5th November 2011, 02:04 PM
divyasharavanesh

Which is the best Professional course among CA, ICWA and ICSI?

hi.. sir which is the best professional course ICWA or ICSI or CA

5th November 2011, 08:45 PM
gauri2011

Default Re: Which is the best Professional course among CA, ICWA and ICSI?

Originally Posted by divyasharavanesh View Post

CA,ICWAI AND ICSI are important in their own respective ways.It depends on your own interest and wish that which course you want to pursue.

For each course you need to work hard,keep yourself focused and put in all that you can so that you get qualified.

Best wishes...
5th November 2011, 09:18 PM
millan1

Location: At- Ainshamula; Po- Chhanijanga; Dist- Puri; Pin- 752113; Odisha

Here ia m giving you details about all these 3 courses. Then you will have to decide which will be more appropriate for you.

All the three courses have similarities with regard to the course syllabus. A person doing a particular course studies more or less the same subjects as the person doing any other course.
The only difference being the depth of the subjects studied and the examination orientation. Chartered accountancy course has in depth study relating to financial accounting, auditing, tax aspects. Cost accounting course has in depth study relating to cost and management accounting. Company secretaryship has in depth study relating to company law.

Which course you take up is dependent on what you are interested in and what you wish to specialise in. Depending on your ability, aptitude, career outlook, you need to choose the relevant course.

Chartered Accountancy

Chartered Accountancy (CA) is one of the most highly sought after courses in India. It is the most prestigious qualification in accounting and finance degree. Chartered Accountancy equips a student with thorough knowledge of auditing, taxation and accounting. It is important for students to register with the institute of Chartered Accountants of India to appear for the examination.

Levels of Chartered Accountancy:
• Entry Level Test: Common Proficiency Test
• First Stage of Theoretical Education: Professional Competence Course
• Final Stage of Theoretical Education: Final Course

Eligibility: If you have passed 10+2 from any stream from a recognized school, you are eligible to apply for the Common Proficiency Test (CPT). If you have got registered for the Common Proficiency Test 60 days prior to the first day of the month in which CPT examination is to be held can appear in the examination i.e. on or before 1st April and 1st October for appearing in CPT examination to be held in June and December respectively. Common Proficiency Test examinations are held in June & December every year.

Duration: The course period is 1 year through correspondence where the topics include basic knowledge of Accounting, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Mercantile Law.

For intermediate and (Professional Competence Course - PCC) one need to pass 10+2 and the Foundation Course. The course period is 18 months.

For the final stage, a student needs to pass the intermediate level and complete his graduation. For ICAI membership, a student needs a pass in the Final Course Examination along with requisite work experience which can be gained before, during or after the final course.

Scope and Career Prospect: Chartered accountants are involved in a variety of roles. They are either employed by a company or are practicing chartered accountants. They are involved in:

preparing financial statements and management reports
liaising with internal and external auditors
carrying out taxation and auditing work
advising on tax and efficient tax planning
preparing the annual reports

Quality chartered accountants are always in high demand. Demand for professionally qualified accounting personnel for advising on cost control and financial investments are always high. As a fresher, you will start your career as internal auditor or as a team member in the finance department of an organisation.

Cost Accountancy (ICWA)

With the globalization of the economy, the demand of quality cost and management professionals is on the upswing. Institute of Cost and Works Accountants of India (ICWAI) promotes, regulates, and develops the profession of Cost Accountancy in India. A Cost Accountant is expected to collect, assimilate, collate and analyze financial information from all areas of the organization. A cost accounting degree equips you with the knowledge on how to manage finance competently and ensure managerial decisions are well within the available resources.

Eligibility: A student from any stream after having passed the 10+2 examination is eligible to appear for the Foundation Course. There are two levels after the Foundation Course: the Intermediate and the Final Examination.

Career Prospects: Every organization needs a good cost accountant. You can also take up consultancy work with various firms. With experience and training, cost accountants can hold top management position like Financial Controller, Chief Accountant, Cost Controller, Marketing Manager and Chief Internal Auditor. Options are also open to CWAs to directly register in M.Phil and Ph.D. courses in commerce as decided by the Association of Indian Universities.
All India Council for Technical Education or AICTE decided that Fellow members of ICWAI will be treated at par with the persons holding Ph.D. degree for appointment in the posts of Professor and Lecturer in Professional and management Institutes.
Average salaries at junior level are Rs 10,000 to Rs 15,000 per month while a senior most CWA can expect to get Rs 30000 to Rs 35,000 per month in domestic markets.

Institute of Company Secretaries of India” (ICSI)

The Institute of Company Secretaries of India” (ICSI) is a premier National Professional body established by Act of Parliament to develop and regulate the Profession of Company Secretaries.

ICSI imparts training in Company Secretaryship by Distance Learning (by correspondence) enabling students to qualify as Company Secretaries. The Institute provides “Course Material” for all the subjects at the time of Registration. There is also provision for Optional Oral Coaching classes.

Career as a Company Secretary is not only prestigious and financially rewarding but also carries with it a high level of job satisfaction.
Stages to become a Company Secretary

The student who would like to join the Course after 10+2 has to undergo three stages to pursue the Company Secretaries Course i.e.

Foundation Programme

Executive Programme

Professional Programme

In addition, the student has to undergo Practical Training for about 15 months which a student may opt to start after passing the Executive Programme.

The Student who would like to join the Course after passing the Graduation has to undergo two stages of the Company Secretaryship i.e.

Executive Programme

Professional Programme

Besides, the student has to undergo Practical Training for about 15 months.

Foundation Programme which is of eight months duration can be pursued by 10+2 pass students of Arts, Science or Commerce stream.

Executive Programme can be pursued by a Graduate of all streams except Fine Arts.

Professional Programme can be pursued only after clearing the Executive Programme of CS Course.

Training: A Student has to undergo 15 months Management Training in Companies sponsored by the Institute after passing the Executive or Professional Programme or under the guidance of a Company Secretary in Practice.

After qualifying Professional Examination and on successful completion of training a candidate is admitted as an Associate Member of the ICSI and can use the letters ACS after his/her name i.e. Associate Company Secretary.

Admission to the CS Course is open throughout the year. Examinations are held twice a year in June & December.

Cut off dates for admission to CS course:

For Foundation Programme

31st March for appearing in December Examination in the same year

30th September for June Examination next year

For Executive Programme

28th February for December Exams in the same

year

31st August for June Exam next year

CS Prospectus can be obtained from any of the offices of the Institute across India and

Cost of Prospectus for Foundation Programme : Rs. 200/- by cash payment while

Rs. 250/- by Post or courier

Cost of Prospectus for the Executive Programme : Rs. 300/- by cash payment while
Rs.350/- by Post or courier

Payment Option : The payment can be sent to the Headquarters by demand draft drawn in favour of ‘The Institute of Company Secretaries of India’ payable at New Delhi OR by cash across the counter from the Headquarters, Regional Offices & a few of the Chapters.
Fee Structure for CS Course

The fee for CS Foundation Programme is - Rs. 3600/-
for Executive Programme - Rs. 7000/- for Commerce Graduates while

- Rs. 7750/- for Non Commerce Students

ICSI offices across India

The ICSI has its Headquarters at ICSI House 22 Institutional Area Lodi Road New Delhi and Regional offices at Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai & New Delhi and 69 Chapters located in various cities in India.

ICSI has 66 Examination Centres scattered all over India including one overseas centre at Dubai.
Employment Prospects

h A qualified company secretary has openings in Employment and as Practising

Independent Professional

h Companies with a paid up share capital of Rs.2 crores or more are compulsorily required to appoint a whole time Company Secretary who is a Member of ICSI

h All companies seeking listing on Stock Exchange are required to appoint a whole time company secretary

h Membership of the Institute is recognized for appointment to superior posts and services under Central Government.
5th November 2011, 09:20 PM
millan1

Location: At- Ainshamula; Po- Chhanijanga; Dist- Puri; Pin- 752113; Odisha

Here ia m giving you details about all these 3 courses. Then you will have to decide which will be more appropriate for you.

All the three courses have similarities with regard to the course syllabus. A person doing a particular course studies more or less the same subjects as the person doing any other course.
The only difference being the depth of the subjects studied and the examination orientation. Chartered accountancy course has in depth study relating to financial accounting, auditing, tax aspects. Cost accounting course has in depth study relating to cost and management accounting. Company secretaryship has in depth study relating to company law.

Which course you take up is dependent on what you are interested in and what you wish to specialise in. Depending on your ability, aptitude, career outlook, you need to choose the relevant course.

Chartered Accountancy

Chartered Accountancy (CA) is one of the most highly sought after courses in India. It is the most prestigious qualification in accounting and finance degree. Chartered Accountancy equips a student with thorough knowledge of auditing, taxation and accounting. It is important for students to register with the institute of Chartered Accountants of India to appear for the examination.

Levels of Chartered Accountancy:
• Entry Level Test: Common Proficiency Test
• First Stage of Theoretical Education: Professional Competence Course
• Final Stage of Theoretical Education: Final Course

Eligibility: If you have passed 10+2 from any stream from a recognized school, you are eligible to apply for the Common Proficiency Test (CPT). If you have got registered for the Common Proficiency Test 60 days prior to the first day of the month in which CPT examination is to be held can appear in the examination i.e. on or before 1st April and 1st October for appearing in CPT examination to be held in June and December respectively. Common Proficiency Test examinations are held in June & December every year.

Duration: The course period is 1 year through correspondence where the topics include basic knowledge of Accounting, Economics, Mathematics, Statistics, and Mercantile Law.

For intermediate and (Professional Competence Course - PCC) one need to pass 10+2 and the Foundation Course. The course period is 18 months.

For the final stage, a student needs to pass the intermediate level and complete his graduation. For ICAI membership, a student needs a pass in the Final Course Examination along with requisite work experience which can be gained before, during or after the final course.

Scope and Career Prospect: Chartered accountants are involved in a variety of roles. They are either employed by a company or are practicing chartered accountants. They are involved in:

preparing financial statements and management reports
liaising with internal and external auditors
carrying out taxation and auditing work
advising on tax and efficient tax planning
preparing the annual reports

Quality chartered accountants are always in high demand. Demand for professionally qualified accounting personnel for advising on cost control and financial investments are always high. As a fresher, you will start your career as internal auditor or as a team member in the finance department of an organisation.

Cost Accountancy (ICWA)

With the globalization of the economy, the demand of quality cost and management professionals is on the upswing. Institute of Cost and Works Accountants of India (ICWAI) promotes, regulates, and develops the profession of Cost Accountancy in India. A Cost Accountant is expected to collect, assimilate, collate and analyze financial information from all areas of the organization. A cost accounting degree equips you with the knowledge on how to manage finance competently and ensure managerial decisions are well within the available resources.

Eligibility: A student from any stream after having passed the 10+2 examination is eligible to appear for the Foundation Course. There are two levels after the Foundation Course: the Intermediate and the Final Examination.

Career Prospects: Every organization needs a good cost accountant. You can also take up consultancy work with various firms. With experience and training, cost accountants can hold top management position like Financial Controller, Chief Accountant, Cost Controller, Marketing Manager and Chief Internal Auditor. Options are also open to CWAs to directly register in M.Phil and Ph.D. courses in commerce as decided by the Association of Indian Universities.
All India Council for Technical Education or AICTE decided that Fellow members of ICWAI will be treated at par with the persons holding Ph.D. degree for appointment in the posts of Professor and Lecturer in Professional and management Institutes.
Average salaries at junior level are Rs 10,000 to Rs 15,000 per month while a senior most CWA can expect to get Rs 30000 to Rs 35,000 per month in domestic markets.

Institute of Company Secretaries of India” (ICSI)

The Institute of Company Secretaries of India” (ICSI) is a premier National Professional body established by Act of Parliament to develop and regulate the Profession of Company Secretaries.

ICSI imparts training in Company Secretaryship by Distance Learning (by correspondence) enabling students to qualify as Company Secretaries. The Institute provides “Course Material” for all the subjects at the time of Registration. There is also provision for Optional Oral Coaching classes.

Career as a Company Secretary is not only prestigious and financially rewarding but also carries with it a high level of job satisfaction.
Stages to become a Company Secretary

The student who would like to join the Course after 10+2 has to undergo three stages to pursue the Company Secretaries Course i.e.

Foundation Programme

Executive Programme

Professional Programme

In addition, the student has to undergo Practical Training for about 15 months which a student may opt to start after passing the Executive Programme.

The Student who would like to join the Course after passing the Graduation has to undergo two stages of the Company Secretaryship i.e.

Executive Programme

Professional Programme

Besides, the student has to undergo Practical Training for about 15 months.

Foundation Programme which is of eight months duration can be pursued by 10+2 pass students of Arts, Science or Commerce stream.

Executive Programme can be pursued by a Graduate of all streams except Fine Arts.

Professional Programme can be pursued only after clearing the Executive Programme of CS Course.

Training: A Student has to undergo 15 months Management Training in Companies sponsored by the Institute after passing the Executive or Professional Programme or under the guidance of a Company Secretary in Practice.

After qualifying Professional Examination and on successful completion of training a candidate is admitted as an Associate Member of the ICSI and can use the letters ACS after his/her name i.e. Associate Company Secretary.

Admission to the CS Course is open throughout the year. Examinations are held twice a year in June & December.

Cut off dates for admission to CS course:

For Foundation Programme

31st March for appearing in December Examination in the same year

30th September for June Examination next year

For Executive Programme

28th February for December Exams in the same

year

31st August for June Exam next year

CS Prospectus can be obtained from any of the offices of the Institute across India and

Cost of Prospectus for Foundation Programme : Rs. 200/- by cash payment while

Rs. 250/- by Post or courier

Cost of Prospectus for the Executive Programme : Rs. 300/- by cash payment while
Rs.350/- by Post or courier

Payment Option : The payment can be sent to the Headquarters by demand draft drawn in favour of ‘The Institute of Company Secretaries of India’ payable at New Delhi OR by cash across the counter from the Headquarters, Regional Offices & a few of the Chapters.
Fee Structure for CS Course

The fee for CS Foundation Programme is - Rs. 3600/-
for Executive Programme - Rs. 7000/- for Commerce Graduates while

- Rs. 7750/- for Non Commerce Students

ICSI offices across India

The ICSI has its Headquarters at ICSI House 22 Institutional Area Lodi Road New Delhi and Regional offices at Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai & New Delhi and 69 Chapters located in various cities in India.

ICSI has 66 Examination Centres scattered all over India including one overseas centre at Dubai.
Employment Prospects

h A qualified company secretary has openings in Employment and as Practising

Independent Professional

h Companies with a paid up share capital of Rs.2 crores or more are compulsorily required to appoint a whole time Company Secretary who is a Member of ICSI

h All companies seeking listing on Stock Exchange are required to appoint a whole time company secretary

h Membership of the Institute is recognized for appointment to superior posts and services under Central Government.
5th November 2011, 11:12 PM
ravik1214

Thumbs up Re: Which is the best Professional course among CA, ICWA and ICSI?

Which is the best Professional course among CA, ICWA and ICSI?

All of the three are considered good in commerce field but according to me the best course between these three is undoubtedly CA but it takes much time than the two .

The other two means ICWA and CS is also considered good but for getting more powers and earnings , you need to have CA degree .

If you have a CA degree then you can start your own business by just opening a personal office .However it will take some time to settle but after getting popularity , you will not need to join any company for money .

I am also favouring CA because it is necessary for all the companies to have a CA for auditing purpose and we know that in india companies are in developing stage.

With Regards
ravik1214
5th November 2011, 11:18 PM
sathish0038

All three CA,ICWA, ICSI are good course providing to commerce students not only commerce students also Maths ,Physics and chemistry

now CA has more number of vacancies when compare to other so for Auditing purpose CA candiates are must.

According to my opinion CA is the Best course for your position and important thing is about your interest
you should join according to your interest only
6th February 2012, 11:44 AM

can i do both courses i.e c.a and c.s
6th June 2012, 06:44 PM

hello sir, guide me in choosing the best institute for ca-ipcc in chennai and hyderabad
6th July 2012, 03:40 PM

WHICH IS BEST COURSE B.TECH OR CA
5th October 2012, 12:40 PM
TiwariSharad

All the course under reference/discussion have their own quality & expertise.All the institute provide their students expertise & quality in which they are known in global & excel.

CWA institute provides expertise in Cost & Management Accountancy , Enterprise Resourse Planning & Business Valuation, Auditing ( Both Cost & Financial Audit - But Cost Audit is specialised ),Tax Management ( Both Direct & Indirect - But Indirect Tax is of superiest quality ),Financial Accountancy.

CA institute provides expertise in Financial Accountancy, Taxation ( Direct Taxation Expertize ), Auditing ( Financial Audit Expertize ).

CS institue provides expertise in legal ascepts & matters.

In case of salary , its your own quality & expertise which provides you a package.In case of CWA & CA there is no bar of salary.If you have expertise & quality it doesn't matter whether you are CWA or CA , you will get what you demand.

In case of GOVT/PSU jobs there is no distinction between CWA & CA.

ST
10th December 2012, 10:35 AM

which is the best institute to study ICWA in chennai.
10th February 2013, 10:06 PM

sir i want to know distinction between ca and icwa in taughness
27th May 2013, 07:01 PM

I passed bcom more than 50% then what is the next step for joining chartered accountants?& how to register for that course & also explain the registration date
28th May 2013, 03:45 PM

Which course is tough company secretary or ica
29th May 2013, 07:50 PM

Which is bettes CA & CWA?
7th July 2013, 12:01 PM

Which is better ca or cs , i m interested in theory more then accounts and i also want more salary so what should i opt for bettween Ca or Cs??? Plzz help me fast...
14th August 2013, 10:01 PM

If you are interested in theory more than A/Cs then you should choose CS
18th November 2013, 11:13 AM

Sir, i did my UG in Commerce, PG in Information Technology & Management and also i have finished my ACS (Inter),pls tell me about my job scope. Is there possibilities to get job opportunities in abroad? If i do CA in future what will be my exemptions?
6th February 2014, 02:33 PM

Hi sir, I am currently working as Government consultant in PWC and my qualification is B.Com,MBA in finance .I want to study ICWA as part time please guide regarding this.