24th May 2011, 07:24 AM
mahor1989

Syllabus for SBI bank PO exam and books for the same?

what is sbi po exam syllabus and which book covers whole syllabus?

24th May 2011, 08:50 AM

Default Re: Syllabus for SBI bank PO exam and books for the same?

The exam structure will consist of both objective type and descriptive type questions. In the objective type there will be questions related to English Language, General Awareness, Marketing, Computers, DI, Reasoning. The descriptive paper will be on the English language. Only if the candidate fairs well in the objective section will the descriptive section be evaluated. R.S Agarwal, Oswal are some of the popular books in this area.
24th May 2011, 02:35 PM
shlrao

The syllabus of SBI bank PO exam is
• English Language test: consisting of Grammar, Vocabulary, and Comprehension etc.
• General Awareness, Marketing and Computers Test
• Data Analysis and Interpretation Test
• High Level Reasoning Test
RS Agarwal, Arihant and all Upkar publication books are very good for preparation for PO. These books cover all the syllabus of SBI bank PO exam.
For the additional preparation you can take the help of previous SBI PO exam solved papers.
24th May 2011, 02:37 PM
shlrao

Thumbs up Re: Syllabus for SBI bank PO exam and books for the same?

• English Language test: consisting of Grammar, Vocabulary, and Comprehension etc.
RS Agarwal, Arihant and all Upkar publication books are very good for preparation for PO. These books cover all the syllabus of SBI bank PO exam.
For the additional preparation you can take the help of previous SBI PO exam solved papers.
24th May 2011, 02:47 PM
arvind_singh

Objective General English
by R. S. Aggarwal, Vikas Aggarwal

A Modern Approach To Logical Reasoning
by Aggarwal R. S.

Advance Objective General Knowledge
by R. S. Aggarwal

State Bank Probationary Officers Examination (Paperback)
by T S Jain

MORE books :
SBI & Associate Banks—PO Exam Guide
by R. Gupta

Banks Probationary Officers Examination
by Jain

I have attached the syllabus of SBI PO exam .
File Type: docx syllaus for bank exam.docx(14.1 KB, 579 views)
24th May 2011, 03:53 PM

Originally Posted by mahor1989 View Post
SYLLABUS

1. Test of Reasoning/Mental Ability/Aptitude:

This section usually tries to test the reasoning abilities and mental aptitude of the candidate. Questions are asked mainly from the following categories.

VERBAL

* Number Series
* Alphabet Series
* Test of Direction Sense
* Coding-Decoding
* Number Ranking
* Arithmetical Reasoning
* Problem on Age Calculation
* Blood Relations
* Analogy
* Decision Making etc.

NON-VERBAL

* Non Verbal Series
* Mirror Images
* Cubes and Dice
* Grouping Identical Figures
* Embedded Figures etc

2. Quantitative Aptitude:

This section tests the quantitative and mathematical skills of the candidate. Questions are asked mainly from the following categories.

* Number System
* HCF, LCM
* Simplification
* Decimal Fractions
* Ratio and Proportions
* Unitary Method
* Percentage
* Time and Distance
* Time and Work
* Profit and Loss
* Average
* Simple and Compound Interest
* Mensuration (2D and 3D)
* Algebra
* Data Interpretation

3. English:

This section is designed to test the language abilities and understanding of English grammar. Questions are asked mainly from the following categories.

* Verb
* Adverb
* Subject Verb Agreement
* Error Correction
* Tenses
* Sentence Rearrangement
* Fill in the Blanks with Modals, Articles etc
* Comprehension
* Answering questions based on Unseen Passages
* Vocabulary
* Synonyms
* Antonyms

4. General Awareness:

This section is checks whether the candidate keep himself/herself up to date with the world around them. Questions are asked mainly from the following categories.

* Current Affairs (National and International)
* Major Financial/Economic News
* Budget and Five Year Plans
* Who's Who
* Sports
* Books and Authors
* Awards and Honours
* Science - Inventions and Discoveries
* Abbreviations
* Important Days
* International and National Organisations
SO BEST OF LUCK
25th May 2011, 03:52 PM

Smile Re: Syllabus for SBI bank PO exam and books for the same?

Hey hi Mahor,

The subjects for po exam is

*Quantitative Aptitude
*Test of Reasoning (Verbal & Non-verbal)
*English
*General Awareness / General Knowledge

and eligibility is:

*Candidate’s age must be between 21 years and 30 years
*Candidate must be a citizen of India
*Candidates should have completed their graduation

for more information logon to www.route2jobs.org or get in touch with Rahil @ 022 61549790
25th May 2011, 07:28 PM

when sbi po results
25th May 2011, 07:29 PM

recently requirment jobs in sbi plz information given`
26th May 2011, 06:27 PM

Question Re: Syllabus for SBI bank PO exam and books for the same?

Hi friends, I'm gonna attend SBI PO on July 2011.Can anyone answer my few questions regarding the exam,which are:
#Does both objective and descriptive tests will be held on the same day of exam? If yes how much gap will be there between two tests?
#What topics will be asked in essay section?
#What are the objective type books available on marketting, computer and general awareness?

Lot more queries in my mind, but for now make me clear with this.
26th May 2011, 09:50 PM

can i get, study material for general awareness, marketing and computer knowledge?
28th May 2011, 01:53 PM

can anyone help me get previous year's solved SBI PO paper, i tried searching in google and got only the general awareness paper, and i heard sbi's paper standard is very tough as their payscale too is high, is it really very tough, please help me, please :)
28th May 2011, 07:57 PM
markped

Hey guys,
I am new for competitive exams and recently i had filled up SBI PO form which would be my first exam so i am really scared, Will i be able to get it done.

I am morally down so looking for someone's guidence how to start up the preparation for same.

plz help.
29th May 2011, 05:20 PM

where can i submit the application for SBI po. Please help me with the link
29th May 2011, 06:50 PM
bhim Arora

can anyone help me get previous year's solved SBI PO paper, i tried searching in google and got only the general awareness paper, and i heard sbi's paper standard is very tough as their payscale too is high, is it really very tough, please help me, please

All-knowing God "Google" doesn't know many things!

Anyway, of course there are books on Previous Year's solved SBI PO paper.
(source: Bukwit.com)

1. SBI & Associate Banks Clerical Cadre Rect. Exam. Solved Papers Upkar Prakashan

2. SBI—PO Previous Papers (Solved) English Ramesh Publishing House

3. SBI—PO Previous Papers (Solved) Hindi Ramesh Publishing House

You can even get the solved SBI PO paper books at your doorstep.
30th May 2011, 03:24 PM

please tell me complete information about bank po exam and book specially for marketing portion.
31st May 2011, 03:05 PM
venkataprakash.v

where can i submit the application for SBI po. Please help me with the link
You can submit the Application for SBI Bank Probationary Officer.

Visit the Official website :

candidates may Apply online using the website : http://registration.sifyitest.com/sbipomay11/

Cost of Application form :
  • 500 for General and OBC candidates.
  • 100 for SC/ST/PWD
  • Last date for Registration from Online Applications : 09/06/11
  • Last date for fee deposit from SBI Branches : 07/06/11
1st June 2011, 11:09 AM

Please tell me the details syllabus of Data Interpretation & Analysis Portion.
Which book will cover all part of Data Interpretation???
Kindly help me..
2nd June 2011, 02:52 AM
Bhojraj2151

Syllabus of Sbi bank po-
The topics are English,
data analysis,
reasoning(high level)
and
general awareness.
Books of upkar and kiran prakashan are helpful.
3rd June 2011, 04:19 PM

date of exam
4th June 2011, 06:07 PM
sumansin

Syllabus for SBI bank PO:-

Objective examination will consist of:

i.Reasoning Ability Test
ii.Quantitative Aptitude
iii.General Awareness/Computer Knowledge/social economic
iv.English Language
v. clerical aptitude

In discriptive paper you will have to give the answers of 5 different questions on different topic(based on social economic and some social issues).

Books for bank:-

* Test of Reasoning/Reasoning Ability : by R.S.Agarwal
(Verbal & Non-verbal).Priced around Rs.150-300

* Quantitative Aptitude : The Aptitude books by R.S.Agarwal are the most
popular study materials among.

* Guides : Although there are separate books for each of the apers,Practical
guides & Previous years solved question papers of bank exams are favorites among the preparing lot.The practical Work-guides by Kiran publications .Priced around Rs.200-250

* Solved Question Papers : The solved question papers from previous year
bank exams.

English grammer's book :- by Rein and martin.

For current affairs :- jagran josh,

Bank Clerical Test(popular Master Guide) 2010:- By R. Gupta's

Bank Clerical Cadre Recruitment Exam :- By Jain

Bank Clerical Exam Solved Papers :- By Rph Editorial Board
5th June 2011, 11:06 AM

What is the syllabus of computer in SBI PO?
6th June 2011, 09:46 PM

date of exam
can any one tell about vijetha pubilications for bank po's? is it available for online purchase?
7th June 2011, 11:58 AM

from where to get the books for the same?? can anyone please help out??
9th June 2011, 12:49 AM

can any one tell about vijetha pubilications for bank po's? is it available for online purchase?
Or could you please let me know the cover name, and pubilication
9th June 2011, 03:18 AM
SUMITRA_M

general awareness.

Books containing full course are of upkar, pratiyogita sahitaya and kiran publication.
9th June 2011, 01:17 PM
nisheec

Question

Hey friends, can anyone please help me how to start preperation for SBI PO.
Which books would be helpful in prep ?

Kindly help me. waiting for reply !
10th June 2011, 06:02 PM

how many questiona are there will be from english, reasoning, General knowledge and Data interpretation? I mean number of questions in each sections?
12th June 2011, 09:04 PM

is any descriptiv test is taken for the po?
14th June 2011, 12:54 PM

hi am narmadha, ple someone say good sbi-po exam book for preparation that is available in market.
15th June 2011, 07:44 PM

Is Quantitative Aptitude included in the Syllabus, because it is no where mentioned in their brochure..
16th June 2011, 12:14 PM

what exactlly means by high level reasoning
23rd June 2011, 06:56 PM

hi, there are lots of questions in my mind these are as follows:
1)Which books are best for studing SBI Bank PO exam?
2)I have problem of Time Management in case of preparing competative exam..kindly guide me for good time table.
3)What is the pass percent to get selected in exams?
24th June 2011, 11:15 AM

Can anybody tell me the whole exam pattern of the sbi po exam... how many questions in each section... if any body know sent it to my mail [email protected]
24th June 2011, 03:37 PM

What is syllabus of bank PO exam august 2011?Are questions on quantitative aptitude are also going to come,If yes,the how many questions?How many questions of each part are going to come?Plz help,I want complete description....
26th June 2011, 08:09 PM

please send duration exam
2nd July 2011, 12:11 PM

what type of topics will be asked in essay writing?
3rd July 2011, 03:54 PM

Unhappy Re: Syllabus for SBI bank PO exam and books for the same?

Originally Posted by unregistered View Post
hi friends, i'm gonna attend sbi po on july 2011.can anyone answer my few questions regarding the exam,which are:
#does both objective and descriptive tests will be held on the same day of exam? If yes how much gap will be there between two tests?
#what topics will be asked in essay section?
#what are the objective type books available on marketting, computer and general awareness?

Lot more queries in my mind, but for now make me clear with this.
so plz send me reply##
4th July 2011, 04:22 PM

Can I down load the the "Associate Banks Of State Bank Probationary Officers Exam (Paperback)
by T S Jain" free of cost
6th July 2011, 12:39 AM

Smile Re: Syllabus for SBI bank PO exam and books for the same?

Originally Posted by BISWARUPYOGI View Post
SYLLABUS

1. Test of Reasoning/Mental Ability/Aptitude:

This section usually tries to test the reasoning abilities and mental aptitude of the candidate. Questions are asked mainly from the following categories.

VERBAL

* Number Series
* Alphabet Series
* Test of Direction Sense
* Coding-Decoding
* Number Ranking
* Arithmetical Reasoning
* Problem on Age Calculation
* Blood Relations
* Analogy
* Decision Making etc.

NON-VERBAL

* Non Verbal Series
* Mirror Images
* Cubes and Dice
* Grouping Identical Figures
* Embedded Figures etc

2. Quantitative Aptitude:

This section tests the quantitative and mathematical skills of the candidate. Questions are asked mainly from the following categories.

* Number System
* HCF, LCM
* Simplification
* Decimal Fractions
* Ratio and Proportions
* Unitary Method
* Percentage
* Time and Distance
* Time and Work
* Profit and Loss
* Average
* Simple and Compound Interest
* Mensuration (2D and 3D)
* Algebra
* Data Interpretation

3. English:

This section is designed to test the language abilities and understanding of English grammar. Questions are asked mainly from the following categories.

* Verb
* Adverb
* Subject Verb Agreement
* Error Correction
* Tenses
* Sentence Rearrangement
* Fill in the Blanks with Modals, Articles etc
* Comprehension
* Answering questions based on Unseen Passages
* Vocabulary
* Synonyms
* Antonyms

4. General Awareness:

This section is checks whether the candidate keep himself/herself up to date with the world around them. Questions are asked mainly from the following categories.

* Current Affairs (National and International)
* Major Financial/Economic News
* Budget and Five Year Plans
* Who's Who
* Sports
* Books and Authors
* Awards and Honours
* Science - Inventions and Discoveries
* Abbreviations
* Important Days
* International and National Organisations
SO BEST OF LUCK
12th July 2011, 01:46 PM

Originally Posted by shlrao View Post
what is data analysis & interpretation test?
13th July 2011, 06:56 PM

WHAT KIND OF TOPICS FOR DESCRIPTIVE ENGLISH EXAM?
14th July 2011, 12:46 AM
shekhar.379

23rd July 2011, 01:09 PM

Is objective test & descriptive test conducted on the same day of the exam pls let me know
25th July 2011, 11:40 AM

what are the subjects for crack bank PO's exams ?
30th July 2011, 11:59 PM
kartikayan

16th December 2011, 07:29 PM

I am an engineering student of 3rd year(2009-2013).i am interest to get a job of sbi po post.can i?
3rd January 2012, 08:03 PM

I am an engineering student of 3rd year(2009-2013).i am interest to get a job of sbi po post.can i?
12th January 2012, 01:23 PM
vishal kumar upadhyay

Question Re: Syllabus for SBI bank PO exam and books for the same?

can i get, study material for general awareness, marketing and computer knowledge?
i also pursuing knowledge about cat prepearation
16th February 2012, 09:25 PM

i am currently in b.tech 4th year,am i eligible to fill the form of bank po