18th November 2014, 09:11 AM
kanthkrishna80

Software or Film making?

I am in a dilemma. I am 36 and a software engineer. When I started my career as a software engineer I did very well but for the last couple of years I am unable to make a mark in the software field because something else is bothering me. I have always liked story telling and wanted to become a film director for a very long time though never took required steps to achieve that. I didn't take it seriously in the first few years as a software engineer before marriage, you could say procrastinating and thinking that I have all the time in the world and just educating myself by watching many great films.

Every thing changed after my marriage and I am becoming more and more anxious whether I will ever become a film director and now trying to work towards that. It is becoming increasingly more difficult to spend quality time on reading screenplays, learning writing, studying films these days and my in-laws have expressed concerns over my changing careers now, especially becoming a film director since it carries with it a risk. They had not taken my film interest seriously all this while, perhaps I am to blame because there was no indication of doing anything on that and should have planned it earlier. As it is I am occupied with my software work and I have my share of frustrations now in this field. The politics around me, seeing no promotion or hike in spite of hard (and good) work I sometimes wonder if its also because of my standing on two boats (software and film) that I am not able to have that extra commitment in software that could make all the difference. This is debatable though. Cause my mind is elsewhere and having not spent enough time nurturing that story telling talent (via reading and writing) I am undecided now