30th October 2017, 07:09 PM
Unregistered

List of graduation courses suitable for IAS exam

Hello, I'm a qualified 12th student in science. I want to be an IAS officer. Please tell me which graduation course should I do now. So that if I fail to crack the UPSC at least the degree should be job oriented?

30th October 2017, 09:27 PM
AWNISH RANJAN CHAUDHARY
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: List of graduation courses suitable for IAS exam

1. First thing you should know that candidates from all discipline of bachelor's degree are eligible for Civil Services exam. Streams do not hold any importance for this exam. You can choose any stream of choice.

2. Second thing that you have asked is that bachelor's degree should be job oriented. You should pursue B.Tech or if biology stream then MBBS, BDS course as these job oriented in future.

Even after general Bachelor's degree and master's degree, you can become eligible for NET exam for becoming Lecturer. You will have to crack competitive exam to get job in government sector.
30th October 2017, 10:16 PM
shweta 1411
Senior Member+++++

Look there is no any particular stream required for IAS exam. You just need to prepare for IAS exam to crack exam. This exam is conducted by UPSC every year. You should focus only on your preparation.
To be eligible for IAS you just need a degree of graduation.
Percentage criteria required are- minimum 50%.
Age criteria are:- 21 years to 30 years.
30th October 2017, 11:26 PM
taputanya
Senior Member+++++

One who is interested to become IAS can complete graduation in any discipline from a recognised University with minimum passing marks. So you can complete graduation in any discipline in which you are interested either science, commerce or arts. Personally I would like to suggest you to complete your graduation in Arts stream because that would really help you to prepare yourself for the IAS examination in your college days also.
31st October 2017, 12:04 AM
zahedrocks
Senior Member+++++