28th April 2015, 12:37 PM
Unregistered

Can I start GATE preparation from 12th standard itself?

Hello i am a 12th standard completed student. Can I start preparing for gate by now itself? I want to score very well in the exam to get into Itts.

28th April 2015, 04:25 PM
aashisranjan784
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Can I start GATE preparation from 12th standard itself?

GATE stands for the Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering. It is conducted by Indian Institute of Technology for the master's degree in technology.

Minimum eligibility criteria to apply for this exam is bachelor's degree in technology or engineering from a recognized university. Even B.Tech final year candidates can apply for the exam.

GATE is an online test consisting of 65 questions of multiple choice type from core streams of engineering.

So, how can you start preparing for GATE after 10+2 if you have not done bachelor's degree in technology or engineering.

If you are interested to take admission in Indian Institute of Technology at 10+2 level, you must prepare for the Joint Entrance Exam.

Joint Entrance exam is conducted for undergraduate courses in Engineering from top institutes in India like IITs, NITs and government engineering colleges.

It has two stages: JEE Mains conducted by CBSE and JEE Advanced by IIT.

You must perform well in both stages and you must have good percentage of marks in 10+2 to get admission in IITs. Focus on the subjects like Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics as questions are from these subjects only.
28th April 2015, 04:26 PM
Pwg_31
Senior Member+

It seems you have some wrong knowledge of the exam. Its very fortunate that you have asked this here and we are here to rectify this.

GATE is the Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering. It can be done only once you have completed your graduation. It is basically for getting admission into the M.tech courses in the various IIT's.