22nd December 2009, 10:04 PM
ankit_goyal1985

Merchant navy admissions?

What is the procedure to getting into merchant navy...?? I m in 12th n giving boards in 2010....

6th January 2010, 07:17 PM
maddusajj

Default Re: Merchant navy admissions?

you can apply for ins chanakya or maritime mumbai.
you can also apply for Russian institutes
7th January 2010, 12:47 PM
ryan

first of all prepare well for your boards exam and score a decent score in it so that you will not have to face the cut-off marks problems while giving merchant navy exams,
several govt. as well as private companies conduct exams such as:

1)T.S. chanakya --it selects students according to their IIT-JEE score card.

2)NAMAC--- it has its own enterance exam and the course is conducted by indian navy.

3)there are several other companies like MERSK,ANGLO EASTERN,etc about which you can get more information by simply referring to local magazines ,local dailies and rozgar samachar.
7th January 2010, 05:56 PM
vir_90

The minimum eligibility for courses in Nautical science and Marine engineering is 10+2 or an equivalent examination with physics, chemistry and mathematics,then contact any public or private company....then u have to pass a written exam after which u will be interviewed followed by medical check up .............after passing medical check up,then 6 months off- board training and then a 6 months on- board training

some best institutes are-tolani,torm,mearsk,anglo eastern,babar.....
8th January 2010, 08:32 PM
ROHIT KUNDLIYA

only 60% passed out students in 12th class with pcm subject
9th January 2010, 05:22 PM
amarjit

after 10+2 u have to contact any merchant navy office which provides training
then u have to pass a written exam after which u will be interviewed.....then there will a medical checkup....
then there will be a course for 6 months off- board training and then a 6 months on- board training.......
there are many institutes such as meri in mumbai and kolcatta, tolani , namac in mumbai ......
10th January 2010, 09:33 AM
anudmishra

you have to apply for iitjee first,the admission are best on the score you get in iitjee
10th January 2010, 08:04 PM
mathur

12th pass students with pcm are eligible to join as deck cadets. to enter the navigational and engineering fields of Merchant Navy one need to complete B.Sc. degree in mechanical or marine engineering.

Admission to Merchant Navy Courses in India is conducted through IIT- JEE.

The major institutes giving training on nautical sciences and marine engineering are -
1. The Training Ship Chanakya (T S Chanakya), Karaus, Navi Mumbai.
2. Marine Engineering Research Institute, P-19, Taratolla Rd, Kolkata-700088
3. Marine Engineering & Research Institute, Hay Bunder Road, Mumbai - 400 033
4.Dir4ectorate General of Shipping, Jahaj Bhavan, Ballard Estate, Walchand Hirachand Marg, Mumbai 400001

for courses offered and more details visit:
http://www.indiaedu.com/career-courses/merchant-navy-courses/
19th January 2010, 09:34 PM
clinton

sir,i am in 10th standard i want to joint merchant navy after my ssc board exam. please tell me what should i do ?
20th January 2010, 12:12 AM
priya143

Career in Merchant Navy can be pursued either as an officer or a rating in mainly two specialized fields, i.e.Marine Engineering and Nautical (deck).
To become a seafarer, following streams of entries (Pre-Sea courses) are available to Indian citizens in the Government as well as in private training institutions (recognized and approved by Director General of Shipping, Ministry of Shipping.

There are four Government Training Institutes providing Pre-Sea and Post-Sea training of international standard :

Training Ship Chanakya, Navi Mumbai.
Marine Engineering & Research Institute (MERI), Kolkata.
Marine Engineering & Research Institute (MERI), Mumbai.
Lal Bahadur Shastri College of advanced Maritime Studies and Research, Mumbai.

admision to these institutes is through IIT-JEE scorecard.

besides there are other institutes like

MERSK
TORM
ANGLO-EASTERN

for joining these you have to give a test conducted by IGNOU followed by an interview.

20th January 2010, 12:45 AM
sumitkumarinmit

just fill the ts chanakya form you can get admission only if you satisfy the criteria of marks mention in the form in iit jee 2010 or else try for private college in mumbai and vizag for merchant navy
21st January 2010, 04:52 PM
AKHILESH BERI

Course offered
Bachelor Of Science - B.Sc (Nautical Science)

Eligibility
The candidates must have passed in 10+2 with 50% marks any recognised board/University.

How to apply
The application form can be sending by a demand draft for Rs. 500/- towards cost of IMCAT Prospectus, drawn in favor of Block-12, Indira Gandhi National Open University, Maidan Garhi, New Delhi-110068.
The application also can be downloaded from the IGNOU OPENNET - Merchant Navy Entrance Test official website.

Admission Process
The Selection of the Candidate is based on Personal interview and written admission test.
21st January 2010, 07:50 PM

you should prepare for IIT JEE exam to get admission in merchant navy ..........
22nd January 2010, 09:41 PM
Bella

the procedure and all the details about joing aand eligibility about merachant navy is available on http://www.educationinfoindia.com/marinefaq.htm
23rd January 2010, 02:43 AM
edward
Top Answerer

after passing 12th you can give the different exam conducted by different companies :-
namac
torm
anglo eastern
mersek
15th February 2010, 10:41 PM
bond007

first you have to appear for the entrance exam organized by different companies and if you clear that then you will be called for interview and then for the medical exam and if you pass all this then you can go for any company and join there.
7th March 2010, 12:17 AM
seer

Post Re: Merchant navy admissions?

What is the procedure to getting into merchant navy...?? I m in 12th n giving boards in 2010 .WHEN WILL ADMISSION STARTS????
14th March 2010, 03:51 PM
mike shinoda back

hi.......
primarly....
you have to give written test for .......MER.Navy...
certain colleges provider there own exams....
you can visit....
www.educationinfoindia.com for queries....
on international recommendation...there are also some oppertunities....
some
colleges.....like.... The Training Ship Chanakya, Mumbai.
Marine Engineering Research Institute, Kolkata
Marine Engineering & Research Institute
best of luck......
15th March 2010, 11:02 PM

if you want to make a carrier in the merchant navy then for that at least you have to keep 60% marks in the 12th,
and you have give the exam of merchant navy,
and after passing the entrance exam, you can join merchant navy.

o k
18th March 2010, 02:34 PM
gautam d wonder lover

[B] after 10+2 u have to contact any merchant navy office which provides training
then u have to pass a written exam after which u will be interviewed.....then there will a medical checkup....
then there will be a course for 6 months off- board training and then a 6 months on- board training.......
there are many institutes such as meri in mumbai and kolcatta, tolani , namac in mumbai ......
19th March 2010, 04:01 PM
nalanda

you can go for merchant navy,
just after 12th,
but for some company your marks should be at least 60% and for some it must be at least
55%,
you have to fill up the form of merchant navy,which will be published in the employment
news,
and after passing the all exam procedure you will be joined in merchant navy.
o k
20th March 2010, 05:33 PM
ROHIT KUNDLIYA

only 60% passed out students in 12th class with pcm subject
21st March 2010, 11:31 AM
Manjeet124

Hi friend
You can apply for ins chanakya or maritime mumbai....
31st March 2010, 04:37 AM
rajeshingarhwa

dera friend,
admissions for merchant navy requires minimum eligibility criteria of passing 12th standard with at least 60% in PCM.there are colleges such as ins chanakya or maritime mumbai
moreover you can check out the employment news.
20th April 2010, 01:55 PM

sir i m 12 th pass student in pcm. i m appear first year in mumbai university. my college is FR.CONCISCO RODRIGES COLLEGE OF ENGG. BANDRA(W). BUT I M joint to marchant navy what should i do?
20th April 2010, 01:58 PM

sir i m 12 th pass student in pcm. i m appear first year in mumbai university. my college is FR.CONCISCO RODRIGES COLLEGE OF ENGG. BANDRA(W). BUT I M joint to marchant navy what should i do?
20th April 2010, 10:38 PM

after completing your 12th with 60% marks in pcm group.
then you can apply for merchant navy. There are four Government
Training Institutes providing Pre-Sea and Post-Sea training of international
standard-

Training Ship Chanakya, Navi Mumbai.
Marine Engineering & Research Institute, Mumbai.
Lal Bahadur Shastri College of advanced Maritime Studies and Research, Mumbai.

ok
21st April 2010, 06:25 PM

what was the cut-off for admission in t.s. chanakya last year(2009) in b.tech. as well as
b.sc. nautical?
29th April 2010, 02:59 AM
neeraj.lakhan

how 2 join marchant navy after 10th .....rep pls n can i join it after 10 this is my 1st question
30th April 2010, 12:06 PM

what rank in iitjee confirm selection in t.s.chanakya??????
4th May 2010, 06:16 PM
amarjit

dear,
even if you qualify the entrance exam of iit then you will be eligible for getting admission in t s chanakya........

if you are in the extended merit list then apply for a seat in t s chankaya.......

you might get one......

8th May 2010, 09:23 AM

Hello sir.....
my name is Gadhvi Ravi Kumar Manharbhai
i am 12th Science pass... i am joining to Marchat navy.... So Please Reply
my id is [email protected]
my Mob No : 9998339447
16th May 2010, 10:11 PM

sir,would u pls tell me about d details of entrance exam conducted for merchant navy course
25th May 2010, 07:46 PM

Require urgent reply....

i had given my 10 2 boards...bt unfortunately gt 58% total and in pcm 50%..\\

is der any chance of gettin in merchant navy...i ve also filled the IMU form....and is expecting the hall ticket....

reply soon
27th May 2010, 11:55 AM

hi i've given my class xii and got 72%.
i've not qualified jee and want to do marine engineering from imu.
what r the scopes for me?pls help
31st May 2010, 05:23 PM

i have got 58% in pcm but no institute in mumbai is ready 2 giv admissions with this percent....do i still stand a chance for merchant navy??
31st May 2010, 10:13 PM

sir i have done bsc from maths from rajasthan university can i join merchant nevi
6th June 2010, 08:42 PM

i have got 93% in pcm in 2009. n completed 1st year in civil engg.
is dere a better future in merchant navy...
n please tell about the critiria for it after 2..........
u can reply me at [email protected] .
PLEASE HELP....
7th June 2010, 01:27 AM

I am a 21 yr old guy,got 67% in 12th with 63% in pcm and 71% in 10th with 77% in maths and science. at present i am persuing b-tech
,in 2nd yr with over all 65%,my branch is electronics and instrumentation,but i want to join merchant navy.
What should I do?
my email id is [email protected]
pls do rply.
7th June 2010, 02:58 AM
sanket mathur

For all the information related to the admission in merchant navy just go through the link given below--
http://www.namacindia.com/join_mn.ht
24th June 2010, 01:23 PM

application form kis web side se ni kalna hai
ashish
29th June 2010, 09:47 PM

My name is Hiten . I like to admission in Marine Engineering officers. But I got marks in PCM in 12 std. group is Phy-51, Chem.-57, Math-65. = 173 Then What can I do? %u201CPlease help me for admission in Marine Engineering officers OR any other field in Indian Navy%u201D Private & government.
30th June 2010, 04:05 AM
mathursaab

You can get all the details related to this on this link....
http://www.namacindia.com/faq.htm
30th June 2010, 04:16 AM

Following are the possible ways to join merchant navy.

1. Joining the navigation department:
You will need to pursue Bachelors programme in Nautical science. The
course duration will be 3 years. After successfull completion of this
course, you may join merchant navy as Deck Cadet.

2. Joining the engineering department:
You will need to pursue Marine engineering. The course duration will be
4 years. A marine engineer could join merchant navy as junior engineer.

The minimum eligibility to join the courses is 10+2 with Maths, Physics and chemistry from a recognised institutes.

3. One can also join Merchant Navy through direct entry. Direct entry as Deck Cadet will need to go through a pre sea training arranged by the recruitter. The minimum qualification for direct entry as deck cadet is successful completion of 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Maths.
whereas, for direct entry in the engineering department of merchant navy, one needs to have a bachelors degree in engineering, along with 9 months of pre-sea course conducted by MERI.

Here is the list of some major institutes which offers courses for Merchant navy for the candidates who has qualified the entrance exam such as IIT JEE, AIEEE and others.

The Training Ship Chanakya (T S Chanakya), Karaus, Navi Mumbai.

Marine Engineering Research Institute, P-19, Taratolla Rd, Kolkata-700088

Marine Engineering & Research Institute, Hay Bunder Road, Mumbai - 400 033

Directorate General of Shipping, Jahaj Bhavan, Ballard Estate, Walchand Hirachand Marg, Mumbai 400001
12th July 2010, 03:27 PM

sir i am in 10th standard. i want to join merchant navy after 10th. can i do that? or is it compulsory for me to give 12th exam also?
29th July 2010, 09:02 PM

It will better for you to join a good coaching center and after then they will guide to how to crack the entrance exam for the Merchant navy.

The good coaching centers are T.S. Chanakya, Navi Mumba, Marine Engineering & Research Institute (MERI), Kolkata,Marine Engineering & Research Institute (MERI), Mumbai. etc.....

30th July 2010, 08:03 PM
kalyan333

Thumbs up Re: Merchant navy admissions?

the qualification is 12th with 60%.
after taht you have to write iit-jee.
by depending on your rank,you are to be get seat in merchant navy.
31st July 2010, 10:19 PM

where is main ofice of it?
2nd August 2010, 10:53 PM

Actually,I am a student of DPS school.Right now I am in class 12th and i want to join merchant navy,can you say me the procedure and surety of getting this job.And how can i get this job if i don't crack IIT-JEE?
6th August 2010, 08:33 PM

i am studied first year in engeering and want to change to merchant navy course wat should i do sir to change can i change now sir.