8th April 2013, 04:56 AM

What should be my first step to prepare for IAS entrance exam?

what should be my first step to prepare for ias exam.i m a class 11 student with commerce stream...now which topic should i take first to prepare

26th April 2013, 03:26 PM

Default Re: What should be my first step to prepare for IAS entrance exam?

how to prepare for IAS? I am pursuing b.com with tax stream.what can i do to crack ias exam?
30th April 2013, 07:00 PM
kapila Chaudhary

Tp prepare for IAS:
You need focused study of subjects. You should analyze the syllabus, and hard work is needed to crack this examination.

You need to have good knowledge of current affairs and our history and administration.
It’s important to have some reading habits as that will help you to keep yourself updated about the current affairs. Read lots of magazines.Also you should be strong in aptitude and the subjects that you have chosen or will choose.

You can download previous year question papers from Following links:
http://www.onestopias.com/
http://www.upscportal.com/civilservices/papers
http://www.jagranjosh.com/
19th May 2013, 07:10 PM

I have completed my 2nd puc 2013 next I am planning to take architecture can I prepare for ias doing archi
19th May 2013, 10:16 PM
sandeepsaini.saini522

It is nice that you want to join IAS exam.

Preparation Tips;-

1. Take frequent short breaks.

2. Space out your studying so that your long-term memory retains it

3. Don’t try to memorize everything; make sure you understand the material well.

4. Listen to relaxing music to ease the boredom of studying.

5. Don’t study later than the time you usually go to sleep

Best Books for IAS Exam;-
IAS Prelims/CSAT Civil Services: 18 Years General Studies Topic-Wise Solved Paper(1995-2012)
by
Disha Experts
Publications: Disha Publication

The Pearson CSAT Manual 2013: Civil Services Aptitude Test for the UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination
by
Edgar Thorpe, Showick Thorpe
Publisher: Pearson

UPSC Portal CSAT Comprehensive Manual: IAS Preliminary Examination 2013 (Paper - 2)
(Paperback)
by
Sachchida Nand Jha

IAS (Pre.) Solved Papers General Studies wih CSAT 2011 & 2012 (Paper - 1)
(Paperback)
by
Expert Compilations

UPSC IAS Civil Services Exam 2011 Syllabus
by
Gkp
Publisher: G. K. Publications Pvt. Ltd

All the best.....................
19th May 2013, 11:08 PM
mxsiva4u

Dear friend ,

You must prepare for Prelims first.

20th May 2013, 05:10 PM
Panchal007

Hii..
In my point of view First of all you growth your GK,
and make rule to read News-papers everyday.
Solve mathematical puzzle for improving your logic.
then undergraduate you may work sincerely about it.
you can take admissions in Spipa for that.
29th May 2013, 07:37 PM

how should i start preparing for IAS exam during final yr of graduation?is there a need for coaching during the final year of graduation?
12th June 2013, 06:25 PM

Right no i m doing my first year bcs ag i wanted to no which is most important part to study for upsc other than news paper
11th August 2013, 04:39 PM

hallo sir, i m an under graduate student with hist and i want to prepare for IAS exam. but i don't from where to start and how to start but i hv the confidence. what r the subjects should i select that scoring me. so please guide me my mail id is [email protected]
13th August 2013, 03:17 PM

hello sir,i have completed my diploma in civil engineering and m planing to do mY graduation from distance education as a BA student(BHARATI DASAN UNIVERSITY),and after finishing my graduation m planing to do IAS exam. sir am i eligible for doing IAS exam after my graduation from distance education??? and sir i have started my preparation for IAS exam, so for that what should b my first step of preparation. sir please kindly reply me, i need your advice. sir please email your advice regarding above mention question, my mail id. [email protected]
14th August 2013, 09:00 PM
sherleytwain

In my opinion it is too early to start preparing for the Indian Administrative Service. You should begin the studies during the final year of graduation. However still there are several things that you can do during this period.

Right now your focus should be on completing 12th standard and taking admission for graduation course of your choice. It is important that you keep a backup option for yourself in case you fail to crack the Civil Services Examination.

Now what you can do now include working on English language skills. As you may know that English is very important part of Civil Services Examination. There will be one written test on this subject and in the essay test as well you may be required to write essay in English.

Which means your grammar, vocabulary should be good. You can improve your English by watching English shows, movies and news. You should also read English newspapers to improve it. Also try to communicate with friends in English.

Other than that you should keep yourself updated with Current Events. Watch news and read newspapers and political magazines. Once you are in final year you can study the NCERT Books for Class 12th or even download the previous year's question papers from internet and solve them.

IAS Eligibility

1. Nationality: You should be Indian

2. Education: Graduation degree in any discipline.

3. There is no criteria set for marks.

4. Only candidates between 21 to 30 years can apply.

5. Since there is no physical criteria, Person with Disability can also apply.

Relaxation

1. There is 3 years for OBC.

2. 5 years relaxation for SC/ST.
11th September 2013, 03:37 PM

what will be the next step after passing prelimanery in ias
10th October 2013, 01:23 AM

books for Ias exam
7th December 2013, 02:05 PM

Being a geology student of b.sc 1st sem how should i start preparing for upsc exams
13th December 2013, 10:09 AM

Is it necessary that a candidate should passed in first class(60% or above 60% ) in graduation for IAS elligibility or preparing for IAS Entrance Exam
10th February 2014, 07:15 PM

hieee....
Im a student of b.tech 2nd year.
At peresent i dont have any interest in studies.but, my goal is for IAS.
IM GOING MAD WITH ALL THE DOUBTS I HAVE.
Im from a poor family.i need your valuable suggestion regarding this issue.
i just want to fulfill my IAS dream.im in a process of achieving it.
can anybody guide me regarding this?
what should be my first step in achieving my dream?
please mail me : [email protected]
11th February 2014, 09:04 PM
nareshsunrise

It is good that you are thinking about what you want to be in the future well in advance. Infact this is the right thing for the candidates which many of the candidates are lacking,

Here is the complete information regarding IAS.

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service. This is one of the popular civil service in India.

In order to be placed in IAS or any other civil service, one should have to crack the following selection procedure

Civil Services Aptitude Test
Civil Services Main Exam
Interview

You should have completed Graduation with any of the stream from a recognized university in order to apply for this Exam.

The candidates who have appeared for final year exams of Graduation and waiting for the results can also apply for this exam.

One should be in the age group of 21-30 years to apply for this Exam.

Relaxation in upper age limit upto 3 years for the candidates of OBC category and upto 5 years for the candidates of SC or ST category.

As you are from Arts stream in 11th class, I suggest you to opt for any of the following subjects as optional subject for Main Exam
-Economics
-Commerce

Start preparation for civil services from the very beginning of your Graduation by joining in a coaching institute.

Wish you all the best.
13th February 2014, 11:27 AM

I am b.com student.how do prepration of ias about related subject.
16th March 2014, 12:21 AM

I m a medical student... I m interested n dng IAS.. how could I manage getting through this exam along vid stdyng medicine. . Hw many hours shd I stdy evrydy n hw 2 start??
17th March 2014, 04:29 PM

Dear aspirant, if you want to prepare for IAS entrance test i.e. Civil Services examinations you have to learn all subjects from foundational level. Lakshya Institute in Vizag will assist you to take up foundation programme in which you can have an for taking optional subject in main examination of Civil Services.

Lane Opp. to RTC Complex, Srinagar, Visakhapatnam,
Andhra Pradesh, India - 530016.
E- mail: [email protected]
17th March 2014, 07:29 PM
hundal sharan

Arrow Re: What should be my first step to prepare for IAS entrance exam?

what should be my first step to prepare for ias exam.i m a class 11 student with commerce stream...now which topic should i take first to prepare
First you start read a daily newspaper then currentaffairs after that you follow a books for prepration and take coaching classes
26th April 2015, 12:19 AM

hi,i am a 2nd year student and doing bio-medical engering so please tell me how to chose subjects and how to start for preparing for it
18th April 2022, 10:49 AM

stuy hard read news paper ncert read must read ncert