17th July 2023, 05:29 PM
Unregistered

May i join Merchant Navy after MCA?

I have done MCA in 2019, now i am doing job as a web developer, i want to change my job, So please tell me. Now, may i join merchant navy.

17th July 2023, 09:28 PM
Hera tabrez
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: May i join Merchant Navy after MCA?

In order to join merchant navy , the candidate must have passed class 12 board exam with atleast 60% or equivalent CGPA and a requisite subject mix of physics, chemistry and maths.
But now it's too late to join merchant navy , the openings are ideally after +2 as the institutions impart their own training not only the technical but also physical training.
18th July 2023, 05:27 PM
Abhijeet_2016
Senior Member+

Dear Aspirant,

Please read the following conditions

Eligibility-----

Age Limit: 17 years to 25 years
Candidate must have got 65% in class 12th exam
Candidate must be unmarried
Physical fitness is needed for every candidate
Color blindness is not tolerated at any stage.
English is required or said to be compulsory language.

Process to Join Merchant Navy
Enterance exam like JEE, IMU CET need to be cleared.
A candidate also need to clear interview stage and medical examination process.
Applicant must then enrol in BSc nautical science at any of nautical science school.
Student then need to complete 18 months cadet onboard training.
You can join as a third officer after which promotion is granted as per exam.
18th July 2023, 05:28 PM
Doctor Tom
Senior Member+++++

Yes, you can join the merchant navy after completing an MCA degree.

If you want to work in the deck department, you will need to complete a Bachelor of Science in Nautical Science (BSc. Nautical Science) degree. This degree will teach you the skills and knowledge you need to navigate and operate a ship.