22nd November 2009, 02:03 PM
Surendra Kumar Mohanty

Requirements for Lateral Entry in B.E. course. for outsiders?

My son who is not a resident of Karnataka will complete his diploma in Electronics and communication in 2010 from a recognized private engineering college of Karnataka. He wants to take admission in B.E. in Karnataka under Lateral Entry category. Because he is from outside Karnataka what are the rules for such admission.

26th November 2009, 07:23 PM
explore_urself

Default Re: Requirements for Lateral Entry in B.E. course. for outsiders?

To get admission in the Engineering degree under Lateral Entry scheme, a student should have passed a Diploma in the appropriate branch from the Institute recognized by Board of Technical Education, Karnataka or from the Private aided and Private unaided Engineering Colleges in the state of Karnataka. There is no any specific rule for the students belonging to the outside of Karnataka.

Students must have to qualify an Common Entrance Test (CET) followed by a counselling program which is conducted by the Govt. of Karnataka. So, keep your information up-to-date.
26th November 2009, 07:29 PM
maddusajj

he has to take common entrance test (CET) and there is no specific rule for outside candidates .
26th November 2009, 08:26 PM
Surendra Kumar Mohanty

Thank you very much for your reply regarding Lateral Entry in B.E. course for outsiders.

Warm regards.

Surendra Kumar Mohanty
26th November 2009, 08:39 PM
AKHILESH BERI

as after diploma there are many less no. of entrance exams
but prepare for +1 and +@ syllb
to take part in degree
or there are many colleges in delhi which take direct admissions of diploma cases
15th December 2009, 10:35 PM
shweta guleria

no specific................rule for outsiders.......................
22nd December 2009, 08:15 PM

yes he can take admission to private institutes of karnataka only after cracking the CET.

outsiders are not eligible for admission to gov. colleges of karnataka.
23rd December 2009, 12:26 PM
amarjit

i think if u have done diploma from there only , then you will be eligible to write the entrance exam......or even some of the colleges give admission directly on the basis of the marks in diploma.......
13th January 2010, 01:30 PM
rayyan_qazi

i will be completing my diploma in ETC department through a board called IETE. can i be eligible for further engineering studies in karnataka?
15th January 2010, 03:34 PM

Hello kazi,

Government of India, Ministry of Science and Technology, Department of Science & Industrial Research has recognized IETE as a Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (SIRO) and the Institution has also been notified as an Educational Institution of National Eminence by the Government of India.

So, you are eligible for your further studies in the relevant field.

19th February 2010, 10:05 AM
atanu

it is not matter that your son done his diploma from karnataka or out sides,
for lateral entry diploma certificate is required,
as your son has a diploma certificate so he can tke admission in the college of karnataka,
but for this he should appear for the CET exam,and after getting result,and after counseling he can take admission,through lateral entry,
ok,
3rd March 2010, 02:07 PM
Sadanand Velechi

I have completed Diploma in Electronics Engg from Mumbai.
I want to get admission in second year of BE. My parents are basically from Karnataka with backward class ( Category 1st).

Can I get admission in any govt college.

Sadanand Velechi
5th March 2010, 03:52 AM
asish

as per my knowledge there are no seperate rules for outside students
he just has to have a diploma degree thats all
so all the best
5th March 2010, 10:30 PM
meenakumari

Originally Posted by Surendra Kumar Mohanty View Post
My son who is not a resident of Karnataka will complete his diploma in Electronics and communication in 2010 from a recognized private engineering college of Karnataka. He wants to take admission in B.E. in Karnataka under Lateral Entry category. Because he is from outside Karnataka what are the rules for such admission.
if he want to the eng college means he must write the CET exam and there is no rule for join that college all the best
6th March 2010, 11:01 AM

the rule are same....there are not any particular rule for outsiders, if you are interested, then you can appear the cet exams.
6th March 2010, 08:00 PM
mathur

for admissions as lateral entry in private colleges of karnataka your son has to crack CET (common entrance test).
there are no specific rules for outside karnataka students
19th April 2010, 07:16 PM

when will be the application forms given for lateral entry for cet exam
22nd April 2010, 03:57 PM

when cet exam will conducted for lateral entry 2010. im working in drdo since one year am i elligible for cet exam?
16th May 2010, 05:12 PM

i am belongs to tamil nadu and i am studying in B.Sc computer science, Can i appear for the CET exams in lateral entry for B.E Electrical & Electronic Eng. Please reply send to mail ID, If you wish to help in studies my id is

17th May 2010, 05:10 PM

i am workinng in drdo karnatka and done diploma in bihar i am eligible for lateral entry 2010?
18th May 2010, 06:46 PM

i had done diploma in mechanical from Tamilnadu under DOTE chennai,as an AICTE afflied college, as that in diploma am direct second year. In there if we had PUC science directly we can get second year as now am intrested to join BE. Is am able to attend CET in karnataka?
28th May 2010, 01:08 AM

Where can i find diploma cet notification details
31st May 2010, 09:47 PM
nalanda

there is no any problem he can take admission through the lateral entry but not on the basis of the cet exam,they will take the admission through the aieee.because 15% sheet is for the all india students based on the aieee ranks.
3rd June 2010, 12:52 PM

muje b.tech karna hai to muje iske liye kis kis document ki recruitment hogi pls tell me
21st June 2010, 08:33 PM

Yes you need to have a Domicile certificate as well along with you diploma certificate.
22nd June 2010, 12:27 AM
sandy B

hello friend,for Lateral Entry in B.E. course. for outsiders you have to attain a competative exam,which is jelet.
10th July 2010, 11:50 AM

Hi guys n gals, This is Avanish from bihar.I m persuing Diploma(CSE) from karnatka..After that how can i get admitted in top colleges for B.E/B.Tech in karnatka or out of karnatka? pls help so that i will prepare for this. My email id- [email protected], mob. no-09845885686.Thanking you...
31st July 2010, 08:50 PM
s.k.singh

only 15% sheet is for the outsider.
if you are outsider from karnataka then your admission will be based on the aieee results.so prepare well for getting good college,
3rd August 2010, 01:02 PM

i have done diploma in civil engg. and i want to get admission in be second year,laterally.
8th August 2010, 11:12 AM

hi sir i got 158 rank in mechanical branch and have two years of experience. pls reply me whether i have chance of getting seat. and i an elligeble for kannada medioum and rural
9th August 2010, 06:54 PM
Sathishkannan

no problem in joining as a lateral entry student if he had good mark in diploma then surely he will get seat in one of the good colleges.
11th August 2010, 08:49 AM

my cet rnk in ipu 231.(odgen).kya mera admission ipu ke clg me ho skta h .plz tell me about this.......
12th August 2010, 11:58 PM

hi this is avinash . i have completed my diploma in computer science in karnataka.but i am not a domeciled of karnataka . i had attended cet exams .my query is' how can i get admission to lateral entry in private collages and what are the norms
14th August 2010, 12:44 PM
amit1057

Requirements for Lateral Entry in B.E. course. for outsiders is
only 15% .
if you are outsider from in your state then your admission will be based on the AIEEE results or entrance exam like WB JEE.so prepare well for getting good college.
19th September 2010, 07:43 PM

I am completing Diploma In Electronics and Communications Engineering shortly. I am presently studying in Bangalore AICTE Affiliated Diploma Institute. I have completed my
schooling (study certificate of 5 years study in Karnataka available with me) in Bangalore Karnataka but have done the ICSE course. My questions are:

1. Can I get a lateral entry into the 2nd year of Engineering.
2. Do I need to go through CET. Is it the same CET as what the 2nd PUC/Intermediate students appear for?
3. If it is different where do I approach for the Information on this matter.
4. Is there a ranking system for the 2nd type of CET as in (2) above?
5. Incase I need to do the Engineering course in Evening college, what are the criteria required for admission?

A reply to the above questions will not only help me but a lot of other students who are in a dilema at this moment.

Prakash
20th September 2010, 05:11 PM
mohit brh

yes you can get admission but you should have diploma in any branch from university or reputed institute or college or yu can apply for CET karnataka.
22nd September 2010, 09:22 AM

Non Karnataka students doing diploma are eligibility to appear for CET provided they have studied seven years minimum in Karnataka.
19th October 2010, 07:37 PM

i am student of tamilnadu can i go lateral entry BE karnataka with out writing exam
28th October 2010, 01:58 PM

I am not a resident of Karnataka will complete his diploma in Electronics and communication in 2010 from a recognized private engineering college of Karnataka. He wants to take admission in B.E. in Karnataka under Lateral Entry category. Because he is from outside Karnataka what are the rules for such admission.
28th December 2010, 01:47 PM

hai iam naveen icompleted diploma in cse in karnataka 2010. iwant to attend cet in 2011 what are the certificates iwant to produce to cet board and iam studied upto 10 th in andra. can i take aiee exams?
11th January 2011, 01:16 AM

sir i live in allahabad u.p and i did B.sc with math from allahabad university.am i eligible for leteral entry in B.E in karnataka.
12th January 2011, 07:52 PM
subho19

Red face Re: Requirements for Lateral Entry in B.E. course. for outsiders?

Originally Posted by Surendra Kumar Mohanty View Post
You can take admission through the Common Entrance Test(CET)...
22nd March 2011, 11:47 AM

i did my deploma in Kerala.i dont have Plus two (PUC)Degree. can i get B.E Lateral Entry admissin in karnataka. What are the procedure want to d0?
23rd March 2011, 10:42 PM

hi i passed my diploma in computer sc. from bangalore in 1994 with 61%. now im interested in pursuing evening BE course. i would like to know the procedure n formalities included. pls help. thank you. revathi
12th April 2011, 02:34 PM

SIR
I HAVE COMPLETED MY B.C.A, NOW I WANT TO KNOW THAT CAN I GET ADMISSION IN B.E. BY LATERAL ENTRY.
THANKU
RAHUL
12th April 2011, 10:26 PM

please give an information about west bengal joint entrance examination 2011 lateral entry form from where and last date of application.
26th April 2011, 07:43 PM

sir.
i have completed diploma in mechanical engg.from saptc from cuddalaore with 82%. now am interested in pursuing B.E (mech)i would like to know the procedure n formalities included. pls help. thank you. vetriselvan.u
27th April 2011, 05:33 PM
vijaypatel54

yes he can take admission to private institutes of karnataka only after cracking the CET.

27th April 2011, 07:09 PM
akkilala

hi dear
yes you can take admission to private institutes of karnataka only after cracking the CET.
27th April 2011, 07:13 PM
akkilala

hi dear
yes you can take admission to private institutes of karnataka only after cracking the CET.