20th January 2011, 01:59 AM
rdhakhar

Scope as a Dentist after BDS? Is switching career from a Dentist a good option?

I am a student of B.D.S-3rd year,want to know what scopes are thare as a dentist? should i switch to some else option as i complete my graduation or it's better to pursue as a dentist?

20th January 2011, 05:40 AM
darsh13s

Default Re: Scope as a Dentist after BDS? Is switching career from a Dentist a good option?

Originally Posted by rdhakhar View Post
I am a student of B.D.S-3rd year,want to know what scopes are thare as a dentist? should i switch to some else option as i complete my graduation or it's better to pursue as a dentist?
You can start practicing in private after completion of your B.D.S.
But if you pursue with M.D.S. your scopes will be greater. You could become a college professor and practice in private in the evening hours.
20th January 2011, 09:13 AM
daxter

Default Re: Scope as a Dentist after BDS? Is switching career from a Dentist a good option?

Dentistry is a good option, if you are pursuing the career. in india, people apparently, in the social status ladder, think they are 1 notch lower than MBBS.

also if you want to mint money, be a dentist in US / Europe

Well before you opt for an PG in India or Abroad make sure where you are going to work / do practice.
If you prefer in India then you have many choices. Try Armed Forces Medical College-Pune (AFMC).It offers many choices

If you prefer to work outside india then i must tell you BDS degree from India is recognized in most of the countries including Singapore, USA, UK, Europe, Australia, Newzealand etc. However, in almost all countries you need to qualify the exam conducted by the medical council.
There is great scope for Dentists in Australia and New Zealand but you need to register with Australian Dental council or NZ dental council to practice it or pursue any program in Dental in these countries.
Foreign dental school graduates who wish to practice in the United States must be approved by the state board of dentistry or examiners for licensure in the state in which they wish to practice.
In most cases, foreign dental graduates are required to have a U.S.-granted doctor of dental surgery degree (D.D.S. or D.M.D.).
Limited opportunities exist in accredited dental schools for appropriately qualified foreign dental graduate candidates to be admitted with advanced standing to the second or third year of the dental degree program. You have to complete NBDE Test(part 1&2) if you want to pursue MDS in USA.
You need to have the registration process of the country from the dental council. Once you are able to get the registration clear you can take the admission for study. By law, all dentists, dental hygienists, dental therapists, dental nurses, dental technicians, clinical dental technicians and orthodontic therapists have to register with GDC to work in the UK.
Temporary registration (TR) allows dentists who are not eligible for full registration to practise dentistry in the UK in supervised posts for training, teaching, or research purposes only, and for a limited period. Posts approved for temporary registration by the GDC allow dentists to work in dental schools or hospitals. Apart from these approved settings, temporary registration will not allow dentists to work in general or private practice, or in the community dental services. For practice in any country you need to register with the medical council of that country and acquire a work permit. If you revert with the country of preference we will be in a better position to help you.

also if you want to be in india The future of Indian dentistry is very bright because it has emerged as a sophisticated profession in the recent past. An increasing number of foreigners from different shores even like USA and UK flock to India in search of dental treatment as ever rising cost of keeping dental health is not easy there.

Along with their treatment, they enjoy leisure & sight seeing during their journey and are ultimately benefited on the basis of pros and cons. Therefore, India is emerging as a new terminus for the foreigners with different dental afflictions and for those who want specialized & expensive dental treatments like root canal, crown and bridge fabrication, dental implants and treatment for oro-facial defects.

Few years back an elderly couple settled in London flew down to India to get a set of brand new dentures at Govt. Dental College here. They got the treatment done in just Rs. 700 flat. The same, they said would have costed them nothing less than 5000 UK ponds (roughly Rs. 4 lakhs).

Likewise, every dental treatment is very costly in foreign nations. On an average every year, Americans spend about $ 70 billion on dental services which ranges from basic checkups to advance treatment like implants & new cosmetic whitening.

This has widened the area of dental tourism as coming to India just for dental treatment works out much cheaper.

Therefore, government should establish multi specialty centers at different places to create dental awareness among Indian population and to promote and encourage dental tourism so that more and more foreigners flock to India in search of dental nirvana.

This will not only draw foreign currency but also open new horizons and carrier options in dental sciences for youngsters.

20th January 2011, 12:29 PM

Originally Posted by rdhakhar View Post
No need to worry sir. You can continue your carreer as a dentist. No need to switch to another option
20th January 2011, 02:56 PM
mishra245

There is only the scope in the line of dentist for BDS student.
there are very vast scope of BDS:
In any way MDS is a better choice. Postdoctoral dental study gives dental professionals, the opportunity to work towards specialization in the field of dentistry. The areas of postdoctoral study include the following: periodontics, endodontics, orthodontics, and oral surgery etc.
The following are the specialties in this field:
Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology
Oral Surgery.
15th February 2011, 04:41 PM

if you have huge amount of money then u can do mds ,other wise u have to struggle alot in private clinics ,and they will pay you no money ....so i think its better to change your field b'coz there r many dental clinics in your locality .
19th February 2011, 12:50 PM

intern 4m gadchiroli(m.s.) , belongs ST categry, i hv no huge money to purche MDS seat,should prepare 4 xam or start practice their?
17th March 2011, 10:45 PM
MequeAcurce

Default Keep in mind Everything you should Have knowledge of CNA Training

Often you will find free CNA training throughout doctor's offices or restaurants or employers. You must be aware that any dojos perhaps software in many cases might not be those who might be producing free CNA guides. To achieve proficient with regards to free studying offer an worker ship to our faculty and frequently instances they're going pay for it.

Often medical centers or nursing establishments have actually shrinks alongside local community academic institutions that permit them how to transfer CNA individuals in the course to highschool when considering more affordable price tags. The idea breaks down to around the crops who are in high demand on CNA staffing, and even ends up very well for one's individuals in the course which might thinking about growing to be tutored as being a CNA.

An execllent that particular can probably generate free CNA training since communicating with possibly all armed forces, that will you have to be as compared with prepared post you in order to really CNA, LVN coupled with RN software. Any of these training programs unquestionably are stressful, and marvelous jobs rrnside the private country. Check online neighbourhood enrolling business owners.

Like a for those who are without a job choose some of us are currently, jobless bureaus will likely happily pay CNA training. Their government has become spending so much time to buy humans around jobs, being a CNA regarded as a easily instructional, it is their employment may perhaps be on call outs. Fully grasp a handful moat people that have got free CNA qualifications throughout process.

Frequently efficient looking for CNA accreditation mainly because we want work, in case were originally not working were initially even no longer seeing possess the 300 coins to pay this in turn training. Make sure to fatigue manipulate the support level opportunity before taking online financing. In most cases if you should search with enough contentration you find choice strategies to use this method paid relating to.
6th April 2011, 10:33 PM

do not enter into bds it is total time waste and money i paid 15 lac for bds and now my salaray is 6k
12th April 2011, 04:38 PM

m completing my bds now wants to join army what should i do?
27th April 2011, 12:47 PM

dentistry is totally time money waste profession.if u really want to earn after bds.very frustating .u only really realised it when u lost 5 years. dont repeat same mistake again.
15th May 2011, 06:59 PM

Is it so difficult to get a dds seat in US country. If it is easy how much does it cost in USA to complete dds course.
22nd May 2011, 09:23 PM

will i get a job after bds?
3rd June 2011, 07:37 PM

Please do arts or engineering DO NOT TAKE LIFE SCIENCES IN INDIA I AM TELLING YOU FROM MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCE....WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY FOR EITHER SEX-MALE OR FEMALE------MY CLASSMATES-----MALES ARE SPENDING 30-40 LAKHS MINIMUM ON M.D.S AFTER 10-25 LAKHS ON B.D.S ONLY TO EARN 20-30K LATER,SHELL OUT MONEY AGAIN ON PROCURING A CLINIC. GIRLS ARE BEING REJECTED BY GROOMS ON THE BASIS THAT THEY EARN A PITTANCE....BY GROOMS.

SOFTWARE------FOR AN AVERAGE STUDENT-----FOUR YEARS----4-8 LAKHS INVESTMENT----25-30K START GROWTH DEPENDS UPON HIS/HER HARDWORK
12th June 2011, 12:18 AM

hello! I am doing bds intrnship frm a govt college... And i am preparing for mha entrance exam. Is it a good option or i should continue with dentistry?
17th July 2011, 11:18 AM

i am doing internship in govt college.wat r diffrnt options 4 me other than mds
24th July 2011, 09:45 PM

Unhappy Re: Scope as a Dentist after BDS? Is switching career from a Dentist a good option?

do not enter into bds it is total time waste and money i paid 15 lac for bds and now my salaray is 6k
its really true...
28th July 2011, 12:22 PM

ya i am totally agree what ever said i am also a dentist.after doing bds future is nt secure.u dnt get job in college if u have any source u will get and what u will earn only 6k per month.now these days days clerk is getting more than that.in delhi ncr region lots of dental col.now number of addmission reduced.gov should fix a permanent scale for dentist.most of the dentist are changing their line
4th August 2011, 02:21 AM

no it is not true... bds is a good option... as u knw americans spend about 70 billion dollars each year only for dentists..... and it is very wrong that bds is not given the same respect as mbbs.... people are becoming very conscious about oral hygiene now a days...you should just choose the right place to do it... if u put up a clinic in a small lane nobody will come.... my sister recently spent 70k for her teeth you know...and if one person gets braces the minimum amount is 15k then how can a dentist earn only 6k......?????... i think dentist is a sophisticated proffesion......think about it!!!!
15th August 2011, 10:36 PM

i have done bds want to change my field as my salary is low
24th August 2011, 02:31 PM

M thinking 2 join bds profession,bt every1 with whom i share my view of joining bds,just say its a waste of time and money.They say u will spend 12 lakh upon bds,and ur
pay will b very small,Bds profession has no future.Plese help me,i m really confused.
25th August 2011, 02:46 PM

Dentistry...its a good option...can earn more with ur tongue...
25th August 2011, 07:27 PM

is a B.D.S person a dental doctor or B.D.S&M.D.S person a dental doctor
28th August 2011, 06:11 PM

how much i will earn after doing mds?
13th September 2011, 06:01 PM

im very confusd....what to do??should i do bds.....but i heard dat dere is no career in it..it is just waste of money n time..as there are many dentist nw in locality...n colleges tooo for it....or should i do b.pharmacy with dietician??? plz help me..
1st October 2011, 10:21 PM

im very confusd....what to do??should i do bds.....but i heard dat dere is no career in it..it is just waste of money n time..as there are many dentist nw in locality...n colleges tooo for it....or should i do b.pharmacy with dietician??? plz help me..
Doing BDS alone is not a good idea unless you know someone who is already in that profession.Working in private clinics will not fetch you much.You need to open your own clinic & it will take some time to pickup.Go for some other course you can earn money and settle in life earlier...............
P.s - i am a bds student and i regret choosing that course.There are hell a lot of dentists now...!
11th October 2011, 06:00 AM

Please do not do dentistry there is absolutely no use there are 185 dental colleges around india today pumping out 13000 graduates an year approximately kindly refrain yourself from falling into this abyss...

i have finished bds and looking at the situation per se it is just not advisable.

join a decent engineering college study properly dont have any arrears or misconduct on your certificates and be done with a happy life at the end of four years

india's IT sector is going to be worth 225 billion dollars by 2016-2018

be a part of the growth story dont be a laggard in life

trust me i cant be anymore practical than this
21st October 2011, 10:44 PM

any profession that u choose , consider ur inner voice. Do u really enjoy studying dental books, do u really enjoy practical work in dentistry,r u completely manic abt this career. if ans is yes then go for it otherwise its not only wastage of time and money but ur whole life. Medical line is specialised field ,donot opt for it on saying of any other person , be its ur parents. do what u love to do and u will surly be successful in that particular field.i m speaking from my own experience.
3rd November 2011, 06:48 PM

can i know if there is anything else other than MDS that we can opt for after BDS ? i have heard about one year courses offering specialisation in cosmetic dentistry and even in implants . does that hold any value ?
10th December 2011, 06:41 PM

dentistry....... all i can tell its very competitive field be the best in it and u willl earn much more hten engineer or mba graduates......
28th December 2011, 06:12 PM

hi, i m BDS 2nd yr student of King Gorge DENTAL COLLG. just want to know that IS really there no better scope aftr graduation??
PLZ Reply me....
11th January 2012, 05:22 PM

i have taken adm to bds in 2011. i have left the college in 4 days wasted my whole year and also money. plz dont take adm to bds field its very boring field. there are nearly 10 bds graduates in my locality. totally waste of time. a person nearly visits a dentist that also once in lifetime or sometimes not.so my advice go for other field.
24th January 2012, 09:21 AM

how is the option of doing mba after bds
26th January 2012, 02:40 AM

i have completed my bds but i am confused that should i go for mds or forensic scince which one is the good option
26th January 2012, 06:05 PM
adlsm

Dentistry is a good option, if you are pursuing the career. in india, people apparently, in the social status ladder, think they are 1 notch lower than MBBS.
You can start practicing in private after completion of your B.D.S
Don't change you line carry on with it ,
GOOD LUCK
16th February 2012, 11:48 AM

i have cleared ibps exam with 144 marks am a dentist obc.will i get bank job.so frustrated with dentistry
21st February 2012, 07:05 PM

am a dentist who want to switch from this feild..which is best course for me..pls suggest
13th March 2012, 11:08 PM

i am a private dental practioner,practising dentistry since 15 years ,honestly to tell u guys i sit and watch the clinic door like a dog for patients,any thing more do i need to say the scope
28th March 2012, 11:02 PM

I am a dental graduate and practicing since 10 yrs now...would only like to say that at least I am not going to make my children a DENTIST...rest ur wish
4th April 2012, 01:50 PM

i am a class 10th student and i will take science medical in 11th only if there will be any possiblities of me becoming a dentist......otherwise i won't take this stream.........kindly someone please advice me that should i take dentistry as a career option or not..........and if i should take it then what all i have to do for it......what colleges r there and what i have to do to become a dentist....
20th April 2012, 09:28 PM

DENTISTRY is a very lucarative career option,if u have 100 percnt commitmnt,dedication,and persnl zeal to serve poor.but survival 4 d fittst law is applcble.on economy basis u can earn beyod ur limits.and much more than egineer and mba proffssnal,u hav a respect in d society too.
29th April 2012, 12:44 AM

i am a dentist want to know doing DHA from medvarsity is right decision or not ?
4th June 2012, 11:41 AM

bds is better...??? some people says bds is nt better its nt carrier... what is right and what is wrong.. plzzzzz telll me..... its soo imp.
3rd September 2012, 10:00 PM

its about the way u work...nothing is bad unless u are a quack ...if u study hard and have knowledge its awsome...single rootcanals cost s above 1000 these days...so stick to it :)
8th September 2012, 02:40 PM

i hav done my B.D.S a year ago......opened my own clinic......but nw very frustating.....thinking to change field
is doing hospital administration rite foe me......OR shud i go for M.SC n thn teaching.....few of my frnds doing so.
i dint achieved nythng after doing bds.....spent around 5lacs in clinic n for bds around 20 lacs
joined private hospitals n clinics too.....but dere the senior who is wrking doesnt guide......dnt give patients to do.
old people who runs the clinics dont guide.....says tht u observe doing patients
wht to do......plz help with ur guidence.
my [email protected]
16th October 2012, 01:09 PM
Das Reshma

Thumbs up Re: Scope as a Dentist after BDS? Is switching career from a Dentist a good option?

There are options for working under the guidance of any senior dentist doc's for experience and then getting into your own. Else more fine option will be to pursue Higher studies like MDS or Specialisations in dentistry and then go for job.Choose which one you want to and not what others want you to be.
ALL THE BEST FOR YOUR BRIGHT FUTURE.
H.Z.G....
28th October 2012, 08:29 PM

don't spoil your life by selecting to go for BDS
29th October 2012, 06:30 PM

I entered BDS in 2005.. nw am doin MDS.. hav to say just one thing to everybody here.. stay positive!

you train right and work right.. there is a lot of scope for u..
28th November 2012, 06:43 PM
drpradeep_pat

Can a dentist opt for career in Clinical Genetics? If yes Which are the institutions in India giving training to dentist in the field of Clinical Genetics ?
29th November 2012, 12:23 PM

can a bds dentist do anything in MNC's or software companies?