23rd November 2012, 10:20 PM

What is the minimum education qualification required to sit for IAS examination

What is the minimum educational qualification required to sit for IAS examination?

24th November 2012, 07:34 AM

Default Re: What is the minimum education qualification required to sit for IAS examination

IAS - Indian Administrative Service, to become an IAS officer one has to apply, appear and crack Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC every year.

The minimum educational qualification for IAS is Graduation in any stream of education from a recognised University.

Apart from the the candidate must be an Indian National within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

The selection is of three tire selection:-

-CSAT - Civil Service Aptitude Test - Preliminary Exam

-Civil Service Main Exam

-Personal Interview

For further information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in
24th November 2012, 08:52 AM
Budhwarz

Default Re: What is the minimum education qualification required to sit for IAS examination

Hi Aspirant

IAS : Stands for the Indian Administrative Services

For which you have to write the civil services exam which is conducted by the upsc department every year and you have to clear the exam if you want to be an IAS Officer .The Notification for the exam normally comes in the Month of Feb. and exam conducts in the Month of May or either in the Month of the June .

For the exam the minimum qualification required is that the candidate should be pass in the degree of graduation from any stream whether it is science or it is commerce the candidate just need to pass in graduation with a passing % .No Fixed marks is required for the exam .

-The age required for the exam is between 21-30

-Normally age relaxation for the obc and sc,st category of 3 and 5 years

Attempts :

-Their is 4 attempts allowed for general category candidate

-Their is 7 attempts allowed to obc

-their is unlimited attempts allowed to sc.st

24th November 2012, 09:17 AM
sherleytwain

The minimum requirement is a graduation degree to appear for Indian Administrative Service Exam which is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission.

The exam is conducted on the annual basis. The role of IAS is to implement government policies as well tackle natural disaster situation. In a situation of floods, earthquake, drought etc, IAS officer provides key information to the government to take informed decision regarding tackling the crisis.

IAS officer consistently travel to places where government policies are being implemented. He/She ensures that the work is going on smoothly without any financial irregularity. To become IAS officer you will need to meet the following criteria.

Eligibility

1. Only candidates of Indian origin can apply.

2. A graduation degree in any discipline.

3. There is no minimum percentage criteria.

Age Limit

1. For General candidates - 21 to 30 years.

2. For Other Backward Class candidates - 21 to 33 years.

3. For Schedule Caste and Schedule Tribe candidates - 21 to 35 years.

Exam Pattern

1. Preliminary Exam

There are two papers in the preliminary exam which you must clear to appear for the main exam. Please remember that preliminary is a qualifying exam and the score of this exam is not added to the final total.

2. Main Exam

There are nine papers in the main exams including 2 on language, another couple on general studies, 1 on essay and remaining 4 papers on optional subjects.

3. Interview
24th November 2012, 01:14 PM
eduforall

IAS exam is conducted by UPSC through CSAT.

CSAT - Civil Services Aptitude Test

Minimum qualification to sit for IAS exam/ CSAT is Graduation.

Eligibility criteria for CSAT-

1. Candidate should be of Indian origin.

2- Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university.

3- Age - 21-30 years.

The examination is conducted in two stages:

1.Civil Services Preliminary Examination or Civil Services Aptitude Test(CSAT):-
The exam contains questions on –
General Studies, comprehension skill, verbal and
quantitative aptitude and communication skills.

2.Main Examination and Personal interview:-

Those who qualify Preliminary round appear for Main examination.
Those who qualify Main examination are called for Interview.

Visit www.upsc.gov.in
24th November 2012, 03:11 PM
nitishtrifid

Hello dear guest,

There are minimum educational qualification is Graduate any stream from any recognized university.

final year candidate are also eligible for this exam

Age should be minimum 21 and maximum 30 years

Age relaxation for OBC 3 year and SC/ST 5 years.

Attempts

For General 4
For OBC 7
For SC/ST No Limit

Good luck
24th November 2012, 03:16 PM
nitishtrifid

Hello dear guest,

There are minimum educational qualification is Graduate any stream from any recognized university.

final year candidate are also eligible for this exam

Age should be minimum 21 and maximum 30 years

Age relaxation for OBC 3 year and SC/ST 5 years.

Attempts

For General 4
For OBC 7
For SC/ST No Limit

Good luck
24th November 2012, 06:35 PM

For appearing in IAS exam you must be a Graduate in any discipline from a recognised university.

If you are graduate then you can apply for IAS exam if you age permits.

The age must be between 21 to 30 years if you are general category candidate . There is age relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST , 3 years for OBC and 10 years for physically handicapped.

You can apply for IAS exam through UPSC website by a online application .

To become an IAS officer you have to qualify CSAT , IAS mains and interview with good marks.

Those who qualify CSAT are allowed to sit in mains. Without qualifying CSAT you can’t sit in mains exam.

Merit is prepared on the basis of marks obtained in mains and interview . In mains exam you have to select a optional subject so decide which subject you want to choose and start preparing for it.

Number of attempts are limited for general and OBC and unlimited for SC/ST.

To know more about IAS exam you can log in to http://www.upsc.gov.in
24th November 2012, 11:13 PM

IAS-Indian Administrative Service exam is conducted by the UPSC(Union Public Service Commission) once in a year.

UPSC also conducts the IES, IFS, IPS etc exams.

Eligibility criteria:-

Candidate should be complete graduation or an equivalent degree from a recognised university.

There is no percentage restrictions in your graduation.

Only citizen of indians can apply for this exam.

Age criteria:-

Age limits are 21 to 30 years,

3 years relaxation for OBC candidates,

5 years relaxation for SC/ST candidates.

Number of attempts:-

4 times for General candidates,

7 times for OBC candidates,

No limit for SC/ST candidates.

Selection procedure:-

***Civil services preliminary exam,

***Civil services mains exam,

***Personal interview.

Preliminary examination:-

Mains examination:-

For more details CLICK HERE

Best of luck.
25th November 2012, 06:25 PM
sirimulla srikanth

IAS stands for INDIAN ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE this exam is conducted by the UPSC once a year.The minimum qualification required for this exam is graduation from a recognized university of india there is no need of marks in graduation level.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR THIS EXAM:

degree Holders are eligible

Age limit for this exam is 21 to 30 years

Upper age relaxation for reserved candidates

3 years for OBC candidates

5 years for SC/ST candidates

Candidate should be a citizen of india

SELECTION PROCEDURE:

Preliminary exam

Main exam

Interview

NUMBER OF ATTEMPTS:

4 times for general candidates

7 times for OBC candidates

No limit for SC/ST candidates

If you want any information for this exam please visit the website www.upsc.gov.in

GOOD LUCK FOR YOUR FUTURE.....
25th November 2012, 09:10 PM
sampathkumar29

ias stands Indian administration services

ias exam conducted by upsc once s year

ias eligibility :

candidates must be India
candidates must be complete graduation from a recognized university
candidates age limit between 21 to 30 years
3 years age relaxation for obc candidates
5 years age relaxation for sc and st

selection process :

preliminary
main examination
interview

number of attempts :

general candidates four times
obc candidates seven times
sc and st candidates no limit
30th November 2012, 09:59 PM
Viraj0013

The minimum requirement is a graduation degree to appear for Indian Administrative Service Exam which is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission.

The exam is conducted on the annual basis. The role of IAS is to implement government policies as well tackle natural disaster situation. In a situation of floods, earthquake, drought etc, IAS officer provides key information to the government to take informed decision regarding tackling the crisis.

IAS officer consistently travel to places where government policies are being implemented. He/She ensures that the work is going on smoothly without any financial irregularity

eligibility :

candidates must be India
candidates must be complete graduation from a recognized university
candidates age limit between 21 to 30 years
3 years age relaxation for obc candidates
5 years age relaxation for sc and st

selection process :

preliminary
main examination
interview

number of attempts :

general candidates four times
obc candidates seven times
sc and st candidates no limit
1st December 2012, 02:55 AM
joiya firoz

Thumbs up Re: What is the minimum education qualification required to sit for IAS examination

dear brother,
the minimum qualification to sit in an IAS (INDIAN ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE ) exam is to have graduation degree from any recognized university.
the final year appearing student can also apply.
candidate should be an Indian citizen
your age should be between 21 yrs to 30 yrs.
for an OBC candidate it is 33 yrs and for an SC/ST candidate it is 35 yrs.
Attempts
for general student it is 4 time
for OBC student it is 7 time
for SC/ST student there is no limit

best of luck..
1st December 2012, 03:24 PM
sandeepsaini.saini522

IAS EXAM STANDS FOR INDIAN ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES EXAM.

AS EXAM IS CONDUCTED BY UPSC.

ELIGIBILITY;-

-8/-*/8-*/GRADUTION FROM A RECOGNIZED UNIVERSITY

/-+-/AGE LIMIT IS 21-30 YEARS.

-/-//-INDIAN CITIZEN

selection process :

preliminary
main examination
interview

THANK YOU........................................
29th April 2013, 05:51 PM
kapila Chaudhary

IAS Exam i.e. Indian Administrative Exam
IAS exams are conducted by UPSC every year. You must have graduation degree from a recognized university for IAS.

Eligibility criteria in Details:
Educational Qualifications:
Bachelor’s degree of a recognized university

Age limit: 21 years must be completed on 1st August of the year, which a candidate is appearing. Maximum 30 for general category, 33 for OBCs and 35 for SCs/STs.

Number of Attempts:
Four attempts for open, seven for OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs.
If a person appears in the Preliminary Examination or even one paper is counted as an attempt.

How to apply:
•Apply online by using the website
http://www.upsconline.nic.in
•Apply offline by purchasing the application form from designated post offices throughout the country.

For complete details go to
http://www.upsc.gov.in

30th April 2013, 09:27 PM
aryan5107241

The IAS Examination is the most prestigious examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission [UPSC] every year.

This Examination provides aspiring candidates to join the Following Services :

* Indian Administrative Services

* Indian Police Services

* Indian Economic Services

* Indian Foreign services

There are certain requirements for the IAS Examination which the candidates have to fulfill if they are willing to appear for the Exam.

These Basic Requirements for the exam are :

## Educational Qualifications ##

- The Candidate must hold a Bachelor`s Degree in any stream from any recognized college/university.

- Candidates in final year of graduation can also appear for the exam.

- There is no any specific percentage required in graduation.

## Age Limitations ##

- For General Candidates : 21-30 years

- For OBC Candidates : 21-33 years

- For SC/ST Candidates : 21-35 years

## Nationality ##

- The candidate must be an Indian Citizen.

If you have the above mentioned qualifications , then you can appear for the IAS Examination.

However , just keep in mind that the whole IAS Examination is divided in three examinations :

1) Preliminary Examination

2) Mains Examination

3) Personal Interview

And You have to pass all the three examinations separately.

This is the information i have to the best of my knowledge regarding your query. Hope the information will help you to the extent you want.
15th May 2013, 01:06 PM

If I want to become an IAS Officer then which stream is best for me to graduation while I'm XIIth with PCM?
15th July 2013, 03:57 AM
Annu 44

HELLO DEAR

Indian Administrative Service

This exam conducted by the Union Public Service Commission every year.

Educational Qualification:The applicant should be pass the Graduation from any recognized University.
Final year pursuing candidates are also eligible for this exam.
No min percentage required for this exam.

Age limit:Your age min is 21 year & max age is 30 years to become IAS officer.
15th July 2013, 08:00 PM

Hai friend
The minimum qualification required for IAS exam is you must have completed graduation from any recognized university.
Final Year candidates can also apply for IAS exam.

**Age Limit :
-->OC -21-30 Years
-->OBC - 21-33 Years
-->SC/ST - 21-35 Years

**No of Attempts :
-->General - 4 times
-->OBC - 7 times
-->SC/ST - No Limit
Depending upon your category and age limit mentioned above you can appear no of times for the IAS exam.
9th October 2013, 06:40 PM

sir , i want to know that like other companies and industries who demand an aggregate percentage of 60% or 65% respectively.
i want to know that in I.A.S exam there is any educational qualification or percentage limitation for I.A.S exam.
and the numbers of attempts and age limit for general catagory.
23rd November 2013, 04:53 PM

Thumbs down Re: What is the minimum education qualification required to sit for IAS examination

What is the minimum educational qualification required to sit for IAS examination?
... 10th failed
25th November 2013, 08:22 PM

Hi sir
Iam sudhakar.studing second year my ambition ias.How.maney times attemt
30th November 2013, 09:11 AM

Hello sir
I am mani studying be mechanical 3rd Year how maney percentage of apply ias exam
18th January 2014, 10:02 PM

iam nani my brother is studying 10th
how to prepare for ias examination
where is the best coaching center through out india
20th April 2014, 10:35 AM

I AM AJAY. I WANT TO KNOW THAT WHAT IS FEE FOR IAS EXAMINATION
28th May 2014, 12:39 PM

I am studig 12th standerd class.i am want to become an ias .please sir say me about ias education and also say me how much percentage is nesccery in 10-12th and degree class.im wating for your answer.
8th June 2014, 04:10 PM

i have just passed my 10th with flying colour. Is it compalsary to pass 12th, can i join diploma..?
22nd January 2015, 08:56 PM

hello, sir
i am a degree student i want to know minimum marks of CSAT exam to write an IAS exam.
6th March 2015, 12:32 AM

IN BA I HAVE 43% FROM KOTA UNIVERSITY,KOTA, NON-COLLEGATE, MAY I ELIGIBLE FOR UPSC IAS OFFICER EXAM, PLEASE ANSWER ME
30th July 2015, 04:15 PM

I am sudhahar I m preparing forcupsc exams but i have bsc certificate with 1 K.T can I give mains with same degree wuth 1 subject fail
9th April 2016, 09:41 AM

Sir l am Dharmendr Kumar pamdit my education 10 the pass and continue to diploma kya mai IAS ka exam adened kar Santa hu