Master of Library Science: M.Lib.Sc Course Details

Library Science is an interdisciplinary area that covers the learning of the standards and performances of Library Administration. It is also called Library and Information science. M.Lib.Sc is a Post Graduate Degree that is offered for a program in the area of Library Science. Indian Library Association is a leading union committed to the source of Library Movement and Development. It is also responsible for certification of institutions imparting Library Science education.

It also covers promotion of Library Science Education and the development in the training of Librarians in the country. M.Lib.Sc covers materials like library networking, on-line and digital library services, library science research etc. it is a two-year program. For distance education program, the duration varies from 1 to 3 years. This will depend upon various institutes.

Eligibility Criteria for M.Lib.Sc

The eligibility for applying the course is a pass in graduation in Library & Information Science / Library Science / Information Science or equivalent from a reputed college. There are certain institutes, which carry out entrance test for selecting the applicants for the program. There are certain distance-learning institutes which allow bachelor’s degree in Commerce, Science, Computer Applications, Arts and Business Administration. There are different Library Science Schools, which offer Library Science Degree courses at the post graduation level.

Advantages or Benefits of Master of Library Science Degree

• M.Lib.Sc prepares candidates to take up the information challenges of the coming years.
  • One can study an advanced degree like M.Phil or a PhD program after finishing M.Lib.Sc.
  • With a master’s degree in Library Science, aspirant can get jobs in Libraries or take up a research- based profession in the Information Industry.

Admission Procedure for M.Lib.Sc

The aspirants who are qualified to the exam can join in reputed institute for the M.Lib.Sc. The admission is conducted based on the examination in theory and practical. The admission process varies in different universities based on various rules. The application forms can be downloaded from the website of the university. The completed forms can be submitted to the specified authority. They are selecting the aspirants based on the marks in these exams. The institute provides the hall ticket to the eligible applicants. They can carry it at the time of exam for verification.

M.Lib.Sc Entrance exams in India

• Amrapali Institute of Applied Sciences M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Andhra University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Annamalai University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Banaras Hindu University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Bhavnagar University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Bundelkhand University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Calicut University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Dr. B. R. Ambedkar Open University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Gujarat University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Indira Gandhi National Open University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Kannur University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Karnatak University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Karnataka State Open University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Karnataka Women’s University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Kerala University / University of Kerala M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Madhya Pradesh Bhoj (Open) University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Madurai Kamaraj University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Mahatma Gandhi Mission College of Library and Information Science (M.G.M.) M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Mangalore University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Osmania University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Panjab University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Pondicherry University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • Shivaji University M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • University of Calcutta M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • University of Delhi M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • University of Jammu M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • University of Lucknow M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • University of Madras M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam
  • University of Rajasthan M.Lib.Sc Entrance exam

How to fill in M.Lib.Sc Entrance Application form

Application form must be filled in applicant’s own handwriting. It should be in block letters. Other specified documents must be attached with the form. The applicants must make sure that their name and address must be written on the backside of the demand draft once they are applying by online. If the application form is not filled in properly the same may be rejected. Fully filled in forms must be send to the specified address on time.

M.Lib.Sc Entrance Exam Pattern

The entrance exam pattern varies in different universities or colleges. There is objective type questions included in the entrance exam. There are multiple choice questions that are asked in the question paper. Aspirants can select the right answer from the given choices. The medium of M.Lib.Sc examination is in English. The questions asked in the entrance exam are based on the topics in the graduation level.

Reference Books for M.Lib.Sc Entrance Exam

There is no specific reference book for the entrance examination. The applicants can refer the bachelor’s level books. The general knowledge and English language books will help the aspirants to clear the exam.

Top M.Lib.Sc Colleges in India

• Allagappa University
  • Annamalai University
  • Barkatullah Vishwavidyalaya
  • Benaras Hindu University, Varanasi
  • Gujarat Vidyapith
  • Jadavpur University, Raja S.C. Mullick Road, Kolkata
  • Kurukshetra University, Department of Distance Education
  • University of Delhi
  • University of Kerala, Institute of Distance Education
  • The Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi

Other Reputed Colleges/ Universities offering M.Lib.Sc program

• Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Lucknow
  • INLEAD - Gurgaon, Haryana
  • Kurukshetra University
  • Skyline Institute of Travel & Tourism - New Delhi,
  • Skyline School of Communication - New Delhi
  • University of Burdwan
  • University of Calcutta
  • University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh)
  • University of Jammu
  • University of Lucknow
  • University of Mumbai
  • University of Punjab

M.Lib.Sc course curriculum

Semester I

• Foundation of Library and Information Science
  • Knowledge Organization and Processing (Cataloguing)
  • Knowledge Organization and Processing (Classification)
  • Knowledge Organization and Processing Practical
  • User Studies and User Education

Semester II

• Computer Application Theory
  • Information Sources and Services
  • Library and Information Management-I
  • Library and Information Organization and Networks
  • Records and Assignments

Semester III

• Computer Application Practice
  • Information Processing and Retrieval
  • Information Technology-I
  • Library and Information Management-II
  • Research Methodology

Semester IV

• Dissertation/Project Work
  • Information Technology Practical
  • Information Technology-II
  • Quantitative Studies for Social Research

M.Lib.Sc Projects

• Applying selection criteria to periodicals
  • Finding and selecting periodicals
  • Finding reference articles
  • Library of Congress Subject Headings
  • Types of Web search tools
  • Useful sources on the Web

M.Lib.Sc Specializations

• Academic Library System
  • Agriculture Information System
  • Business Information System
  • Health Science Information System
  • Public Library System
  • Research and Technical Library System
  • Social Science Information System

M.Lib.Sc Course Evaluation

The program lasts for 2 years. For the distance education program, the duration varies from 1 to 3 years based on the college. There are four semesters included in the program. The course covers Integrated Library Management, Systems Analysis in Libraries, Research and Quantitative Methods. There are four semesters in the course. Examination carried out at the end of second semester. There are practical sessions included in the program. Practical sessions covers CD search, using library software, web search etc. the program includes examinations, seminars, tutorials etc.

M.Lib.Sc Text Books

• A Student’s Manual of Library &Information Science by Kumar
  • Changing Dimensionsof LIS Education Hyderabad by Laxman Rao , Vishwa Mohan and Sudarshan Rao
  • Collection Development the selection of materials for libraries by Katz W. A
  • Communication in science by Meadows, A. J
  • Costing and the economics of library and information services by Roberts, Stephen
  • Digital Libraries :Dynamic store house of digitized information by Malwad, NM
  • E Learning and teaching in library and Information Services by Barbara Allan
  • Economics of Information by Galatin, Malcolm & Laiter, Robert D
  • Economics of information by Wolpert S.A. Wolpert, J. Y
  • Fundamentals of Information Science by Kumar P.S.G
  • Guidelines for planning of libraries and Information centers by Seetharama S
  • Information and its communication by Prasher, R.G
  • Information broking a new career in information work by Crawford, Marshali Jean
  • Introduction to Digital Libraries by Chwdhury
  • Knowledge its creation distribution and economic significance by Nacgkyo J
  • Knowledge Management by W. R. Bikowrtx
  • Knowledge Percolation by Chorafas D. N
  • Library and Information Management by Narayana G. J
  • Management Techniques for Librarians edition by Evans. G. Edward
  • Marketing concepts for libraries and information services by Eileen Ellion de Saez
  • Scientific information and society by Rozsa G
  • The changing contest of information an introductory analysis by Mc Garry, K.J
  • The Electronic Library by Rowley, J. E
  • The Foundations of education ofLibrarianship by Shera
  • The Information society by Masuda Y
  • The marketing of library and information services by Cronin, Blaise
  • The study of information interdisciplinary messages by Machlup F & Manstield, Uma
  • The Wired World An introduction to the theory and practice of the information Society by James Dearnley and John feather

What to do after M.Lib.Sc?

After the M.Lib.Sc program, you can go either for a job or for higher studies. You can work in libraries of various institutes. The aspirants can work as catalogers, curators, librarians and abstractors. In the academic field, opportunities are increasing. The aspirants can go for M.Phil or PhD courses after the completion of Master of Library Science course.

Job and Career options for M.Lib.Sc

There are many technologies coming in the field of reading material. Some of them are electronic media and digital documents. Now a day we are getting information faster. This area is improving to a greater extend. The chances are also increasing. The aspirants can work in foreign embassies, public and photo libraries. Some posts available for these aspirants are information analyst, professor and information center director.

Job Types

• Director / Head of Information Centre
  • Information Architecture
  • Information Broker
  • Junior Information Analyst
  • Librarian
  • Metadata Architecture
  • Professor
  • Researchers
  • Senior Information Analyst
  • Technical Assistant

Employment Areas

• Companies and Organizations with large Information handling requirements
  • Foreign Embassies
  • Information Centers / Documentation Centers
  • Museums and Galleries with Reading Rooms and Research Facilities
  • News Agencies and Organizations
  • Photo/ Film Libraries
  • Private Organizations and Special Libraries
  • Public / Government Libraries
  • Universities and other Academic Institutions

Remuneration after M.Lib.Sc

Most of the librarians are working in private and public academic institutions The M.Lib.Sc holders can get jobs in educational institutions, research firms etc. The candidates who are getting chances in Libraries of recognized institutes can earn an income of Rs.20000 to Rs.45000 per month. The salary range will increase once they get few years of experience from a well-known institute. The aspirants who are working in public health research and Information Technology services can obtain more remuneration. As it is a post graduation, aspirants can turn into teaching also. Those who are working in junior colleges generally get less pay than the aspirants are working in the universities.

34 Responses to “Master of Library Science: M.Lib.Sc Course Details”

1. 34
    rachna pandey:

1.is degree ki fees kitni hai? kahan se is course ko karna best rahega…

2. 33
    asha saha:

Tell me distance education center for M.lib

3. 32
    ravi kumar:

Dear sir/madam
    Good evening

1.mlib or blib kitne year ka course hota hai?

2.is degree ki fees kitni hai?

3.age or colification kya honi chahiye?

4.gov. or non gov. me job ke kitne chance hai?

5.is ki pripration kaise ki jaye?

6.intrens exam ke rules Kay hai?

please give me answer of my Question as fast as soon .

THANK YOU SIR &MADAM

4. 31
    ravi kumar:

good evening sir

1.main ravi kumar mlib or blib ke course fees ki jankari janna chahta hu.

2.is course ko karne ke liye maximum or minimum age kitni honi chahiye?

3.kya is course ko karne ke baad iski job opportunity govt. sector me bhi adhik hai ya nhi bataye?

5. 30
    Dhanashree M S:

Good Morning Sir,

What is the fees Structure of this course for General caste and SC,ST

6. 29
    bipul jha:

i want to know from you that i have passed M.Lis examination in 2003,but my result is not satisfactorily now i want to reappear for improvement of marks so if any provision for improvement in marks sheets is available then kindly inform me.
    sincerely
    bipul jha
    mob no:-8685916946

7. 28
    Sudeep Kumar:

How can I enrollment in the M Lib Sc for Distance Mode

8. 27
    praveen:

can i take the admission in M.Lib from Ignou online and what is the procedure of admission, exam and fee online. Please give me detail.
    Can i give the exam online also.

9. 26
    Nazli Shahid:

please let me now last date for M.Lib.Sc from Annamalai University.

10. 25
    Dal chand:

I have passed blib from eiilm university sikkim and now i went mlib please tell md its related news and benifits

11. 24
    mamta rathee:

Dear sir/mam
    Bca complete form MDU ROHTAK & persuing last sems of mca.i have interested b.lib,mlib from IGNOU OR DU DELHI so please give me details of fee structures & admission procedure for these courses distance education from govt collages & private institutes.
    thanks & regards from
    mamta rathee

12. 23
    madihakhan:

Please tell me where is m.lib.i.sc. In delhi.

13. 22
    Anup kumar:

. BHU M.lib ki preparation kaise kare. one month ka time hai entrance ke liye.
    iski job opportunity govt. sector me bhi adhik hai ya nhi bataye.

14. 21
    sangram:

I want to do Mlib and inf.from allhabad agriculture university so plz give me the right information that it is approved by govt.of orissa or not ?I seek your information.

15. 20
    Anjli:

Gud eve. I passed b.lib with 78% please tell me the entry procedure and its subjects nd fee detail nd last date of distance education

16. 19
    sulabh maheshwari:

I want to do mlib course from mumbai university.so please send me the details nd fees structure for this course.

17. 18
    Nazli Shahid:

I want to study in M.Lib Info.sce. Pls provide me the details & information regarding the course.give me the university details for mlib with their fee structure

With Regards
    Nazli Shahid

18. 17
    shinde sonal:

i have passed m.lib sc but i want all textbooks of m.libsc courses which published by IGNOU uni.for net/set can u sent me same please ?

19. 16
    NITIN:

sir Plz tell me about the fee of M.lib nd top university for this plz sir

20. 15
    Basavaraju:

Plz… Tell me about entrance exam date of M.Lib sc in karnataka state open university and admission fee

21. 14
    vishwasrao sadu mane:

M.lib course marthi details in for

22. 13
    Nitika Jatwa:

sir please tell me about entrance exam date of m.libsc in Barkatullah Vishwavidyalaya and fess

23. 12
    bharti kaura:

give me the university details for mlib with their fee structure

24. 11
    anju saroha:

please tell me about entrance exam date of m.libsc in delhi university

25. 10
    chitra:

When does the kerala university entrance exam for m.lisc commence?

26. 9
    kaushik gandhi:

Good Morning,
    mujko sabse kam fees me m.lib. karna hai. to uske liye info chahiye. to sabhi studdy center ka list mere mail id pe send kijiye.
    thanks….

27. 8
    sibi s:

i was passed B Lib & Info Science course from AEC TRg College and Centre, Pachmarhi in reguar 1 year course. That is under the control of Barkatthullah University (MP). Presently i am serving in Indian Army. Now I would like to do M Lib & Info Science through correspondance. Please advise which university is better for that.

28. 7
    nk:

dear sir. i am b.a passed .so i have chice of course b.lib, & m.lib .so give me all detail please whice is the post of m.lib course& kya post milti hai after course thanks

29. 6
    ishan:

i am gradutaion in arts and i am doing job in indian army can i apply this degree

30. 5
    indra mohan thakur:

R/SIR -p.hd in mlib and information science studying from correspondence.

31. 4
    nitul barman:

please give me update of library information & science.please mail me job opportunities

32. 3
    Madhurima Singh:

I read newspapers daily but cannot find the job opportunities for Library Science students.
    So on where to find out for jobs????

33. 2
    geeta:

I am a mlis student . please mail me free updates

34. 1
    Nand:

Sample questions for entrance