13th November 2016, 04:12 PM
More sanjana

Is it necessary to pursue B.Com to become a CA?

Respected Sir, I am studying in class 12th now and after completing 12th I want to prepare for CA course. I want to know is it necessary to pursue B.Com to become a CA? Can I pursue CA course without pursuing B.Com? Please answer as soon as possible.

14th November 2016, 08:44 AM
aashisranjan784
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Is it necessary to pursue B.Com to become a CA?

No, Bachelor of Commerce is not necessary to pursue Chartered Accountancy course. The first stage of this course is Common Proficiency Test which requires minimum academic qualification as 10+2 from a recognized board. You can apply for CPT and clear it to enter to Chartered Accountancy course.

Candidates who have done bachelor's degree in commerce with 55% marks or more are eligible to directly apply for Integrated Professional Competence Course which is second stage of Chartered Accountancy course.
14th November 2016, 09:15 AM
BHANBHORI
Senior Member+++++

CA stands for Chartered Accountant. For this course candidate must have passed Senior Secondary Examination from a recognized board. As per my knowledge, it is not necessary to pursue B.Com to become a CA because you are eligible for Chartered Accountant course on the basis of your 12th class.
14th November 2016, 11:41 AM
pruthvi12dba

Yes you can proceed to study CA course without pursuing B.Com course.It is not necessary.

* After completion of 10+2 you are eligible to do CPT course.

And i will share what are the sessions to be completed to do CA course.

1 . Common Proficiency Test
2 . Integrated Professional Competence Course
3 . Three years Article ship / Training under a Practicing Chartered accountant
4 . CA Final

First register and appear for the CPT exam.

* You need to wait at least 60 days after cpt registration. After that you are eligible to appear the June/December exams if you registered before 1st April or 1st October.