7th December 2009, 08:27 PM
joshi_avadoot

Allowed attempts for ies for general student?

Sir,how many times one can appear for ies exam in his life if he is a general student?
I am preparing for gate 2010 in mechanical engg. So can you guide me a plan so as to get benefit in both gate 2010 and ies 2010

21st December 2009, 06:32 AM
maddusajj

Default Re: Allowed attempts for ies for general student?

the number of attempts for ies is 4 for an general student,
both are completely different exams,you need to prepare foe general ability exam also for ies along with regular civil engineering exam
24th December 2009, 05:15 PM
anuja

Total attempts are 4 and there is relaxation reserved categories.
26th December 2009, 02:33 PM
balvir

the number of attempts for general student is 4.......
30th December 2009, 05:07 PM
rahul sarang

i need perfect idea about number of attempts for gate exam
30th December 2009, 05:10 PM
rahul sarang

please give me perfect idea about "allowed attempts for gate for general student".
31st December 2009, 09:47 PM
amarjit

there are 4 attempts permitted in the general category.....for ies exam .....

for gate exam...there is no limit to which you can attempt GATE exam, you can attempt it as many times as you like.....however, the from now on, GATE results will be valid for only 1 year.
1st January 2010, 01:59 PM
sharma

your attempts are depends on your age.you are eligible to write the exam from 21 to 29 of age but not attain 30.age relaxation for sc/st's are 5 years.......

for gate exam you have 2 attempts......each valid for the corresponding current years...

thanks...........all the best
2nd January 2010, 08:20 PM

Attempts allowed for IES for general candidates is 4 times.

And for OBC it is 7 times.

And for SC/ST it is 9 times.
3rd January 2010, 03:48 PM
kusum singal

u can attempt only 4 times. there is different criteria for reserved category.
7th January 2010, 06:15 PM
rohit kumar singh

general students can give IES exam 4 times
obc 7 times
15th January 2010, 07:02 PM
maddusajj

Originally Posted by joshi_avadoot View Post
Sir,how many times one can appear for ies exam in his life if he is a general student?
I am preparing for gate 2010 in mechanical engg. So can you guide me a plan so as to get benefit in both gate 2010 and ies 2010
as for as the technical paper is concerned both gate and ies are almost same ,but because of general paper in ies it is more tough and also the syllabus for it is more when compare to gate ,also the main exam of ies is descriptive were as the gate exam is only objective type
15th February 2010, 09:48 PM

for general candidates 4 attempt is allowed for gives exams, and 7 attempts are availiable for obc candidates to sit in exams.
22nd February 2010, 11:21 PM
atanu

hey friend,
for general candidate there is four attempt,and for obs and sc/st there is some relaxsation as per the government rule....
ok

13th May 2010, 11:11 AM

electronicsandinstrumentation is eligible for ies and how should i apply for it?
14th May 2010, 12:50 AM
bond007

you are eligible for only four attempts for the IAS exam......
14th May 2010, 06:25 AM
sadhan

dear frnd,
there is age limit & you can have 4 attempt in between your age limit
14th May 2010, 11:23 AM
satishkomer

as being a General catagory you can apply for 4 times or as per your age.....eligibity
explained in UPSC website....I think you have already thought that you cant clear the exam in one or two shot......my dear frnd prepare well and go though alll the information given in UPSC website IES Detail .
14th May 2010, 01:23 PM
SJ.18

Hi friend
You have chance to give your IES exam for only Four times.
Think positive dear crack this in two chance.
Good luck
14th May 2010, 03:34 PM
amitforever

the allowed attempt restricted in IES exam are given below fordifferent category
are given below:
for general 4 attempt
for obc 7 attempt
for st/sc 10 attempt
age restriction for different category

for general 30 years
for obc 34 years
for st/sc 40 years
ok all the best
14th May 2010, 07:20 PM

Dear Friend
A general category stuent can sit for the maximum of 3 times in the IES for general category student.

And,for the OBC candidate it is 7 times.

And for the SC and ST candidates it is 9 times.
15th May 2010, 12:53 AM
Bella

you can apply for this exam for 4 times only after that you will be not eligible for the exam.........so try to crack this in 4 attempts itself........

16th May 2010, 08:25 PM
phuchi

For a general student attempt 4 times for ies.
30th May 2010, 06:09 PM
Aditya.addy

you can take on the examination as conducted by UPSC .you must have a graduate degree.
generally if you are in general category then you will be allowed not more than 4 attempts.
if you belong to OBC category then you can take on this examination 7 times.
if you belong to SC/ST category then you can take on this examination 10 times.
for more details please visit the website www.upsc.gov.in
31st May 2010, 06:57 AM
nalanda

for the general category students the maximum allowable limit is of the four times.but for the other is different.
31st May 2010, 11:25 PM
bholag

Allowed attempts for IES for general student is 4 attempt only then after you will not be allowed to sit for it.
21st June 2010, 04:20 PM

how they are considering in attempt , can anybody tell about the details , because i go the hall ticket but i dont want write the ies exam is they will consider as a attempt or not , kindly help me
23rd June 2010, 07:51 PM

sir if i leave the ies exam then our attempt are count or not??
25th June 2010, 09:21 AM

sir if i leave the ies exam then our attempt are count or not??
25th June 2010, 06:30 PM

For How Many Times A OBC Category Student Can Give GATE Exam?
27th June 2010, 10:35 PM

hi...i knew that...there is no limit for IES attempts...then why it is posted that attempts have been reduced to 4?
28th June 2010, 08:42 AM
compaq123

dear friends
every student can apear ies exam for 4 times only.
28th June 2010, 09:01 AM

Looks like you have set you mind to take up an engineering career line and it is an excellent choice. IES is a good option as it open doors to a lot of public sector engineering jobs. Interestingly public sector still is a dominant employer for engineering streams like mechanical. Now a good GATE score can help you do Mtech in one of the top most institutes which can take care of your placement as well. For IES, you can take a max of 4 chances. Since both exams need a good exposure to mechanical engg basics, so prepare well for that
28th June 2010, 10:39 AM
anindya_forever

the total attempts for the IES general students is 4.
that is a general student cxan only sit 4 times n his life.
And attempts for the OBC students is 7 times.

And for SC/ST students ,it is 9 times.

28th June 2010, 08:50 PM
vidh

Post Re: Allowed attempts for ies for general student?

you have 4 attempts to qualify that but also remember about your age limits.
29th June 2010, 08:40 PM

A general students are allowed to sit 4 times in the IES exams.

So be prepared for the the exam.

19th July 2010, 11:06 PM
sharad3010

for gen it is only 4

OBC students is 7 times.

And for SC/ST students ,it is 9 times.
20th July 2010, 12:12 AM
happy to help

Sorry dear there is nothing common b/e gate & ies
The total no. of attempt is 4 for general student
2nd August 2010, 12:32 PM

hello....What are the no. of attempts for gate exam???
9th August 2010, 12:23 PM

number of attempt allowed for ies exam for all category?
16th October 2010, 12:19 AM

Hey what is this .....
There is no limit for IES exam. See UPSC site
Limitation is only for IAS -4 attempts fot general category
16th October 2010, 10:47 AM
poplu13

the maximum nuber of attepts permited to give IES is 3 attempts...so use your attempts carefully...good luck !!
6th January 2011, 09:20 PM
jits

It depends from category to category.

If your a candidate from GEN Category then you can attempt 4 times for the exam.
If your a candidate from OBC Category then you can attempt 7 times for the exam.
If your a candidate from SC/ST Category then you can attempt 9 times for the exam.
7th January 2011, 11:30 AM
deep_4

Smile Re: Allowed attempts for ies for general student?

Well friends,

IES is Combined Competitive Examination for recruitment to the Services/posts will be held

by the Union Public Service Commission.

IES Exam can be attempted depending upon the categories.

as only 4 attempts are allowed for General Category but for OBC its 7 and For SC/ST there

is no limit, but still 9 attempts are permissible.

Good luck.
10th January 2011, 09:38 PM
muttanna

Default Re: Allowed attempts for ies for 2A category?

my name is shravankumar and i am in final semester engineerig and i am 27 year old and i belong to 2A category please give me solution how mony times
i attempt for IES with 2A category.
30th January 2011, 12:33 PM

I m in btech 3rd year.I m 19 years old.i want to give ies 2011 jst for an idea and practice.Is it neccessary to complete the age limit of 21 years bfore sitting in this exam?
31st January 2011, 01:24 PM
mychandru024

Its 7 times..... GATE and IES are totally different.....
2nd February 2011, 01:24 AM
Somesh Goenka

General category students are allowed to appear for a maximum of 4 times in the IES exam.
11th March 2011, 05:07 PM
mukul0094

IES exam is conducted by UPSC in every year. It is a high level competition.
If you are belong to general category then you can maximum attempt 4 times. If you are belong to OBC candidate then you can attempt maximum 7 times and for SC/ST candidate there are no limit for no. of attempt.
For details see this website : http://www.upsc.gov.in
15th March 2011, 12:20 PM
kapila Chaudhary

Number of attempts for IES exam conducted by UPSC:
The maximum number of attempts permissible to different categories will be as follows:
  • General category (04);
  • P.H. candidates belonging to general category (07);
  • OBC (07);
  • SC/ST/ (no limit)
Kapila