4th March 2011, 11:25 PM
suyogk

From where to get the study material for IAS exam?

I want t be a IFS officer. from where should I arrange material to study for the same.
Please guide

5th March 2011, 07:22 AM
mannubhu1

Default Re: From where to get the study material for IAS exam?

The best IAS material will be that which you will made by yourself after reading a lot of books, news paper, best informative magazines or from any coaching institutes or from any seniors.

However you can download the study material for IAS also from www.onestopias.com/ias-download.

A lot of institute are providing the study material also. name of some institutes are-

Vajiram and Ravi IAS Study Centre, 79, Old Rajinder Nagar Market, New Delhi-110060 Ph : 25820000, 25734058, 98-100-87996 Email :[email protected]
Web:www.vajiramandravi.com

IAS Era, 1/17, Roop Nagar, G.T. Karnal Road, (Near Shakti Nagar Chowk), New Delhi-7 Ph : 011- 7444527

Rau's IAS Study Circle, 309, Kanchunjunga Building, 18 Barakhamba Road, Connaught Place, New Delhi - 110001 Ph : 91-11-23317293, 23318135, 23318136, 65391202 Fax : 91-11-23317153 Email : [email protected]
Web:www.rauias.com

Shristi Study Circle, F- 128/3, Mohammadpur, New Delhi-66 Ph : 011- 2718372, 6167349.
IDP3, 2nd Floor, Jaypee Complex, Bank Street, Muinirka, New Delhi-100067. Ph : 011- 6161078
Fax : 011 - 4670266.
Email : idp3@mantraonline

Mumbai Institute for IAS civil service examination preparation*****
Address: 216/B sahnt shopping, opp railway station, mira road
City: Mumbai

But the best among this is RAU'S study material.
5th March 2011, 09:11 AM
rks@estate

IAS (Indian Administrative Service) Examination are conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission).

Prepare following subject for IAS exam: -

1. Mathematics (Quantitative Aptitude)
2. English Section
3. Reasoning Section
4. Aptitude
5. General Knowledge
6. Current Affairs

From market purchase a competitive exam book for preparation of IAS exam or join any coaching institute & coaching institute provide study material for preparation of IAS exam or if you not interested to join coaching institute then arrange study material from coaching institute for preparation of IAS exam.

Eligibility for UPSC IAS exam: -

1. Bachelor’s degree from a recognised institute / university.
2. Age - 21 Years to 30 Years for General candidates, 21 Years to 33 Years for OBC candidates and 21 Years to 35 Years for SC / ST candidates.
3. Nationality - Indian

Good Luck
5th March 2011, 09:28 AM
Arvi.S

Eligibility to be an IFS Officer
1. Educational Qualification
To be eligible for becoming an IFS officer the candidate must possess a degree from an Indian University or an equivalent qualification. Those in the final year of a degree course can also appear in the Preliminary Examination taken every year by UPSC.

2. Age
The candidate must have attained the age of 21 years on 1st August of the year of examination and must not have attained 30 years of age on that date. <br />The upper age limit will be relaxed by 3 years for OBC candidates and 5 years for SC/ST candidates.
The upper age limit is also relaxed in favor of Defense Services Personnel.

3. Other Eligibility Conditions:
Since these services involves decision making towards the internal security of the country. So taking into account the sensitivity of the job the aspirants have to be eligible under certain specific conditions as given ahead.
1. For the IPS, the candidate must be a citizen of India.<br />2. For the other services, a candidate must be either:
a citizen of India, or
a subject of Nepal, or
a subject of Bhutan, or
a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before January 1, 1962, with the intention of permanently settling in India, or
a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.

Process to be an IFS officer
To be an IFS officer one has to follow the below given steps:-

Step 1
As a first step the aspirant has to procure the “Application Form” along with “Information Brochure” from any of the “Head Post Offices or Post Offices” spread throughout the country and sent the filled Application form to:

The Secretary,
Union Public Service Commission,
Dholpur House,
New Delhi - 110011.

Step 2
In the month of May or June the aspirants have to take the “Preliminary examinations”. Consisting of two papers. The papers are on:
1. General Studies (150 marks)
2. Some optional subject (300 marks)

The optional subject for the second paper may be chosen from the following given subjects -
Agriculture
Animal Husbandry and veterinary science
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
Indian History
Law
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology
Note:- This exam is just a qualifying exam for the Final exam and scores obtained in this exam are not added to make the final result.

Step 3
Those candidates who are declared qualified in the “Preliminary examination” are supposed to take the final exam (normally held in the month of October) having following papers

1 Essay type Indian Language Qualifying Paper (300 marks)
1 English Qualifying Paper (300 marks)
1 General Essay type paper (200 marks)
2 General Studies papers (300 marks each)
4 Optional subjects papers (300 marks each)

Step 4
Once you are through the final stage is the interview. The aspirants are grilled in the interview to test their personality and mental ability. Then the final list of the successful candidates is prepared and the candidates who have secured very good rank out of 400-450(approx.) selected candidates undergo a probationary period. Training begins at the Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration in Mussourie, where members of many elite Indian civil service organizations are trained.

After completing the initial training in Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, the probationers join the Foreign Service Institute in New Delhi for more training as well as attachments with different government bodies and tours both in India and abroad.

The whole process of being a trained IFS takes nearly 36 months.

At the last stage of the training the officer is assigned a compulsory foreign language (CFL). After a brief period of desk attachment in the Ministry of External Affairs, the officer is posted to an Indian diplomatic mission abroad where the CFL is the native language. There the officer undergoes language training and is expected to develop proficiency in his CFL and pass an examination before being allowed to continue in the service.

For preparation purpose I have attached few question papers too.
File Type: pdf IFS Sample Paper 1.pdf(117.9 KB, 315 views)
File Type: pdf IFS Sample Paper 2.pdf(79.5 KB, 184 views)
File Type: pdf IFS Sample Paper 3.pdf(63.8 KB, 184 views)
File Type: pdf IFS Sample Paper- 4.pdf(111.8 KB, 181 views)
File Type: pdf IFS Sample Paper 5.pdf(53.2 KB, 231 views)
5th March 2011, 10:08 AM
mayank shekhar singh

Originally Posted by suyogk View Post
I want t be a IFS officer. from where should I arrange material to study for the same.
Please guide
You should visit on upse website and get all the materials .
5th March 2011, 05:04 PM
foreturner

IAS exam study materials and full course are

provided by many reputed institutes like
Brilliant tutorials
Apex tutorials
Rau's study circle
Chanakya IAS academy etc.

in addition to these you can also use standard books and publication

manorama year books, Chronocle, Hindu etc.

N yes this time onward you will need to prepare for CSAT

for that there will be CL/TIME?IMS materials etc.
5th March 2011, 05:31 PM
Arsalaan

IAS study materials are available in delhi,

delhi is the best place for ias preparation.. all the best coachings are in delhi

you can get these materials through correspondance courses as well.

Brilliant tutorials
rau's sctudy circle
apex academy
erudite etc.. offer correspondance for IAS preparation.
Also follow standard books of your subject.
for CSAT prepapration you can take help of TIME?CL?IMS etc.
File Type: pdf csat sample.pdf(86.9 KB, 268 views)
6th March 2011, 09:24 AM
aditya436

Thumbs up Re: From where to get the study material for IAS exam?

Study material for Civil service Examination.

is pretty famous for its unavailability in many places across the country.

this is because of some commercial problems

keeping this in mind .

when you're planning to attempt your exam ...try to collect the study material before your preparation starts for the exam..

this is hard copies of books method..

and in my view the best place to get books regarding CSE is delhi and hyderabad.

i found many books in hyderabad which are not available in many places.

or you can buy them online..there are many books who sell their books at discount rates.

or else if you want ebooks then there are some free downloadable sites like

www.onestopias.com

www.upsc-portal.com

so check them if you can download the study material regarding Civil Services Examination.

~aditya~
15th March 2011, 11:57 PM
Taurus47

to get the study material for IAS exam
IAS exam study materials and full course are
provided by many reputed institutes like
Brilliant tutorials
Apex tutorials
Rau's study circle
Chanakya IAS academy etc.
in addition to these you can also use standard books and publication
manorama year books, Chronocle, Hindu etc.
this time onward you will need to prepare for CSAT
for that there will be CL/TIME?IMS materials etc.
The best IAS material will be that which you will made by yourself after reading a lot of books, news paper, best informative magazines or from any coaching institutes or from any seniors.
However you can download the study material for IAS also from www.onestopias.com/ias-download.
A lot of institute are providing the study material also. name of some institutes are-
Vajiram and Ravi IAS Study Centre, 79, Old Rajinder Nagar Market, New Delhi-110060 Ph : 25820000, 25734058, 98-100-87996 Email :[email protected]
Web:www.vajiramandravi.com
IAS Era, 1/17, Roop Nagar, G.T. Karnal Road, (Near Shakti Nagar Chowk), New Delhi-7 Ph : 011- 7444527
Rau's IAS Study Circle, 309, Kanchunjunga Building, 18 Barakhamba Road, Connaught Place, New Delhi - 110001 Ph : 91-11-23317293, 23318135, 23318136, 65391202 Fax : 91-11-23317153 Email : [email protected]
Web:www.rauias.com
Shristi Study Circle, F- 128/3, Mohammadpur, New Delhi-66 Ph : 011- 2718372, 6167349.
IDP3, 2nd Floor, Jaypee Complex, Bank Street, Muinirka, New Delhi-100067. Ph : 011- 6161078
Fax : 011 - 4670266.
Email : idp3@mantraonline
Mumbai Institute for IAS civil service examination preparation
Address: 216/B sahnt shopping, opp railway station, mira road
City: Mumbai

21st March 2011, 10:44 AM

i want study materials for ias exam that is about chemistry and botany please tel me where do i get that study material
6th April 2011, 05:12 PM

guys what subjects should a b.tech ece student opt for?
11th May 2011, 06:59 PM

what are the daily activities have to be done to become an IAS officer?. I want to be an IAS officer, but I dont know what shall I do for that. So please guide me.
11th May 2011, 10:57 PM
subho19

Wink Re: From where to get the study material for IAS exam?

Please guide
UPSC is the entrance exem for IES or IAS,you can download some Previous years question papers and also study meterials from the given link...
http://placementpapers.net
12th May 2011, 01:21 AM
sumansin

Study Material For IAS

I have attached study material For IAS. you can take help form this.
File Type: txt ias study material.txt(3.0 KB, 477 views)
12th May 2011, 02:05 PM
Roysons

For the preparation of the IAS exam , there is no specific books .
My suggestions are that you should be in a habit of reading newspapers.
Besides , you should subscribe for various educative magazines that will make you aware about the current affairs.
Your knowledge about the past i.e. history is quite important as well as of Civics.
ICSE books are quite useful in these as they have a widw and vast course.

You can also ask your seniors about the pattern of question paper.
I have also attached a few sample papers .
You can download it from here.

15th May 2011, 10:41 PM
Gita Irudhayaraj

hi , you can download the papers from websites like

www.onestopias.com
www.upscportal.com
etc.,
28th May 2011, 05:29 AM
Bhojrajjangid

The best sites are:
threeauthors.com
onestopias.com
upscportal.com
7th June 2011, 05:15 PM
MonuRai

You can get the study material at the following websites:-

www.onestopias.com

www.upsc-portal.com.

I have also attached the sample papers .

File Type: pdf ias mains.pdf(1.11 MB, 208 views)
File Type: pdf ias mains 1.pdf(635.9 KB, 174 views)
7th June 2011, 05:16 PM
MonuRai

You can get the study material at the following websites:-

www.onestopias.com

www.upsc-portal.com.

I have also attached the sample papers .

21st June 2011, 10:59 AM

can anyone let me know the list of optional subjects for prelims and mains ???
25th July 2011, 01:00 PM

I dont want to join coaching centres, Can i qualify civil service exam by self preparation? Or it is very essential to join coaching centre?
15th August 2011, 10:29 PM

pls send IAS study material
26th November 2011, 07:37 AM

ias ke traning kab se start hoti hai
11th December 2011, 08:39 PM

I Mr. PRATAP KUMAR NAYAK FROM ODISHA .WANTS STUDY MATERIALS OF GEOGRAPHY FOR THE PREPARATION 'OAS MAIN EXAMINATION 2012' SO KINDLY SEND ME THE PROCIDURE AND PRICE FOR THAT IN MY MAIL ID [email protected]
11th December 2011, 10:55 PM
nikeetaa muthiyan

Thumbs up Re: From where to get the study material for IAS exam?

Please guide
You can collect study material for IAS exam by reading books,magazines and from newspapers.
You can download study material.
You should join some institute and take senior help.
BEST OF LUCK !!!
27th December 2011, 08:56 AM

hi frnds, is there available free study material/notes for pub adm. on net plz inform in my id ([email protected]) thanks in advance!
1st January 2012, 05:27 PM

hi iam preparing for ifs.can u please provide study material for zoology
1st January 2012, 05:30 PM

hi iam ravichand n preparing for ifs can u provide study material for [email protected]
26th January 2012, 12:05 PM
manas.europhia

Location: Qr.No.- FR-99/8 ,SAILASHREE VIHAR , CHANDRASEKHAR PUR , BHUBANESWAR, ORISSA, PIN - 751021.

IAS (Indian Administrative Service) Examination are conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission).

Prepare following subject for IAS exam: -

1. Mathematics (Quantitative Aptitude)
2. English Section
3. Reasoning Section
4. Aptitude
5. General Knowledge
6. Current Affairs

From market purchase a competitive exam book for preparation of IAS exam or join any coaching institute & coaching institute provide study material for preparation of IAS exam or if you not interested to join coaching institute then arrange study material from coaching institute for preparation of IAS exam.

Eligibility for UPSC IAS exam: -

1. Bachelor’s degree from a recognised institute / university.
2. Age - 21 Years to 30 Years for General candidates, 21 Years to 33 Years for OBC candidates and 21 Years to 35 Years for SC / ST candidates.
3. Nationality - Indian
17th May 2012, 01:20 AM

guys all the PDF files that you have given has helped me a lot. thank you just wondering if it is possible to get some the actual study materials as well. :)
18th May 2012, 07:55 PM
pscupsc

Smile Re: From where to get the study material for IAS exam?

Please guide
It's good to know that you want to prepare for IFS. There are many sources from where you can get the study material, but in my opinion Vajiram and Ravi is the best. Their online study material is very good. You can visit them at www.vajiramandravi.in .

If you like I can also send you the notes which I've bought from them. The also provide assistance and expert support.

Chanakya IAS is also providing study material for IAS and other all India level services. You can visit them at www.chanakyaias.com for more info.

Hope you find this info useful! And don't forget to check the study materials provided by Sri Ram IAS, Rau IAS and Dhyeya IAS. They are also considered one the best coaching centers for IAS and IFS. Best of luck!