M.Tech in Power Engineering, Power Engineering M.Tech

Power engineering is a very vast field of engineering and is related to the production and supply of power. It deals with all types of power production from like thermal power, hydro power, solar power etc.  It is a new branch especially for students of India. The course gives in depth knowledge in design, manufacture, control, and testing of power equipments.

For getting admitted to M.Tech in Power engineering, the candidate must be a graduate in engineering or science. The subject of engineering may be electrical or mechanical or some other subject as mentioned by the institute offering the course. Candidates with AMIE degrees may also apply. The admission to M.Tech course is generally on the basis of the GATE score. Some universities take their own entrance exams for admission to M.Tech courses.

Course outlook:

M.Tech in power technology is a two year full time course. The course is divided into four semesters of six month duration each. In the first two semesters, the candidate is taught the theory subjects in details and lot of time is dedicated to practical training. The second year is the time when the candidate is required to prepare a thesis of what he has learned and is also given industrial training.

Job Prospects:

The job opportunity in this field is always very high due to the fact that the demand for power will never decrease. The candidates pursuing an M.Tech in power Technology is recruited in power plants all over the country and in research labs. The candidate may also choose the education field.

Best Places to Pursue:

Guru Nanak Dev Engineering College, Ludhiana
Indian institute Of Technology
Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Hyderabad
There are many other Institutes of Technology that offer M.Tech in Power Engineering.

29 Responses to “M.Tech in Power Engineering, Power Engineering M.Tech”

1. 29
    s.Venkat:

Iam electrical engineer having 20 + years of experience in this field and presently working as Senior consultant for 330 KV project and following are my credentials :

Diploma in Electrical & Electronics Engineering having 78% from State board of technical education -tamil nadu passed out at 1988.

Bacheloar of Engineering ( computer science and engineering) from colloge of Engg. Guindy in 2002 and scored 76% marks and passed out successfully in part-time scheme of study

My querry :

Iam interested in doing M . Tech power system - Electrical , I wish to do the same via distance mode from reputed and accredited university from India/ Abroad under your guidance. please guide me to shape my carrier, and acquire master degree in the field where iam continuing my profession

Your personal reply in this regard is highly appreciable.

2. 28
    biniyam girma:

dear sir/madam
    my name is biniyam girma.i am fifth year an electrical power engineering student in mekelle university.and i am final year student.and i am confused in selecting and finding project title.but i want to focus on solar related projects.if someone who can help me ,my email adress is [email protected]

3. 27
    rahul kumar:

i completed b-tech in ECE . i want to do m-tch in power system in maha maya tech university . it will possible or not

4. 26
    subhash:

I am b.tech in mechanical with 59.9% marks.
    obc category, where can I apply for pgdc in power.

5. 25
    adams:

sir,i have completed b.tech in electrical engg .i want to do master degree in power engg. ……kindly gives the details about the same for ant type of course,most probably i will go through correspondance course

6. 24
    Abhijit:

Sir iam b .tech in production engg. Sir can i apply for power engineering in my m.tech courses

7. 23
    hanuman prasad:

Is there any college that provides M-tech correspondence in power engineering

8. 22
    prabu:

dear sir / mam,
    am prabu working in power industry , would like to do master degree in power engineering… so pls suggest me which university offering the course a mentioned in distance education mode…

9. 21
    yatender:

can u plz suggest me the college for m.tech power engineering by distance education.

10. 20
    mayank:

i am a B.E. in mechanical engineering and would like to have a masters degree in power plant engg. I want to know which are the IIT’s and NIT’s that provide a M.Tech degree in power engineering

11. 19
    Minaketan:

I have completed my BTech in Electrical Engg in 2009.Currently I am working as a Geo.Info. Sys(GIS) executive.I want to do MTech/MBA in power technology(nuclear power) in distance edu. learning.please suggest me.And what is the future opportunity in GIS?

12. 18
    AR.Bommi:

Dear sirs,

Iam B-Tech in Instrumentation, i would like to do M-Tech in POWER ENGINEERING thru Distance education, as iam employee.

So kindly advise me to which universities offering the M-Tech power engineering.

AR.Bommi

13. 17
    vijay barange:

i’m doing BE in power from NPTI nagpur ……what is the scope of power engg in near furture…..please suggest me right option after BE i’m bit worried about power plant jobs …..currently i’m in 1st year……

14. 16
    Ojonimi Y. Usman:

What are the requirements for undertaking a doctorate degree in Power Engineering in your institution? I have M. Eng. in Energy and Power Technology. I shall appreciate a kind response. Thenks.

15. 15
    srinivas:

i have done my btech in ece branch this year.
    can u provide me the info regarding which colleges provides power engg in mtech & the exams which has to be taken to get into it. are there any deemed universities which do not cnduct there admissions through gate.

16. 14
    praveen kr. Notha:

can u give the name of best institute of power engg like ntpc in delhi and any other?pls provide the schedule of exam dates,syllabus and which books i have to prefer 4 this

17. 13
    ankita:

I am a final year student of chemical engineering.Now I wish to study M.Tech in power engineering,But I did not Know may I change the subject after gardution or not.

18. 12
    ANAMITRA MANI:

Can i do M.Tech in Power Plant Engineering from any foreign country?If possible then how

19. 11
    ANAMITRA MANI:

Can i do M.Tech in this field from any foreign country?If possible then how?

20. 10
    ansu:

I have not given gate this year (2010).Is there any other exam conducted by the institutes themselves to take admission.is there any other way to get admission ,please inform me.

21. 9
    narendra:

respected sir is there is any iits which gives m.tech degree in thermal power plant engg.

22. 8
    arya:

I want to know which IITs providing M-TECH in power engineering. And what are the good institutes in india providing M-TECH course in power engineering.

23. 7
    arya:

I want to know what are the good institutions in india providing M-TECH in power engineering.And which IITs providing M-TECH in power engineering in INDDIA.

24. 6
    arya:

I want to know which IITs giving M-TECH in power engineering.what are the best institutes in india for M-TECH in power engineering.

25. 5
    Ranjit Chaudhary:

M.Tech exam on the basis of the GATE scores, but I am not given any enterance exam. Can I appear for M.Tech this year. If Yes whats the procedure for me.

26. 4

could you tell me about notification of pgdc courses in npti for 2010 batch passouts

27. 3
    srinivas:

could you tell me the m.tech courses for electrical engineering in anna univarsity.

28. 2
    appalareddy:

Sir now i am working in power plant .I awant to do m.tech in distance mode.please tell me when will the notification will come for the entrance.

29. 1
    partha sarathi hajra:

how can i get the oppourtunity for training in power engg ? i am an final year student in electrical engg,btech