14th April 2011, 01:16 AM
kanchanyadav

Default Re: Minimum percentage required in 12th to become IAS officer?

There is no percentage criteria in IAS. If you have completed graduation from any stream then you are eligible.

IAS examination is conducted by UPSC every Year.

Eligibility criteria:-

a) Educational Qualification:

Must have graduation from recognized university.

b) Age limit:-

Minimum 21 years and maximum 30 years.

Relaxation for category holders:

1. For SC/ST 5 years.

2.For OBC 3 years.

c) Total Number of Attempts:

1. For General category 4 attempts.

2) For OBC 7 attempts.

3) For SC/ST unlimited till age limit.

This year dates for filling up form for IAS examination is over. So try Next year.

For complete details please visit official website of UPSC http://www.upsc.gov.in

All the Best
14th April 2011, 01:18 AM
bhavna04

For civil service exam there is no ant percentage criteria fixed by UPSC.

Any graduate which containg degree from a recognised university within the age limit21 to 30 is able for this exam.
14th April 2011, 01:31 AM
ashok880

There are is no such criteria for IAS exam,but to appear for IAS exam,candidate should have graduation degree in any stream and he/she should between 21 to 30 years
14th April 2011, 04:44 AM
babydoll

Well there is no any restriction for percentage of 12th to appearing in IAS exam. As for IAS exam the eligibility is graduation fron any recognized university with atleast 40% marks so there is no need of 12th percentage.
So don't worry just get graduate degree and then apply for the IAS.
good luck!!!
14th April 2011, 06:40 AM
lakshmiharathi.kota

12th Percentage is not criterion for IAS Exam.

Get a Graduation Degree With an Aggregate of minimum 60% Marks
Degree Percentage Will consider For IAS Exam

All The Best
14th April 2011, 08:30 AM
Taurus007

Minimum percentage required in 12th to become IAS officer
There is no restriction of percentage in IAS examination. The much you score the result will be more fruitful. Good marks will increase the probability of selection.
There is no option for you to become an IAS officer after 12th class, you need to a minimum graduate of any discipline from any university before you sit for IAS examination. Also the minimum age limit required is 21 years.
But you can surely start your preparation for IAS examination right after class 12th.
providing you with some links which will help you out in your preparation, as it is a long term process starting early will help you a lot.
http://www.onestopias.com/ias-preparation.asp
http://www.onestopias.com/subjects/syllabus
there is no minimum marks required to become an ias officer.the only eligibility is you should have completed your graduation in any branch of studies, and you should have completed your age of 21 years.

14th April 2011, 10:50 AM
venkataprakash.v

There is no minimum percentage for IAS Exam.

And you are not Eligible To Apply for Civil Service Examination.

IAS Eligibility criteria :

The Candidate must have attained the age of 21 yrs and and must not attained

the age of 30 yrs on 1st Aug of the year of Examination.

The candidate should have a bachelor's degree in any recognized university.

Those in the final year of a degree course can also eligible.

More details,Visit the official website : www.upsc.gov.in
14th April 2011, 11:58 AM
A15

There is no marks restriction for IAS.

Whatever, you score 40% or 90% in class 12 or Bachelor Degree or Master Degree or P.hd that doesn't matters.

Educational eligibility criteria is that candidate must have only passed Graduation in any field from any recognized institute, university of India.

And nothing else.

However, it is fact that priority will given to candidates with good academic background, but thats a different matter. Becoming IAS officer is directly proportional to Hard work and Talent.

IF anybody have that two qualities then surely he will achieve success.

~Faiyaz~[/QUOTE]
14th April 2011, 01:10 PM
suseel

minimum persentage arround 50-80% enought.but to become IAS we should eligible for group 1 exam.but getting ias we will do hard work
14th April 2011, 05:28 PM
balathegreat

Thumbs up Re: Minimum percentage required in 12th to become IAS officer?

To become an IAS officer you need to crack UPSC examination. To be eligible

for applying it your educational qualification can be a just pass in your 12th std

with any stream.
14th April 2011, 06:29 PM
devendergora

There is no minimum percentage requirement for IAS, all you need to be a graduate, with age limit 21-30 years.
Graduation can be done in any field of your choice.
14th April 2011, 09:37 PM

Smile Re: Minimum percentage required in 12th to become IAS officer?

[QUOTE=Dr. PRAVEEN S NAIK;76722]hi sir.can you tell me!!! what is min % required to become IS officer?please reply fast sir i m waiting
14th April 2011, 10:34 PM
hari om yadav

for the IAS there is no matter for 12th marks.for IAS the graduation is competed also here no matter of %.
15th April 2011, 01:20 PM
pops07

There is no such minimum percentage requirement system in case of IAS.

Because to become an IAS you should have completed your graduation first in any stream from any recognized university....that is the only educational criteria....then take a look at the following things.

1. Your age should be between 21 years and 30 years.

2. You should have good knowledge in current affairs and social issues.
[Because you need to have very strong in that]

So if you fulfill the above conditions, you can easily crack IAS exam.

official website-- http://www.upsc.gov.in
15th April 2011, 01:59 PM
rohitkumarramesh

Originally Posted by Dr. PRAVEEN S NAIK View Post
hi can anybody tell me!!! what is min % required to become IAS officer?
There is no restriction in the number of marks in 12th for the IAS entrance
exam. A graduate candidate can apply for the IAS. To become an IAS a
candidate has to apply for the civil service examination.

The eligiblilty criteria required for the civil service examination is given below

Education Qualification
Candidate should be graduate in any discipline to apply for the civil service
examination from a recognized university.
Those appeared in the final year examination are also eligible to apply for the
civil service examination.

Age Limit
To apply for this examination candidate age should be between
21 to 3o years.

For more information visit the UPSC web site
www.upsc.gov.in
15th April 2011, 02:05 PM
shermin

There is no such requirement of percentage.You need to have a bachelor's degree from a recognized university.
15th April 2011, 02:33 PM
piyush121

HELLO FRIEND,

THERE IS NO MINIMUM % REQUIRED IN 12TH for giving IAS exam

THE EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATION REQUIRED IS THAT YOU SHOULD BE A GRADUATE IN ANY STREAM FROM A RECOGNIZED INSTITUTE BY THE GOVERNMENT OF INDIA.

so WHETHER YOU GET 60% OR 90%, it doesn't matters.

BUT EXTREME HARD WORK AND LABOUR IS REQUIRED TO GET THROUGH THE IAS EXAMS.

PREPARE A LOT

GOOD LUCK

REGARDS,
PIYUSH ANAND
15th April 2011, 03:13 PM
sureshcbe

you need to be a graduate.

You 12th percentage wont be considered for IAS examination.
you need to be under 30 years to write the exam.
15th April 2011, 04:11 PM
devendergora

Educational eligibility criteria is that candidate must have only passed Graduation in any field from any recognised institute, university of India.
And nothing else.
15th April 2011, 06:10 PM
kumarpravir007

to become an IAS officer the minimum percentage required is about 60% of the marks in 12th and in the 10th exam minimum of the 60% of the marks and in the graduation also 60% of the marks
the age limit is 21 to 30 years for the general students.......

for the other info you can visit the official site
http://www.upsc.gov.in
15th April 2011, 09:00 PM
surendergora

There is no minimum percentage required for IAS exam. You just need to be graduate in any field.
Age requirement: 21-30 years with 3 yr relaxation for OBC and 5 yr for SC/ST.

While graduation , increase your general awareness about current affairs.
15th April 2011, 10:08 PM
vijaypatel54

Wheather, you score 40% or 90% in class 12 or Bachelor Degree or Master Degree or P.hd that does'nt matters.
Educational eligibility criteria is that candidate must have only passed Graduation in any field from any recognised institute, university of India.
And nothing else.
However, it is fact that priyority will given to candidates with good academic background, but thats a different matter. Becoming IAS officer is directly proportional to Hard work and Talent.
15th April 2011, 11:16 PM
strange_rahul

I think there is no minimum marks require in 12th for becoming IAS...but I ill you tell one thing you cannot appeared in IAS exam till you complete your graduation. you have to need complete your graduation and then apply for IAS.
19th April 2011, 04:48 AM
ankush.ignou

After 12 if you want to be IAS then,you get the admission in graduation(take which subject that you like most) because for give the entrance of IAS,graduation is minimum qualification and preparation the your graduation+IAS.
22nd April 2011, 12:24 PM

what type of skills we requried to become ias
24th April 2011, 05:34 PM
naina119111

I have appeared for my BA final examination this year in Economics and Political Science. Can I appear for IAS this time?
28th April 2011, 02:36 PM

hai this is shwetha

Firstly i have not completed my b.com, there is a one subject back up, but in other semisters i have Scored First Class, can i attain the Exam for IAS.
1st May 2011, 01:12 PM

sir my per% (2006)14year age, 10th is 63.33 and(2008)16 y age, 12th 48.63.that time my healt very down soom reasio i leaft my graducation 2 year.but know i am doing "b.a" from BHU second year now my age 19.sir my qu. is that i leaft 2 year are creating soom problem.
2nd May 2011, 11:32 PM
Roysons

There is no percentage requirement for becoming the IAS officer.

The only requirement is that you must have done graduation from any recognized

university of India.

Hard work is the only funda in this.

9th May 2011, 12:56 PM

sir now I am doing b.tech in information technology then give me some advice for preparing the ias exam
9th May 2011, 07:25 PM

pls tell me books abuot ias
10th May 2011, 03:13 PM
Gita Irudhayaraj

hi friend, there is nothing to worry about percentage of marks.

the only criteria is to be passed in graduation.

And you must satisfy the age eligibility.
10th May 2011, 08:14 PM
swati biswas

Originally Posted by Dr. PRAVEEN S NAIK View Post
hi can anybody tell me!!! what is min % required to become IAS officer?

To become IAS officer, the candidate needs to write the civil service examination conducted by UPSC.
There are three stages of the examination.
1.Preliminary exam
2.Main exam
3.Interview

The minimum eligiblity required to appear for the examinations are as follows;

A bachelor's degree or equivallent qualification from a recognised institute .
The eligible age limit is a minimum of 21 years and a maximum of 30 years with a relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST candidates and of 3 years for the OBC's.

After successful completion of the exam, the candidate will be eligible to write the main examination which will be followed by interview.
For any particular information related to the IAS exam, do visit the official website of UPSC.
12th May 2011, 09:09 AM

I didn't complete my 2... Instead I joined diploma after 10th...But have completed my engineering course in civil.... So is it possible for me to write the IAS exams?????
12th May 2011, 10:49 PM

wht precentage is required for .I.A.S IN 12?
12th May 2011, 10:52 PM

wht percentage is required in 12 to become I.A.S ?
19th May 2011, 10:21 AM

HELLO, what percentage is required to become I.A.S??
21st May 2011, 03:15 PM

from where we will get forms for ias
23rd May 2011, 01:58 PM

i want details of ias
24th May 2011, 12:57 AM

i have secured 62%in 12th class. will i go for improvement papers when i dropping for 1 year
1st June 2011, 03:42 AM

hi.......
i hav completed my btech in electrical engg..... n hav got placed in an IT company ......
I want 2 prepare for ias alongwith my job....... ....... can u help me wid suggestion???
1st June 2011, 01:14 PM

i am not knowing what to do after 12th cbse
8th June 2011, 01:09 AM

sir i got 65% of marks at 10th and 55% 0f marks at 12th and after three years of long gap i joined engineering now i m 27 year old and currently doing in a small industry but want to do better in my life with in two years of my life so please answer me can i do better whatever i think despite i have not very good knowledge and still i never cleared any comptetive exam in my life and no good knowledge also so please suggest me what situation can make me strong so that i can clear comptetion like govt. job.
9th June 2011, 05:09 PM

mene 12th 55% se pass ki hai , kya may i.a.s. ke tayari kar sakta hu ? please answer
13th June 2011, 01:28 PM
stranger351

You can can not give IAS exam Just after 12th.
As minimum qualification of IAS exam is graduation so you are not eligible for appearing in IAS exam.
The eligibility of IAS exam as follow-
Passed Graduation from a Indian govt recognized university or College
3 year relaxation for OBC
and 5 yr relaxation for SC/ST in upper age...
14th June 2011, 10:31 PM

My % in 12 is only 56% so am i eligible for an ias exam and i also got a civil defence training certificate and as i am a scout i also got a Rastrapati award certificate.
15th June 2011, 12:40 AM
shekharrai

Wheather, you score 40% or 90% in class 12 or Bachelor Degree or Master Degree or P.hd that does'nt matters.

And nothing else.

However, it is fact that priyority will given to candidates with good academic background, but thats a different matter. Becoming IAS officer is directly proportional to Hard work and Talent.

15th June 2011, 11:28 PM
SUMITRA_M

The percentage of 12th class does not matter for ias exam. You should only pass in graduation in any stream.
17th June 2011, 01:04 AM
sachin6

Now you are not eligibke for ias. The minimum requirement is to get a degree.
19th June 2011, 01:46 PM
rniteshkmr

To become an IAS officer there is no such mark ristriction but there is certain eligibilities for this is that candidate must have only passed Graduation in any field from any recognised institute, university of India. it doesn't matters about your percentage. But the priyority will given to candidates with good academic background. Don't worry about it because becoming IAS officer needs only Talent and Hard work.

Those who have this two qualities then he will be suceed.