4th February 2010, 09:49 PM
vasam.venumadhav

Eligibility for IES exam in "Electrical stream"?

i have one question regarding to eligibility,

i have complited B.Sc in electronics,
M.Sc in physics with astrophysics as special paper which is 4 semister course covers electronics in first 2 semisters,
(actually iam very much interested in electronics because of some reasons iam unable to do the M.Sc electronics)

i qulified the GATE-2009 in "electronics and communication stream" with 91.05 percentiale,

now iam doing M.Tech 2 semister in "electronics design and technology"

iam i eligible for "IES" exam in " electrical stream" after compliotion of my M.Tech?

kindly reply me

thank u sir...

1. Previous years papers of IES Electrical Stream? Books to be referred for the electrical stream along with the name of their authors?
  2. Can I join electrical engineering stream for IES exam? I am pursuing EIE
  3. Which stream has maximum number of seats in IES either electrical or electronics? Which stream should I opt for the IES exam? I am IT graduate
  4. Complete Syllabus of IES Exam for Electrical stream?
  5. Previous year Question Papers of IES Exam for Electrical stream?
  6. Can i apply for railway examination after studying B.E EEE
  7. Detailed Information regarding IES Exam? What syllabus should I prepare for IES Exam in ECE stream? Required Eligibility criteria to appear for this Exam?
  8. Which exams a graduate in electrical or electronics stream to appear for?
  9. What is the eligibility criteria for IES entrance exam?
  10. How can I crack IES exam for electrical? Books to be referred?
  11. Am I eligible to give IES Exam being a candidate from EEE stream in B.Tech course?
  12. How may I get the last 10 years solved question papers for IAS and IES exam(for electrical stream)?
  13. Can I appear in IES 2016 exam in 3rd year of engineering? -- [New]
  14. Paper format for IES electrical exam? Syllabus of prelims and mains? Books for the same?
  15. Names of the books that I should refer for IES exam? My branch is electrical
  16. What are the maximum attempts that are allowed for IES exam for general category? Cutoff marks for IES electrical in general category?
  17. Date of IES Exam? Syllabus of IES Exam for Electrical Engineering and Sample papers to prepare for the Exam?
  18. Last date to fill up IES exam form? -- [Most Discussed]
5th February 2010, 11:52 AM

Default Re: Eligibility for IES exam in "Electrical stream"?

Age Limit: Not less than 21 years an not more than 30 years on 1st August, 2008. The Upper age limit is relaxable for Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes/Other Backward classes and certain other categories of candidates to the extent specified in the Not.
7th February 2010, 12:00 AM
amit04051988

HI

yes you are eligible for this exam
for more visit http://www.iwinacademy.com/Competitive/UPSC/IES/eligibility.aspx
13th February 2010, 11:18 PM
Mintoo

Yes you are eligible because for IES exam the candidate age is not less than 21 years an not more than 30 years on 1st August, 2008. The Upper age limit is relaxable for Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes/Other Backward classes and certain other categories of candidates to the extent specified in the Not....
14th February 2010, 12:46 AM
pradeep.g.u

ya sure sir you are eligible if your age is under 30 ... all the best
14th February 2010, 10:01 PM
bond007

yes you are eligible for IES exam, the minimum age limit is 21 years and the maximum is 30 so if you fall in this age limit then its ok otherwise go for something else.
23rd February 2010, 12:22 PM
atanu

hey friend,
really this is very good question,
if your age is between the limits the you are eligible at this point of view,
but as far as subjects is concern,
i think that you are eligible also for other subject,like electrical or other.
o k
23rd June 2010, 07:34 AM

The minimum educational qualification required to be eligible for the IES exam is a degree in engineering from a recognised university.
Candidates appearing at engineering degree or equivallent are also eligible to compete.
The minimum eligible age is 21 years and the maximum eligible age is 30 years with a relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST , 3 years for OBC and upto a maximum of 10 years in the case of blind, deaf-mute and Orthopaedically handicapped persons.
25th July 2010, 09:05 PM

i have completed my BSc with physics and have applied for msc physics with specialisation in electronic communication .I will be giving the GATE exam as well .
Will i be eligible to give the IES exam for electronics&telecommunication engineering after completion of my MSc
26th July 2010, 02:47 PM

The eligibility criteria for IES is that the candidates should not be less than 21 years and not more than 30 years.You should have a minimum of 50% marks in graduation.You should be a graduate in engineering from any recognized university. Career opportunities in India include electrical engineers,project engineers .Electrical engineers have great demand abroad where they are appointed for Energy management jobs , Performance management and safety management job etc …
31st July 2010, 04:56 PM

hello fiend

the minimum qualification require to attain the IES exam is graduation in Engg.

and age limit is 21-30.

minimum 60% marks in graduation is require to attain the IES exam.

best of luck.......
2nd August 2010, 01:29 PM

iam 2011 passed out ,if iam eligible for 2011 ies exam
15th August 2010, 10:34 PM
rohit_k

elligibilty for ies officer
60% marks in graduation only for entrance exam and 10+2 70% and above....
you can check on the visit site as www.uosc.gov.in........
you are also medically fit.....
16th August 2010, 01:03 PM

i m doing b.tech biotechnology can i apply for the ies exam.
19th August 2010, 11:58 AM

Hello Friend
The eligibility criteria for the IES eam conducted by the UPSC is that

1.A student must be a graduate with 60% marks in aggregate.

2.The age of the student must be in between 21 to 30

3.He/She must be an Indian

So you are eligible ,you can apply for the IES examination.

Best Wishes!!
19th August 2010, 12:51 PM
cenaetion

yes u r eligible for IES exam, if ur age is between 21 to30 years.. there will be no problem for u to appear in IES exam..

best of luck..
11th September 2010, 09:55 PM

suggest how to prepare for english and g.k.......
12th September 2010, 02:52 PM
August

of course you can apply for IES.

but your age should be within 30.

12th September 2010, 02:53 PM
August

Thumbs up Re: Eligibility for IES exam in "Electrical stream"?

of course you can apply for IES.

but your age should be within 30.

16th September 2010, 01:02 AM
Sushant Roy

Firstly I want to tell you whether you want to do your current MTech or not? Nothing to worry , You can get any stream (including eletrical one) just after passing GATE examination in Electrical side. Means after passing GATE exam in electrical makes you eligible for admission in MTech (Electrical).
16th September 2010, 01:33 AM
poplu13

A degree in Engineering from a recognised University or eqivalent. M.Sc Degree or its equivalent with Wireless Communications, Electronics, Radio Physics or Radio Engineering as special subject acceptable for certain Services/posts only.

these are qualifications required.....

good luck !!
16th September 2010, 01:51 AM

yea you may appear in IES examination in electrical stream.
but there are some other criterion like your age should not be less than 21 years and should not be greater than 30 years at the time of application.
16th September 2010, 02:50 AM
sayan550

Engineering Services Examination
The Engineering Services Examination is conducted by the UPSC, India every year for the recruitment to the four categories of engineering services:

Civil Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Electronics & telecommunication Engineering
Important Dates For Engineering Services Examination
UPSC conducts the Indian Forest Service Exam generally in the month of June or July.
Notification of the Examination commences in the month of January or February

Date of Notification Application /Last date for receipt of applications: 6th February, 2010 to 22nd February, 2010
Date of Commencement of examination and its duration: 26.06.2010 (Three days)

Here i specify the notification for "Electrical Stream"

Syllabus : http://way2freshers.com/ias/ias-syllabus/ias-examination-syllabus-electrical-engineering.html .....check this link........

Age limit a Nationality : (I) Nationality:

A candidate must be either:

(a) a citizen of India, or

(b) a subject of Nepal, or

(c) a subject of Bhutan, or

(d) a Tibetan refugee who came over to Indian before the 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India, or

(e) a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka or East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire and Ethiopia or from Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

Provided that a candidate belonging to categories (b), (c), (d) and (e) above shall be a person in whose favour a certificate of eligibility has been issued by the Government of India.

A candidate in whose case a certificate of eligibility is necessary, may be admitted to the examination but the offer of appointment may be given only after the necessary eligibility certificate has been issued by the Government of India.

(II) Age Limits:

(a) A candidate for this examination must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years on the 1st August, of the current year

(b) The upper age-limit of 30 years will be relaxable upto 35 years in the case of Government servants of the following categories, if they are employed in a Department/Office under the control of any of the authorities mentioned in column 1 below and apply for admission to the examination for all or any of the Service(s)/Posts mentioned in column 2, for which they are otherwise eligible.

(i) A candidate who holds substantively a permanent post in the particular Department/Office concerned. This relaxation will not be admissible to a probationer appointed against a permanent post in the Department/Office during the period of his probation.

(ii) A candidate who has been continuously in a temporary service on a regular basis in the particular Department/Office for at least 3 years on the 1st August, of current year.

Group A Services/Posts

Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers
Indian Railway Stores Service (Electrical Engineering Posts)
Central Electrical -& Mechanical Engineering Service (Electrical Engineering Posts)
Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Engineering Branch) (Electrical Engineering Posts)
Indian Naval Armament Service (Electrical Engineering Posts)
Central Power Engineering Service (Electrical Engineering Posts)
Assistant Executive Engineer (Electrical) in P &T Building Works (Group 'A') Service
Military Engineering Service (IDSE-Electrical and Mechanical Cadre) (Electrical Engineering Posts)
Assistant Manager (Factories), Department of Telecom (Telecom Factories Organization)
Assistant Executive Engineer Group `A' (Electrical Engineering Posts) in the Corps of E.M.E., Ministry of Defence
Indian Inspection Service Group 'A' (Electrical Engineering Posts)
Indian Supply Service Group `A' (Electrical Engg. Posts). Group `B' Services/Posts
Assistant Engineer, Group `B' (Electrical Engineering Posts) in the Corps of E.M.E., Ministry of Defence.

Thank you.........
16th September 2010, 02:58 AM
sanjusabu

IES entrance test or Indian Engineering Services entrance exam is designed for recruitment of engineers in government services.

IES Exam Eligibility Criteria:-

1) Age Limit:- 21-30 years on the first day of august of the year of examination.
2) Educational Qualifications:-
Applicable for the graduates who have already completed or who are in last year. but last year students are required to produce the proof of passing
degree.

Examination notifications are published in major newspaper and employment news in January / February

Exam is conducted in June/ July every year.

For more info visit UPSC website :- http:// www.upsc.gov.in.
27th September 2010, 05:35 PM

sir,plz tell what is the scope of m.tech in future?
28th September 2010, 08:56 PM

my branch is electrical &electronic can i appear in ies exam.
29th September 2010, 11:04 PM
teeks

Originally Posted by vasam.venumadhav View Post

M.Sc in physics with astrophysics as special paper which is 4 semister course covers electronics in first 2 semisters,
(actually iam very much interested in electronics because of some reasons iam unable to do the M.Sc electronics)

i qulified the GATE-2009 in "electronics and communication stream" with 91.05 percentiale,

iam i eligible for "IES" exam in " electrical stream" after compliotion of my M.Tech?

kindly reply me

thank u sir...
surely you can apply for the IES you are eligible for this
30th September 2010, 09:08 AM
NITIN2

Off course you are eligible for IES exam.You can appear through electrical stream.Mind that there is combination of subjects,you have to choose subjects from electrical stream.Your age must lie between 21 to 30 years old.

30th September 2010, 06:59 PM
kool

i m doing b.tech biotechnology can i apply for the ies exam.
Sorry to say that as you a student of biotechnology then you are not eligible for IES.

Only four department is included for IES which is:
ECE
EE
ME
Civil

kindly see your other career option apart from IES.

30th September 2010, 07:08 PM
kool

iam 2011 passed out ,if iam eligible for 2011 ies exam

Only four department is included for IES which is:
ECE
EE
ME
Civil.

& you are a student of EE then you can apply for it, but after completion of your
degree, you will be appeared in this IES exam.

15th October 2010, 02:00 PM

I WANT TO KNOW ABOUT THE SIIYBUS
1st February 2011, 12:23 AM

Dear Friend

The syllabus for IES Examination for Electrical Engineering is as follow:

ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING PAPER - I
(For both objective and conventional types papers)

1. EM Theory
Electric and magnetic fields. Gauss's Law and Amperes Law. Fields in dielectrics, conductors and magnetic materials. Maxwell's equations. Time varying fields. Plane-Wave propagating in dielectric and conducting media. Transmission lines.

2. Electrical Materials
Band Theory, Conductors, Semi-conductors and Insulators. Super-conductivity. Insulators for electrical and electronic applications. Magnetic materials. Ferro and ferri magnetism. Ceramics, Properties and applications. Hall effect and its applications. Special semi conductors.

3. Electrical Circuits
Circuits elements. Kirchoff's Laws. Mesh and nodal analysis. Network Theorems and applications. Natural response and forced response. Transient response and steady state response for arbitrary inputs. Properties of networks in terms of poles and zeros. Transfer function. Resonant circuits. Threephase circuits. Two-port networks. Elements of two-element network synthesis.

4. Measurements and Instrumentation
Units and Standards. Error analysis, measurement of current, Voltage, power, Power-factor and energy. Indicating instruments. Measurement of resistance, inductance, Capacitance and frequency. Bridge measurements. Electronic measuring instruments. Digital Voltmeter and frequency counter. Transducers and their applications to the measurement of non-electrical quantities like temperature, pressure, flow-rate displacement, acceleration, noise level etc. Data acquisition systems. A/D and D/A converters.

5. CONTROL SYSTEMS.
Mathematical modelling of physical systems. Block diagrams and signal flow graphs and their reduction. Time domain and frequency domain analysis of linear dynamical system. Errors for different type of inputs and stability criteria for feedback systems. Stability analysis using Routh-Hurwitz array, Nyquist plot and Bode plot. Root locus and Nicols chart and the estimation of gain and phase margin. Basic concepts of compensator design. State variable matrix and its use in system modelling and design. Sampled data system and performance of such a system with the samples in the error channel. Stability of sampled data system. Elements of non-linear control analysis. Control system components, electromechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic components.

ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING PAPER - II

1. Electrical Machines and Power Transformers
Magnetic Circuits - Analysis and Design of Power transformers. Construction and testing. Equivalent circuits. Losses and efficiency. Regulation. Auto-transformer, 3-phase transformer. Parallel operation.
Basic concepts in rotating machines. EMF, torque, basic machine types. Construction and operation, leakage losses and efficiency.
B.C. Machines. Construction, Excitation methods. Circuit models. Armature reaction and commutation. Characteristics and performance analysis. Generators and motors. Starting and speed control. Testing, Losses and efficiency.
Synchronous Machines. Construction. Circuit model. Operating characteristics and performance analysis. Synchronous reactance. Efficiency. Voltage regulation. Salient-pole machine, Parallel operation. Hunting. Short circuit transients.
Induction Machines. Construction. Principle of operation. Rotating fields. Characteristics and performance analysis. Determination of circuit model. Circle diagram. Starting and speed control.
Fractional KW motors. Single-phase synchronous and induction motors.

2. Power systems
Types of Power Stations, Hydro, Thermal and Nuclear Stations. Pumped storage plants. Economics and operating factors.

Power transmission lines. Modeling and performance characteristics. Voltage control. Load flow studies. Optimal power system operation. Load frequency control. Symmetrical short circuit analysis. ZBus formulation. Symmetrical Components. Per Unit representation. Fault analysis. Transient and steady-state stability of power systems. Equal area criterion.
Power system Transients. Power system Protection Circuit breakers. Relays. HVDC transmission.

3. ANALOG AND DIGITAL ELECTRONICS AND CIRCUITS
Semiconductor device physics, PN junctions and transistors, circuit models and parameters, FET, Zener, tunnel, Schottky, photo diodes and their applications, rectifier circuits, voltage regulators and multipliers, switching behavior of diodes and transistors.
Small signal amplifiers, biasing circuits, frequency response and improvement, multistage amplifiers and feed-back amplifiers, D.C. amplifiers, Oscillators. Large signal amplifiers, coupling methods, push pull amplifiers, operational amplifiers, wave shaping circuits. Multivibrators and flip-flops and their applications. Digital logic gate families, universal gates-combination circuits for arithmetic and logic operational, sequential logic circuits. Counters, registers, RAM and ROMs.

4. MICROPROCESSORS
Microprocessor architecture-Instruction set and simple assembly language programming. Interfacing for memory and I/O. Applications of Micro-processors in power system.

5. COMMUNICATION SYSTEMS
Types of modulation; AM, FM and PM. Demodulators. Noise and bandwidth considerations. Digital communication systems. Pulse code modulation and demodulation. Elements of sound and vision broadcasting. Carrier communication. Frequency division and time division multiplexing, Telemetry system in power engineering.

6. POWER ELECTRONICS
Power Semiconductor devices. Thyristor. Power transistor, GTOs and MOSFETS. Characteristics and operation. AC to DC Converters; 1-phase and 3-phase DC to DC Converters; AC regulators. Thyristor controlled reactors; switched capacitor networks.
Inverters; single-phase and 3-phase. Pulse width modulation. Sinusoidal modulation with uniform sampling. Switched mode power supplies.

The reference books to cover the above syllabus are

Automatic Control System by Benjamin C. Kuo

Control System Engg. by Nagrath & Gopal

Digital Logic & Computer Design by Morris Mano

Electrical & Electronic Measurement and Instrumentation by AK Sawhney

Electrical Machines by Nagrath & Kothari

Electrical Machinery by PS Bhimra

Electric Power Systems by CL Wadhwa

Electromagnetic by Willain H. Hayt

Integrated Electronics by Milman & Halkias

Network Analysis by Van Valkenburg

Power Electronics by PS Bhimra

Power System Engg. by Nagrath & Kothari[COLOR="Silver"]

1st February 2011, 12:43 AM
priyanka_swengg

Post Re: Eligibility for IES exam in "Electrical stream"?

kindly reply me

thank u sir...
Yes Man you are Eligible.
As per as Education qualification you are Eligible.

See below the Eligibility for IES exam.
A degree in Engineering from a recognised University or eqivalent. M.Sc Degree or its equivalent with Wireless Communications, Electronics, Radio hysics or Radio Engineering as special subject acceptable for certain Services/posts only.

But if you come under 21 - 30 years as on 01.08.2011(say For IES 2011) Then you will be Eligible for IES Exam.

If you don''t full fill the Age criteria then you will be in vain.

Good luck.
1st February 2011, 01:19 AM
subho19

Cool Re: Eligibility for IES exam in "Electrical stream"?

kindly reply me
thank u sir...
Definately you are eligible for IES in your stream,but age is one of your main factor,because the age limit is 21 to 30 for a general candidate...
1st February 2011, 09:26 AM
sandipk

hello friend,

Eligibility for IES exam in "Electrical stream"

Age Limit: Not less than 21 years an not more than 30 years
The Upper age limit is relaxable for SC/ST

more information go through thislink:
visit http://www.iwinacademy.com/Competiti...igibility.aspx

good luck...
1st February 2011, 11:41 AM
dreamakhi

Location: 405, 2nd floor, phase 10, mohali, Chandigarh, India

kindly reply me

thank u sir...
yes ur eligible for that the only is age
1st February 2011, 11:45 AM
tania19

yes you are eligibli forIES exam. the candidate age is not less than 21 years and not mor than 30 years. so dont warry apply for it.
1st February 2011, 02:19 PM
sanjay_2011

hey friend,
really this is very good question,
if your age is between the limits the you are eligible at this point of view,
but as far as subjects is concern,
i think that you are eligible also for other subject,like electrical or other.
o k
1st February 2011, 02:20 PM
sanjay_2011

Dear Friend

The syllabus for IES Examination for Electrical Engineering is as follow:

1. EM Theory
Electric and magnetic fields. Gauss's Law and Amperes Law. Fields in dielectrics, conductors and magnetic materials. Maxwell's equations. Time varying fields. Plane-Wave propagating in dielectric and conducting media. Transmission lines.

2. Electrical Materials
Band Theory, Conductors, Semi-conductors and Insulators. Super-conductivity. Insulators for electrical and electronic applications. Magnetic materials. Ferro and ferri magnetism. Ceramics, Properties and applications. Hall effect and its applications. Special semi conductors.

3. Electrical Circuits
Circuits elements. Kirchoff's Laws. Mesh and nodal analysis. Network Theorems and applications. Natural response and forced response. Transient response and steady state response for arbitrary inputs. Properties of networks in terms of poles and zeros. Transfer function. Resonant circuits. Threephase circuits. Two-port networks. Elements of two-element network synthesis.

Units and Standards. Error analysis, measurement of current, Voltage, power, Power-factor and energy. Indicating instruments. Measurement of resistance, inductance, Capacitance and frequency. Bridge measurements. Electronic measuring instruments. Digital Voltmeter and frequency counter. Transducers and their applications to the measurement of non-electrical quantities like temperature, pressure, flow-rate displacement, acceleration, noise level etc. Data acquisition systems. A/D and D/A converters.

5. CONTROL SYSTEMS.
Mathematical modelling of physical systems. Block diagrams and signal flow graphs and their reduction. Time domain and frequency domain analysis of linear dynamical system. Errors for different type of inputs and stability criteria for feedback systems. Stability analysis using Routh-Hurwitz array, Nyquist plot and Bode plot. Root locus and Nicols chart and the estimation of gain and phase margin. Basic concepts of compensator design. State variable matrix and its use in system modelling and design. Sampled data system and performance of such a system with the samples in the error channel. Stability of sampled data system. Elements of non-linear control analysis. Control system components, electromechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic components.

Magnetic Circuits - Analysis and Design of Power transformers. Construction and testing. Equivalent circuits. Losses and efficiency. Regulation. Auto-transformer, 3-phase transformer. Parallel operation.
Basic concepts in rotating machines. EMF, torque, basic machine types. Construction and operation, leakage losses and efficiency.
B.C. Machines. Construction, Excitation methods. Circuit models. Armature reaction and commutation. Characteristics and performance analysis. Generators and motors. Starting and speed control. Testing, Losses and efficiency.
Synchronous Machines. Construction. Circuit model. Operating characteristics and performance analysis. Synchronous reactance. Efficiency. Voltage regulation. Salient-pole machine, Parallel operation. Hunting. Short circuit transients.
Induction Machines. Construction. Principle of operation. Rotating fields. Characteristics and performance analysis. Determination of circuit model. Circle diagram. Starting and speed control.

2. Power systems
Types of Power Stations, Hydro, Thermal and Nuclear Stations. Pumped storage plants. Economics and operating factors.

Power transmission lines. Modeling and performance characteristics. Voltage control. Load flow studies. Optimal power system operation. Load frequency control. Symmetrical short circuit analysis. ZBus formulation. Symmetrical Components. Per Unit representation. Fault analysis. Transient and steady-state stability of power systems. Equal area criterion.
Power system Transients. Power system Protection Circuit breakers. Relays. HVDC transmission.

Semiconductor device physics, PN junctions and transistors, circuit models and parameters, FET, Zener, tunnel, Schottky, photo diodes and their applications, rectifier circuits, voltage regulators and multipliers, switching behavior of diodes and transistors.
Small signal amplifiers, biasing circuits, frequency response and improvement, multistage amplifiers and feed-back amplifiers, D.C. amplifiers, Oscillators. Large signal amplifiers, coupling methods, push pull amplifiers, operational amplifiers, wave shaping circuits. Multivibrators and flip-flops and their applications. Digital logic gate families, universal gates-combination circuits for arithmetic and logic operational, sequential logic circuits. Counters, registers, RAM and ROMs.

4. MICROPROCESSORS
Microprocessor architecture-Instruction set and simple assembly language programming. Interfacing for memory and I/O. Applications of Micro-processors in power system.

5. COMMUNICATION SYSTEMS
Types of modulation; AM, FM and PM. Demodulators. Noise and bandwidth considerations. Digital communication systems. Pulse code modulation and demodulation. Elements of sound and vision broadcasting. Carrier communication. Frequency division and time division multiplexing, Telemetry system in power engineering.

6. POWER ELECTRONICS
Power Semiconductor devices. Thyristor. Power transistor, GTOs and MOSFETS. Characteristics and operation. AC to DC Converters; 1-phase and 3-phase DC to DC Converters; AC regulators. Thyristor controlled reactors; switched capacitor networks.
Inverters; single-phase and 3-phase. Pulse width modulation. Sinusoidal modulation with uniform sampling. Switched mode power supplies.

The reference books to cover the above syllabus are

Automatic Control System by Benjamin C. Kuo

Control System Engg. by Nagrath & Gopal

Digital Logic & Computer Design by Morris Mano

Electrical & Electronic Measurement and Instrumentation by AK Sawhney

Electrical Machines by Nagrath & Kothari

Electrical Machinery by PS Bhimra

Electric Power Systems by CL Wadhwa

Electromagnetic by Willain H. Hayt

Integrated Electronics by Milman & Halkias

Network Analysis by Van Valkenburg

Power Electronics by PS Bhimra

Power System Engg. by Nagrath & Kothari[COLOR="Silver"]

1st February 2011, 04:41 PM

my branch is electrical &electronic can i appear in ies exam.
yes you may appear in IES examination. in IES examination there are two branch related to your branch one is electrical engineering and other is electronics and telecommunication engineering. now you are related to both this stream but your stream not perfectly match with the eligible stream for IES.

so you have to choose one stream between these two and you have to appear in that paper in IES. i think it will be better for you to appear from electrical engineering stream. so go through the syllabus of IES for electrical engineering and prepare for IES according to the syllabus. try to cover all the portion of the syllabus.

for syllabus and more information about IES examination visit the website http://www.upsc.gov.in

best wishes.
1st February 2011, 05:17 PM
er.dellikannan

kindly reply me

thank u sir...

1. EM Theory

2. Electrical Materials

3. Electrical Circuits

5. CONTROL SYSTEMS.

2. Power systems

4. MICROPROCESSORS

5. COMMUNICATION SYSTEMS

6. POWER ELECTRONICS

Read more here: http://entrance-exam.net/forum/general-discussion/eligibility-ies-exam-electrical-stream-4808.html#ixzz1CkCmY8Tx
1st February 2011, 09:21 PM
edgeineervinay

kindly reply me

thank u sir...
i have attached the full detailed of ies.
please go through it.
File Type: pdf Engg2011_ENG.pdf(143.4 KB, 71 views)
1st February 2011, 09:51 PM
pops07

I WANT TO KNOW ABOUT THE SIIYBUS
syllabus for IES in four different engineering courses (civil, electronics and telecommunication, electrical, mechanical) are here:

http://www.threeauthors.com/upsc-exams/syllabus-iees.asp
2nd February 2011, 11:03 AM
dreamakhi

Location: 405, 2nd floor, phase 10, mohali, Chandigarh, India

Originally Posted by JAMESS View Post
yes you may appear in IES examination. in IES examination there are two branch related to your branch one is electrical engineering and other is electronics and telecommunication engineering. now you are related to both this stream but your stream not perfectly match with the eligible stream for IES.

so you have to choose one stream between these two and you have to appear in that paper in IES. i think it will be better for you to appear from electrical engineering stream. so go through the syllabus of IES for electrical engineering and prepare for IES according to the syllabus. try to cover all the portion of the syllabus.

for syllabus and more information about IES examination visit the website http://www.upsc.gov.in

best wishes.
i totally agreed with you
if your stream not matched perfectly then you have to choose any one stream and prepare according to the syllabus of IES
visit
GOOD LUCK
http://www.upsc.gov.in/
2nd February 2011, 03:06 PM
deep_4

Post Re: Eligibility for IES exam in "Electrical stream"?

M.Sc in physics with astrophysics as special paper which is 4 semister course covers electronics in fi thank u sir...

Well friend, Whatever Education you have Taken if it Bce Or M.sc Or whatever.

For Indian Engineering Services which is having its Exam on 14.05.2011 has a typical Criteria which

is Any degree in Engineering from a recognised University or eqivalent.If you want to apply

with M.sc then As per as ELIGIBILITY a guy with M.Sc Degree or its equivalent with Wireless

Communications, Electronics, Radio Physics or Radio Engineering as special subject acceptable for

certain Services/posts only.

Good luck.
2nd February 2011, 06:36 PM
aryabhatta

friend

you are eligible for IES with this stream

your age should be in between 21-30 yr.

your percentage should be at least 60%.

go for it.........
8th February 2011, 12:30 AM
mukul0094

Friend;
You are eligible for IES exam. This exam is conducted by UPSC.
For eligibility criteria please see the website http://www.upsc.in
15th March 2011, 01:16 PM
kapila Chaudhary

IES Exam Eligibility:
Age Eligibility:
You need to be between 21 years to 30 years on the 1st August, 2011.
Age relaxations exist as per Govt. rules.

Academic Eligibility:
You must be a graduate in Engineering from a recognized university.

for details:
www.upsc.gov.in
23rd April 2011, 08:18 PM

May u please kindly suggest me about the number of attempts allowed in the ies examination , specially for OBC candidates.
19th July 2011, 03:31 AM

dear sir/madam

i studied B.E in (electrical and electronics engineering) and i got only 55% of aggregate. can i eligible for IES.