Difference between Indian Administrative Service and Indian Police Service

A career in the Indian Civil Service is very challenging and comes with great respect and responsibilities. It is said that the best brains in India tack up the Indian Civil Services as officers. The UPSC conducts the Indian Civil Services examination and most of the students crave to enter this post even though many private companies offer huge salary and perks. IAS and IPS is still a dream for many as most of the top positions are filled up by professionals from various streams.

IAS course and opportunities

IAS (Indian Administrative Service) officers hold the most important and the most coveted positions in both the Central and State Government. A candidate has to take the Civil Services Exam conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). An Indian citizen with at least a degree can take this exam. The exam is classified into three parts- the preliminary exam, the main exam and the interview. All these are short listing processes, that is, those who clear the preliminary are called to take the main exam and those who clear the mains get interview calls. The exam deals with a range of subjects, beginning with language followed by general awareness and ending with subjects that the candidate has studied. The interview is no cake walk. An expert panel conducts the interview.

IPS course and opportunities

IPS (Indian Police Service) aspirants also follow the same process. They also have the same eligibility criteria and take the same tests. Overall, no one who decides to choose this as a career overnight makes it through. There is a lot of effort and hard work that needs to be put in, in order to achieve this. This does not happen with a few weeks’ preparation. Time is another thing that is invested here.

Key differentiators between the two courses

The similarities between these two positions end with the interview. IAS officers handle government affairs. They are appointed at various departments that deal with the administration of the government. Governmental policies are implemented with the advice of these officers. The various positions held by an IAS officer are Under Secretary, Deputy Secretary, Director, Joint Secretary, Additional Secretary, Secretary and Cabinet Secretary. These are positions that an officer holds in the Central government. Some of these positions have an equivalent one in the State government. IPS officers are responsible for law and order, and internal security in the country. The IPS is not a law enforcement agency. It is a group to which high ranked police officers belong to. They could be working for the police force, the CBI, CID, etc. The positions that IPS officers hold are Deputy Superintendent of Police, Additional Superintendent of Police, Superintendent of Police, Senior Superintendent of Police, Deputy Inspector General of Police, Inspector General of Police, Additional Director General of Police and Director General of Police.

52 Responses to “Difference between Indian Administrative Service and Indian Police Service”

1. 52
    alok kumar:

sir,i am reading tenth class. but i have no inte
    rest in arts subject. then,how can i join with ips

2. 51
    Vijay gaonkar:

Sir, i m doing my master in public administration and wish to join IPS… pls guide me to achiev this.. Also give me any name with contact number to whom i can ask my queries

3. 50
    anvesha upasani:

distinguish between IAS and IPS ?

4. 49
    shahab khan:

Ips banne ke liye kya high school inter me acchi percentage chahiye
    Hoti he

5. 48
    Abdulla:

I whant To Becom an IPS officer to become aIPS officer what i “ll prefer

6. 47
    Revanth:

sir/mam i complete my 12th standard now i want to do distance courses can you please tell me what courses are there so that i can eligible to write civil services exam

7. 46
    mohammed ismail:

Hi Sir
    I was completed degree in bachelour of business mangement. i am interested in IAS. can i also apply for IAS exam . give some suggession please. Please.

8. 45
    Aman Verma:

respect sir,
    i beg to say htat i am stuedent of diploma in civil engineering
    i want to become a ias officer so what i can do for make a ias officer
    sir i am confuse can you help me
    sir can ias officer under the ips officer
    sir pls. help my my fourth semster paper has been done on 10/06/2013
    so i can do my ias study so how to start this study pls. send and help me sir
    thanking you sir
    and pls. give me blessing

9. 44
    ANUSHRI DAS:

sir, i am a studnt of xii. i wanna to be an IPS OFFICER..Aftr HS xam i want to cmplt b.tech..from then i would to get coaching from a recognized institute,in west bengal. bt i want to knw, from where i can get it, n what will be the fees,at least? for how many years i woult take coaching? n finally, being a bengali medium studnt can i get any scope to achieve my goal??? plz help me sir. THANKING YOU

10. 43
    how to become an ips officer:

which subjects i should be preffered?

11. 42
    gottia:

IS IAS OFFICERS WORK UNDER IPS OFFICER OR VICEVERSA

12. 41
    Abhishek Mshra:

rispected sir
    i beg to say that i am student of class 12th what i do in ips officer which coaching i m join than i make a ips how many exam of ips gk is compalsary or not i am student of science (pcm)

13. 40
    kulwant singh:

sir, i have completed bsc -hm and i have not obtian 60% marks ,but i have 57% marks . can i also apply for ips enterece exam . pls. guide me . thanks

14. 39
    Ranveer singh bisht:

I have done my 12the art side from NIOS delhi
    Can i applay for IPS officer please give me some tips

15. 38
    Rohit:

Sir, graduation me kitni percentage chahiye hogi…?? , IAS or IPS me apply karne k liye…

16. 37
    AMANDEEP:

i want to become an ips officer to become a ips officer what i ll prefer?

17. 36
    vishal:

Respected sir, I want to become an ips officer…
    I am a student of Bsc(IT),Can u please suggest about the optional subjects which is suitable for me in preliminary and main exam. And pliz suggest me how to prepare for that..! thank U

18. 35
    Muazzam hajwani:

I m bcom frm mumbai unvrsty n I wn 2 bcome an ips officer, but I m smoker shld I eligible for ips

19. 34
    Naveen Gautam:

Hello sir, I want to become an IPS officer . .
    I had maths and biology in class 12th. . Now after results. . I’ll go for B.sc(I.T.) Can u plz suggest about the optional subjects which is suitable for me in preliminary and main exam. . . And plz suggest me how to prepare for that .

20. 33
    umesh singh:

I am a student of b.tech(cse).I want to be ips or ias,plz suggest me……………………..& how to prepration of ias………………………

21. 32
    umesh:

Resp sir,
    I m Umesh, m studying in 2nd sem BE MECHANICAL,, I m very much intrested in IPS ,. so plz suggest me how to became an IPS officer plz….

22. 31
    vinay:

which is highest rank officer…ips,ias ,army, militry ?

23. 30
    krishnamohan:

For post of Deputy Supdt. of Police (Civil) Cat-2 in A.P Police Service in groupI is possible for writting group I or shall i attend prilimary exam is it come under civils……. and is there any training for Deputy Supdt. of Police

24. 29
    Mamta kumari:

Hello sir, I want to become an IPS officer . . I had commerce+maths in class 12th. . Now after results. . I’ll go for B.com. Can u plz suggest about the optional subjects which is suitable for me in preliminary and main exam. . . And plz suggest me how to prepare for that . . :)

25. 28
    Ponraj:

I completed my school studies…i want to become an ips…i am a science student(comp.sci)… What can i choose next? for to become an ips…which degree should i take? Pls guide me

26. 27
    ankith:

hi sir! i am ankith i want to become ips officer what group should i take in 11th stand. i am studing in 10th stand.give valuable advice me .

27. 26
    Jumom:

I want be an ips officer but i suffer from myopia and my spectacles power is -4.25. Will i be approved in the physical test?

28. 25
    saikishan:

i completed my school studies at andhra pradesh and completed my degree from karnataka.and now i want to apply for the s.i, and ips .i can i.

29. 24
    hrushikesh:

what is syllabus ?

30. 23
    MEENAKSHI DAGAR:

HI SIR,
    I AM BACHELOR IN ARTS,IM WORKING AND ALSO DUING MBA(CORRESPONDENCE) I WANTS TO BECOME AN IPS OFFICER.PLZ GIVE ME YOUR VALUABLE ADVICE.

THANK YOU

31. 22
    arman:

hi! sir, i am doing bachelor in commerce (professional)-2nd year and i want to be the part of IPS. so please give me your advice. THANK YOU

32. 21
    nishi:

sir, i have done my bca(computer ) than after i have done pgdm and now i am working for a private bank as a manager. am i eligible for the ips exam?

33. 20
    rahul konde:

i want to be an ips officer but i am suffering from juvenile diabetes will i get selected in physical test of ips

34. 19
    prabhuling:

sir, i am a student of computer sciene engg. I want to be an . I. P. S officer.
    Therefore, i aking you how can i reach to this high position. Please give
    me your valuable advice.

thanks;

35. 18
    Prithwish Maity:

I am a student of class 12(Science). I want to be an I.P.S officer. Therefore, I asked you how can I reach to this high position. Please, give me your valuable advice.

36. 17
    ajay reddy:

basically i am a engineering student studing final year at present. i want to be a A C P , so what the exams do i need to write n what all process i going to be? so please could u let me know.
    thank u .

37. 16
    deena:

sir,i want to know about number of attempts in IAS exam.and also iam doing my b.tech degree of electronic engineering.sir can i know the oppurtunitises in public sector by taking this civil services.and also send me number of posts from higher to lower posts

38. 15
    ashish kumar:

i am not complete medically fit.can i become a ips officer

39. 14
    kavita upadhyay:

sir, i want to know about the number of attempts can be attend by a general category student in IAS and IPS exams. Is there any age relaxation for girls. And please tell me the number of post in IAS and IPS in higher to lower post.

40. 13
    PRASHANT V SAWANT:

SINCE 1997, I WORKING WITH KONKAN RAILWAY AS A STATION MASTER .
    I WANT DETAILS INFORMATION ABOUT ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE UESFUL IN RAILWAY OPERATING DEPARTMENT WITH RAILWAY SAFETY.
    MY BIRTHDAY - 12/06/1976.
    QUALIFICATION - BA

41. 12
    anurag:

is this possible to move from nda to civil services.because for nda 10+2 qualified persson become member of defence services.and for ias\ips a degree is must.

42. 11
    anshu babu:

sir, i am a bba ist semester student and after complete my degree edu. i would like to join tuition for ips.could you told me about best institute and minimum age requirement for the police service examination

43. 10
    Manju:

My dear sir, i am a BBA secound sem studet after i have degree completed i hav intrsted in IPS coaching so i am eligible for IPS coaching ?

44. 9
    hitesh vora:

which is high post in indian police service. please find me lover to high post
    to stape by stape

45. 8
    jitender:

i am doing mech.engg. in distance edu. from Rajsthan , i want to become ips officer . how i prepear for this . pze guide me .how i do sir after diploma

46. 7
    Shobhit:

Is english is necessary for IPS if yes then how much.

47. 6
    sandeep:

this is sandeep from a.p
    evrything is fine upto interview round
    but cmng 2 da medical test
    on what basis l it be done
    like should v need any requirements of height,weight and physic??

48. 5
    punit kumar:

what is the minimum age of selection in IPS ?

49. 4
    jitender gupta:

hi sir/mam,
    i am jitender gupta.i am 22 years old, i am purshing B.A.first year from Delhi University.
    my aim s to became a ips officer still now i have no step should be taken coz i have no guide or support..plz tel me sir what can i do to bcme a ips officer..plz tel me tips what should i do…

50. 3
    chandan yadav:

can i give the exam online from abroad.please give me he information quickly.

51. 2
    rizwan:

can i write the exam from the abord

52. 1
    Dinesh:

Hai sir,i’m dinesh i’m studying 3rd yr computerscience engg in tamilnadu.my aim s to became a ips officer still now i have no step should be taken coz i have no guide or support..plz tel me sir what can i do to bcme a ips officer..plz tel me tips what should i do…