1st April 2013, 03:14 AM
bhavneets

How much height is required to join Indian Army?

how much height required for joining indian army...Please send to me the details

17th April 2013, 12:19 AM
kunwar khurmi

Default Re: How much height is required to join Indian Army?

The Men Candidates must have minimum 152.5 cms of Height to get in to Indian Army..
18th April 2013, 01:25 PM

Originally Posted by bhavneets View Post
how much height required for joining indian army...Please send to me the details

You can join in Indian army through NDA and CDS exam .The details of this exam are given below-

For NDA exam

NDA stand for National Defence Service Exam.This exam is conduct twice time in a year.

The candidate must have a complete the 12th from a recognized board Or equivalent qualification are applicable for NDA exam.

The candidate age should between 16.5 years to 19 years.Only unmarried male candidates are eligible to apply. You must have Citizenship of India.

From below figure you can find out the height criteria for NDA exam for Indian Army post.

For CDS Exam

CDS examination is conducted by the UPSC twice in a year. This exam is conducted for the selection of candidate as an officer in Air force, Army and Navy.

If you have completed graduation degree from recognized university then you are applicable for

The Age limit for CDS exam is given below-

For IMA: 19-24 years
For Naval Academy: 19-22 years
For Air Force Academy: 19-23 years
For Officers Training Academy: 19-25 years

From below figure you can find out the height criteria for CDS exam for Indian Army post.

For more details about NDA and CDS exam and Application process , you can visit to http://www.upsc.gov.in
19th April 2013, 09:32 AM
aryan5107241

Dear Bhavneet,

If you want to join the Indian Army , then you can do this through two ways :

1) Either Cracking the NDA Examination. OR,

2) Through cracking the CDS Examination

Both these examinations are conducted two times in a year separately by the Union Public Service Commission for the selection of candidates in Indian Defense in various wings such as :

## Through NDA Exam ##

* Indian Army

* Indian Navy

* Indian Air Force

## Through CDS Exam ##

* Indian Military Academy

* Indian Naval Academy

* Air Force Academy

* Officer`s Training Academy

So the minimum height required for Indian Army depends upon which examination you are taking on as both the exams have their own and different eligibility criteria.

The Complete Eligibility Criteria For NDA Examination are :

* You must have completed 12th in any stream from any recognized board.

* You must have Indian Citizenship.

* You must be an Unmarried male candidate.

* your age should lie in between 16.5-19 years.

* The minimum height required is :

On the Other Hand, The Complete Eligibility Criteria for CDS Exam are :

* You must have passed graduation in any stream from any recognized college/university.

* your age should lie as follows :

1) For Naval Academy : 19-22 years

2) For Air Force Academy : 19-23 years

3) For Indian Militant Academy : 19-24 years

4) For Officer`s Training Academy : 19-25 years

* Both Male and Female candidates can appear for the CDS Exam.

* You must be an Indian Citizen.

* The Minimum Height required is :

This is the information i have to the best of my knowledge regarding your query. Hope the information will help you to the extent you want.
19th April 2013, 11:16 AM
onlyforyou

Dear Bhavneet,

It is nice to hear that you want to join Indian Indian Army.

You can join Indian Army by two ways:-

* NDA(National Defence Academy).

* CDS(Combined Defence Services).

Both NDA and CDS examinations are conducted by UPSC(Union Public Service Commission) twice every year for the same sector(defence sector).

But, their eligibility criteria is quite differ to each-other.

NDA examination is conducted for these three wings mentioned as below:-

* Indian Army.

* Indian Navy.

* Indian Air Force.

The eligibility criteria required for the NDA examination are prescribed as below:-

* Completion of 12th from any accredited board.

* Age limit:- 16.5-19 yrs.

* Sex:- Only male.

* Marital status:- Unmarried or single.

* Nationality:- Indian.

CDS examination is conducted for these following wings mentioned as below:-

* Indian Naval Academy(INA).

* Indian Air Force Academy(IAFA).

* Indian Army/Military Academy(IMA).

* Officer's Training Academy(OTA).

The eligibility criteria required for the CDS examination are prescribed as below:-

* Completion of graduation in any track from any recognized college or university.

* Age limit:- 19-22 yrs - INA.
19-23 yrs - IAFA.
19-24 yrs - IMA.
19-25 yrs - OTA.

* Sex:- Both male and female.

* Marital status:- Single.

* Nationality:- Indian.

* Physical eligibility for both NDA and CDS examinations is same:-

19th April 2013, 09:28 PM
aklk224

Thumbs up Re: How much height is required to join Indian Army?

Hi bhavneet,

Physical Eligibility Criteria :
Some standards set by NDA are listed below:

- Western Himalayan applicants should have a standard height of 166cms, weight 48kgs and chest 77cms while Eastern Himalayan candidates should have a height of 160cms; the criteria for the rest are similar to those for Western region people.
- For aspirants from Eastern and Western Plain region height, weight and chest of 170cms, 50kgs and 77cms respectively is necessary.
- Southern region applicants must possess the following measurements - height 165cms, weight 50kgs and chest 77cms.
- Central region youths, willing to join the Indian Army, are required to have a height of 168 cms, weight of 50kgs and chest size of 77cms.
- There is relaxation on height standards for Ladakhis, Gorkhas, Tribals and people from Andaman Nicobar Island of up to 5 to 7 cms.

Medical Eligibility :
The candidate must undergo a medical check up at a military hospital and guarantee the following:
- The applicant should be mentally sound with a powerful physique.
- Normal hearing ability in both ears is a must.
- The candidate should necessarily have a good binocular vision and the ability to read 6/6 in distance vision board.
- The applicant needs to be free from diseases like piles, hydrocele and deformity of bones.
- The candidate must have sufficient number of gum and teeth.

20th April 2013, 08:47 AM
Aswiniteju

Dear Dude ...

Well

I am Here to give you all the Physical standards that are required to join INDIAN ARMY

Go through it

HEIGHT ::

<> For MEN :: 157.5 cms

<> For WOMEN :: 152 cms

Running :: 2.4 kms in 15 minutes

Chin ups :: 6 no.s

Sit Ups :: 25 no.s

Push Ups :: 13 no.s

Better Eye is :: 6/6

Worst Eye :: 6/9 with or without Glass

ALL THE GOOD LUCK
21st April 2013, 01:29 AM
shrish777

Dear Aspirant,

The physical standard regarding with Indian Army exam is below mentioned:-

24th April 2013, 05:08 PM
mustafa tahasildar

24th April 2013, 05:55 PM

Indian Army can be joined either through NDA(National Defence Academy) after 12th or through CDS(Combined Defence Service) after Graduation Degree, the entrance exam for which are conducted by UPSC two times every year.

There is a prescribed physical requirement such as height & weight which is mentioned in proportion to candidate's age.

A file is attached herewith for reference regarding height for Indian Army/Navy/Air Force
File Type: docx General Physical and Mental Standards.docx(16.6 KB, 98 views)
30th May 2013, 12:15 AM

sir meri height 163 cm hai mai Indian army join karna chahta hu.sir help me
mob.7607863006
22nd June 2013, 01:28 AM
Ankur.Sunny

Indian Army

♦ Visual Standards :

Qualification and Age requirements for joining Indian Army :

♦ Through NDA - National Defense Academy :

>> You should have completed 12th in any stream from recognized central/state board or school.
• You can join Indian Army after 12th through NDA exam conducted by UPSC.
•For NDA, your Age must be in between 16.5 to 19 years & you should be an unmarried male candidate.

♦ Through CDS - Combined Defense Adademy :

>> You can also join Indian Army after competing graduation in any stream from recognized Institute/university.
• You can join Indian Army after graduation through CDS Examination conducted by UPSC.
• For CDS, your Age must be in between 19 to 24 years.
• You must be having Indian Citizenship.
19th October 2013, 08:46 PM

Sir meri hight 167 c.m he. Or mera weight 62 k.g he kya me indian army join kar sakta ho me uttrakhand ka ho
20th March 2014, 11:26 PM

i m 19 years old and i also done 10 2. I want to join Indian Army.
so, what i do to join Indian Army?

plz help sir...
29th May 2014, 12:58 AM

i join in want to be join in the indian army; what i want to be knoledge of indian army;
12th September 2014, 02:54 PM

sir mera height 168 cm,mera weight 55 kg, 12th pass,key me indian army join kar sakta ho me west bengal ka ho. Plz help sir
12th September 2014, 04:27 PM
soumitra gayen

sir, i am 19 year old meri height167.5 cm,weight 55 kg,12th pass, key me indian army join kar sakta ho.mey west bengal ka ho, plz help me.mob-8272976801
22nd January 2015, 02:13 PM

Sir, I am 16 year old and my height is 169 and my weight 59 kg
now I am student of 12th class kya m army join kr skta. Hoon
Or m u.p ka hoon
13th June 2015, 05:06 PM

My height is 160cm I am student of the t y bcom .can I join to Indian army please tell me
21st June 2015, 10:33 AM

Sir , I have completed my 10th std by 88.64%.My height is 155 cm weather I can try for the cleark post in Indian army
6th July 2015, 09:13 PM

sir,my name is Ramkrishna Ghosh west bengal, bankura , I'm a student of class 12 I love INDIAN ARMY very much&I want to be join INDIAN ARMY as soon as possible %u2026.my hight 5.8 feet ,chest 81cm weight 57 kg would u pleas tell me that Am I fit for this job. pleas help me to join INDIAN ARMY. I want to know about INDIAN ARMY ph no.(7407202335).jai hind vande mataram .jai jawan
long live INDIAN ARMY
thank u%u2026
6th July 2017, 06:47 PM

Sorry I'm appearing for 12 in 10 2 pattern and I am applied for NDA so what and how should I prepare?
20th February 2019, 07:04 PM

Sir my height is 152 cmr my age 25 diploma in hotel management can i join in indian army please tell me sir