9th December 2015, 12:57 PM
bhawya bhola

Commerce student can do IIT courses or not?

HELLO, i am a student of class 12th commerce with maths stream. But, actually i want to know that a commerce student can do a IIT courses or not?

9th December 2015, 06:09 PM
Prince8645
Senior Member+

Default Re: Commerce student can do IIT courses or not?

The entrance to India's number one technical institute that is Indian Institute of Technology is given through Joint Entrance Exam conducted by CBSE.

For this exam, one of the most essential criteria is that candidates must have studied Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics in 10+2.

So, you can not join IIT for technical courses being a commerce stream candidate.
9th December 2015, 06:39 PM
ranjan Ayush
Senior Member+++++

The eligibility criteria for Joint Entrance Exam is that candidate must have studied Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics in 10+2, in other words science stream with Mathematics.

Hence, commerce stream candidates are not eligible for IIT courses.
9th December 2015, 07:56 PM
BISWARUPYOGI
Senior Member+++++

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhawya bhola View Post
HELLO, i am a student of class 12th commerce with maths stream. But, actually i want to know that a commerce student can do a IIT courses or not?
No, 12th commerce student are not eligible for IIT course.

If you have completed 12th standard from a recognized board with physics, chemistry and mathematics with above 50% marks then you are eligible for IIT exam. 5% marks relaxation is provided for SC/ST category candidates.

Your age should be in between 17 to 25 years.
9th December 2015, 08:52 PM
Maa ka pyaar
Senior Member+++++

No, you are not eligible to get admission in IIT. IIT stands for Indian Institute of Technology.