25th June 2017, 05:56 PM

What is the age requirement for CBSE 1st standard admission?

My daughter's DOB is 05 January 2012. She has done UKG. Now we want to know that she is eligible for the first class in CBSE pattern. According to the principal of DMS model town Jalandhar city Punjab, she is not eligible for the first class because she is 5 years old. Please help us. We will be thankful to you for this.

25th June 2017, 08:11 PM
taputanya

Default Re: What is the age requirement for CBSE 1st standard admission?

The age limit for joining first standard in CBSE board is 5 years and 6 months to 6 years and 6 months as on 31st March of the year of admission.
You can also contact the particular School in which you want to seek admission to your child.
25th June 2017, 09:21 PM
zahedrocks

There is no such age limit declared by CBSE for admission in 1st standard. However, in most of the CBSE schools they grants admission to the candidates who have completed the age of 5 years 6 months and above.

So, in order to get admission in CBSE schools your daughter must complete 5 years and 6 months at the time of admission.
25th June 2017, 10:52 PM
pearlrana

Age requirement for CBSE 1st standard admission:-

The minimum age criteria required for the admission in the first standard of CBSE board school is 5 years old at the time of admission.

Candidates must attain an age of 5 years at the time of admission.
26th June 2017, 06:16 AM
raziaexpert

The minimum age required for admission in CBSE board in 1st standard for any candidate is 3.5 years. Any candidate not having attained that minimum age will not be allowed to avail admission and can try when he/she has attained the above mentioned age.

However, in your case the child's age in above 3.5 years but a bit too much for some schools to provide admission, I would suggest you to shift to another school where your child's age is accepted and can admit her to study further.
26th June 2017, 03:33 PM
shweta 1411

Every school has its own criteria and it may differ as per school. As per the information you are telling that your child has passed UKG then your child is eligible to get admission in 1st standard. You should try in another school as because she has passed UKG.
26th June 2017, 05:04 PM
ranu shahi

Look, there is no any age limit regarding this in CBSE guidelines. But few schools develop their own eligibility criteria for the admission in any standard.
Off course your ward is eligible for the admission in 1st standard if she cleared UKG. I suggest you to go for another reputed schools regarding your ward's admission.
27th June 2017, 12:23 PM
ahmedfaiyaz

According to CBSE rule, the minimum age required for a child to take admission in 1st standard in CBSE school is 5 years and 6 month as on 31st march of the year of admission.
Since your daughter's DOB is 05 Jan, 2012, so she will be eligible for admission to 1st standard in CBSE school next year i.e 2018.
Those schools which are affiliated by CBSE board, has to follow this CBSE age criteria for the admission of students in 1st standard.
19th November 2017, 12:44 AM

My daughter's dob is 22nd Dec 2012. She is in Jr kg. She will be in senior kg in 2018. Will she be eligible for 1st standard admission in April 2019? When she will be 6 years 3 months old? If not should I get her admitted to 1st std next year itself I.e in 2018?. Please guide.
9th January 2018, 06:25 PM

Respected Sir, My son whose date of birth is 17-12-2012 and presently studying in U.K.G ,for whom admission required in Class 1(2018-19)but one private school from Patna refused to take admission quoting CBSE guide lines that children should have 6 yrs of age on 31 Mar 18. Sir please clarify it I am eligible or not.I will be very thankful to you.
17th January 2018, 10:54 AM

Sir, my daughters DOB is 13.02.2013,right now studying sr. Kg, next we have planned to shift her another school. Please clarify d age limit for 1st standard admission.
1st February 2018, 06:12 PM

Respected Sir, My daughter is Born in 5-Nov-2012 and she is studying UKG. I wanted to check, if she is eligible for 1st STD this year 2018-19. Please advise.
17th February 2018, 02:17 PM

My Daughter DOB is 30th July 2013. Now She was Studying in UKG in State Syllabus. I wanted to check my daughter is eligible for 1st standard this AY 2018-19 under CBSC Standards?
Can you please Advise me regarding this.
4th April 2018, 06:49 PM

My daughter is born on 15-12-2015 and presently join Nursery this academic year starting April 2018. Would need your guidance on her eligibility for Class 1?
3rd June 2018, 04:22 PM

My daughter's date of birth is 10.07.2013. Kindly guide me whether she is eligible for 1 standard for the academic year 2018-19 under case syllabus.
5th June 2018, 07:27 AM

My daughter is born 1st jan 2015 and presently Joined nursery this year and she is eligible for lKG, guide and her age will be 5.6 month in this june 2018\
3rd July 2018, 04:11 PM

Regarding the admission into class I standard in CBSE school it has been suggested as 5 years 6 months, 5 years 8 months or 5 years at the time of admission which one is the most appropriate.
8th July 2018, 09:40 PM
Nanda bodilaveedu

As of latest rules ,To get a 1st standard admission in CBSE, he/she must be 5 years on the 31st of March of the year in which the admission is sought to.
10th August 2018, 10:02 AM

Respected sir, My son is born in 2- June 2012 and he is studying in 1st std in CBSE. I wanted to check, Is he eligible for 2nd std this AY 2018 - 2019. Please guide me.
18th March 2019, 09:10 PM

Respected sir/madam.
My son dob is 10/04/2014.He is eligible for join 1st class or not.please suggest and guide
4th May 2019, 02:49 PM
kidzeee

According to the age criteria chart issued by the CBSE for their school admission. A child is eligible to get admission in class 1 if he/she is minimum five years of age on the 31st March of the year in which the admission is sought, and a maximum of seven years of age on the 31st March of the same year.
9th August 2019, 01:45 PM

My daughter's DOB is 1st Jan 2015. She is lkg right now. What is the age criteria for 1st standard in CBSC school? Can I upgrade her to ukg now?