1st July 2018, 02:00 PM
Unregistered

Procedure to study PhD(Microbiology) for BSc student?

Sir, I am interested to study PhD in Microbiology. Right now I am a BSc student of Microbiology. Kindly let me know about the procedure for study this PhD course? Please let me know as soon as possible. Thank you!

4th July 2018, 02:45 PM
ppsahu
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Procedure to study PhD(Microbiology) for BSc student?

As you said, now you are a student of BSc (Microbiology) and you want to study PhD in Microbiology. Minimum educational qualification required to study PhD is a Master's degree in relevant subject. So at first you must have hold a Master’s degree. Thereafter you can apply to study a PhD in Microbiology. In some disciplines, postgraduate (M.Phil.) In Philosophy is a prerequisite for PhD.
In cases where an entrance examination has been conducted for admission to M.Phil, then for admission to the PhD program will not be required for the entrance examination and it will be treated as compliance with the UGC (Minimum Standards and Rewards for M.Phil / PhD Degree).

Last edited by ppsahu; 13th August 2018 at 07:43 PM. Reason: Short answer
4th July 2018, 08:16 PM
Effort Never Dies
Senior Member+++++

Procedure to pursue PhD in Microbiology course:

In order to pursue PhD in Microbiology course, you are required to meet the required eligibility criteria first. The basic educational qualification required is "Master's Degree" or Post Graduation in concerned stream from a recognized university. You should have scored minimum 55% marks in case General and OBC category and 50% marks in case of SC/ ST category.