21st June 2010, 02:25 PM
Unregistered

What are the options after Btech biotechnology ?

Hello Sir/Madam,
This is Rajesh Iyer, I am a Btech graduate in biotechnology. I have passed out in 2009 with a cgpa of 6.7 out of 10 and a second class degree certificate. But i have research experience and have co authored a research paper and also presented a poster in an international conference. i also have two fairly good proects in my name. the only thing is my cgpa is not what the interviewers expect of me.
I qualified GATE in BT with a score of 584, rank 85, and 99.2 percentile. i got interview calls from all IIT and some pvt institutes i had applied. But to my dissappointment in the interview rounds i found that there is a lot of prejuidice about low cgpa students like me. Now the status is that even though i have a flair for biotechnology and research i am not getting admission in any good institution.

kindly advice what should i do because this is the second academic year i will be wasting without taking admissions and i do not want to waste my efforts over somethinf that is not practical.

will it be wise to change the field??
should i go for mba??

Related Questions:
  1. Which are the best biotechnology institutes in Uttar Pradesh and all over India? Is VIT Vellore good for Biotechnology? Should I choose B.Tech Biotechnology, B.Tech Bioinformatics or B.Tech Biomedical Engineering?
  2. Integrated course in M.Tech (Biotechnology) from JNU? Syllabus? Career options and scope of biotechnology in India?
  3. Which courses can I opt for after completion of B.Tech in Biotechnology? Is MS associated with Biotechnology a good choice for me?
  4. Should I go for BSc Biotechnology or B.Tech Biotechnology?
  5. Which subjects should I choose for UGC NET Exam being a candidate from B.Tech in Biotechnology? Is Environmental Science a good choice for me?
  6. Companies offering Internship to B.Tech(Biotechnology) 4th semester student in Madhya Pradesh?