31st July 2010, 12:45 PM
Unregistered

Is it possible to write IES exam after completing B.E in Mechanical? Date of sale of forms? When is the next exam?

Sir/Madem,
I V.Amarnath , i completed my Bachelor of Engineering In Mechanical.i would like to write the IES exam..
Is it possible for me to write exam?
when the exam appilication form will be published?
when is the next exam?

4th August 2011, 08:12 AM
surendergora
Senior Member++++

Default Re: Is it possible to write IES exam after completing B.E in Mechanical? Date of sale of forms? When is the next exam?

Yes, definitely you can apply after all IES is only for electrical , mechanical & civil engineers only.
Also, there is no minimum percentage requirement for this, but that doesnt means that competition would be low, its too competitive exam.
Also you need to be atleast 21 yr old to be eligible.

And number of attempts are also restricted:
4 for general, 7 for OBC and no limit for SC/ST.

Regarding preparation:
Although there are coaching institutes in every state now, MadeEasy is being rated as best for IES prepation, but there are other also, but dont take coaching from an arbitrary insitiute.

Application form & Exam dates:
The Exam is conducted by Union Public Service Commission(UPSC) in the month of May/June India wide. There are objective as well as subjective papers. One paper for GS (General Studies) is part of the assessment system apart from the engineering subject of the candidate. The entire technical subject is divided into two papers (PAPER 1 and PAPER 2. There is a three day schedule of the written examination, comprising in all five written examination.

Application forms will be available in March.
5th August 2011, 12:00 AM
rahul k
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Is it possible to write IES exam after completing B.E in Mechanical? Date of sale of forms? When is the next exam?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Sir/Madem,