 78
    Avinash:

sir, how can i get application for bsms plz inform me with this mail.
    with regards,A.Avinash

47. 77
    mijo joenslin:

when will be the BSMS counselling app form issue in TN govt?

48. 76
    varthinisekar:

my cutoff mark is181.5 will i get a seat in siddha medical college ,chennai or i there any other course related to medical course for my cutoff there is an another doubt my mark is95 in neet exam and my persentile is 48.36 will i get seat in medical college

49. 75
    vellingiri:

Sir kindly inform me when do bsms application avail. What are eligible creteria? Do any entrance exaam avail

50. 74
    Maha:

need cut off marks in sidha Medicine ?

51. 73
    VIBISHA PV:

I am completed HSC , in the year 2013 with medicine cut of 151.5 , i will wish to apply BSMS course.If you know about the counselling date, plz, inform me with this mail.

with regards
    VIBISHA PV

52. 72
    anciya:

how can i get application for bsms

53. 71
    selvasri:

my medical cut off is 185.5. which college shall i get?

54. 70
    ASWINI SRIDHAR:

What is the last year cut off marks for siddha ? My cut-off is 171.75 i belongs to MBC ,Can i get seat in any gov siddha college?

55. 69
    senthan:

when will u start bsms counsiling

56. 68
    s.navaneetha:

My medical cut off 182. i want join in BAMS please reply

57. 67
    akshaya:

what is the last year cut off marks for siddha? my cut off is 178.75 and i belongs to oc, in which college i will get the seat?

58. 66
    anandhi:

my medical cut off is 171. can i get seat in government siddha medical college?

59. 65
    A.REX RAJIV:

When did bsms counselling will start?please reply me sir

60. 64
    N.seenivasan:

when&where the application is going to be issued.i have combleted 12th.pls say the 2012 cutt off mark…

61. 63
    mani:

how to apply bsms…when & where the application is going to be issued.

62. 62
    keerthana:

i have completed 12th i belong to sc community pls say the 2012 cut off to join in siddha medical college and the of issuing the application form and the place.

63. 61
    gopinath:

can i get admission in government siddha colleges for my medical cutoff 164.75

64. 60
    Dhaam:

what is the cutoff for siddha? my cutoff is 162.75

65. 59
    subashini:

what is the cut off for bsms? &
    Where the BSMS application available? &
    more details about bsms

66. 58
    SRIVARTHNI:

WHEN WILL YOU DISTRIBUTE THE APPLICANT FORM FOR FIRST YEAR BSMS?WHERE DID YOU DISTRIBUTE IT?plz give me the details.

67. 57
    Krishnapriya:

When did bsms counselling will start?ply reply me

68. 56
    G.sushmitha:

Where the BSMS application available?more details about bsms

69. 55
    S.Tamilarasi:

Whenwill you Distribute the Application.

70. 54
    Dharani M:

Sir, which is the top most siddha medical college in india and what is the cut off needed to join it ? Please reply to my mail id.

71. 53
    indhumathi:

when did the 3rd proffesion result of 2007 to 2013 bacth exam

72. 52
    kavitha:

opening date for first year bsms students.pls rpl me.

73. 51
    kavisa:

when is the class for bsms intake of year 2011/2012 ??

74. 50
    ravikumar:

i want M.D siddha entrance exam date pls

75. 49
    M.D entrance exam next iwant date:

please tell ans

76. 48
    Dr.P.Radhakrishnan.:

There is no Siddha Medical College at Palani, and there are only 2 Government Siddha Medical Colleges in Tamilnadu. ic Govt: Siddha Medical College Palayamkottai Tirunelveli, and Govt:Siddha Medical College Arumpakkam, Chennai.Annual intake is Palayamkottai is 100, and 50 for Chennai.
    And one Govt: Ayurveda Medical College, Kottar, Nagercoil, and one Govt: Homoeo Medical College at Thirumangalam Madurai, annual intake is 50 each.

77. 47
    Zuhail khan:

How many seats are aviable for bsms after todays counsling

78. 46
    Rajalakshmi:

i want fees stucture

79. 45
    Ranjitha:

i want fees stucture.

80. 44
    T.Karthikeyan:

sir,my application no;00766,and my A.R.No;233 ,can i know the counselling date for me? pls

81. 43
    R.RAJALAKSHMI:

please,I want fees stucture of siddha,homeopathy and ayurvadha medical college.

82. 42
    My counsilling date:

My application number 00086. my counsiling date ? Pls.

83. 41
    S. Sumathi:

is it necessary to had biology as a subject in the 12class for doing BSMS?

84. 40
    Tamilselvi:

I want know weather i am sellected my appilication no is 00548 and A.R.No.663 and mycutoff mark is 160.25,my register no is 566138

85. 39
    S.Sabiya:

when the bsms counselling will start

86. 38
    Zuhail khan:

When is bsms counsling in tamilnadu

87. 37
    indhu:

respected sir;
    actually i belong to sc category and my biology cut off is 158.50 will i get seat in government siddha medical college
    in madras i have applied but i never recieved my accknowledgement card due to local postman problem ,if any procedure to check my application status pls tell me ,acctualy i send my application before the last date , pls help me sir….. reply me …

88. 36
    prithiviraj:

when the bsms counselling will start

89. 35
    sundar:

my cut off mark is 176.75 OC will i get bsms seat in tirunelveli govt sidda college? Or private college. please reply me.

90. 34
    deepika:

Respected sir i belong to the category sca. Will i get siddha seat in government collegesince for my cut off mark 160.5

91. 33
    deepika:

will i get siddha councelling for my cut off 160.5

92. 32
    sheela.n:

good evening sir,
    actually i belong to MBC category and my biology cut off is 163.75 will i get a seat in government sidda medical college in madras i have applied and i also received acknowledgement card.pls reply me sir.

93. 31
    preetheekha e:

my medical cut off mark is 183.73 oc category shall get govt siddha college at chennai and when the counselling will strat please guide me

94. 30
    ajay:

what is the cutt off mark for siddha course

95. 29
    M.S. Barakathun najiya:

what is the cut off marks for BSMS in this year for BCM category

96. 28
    JUDITH:

What is the minimum cutoff for BSMS last year for bc category in siddha college, tirunelveli ? kindly answer ……………

97. 27
    S.SAI BHUVANA:

How many marks will be nedded to join in BSMS course.
    And i like to study in siddha college in Tiruneveli.kindly reply to my Question….,

98. 26
    jeeva:

could you please tell me the medium of instruction for siddha .it may be teach in tamil or english.

99. 25
    D.JANAANI:

I want to join in the colleges for the course of bhms and bsms.I got only 181.5 cut-off in the BC category.can i got any seat in govt colleges for bhms and bsms in tamil nadu,kindly reply to me sir

100. 24
    Ganesh Murthi.S:

1.what is minimum cutoff mark in bsms for Mbc category?
    2.when & where we should get application?
    3.What are the government colleges available in chennai tamilnadu ?

101. 23
    poojaa:

When will be the Application for 2011 batch give??

102. 22
    vijayalakshmi:

sir,what is the cutoff mark for bsms course under sc of 2011

103. 21
    subathra.m:

sir, my cut off is 171.5 will i get seat in govt siddha medical college when will the application will be issued piease reply to my id sir

104. 20
    kamal:

when will i get the bsms application form and what is the minimum cutoff marks for bc last year.

105. 19
    vidya:

Any correspondence coureses available in government colleges

106. 18
    Krishnaraj is the cut off range for sc cate:

what is the cut off range for govt siddha college, arumbakkam, chennai for sc category in 2008,2009&2010

107. 17
    M.Priyadharsini:

when will siddha application form 2011 issued

108. 16
    jothi:

sir,my cutoff mark is 192.75(o.c.)can i get seat in govt.siddha college?plz reply to my id.

109. 15
    mercy:

what is cutoff mark in bsms for bc category?
    when & where we should get application?

110. 14
    rajasekaran:

last date for apply to bsms

111. 13
    K.Anbalagan:

How can I get application form for BSMS course for 2011?

112. 12
    ranavee:

when do tamil nadu government calling to join bsms course

113. 11
    kaaruniya:

my cut off mark is 175.25.can i get an bsms seat in govt siddha college?

114. 10
    Agalya:

can i know when and where will i get siddha application form for councelling

115. 9
    vaish:

may i know where and when will i get the siddha counselling application for this year ug course in siddha

116. 8
    S.SIVAMBIGA:

sir my cut off mark is 168.5(oc) can i get the seat in govt siddha medical college and the counselling date will be before the B.E., counselling or after that

117. 7
    jagadeeswari:

what is cut-off marks in BSMS for sc catagery

118. 6
    rajesh:

when and where will i get application form

119. 5
    tharakeswari:

Sir, I am much interested in BAMS/ BSMS. but somebodies told me that these courses or not much valid for future practice. kindly let me know the validity of this courses.

120. 4
    kumaresan:

i want to admit my sister daughter to siddha course , what is the cut off marks last year in counselling for BC and FC , which is the best college in tamilnadu for siddha course

121. 3
    bala:

where & when should we get siddha application

122. 2
    affrin:

what is the cut off marks for BSMS in this year for BCM category

123. 1
    velupillai:

what is the cut of mark for bachelor of siddha medicine in the year2010-11 for BC categary