9th January 2012, 04:52 PM
ramani bhadresh

Which books are useful for IPS exam? I want to prepare for IPS exam

which book are useful for IPS exam.give me top five book name.my name is ramanibhadresh i want to prepare a IPS exam

10th January 2012, 10:50 PM
venkataprakash.v

Default Re: Which books are useful for IPS exam? I want to prepare for IPS exam

Originally Posted by ramani bhadresh View Post
which book are useful for IPS exam.give me top five book name.my name is ramanibhadresh i want to prepare a IPS exam
Books for IPS examination :-

UPSC Syllabus Civil Service Examination
by Student Aid Publications
Publisher: Student Aid Publications
ISBN: 8183202217

Indian History For Upsc / State Civil Services
by Chopra
Publisher: Unique Publications
ISBN: 8183570984

UPSC Civil Services: Preliminary Examination
Publisher: Sura College Of Competition
ISBN: 8172541538

General Studies Manual 2009 For Upsc Civil Service
by Edgar Thorpe
Publisher: Dorling Kindersley India
ISBN: 8131721337

UPSC IAS Civil Services Exam 2011 Syllabus
by Gkp
Publisher: G.K.Publications
ISBN: 8183552404

UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Exam: General Studies Solved Papers
by Edi. Board Pratiyogita Darpan
Publisher: Upkar Prakashan
ISBN: 8174820663

You have to prepare for this examination :-

-Current Events
-History of India
-Indian and World Geography
-Indian Polity and Indian Governance
-Economic and Social Development
-General Issues
-General Science
-Logical Reasoning
-analytical ability
-Decision Making
-Problem Solving
-General Mental ability
-Basic Numeracy
-Data Interpretation
-English Language comprehension
11th January 2012, 09:37 AM
manishrajit

Originally Posted by ramani bhadresh View Post
Which books are useful for IPS exam? I want to prepare for IPS exam

You have to prepare for this examination :-
  • Current Events
  • History of India
  • Indian and World Geography
  • Indian Polity and Indian Governance
  • Logical Reasoning
  • Economic and Social Development
  • Decision Making
  • General Science
  • General Mental ability
  • Problem Solving
  • English Language comprehension
Books for IPS examination

For information and more details click on the official websites.
http://www.civilserviceindia.com/subject/General-Studies/free-books/index.html.

With regard
manishrajit
11th January 2012, 12:07 PM
kumar96

IPS is very good exam.IPS exam is not a easy exam.IPS exam is conducted by UPSC.

To clear IPS exam you should studey hard.you require daily study to clear this exam.

There are two Paper in IPS-

Preliminary Examination
Main Examination

For your information you can apply for this exam 7 times if you are OBC student there is no limit for SC/ST student.

Books-

24th March 2012, 04:28 PM

which book i have to read if i am just starting preaparation of i.p.s
24th March 2012, 05:58 PM
simmi9044

To becom an IPS you have to
appear in the CIVIL SERVICES
EXAM and get selected in that
with a good rank and then only
you will be allowed to be an
INDIAN POLICE OFFICER.
To prepare for the CIVIL SERVICES
EXAM there are a lot of reference
Books available in the market so
you should buy one.
Or you can also go for the
coaching institutes which will
provide you adequate material
regarding the IAS exam.
TOP COACHING INSTITUTES:
Vajiram and Ravi IAS Study Centre
Rau's IAS Study Circle
Delhi's IAS Study Circle
Sachdeva New P.T. College
Chanakkya IAS Academy
Reddy's IAS Study Circle
BOOKS FOR GENERAL STUDIES:
1. Indian History - India Struggle
for Independence by Bipin
Chandra; NCERT Books ( XI & XII )
2. Geography - Spectrum
3. Indian Polity - Constitution of
India by Bakshi
4. Indian Economy - Plus One,
Plus Two Books, Pratiyogita
Darpan
5. General Science - Tata Mc Graw
Hill Guide
6. Mental Ability - Quantitative
Apitude by R.S. Aggarwal
7. Current Affairs - Some
magazines and Newspapers
i. The Hindu/The Times of India
ii. Frontline
iii. Civil Service Chronicle
iv. Chanakya
v. Competition WIZARD
vi. Civil Services Today
8. Guides
1. Tata Mc Graw Hill
2. Spectrum
3. Unique
Books on Geography:
NCERT : Physical Geography of
India for X - XII Std
A Good School Atlas
Sharma & Cotinho : Economic and
Commercial Geography of India.
Khullar : India- A Comprehnsive
Geography
Charles Farro : General Principles
of World Geography
Charles Farro : Monsoon Asia
Reports published by Centre for
Science and Enviornment And
Tata Energy Research Institute
National journal - Kurukshetra,
Yojana etc.
Down to earth
THE SYLLABUS FOR THE CIVIL
SERVICES APTITUDE TEST IS:
PAPER I: GENERAL AWARENESS
-Current events of national and
international importance
- History of India and Indian
National Movement
- Indian and World Geography -
Physical, Social, Economic
geography of India and the
World.
- Indian Polity and Governance –
Constitution, Political System,
Panchayati Raj, Public Policy,
Rights Issues, etc.
- Economic and Social
Development – Sustainable
Development, Poverty, Inclusion,
Demographics, Social Sector
Initiatives, etc.
- General issues on
Environmental ecology, Bio-
diversity and Climate Change -
that do not require subject
specialization
- General Science.
PAPER II:
- Comprehension
- Interpersonal skills including
communication skills
- Logical reasoning and analytical
ability
- Decision making and problem
solving
- General mental ability
- Basic numeracy (numbers and
their relations, orders of
magnitude etc.) (Class X level),
Data interpretation (charts,
graphs, tables, data sufficiency
etc. -Class X level)
- English Language
Comprehension skills (Class X
level).
GOOD LUCK.
8th June 2012, 11:40 AM

I want to start my IPS exam studies from now how i wil start with which books
19th August 2012, 04:11 PM

i am genarel student, so i am attend this examination?
29th August 2012, 12:45 AM

i am student of B.A part 1 ! and i want to become an ips officer . i know that in this syllabous math also reading or not
1st October 2012, 09:07 PM
rajkumardhadde100

i don't know sir, u tell me
12th November 2012, 08:47 PM

iam an average student studying msc chemistry,iam a real aspirant of civils.i came to know that civils are very tough.i need some tips how to prepare for this and is it really difficult.....
10th December 2012, 07:24 PM

i am siddhiq studing BCA 2nd year i like to become a ips officer i want know which books prepare for ips exam so please tell me which is best for my exam...???
15th December 2012, 12:41 PM

i am tejas studing twelth class. i like to become a ips officer. i want how prepare ips exam & send useful book list for ips exam.email [email protected]
20th July 2013, 11:00 PM

MUJHE SAMAJH MAY NAHI AA RAHA HAI KI IPS EXAM KE LIYE KON SI BOOK SAHI HAI PLZ BATAIYE
21st July 2013, 03:00 PM

I am a engg. Student so what's book will refferd by me hari krishan kumawat 3rd year
6th September 2013, 11:46 PM

sir,I am chaman khan.I have been completed B.Tech. But now i am very confused to decide that what is better to us ips ya ies. plz tell me soon.
29th November 2013, 12:14 AM

I am a first year B.E student . i want to become an IAS officer in what type of book i have to refer
16th December 2013, 01:35 AM

can I prepare of UPSC Xam in home
18th June 2014, 11:46 PM

i have just passed 12th arts....i m good in maths ,n my specials sub is political science.........i m studying 16 hours a day.....i m weak in ground activites .....but i hav scored out ooof in pratise tests.....what should i ppratise for ground
4th November 2014, 09:42 PM

I am studing in 9th stanterd . My ambition is to be an IPS officer . I am good in good in ground. I am good in maths too but I don't have very high marks . How can i prepare for it
15th March 2015, 06:27 PM

Hi my name is varun I am studying in 7th std I study total 7hour in a day I want to be IAS officer I want to know the best books for IAS study my question is to ask that it is compulsory to take the degree after 12th...?? And what is good among IPS OR IAS please give suggestions.
17th March 2015, 11:07 PM
violent viper

Books for IPS examination :-

by Chopra

General Studies Manual 2009 For Upsc Civil Service
by Edgar Thorpe
Publisher: Dorling Kindersley India
ISBN: 8131721337
18th March 2015, 10:40 PM
sohangoriya

IPS stands for Indian Police Service.

IPS exam is conducted by UPSC under Civil Services exam in every year.

Eligibility criteria:-

Candidate should be an Indian citizen.

Candidate should be completed Graduation degree in any stream from a recognized University.

Age should be between 21 years to 30 years for General category candidates.

Age relaxation for OBC category candidates 3 years

And SC/ST category candidates 5 years.

These are some books useful for IPS exam:-

by Chopra

UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Exam: General Studies Solved Papers
by Edi. Board Pratiyogita Darpan
Publisher: Upkar Prakashan
ISBN: 8174820663

General knowledge refresher written by O.P. Khanna.

For this paper, the candidates can also refer to the NCERT books of class 11 and 12.