3rd October 2018, 11:11 AM
Unregistered

Steps to become an IPS Officer for BTech Chemical student?

Respected Sir/Madam, I am studying BTech course with Chemical Engineering. After completing my BTech, I wish to become an IPS Officer. I would like to know about the steps through which I can achieve my aim. Kindly let me know about the steps asap. Thank you!

6th October 2018, 08:44 PM
Subjectexpert

Default Re: Steps to become an IPS Officer for BTech Chemical student?

IPS or Indian Police Service is one the prestigious Government services in our country besides IAS (Indian Administrative Service), IRS( Indian Revenue Service), IFS(Indian Foreign service).

Selection to IPS is done through Civil Service examination conducted by Union Public Service Commission.

Civil Service Examination has 3 stages , namely Preliminary Exam, Mains and Interview.

In this scheme Preliminary exam is a qualifying exam of objective type carrying 200 marks.

Civil service mains examination is a written exam carrying total marks of 1750. This includes Four General studies papers, 2 papers of optional and two language papers.

Interview stage is of 275 marks.

Overall merit is prepared on basis of Mains and Interview combined. Total 2025 marks.

To be selected for IPS you will have to clear all 3 stages and come within top 100-200.

PREPARATION STRATEGY

To start preparing for this exam you need to first study the syllabus and previous year question papers.

After that you can start building your knowledge by reading NCERTs and standard books.

Make a habit of reading newspaper daily.

Practice both objective type and subjective questions.

You can appear in Exam after B.Tech as minimum educational qualification is graduation.

You can give six attempts between the age of 21 to 32(for general category)
7th October 2018, 01:28 PM
avinash1997
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Steps to become an IPS Officer for BTech Chemical student?