26th May 2011, 09:23 AM

Are IITians eligible for IAS exam? What is the cutoff mark for IAS exam?

i am a student of b.tech iit kanpur and iwant prepare for ias exam.along with that tell me that what is the cutoff marks for ias eaxm .

27th May 2011, 08:15 PM

Default Re: Are IITians eligible for IAS exam? What is the cutoff mark for IAS exam?

Sure IITians are allowed to appear for the IAS exam. But you can appear when you are in the final year or after graduation. Also your age shouldnot be below 21 years. IAS is a competitive exam like IIT JEE. So it is important to fair well in the same.
16th July 2011, 06:51 PM

Default Re: Are IITians eligible for IAS exam? What is the cutoff mark for IAS exam?

i m 18 years old and want to do ias so what should be my approach and how to crack ias?
23rd July 2011, 06:36 PM

among iit or ias what is best?
1st August 2011, 04:54 PM

I am common graduate in business management am i eligible for ias exam , and can you guide!
2nd August 2011, 12:19 AM
Sehwag6

The eligibility for ias is finished your graduation and age limit is 21 to 30 years;then you apply upsc exams .good luck
2nd August 2011, 06:04 PM
saurav9889

ias exam is conducted by upsc and its min. eligibility to appear is a graduate degree from a recocgnised univ. hence all iitians are also eligable. as of the cut-off marks they actually vary each year as well as they vary for general and reserved categories. generally 1150+ marks out of 2300 will sail u through though u may not get ias cadre but some other group 'a' services.
11th August 2011, 05:15 PM
vipin bihari chaturvedi

hi.......
offcource,
Sure IITians are allowed to appear for the IAS exam. But you can appear when you are in the final year or after graduation. Also your age should be below 21-30 years. IAS is a competitive exam like IIT JEE. So it is important to fair well in the same.

16th August 2011, 01:57 PM

IIM AND IAS ME KYA BEST HAI
16th August 2011, 06:28 PM
sgsharadgupta

i am a student of b.tech iit kanpur and iwant prepare for ias exam.along with that tell me that what is the cutoff marks for ias eaxm .

Ya dude y not you are also a graduate so you are eligible but if you are from core background then you have added advantage in subjects you select .

there is no single cutoff result is based on merit list .
regards,
sharad
16th August 2011, 10:55 PM
Sehwag6

Eligibility for ias:- 1)educational qualification is graduation in any stream from any university 2)age limit is 21 to 30years 3)then apply union public service commission(upsc) exams and it conducts every year. Age relaxation for sc/st up to 35 years and no limit to attempts. For bc up to 33years and 7 attempts. All the best
29th August 2011, 09:32 PM
dhruv007

why not! you can apply for this exam, conducted by UPSC every year. the minimum requirement for this exam is to complete your graduation from any stream. you can apply for this exam within the age limit of 21-30 years. for general candidates.
15th September 2011, 11:01 PM
manas.europhia

Location: Qr.No.- FR-99/8 ,SAILASHREE VIHAR , CHANDRASEKHAR PUR , BHUBANESWAR, ORISSA, PIN - 751021.

Sure IITians are allowed to appear for the IAS exam. But you can appear when you are in the final year or after graduation. Also your age shouldnot be below 21 years. IAS is a competitive exam like IIT JEE. So it is important to fair well in the same.
15th September 2011, 11:06 PM
manas.europhia

Location: Qr.No.- FR-99/8 ,SAILASHREE VIHAR , CHANDRASEKHAR PUR , BHUBANESWAR, ORISSA, PIN - 751021.

8th October 2011, 08:11 PM

What are the subjects require to appear in IAS OFFICER exam
14th October 2011, 07:18 PM
gamble007

Sir, IIT-JEE in the graduate course ,offering b.tech in many stream .
the minimum eligibility for appear in IAS exam is the graduation from a recognized college.
so, after completion of your B.TECH through IIT , you are eligible for this civil service exam,conducted by UPSC every years.
the age limit for this exam is 21-30.there are 5 & 3 years of age relaxations are applicable for SC\ST & OBC candidates respectively.

thanks!!!
31st October 2011, 09:35 PM
gamble007

Of course,
the IITians are totally eligible for the IAS[INDIAN ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE] examination,which is conducted by union public service commission [UPSC].
Because,.
the minimum eligibility for this civil service examination is , One must possess the graduation degree from a recognized college in any stream.

The age limit for his examination is 21-30 years,.
there are 5 & 3 years of the age relaxations are applicable for the SC\ST & OBC candidates respectively,.
i.e. 21-33 years for the OBC candidates ,
21-35 years for the SC\ST candidates .

This civil service examination has three stages-
1.CSAT[CIVIL SERVICE APTITUDE TEST]
2.MAINS
2.INTERVIEW [PERSONALITY TEST]

In the CSAT exam- there are two parts-
--One paper is optional and on ons’s choice
--One paper is compulsory on general studies...

No. of attempts -
there are only four numbers of attempts are given to the GENERAL candidates,seven for the OBC [NON-CREAMY LAYER] & there is not such restriction for the SC\ST candidates,.

Thank you!!
~gamble~
9th November 2011, 04:10 PM

i am first year student in iit jee. what study done by me
10th November 2011, 02:47 AM

Yes, IITians are also eligible for IAS exam. the age limit should be in between 21-30 year.
graduation is required for IAS exam.

ALL THE BEST!
12th November 2011, 12:29 AM

Which is the best institue in delhi for the preparation of ias?
15th March 2012, 04:56 PM
kaveribiswas

Sure IITians are allowed to appear for the IAS exam. But you can appear when you are in the final year or after graduation. Also your age should be below 21-30 years. IAS is a competitive exam like IIT JEE.

good luck..............
15th March 2012, 07:16 PM
arvind_singh

FRIEND,

Yes IITIAN's are eligible to appear for the IAS exams and the eligibility criteria for the IAS exam is:

[SIZE="3"]ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR THE EXAM IS:
[/SIZE]

1)You must be an INDIAN Citizen

2)Your educational qualification must be a graduation in any field from any recognized University.

3)If you are in the final year of graduation then also you are eligible for the exam.

4)Your age must be between 21 years to 30 years.

Relaxation for the Reserved categories
  • FOR SC/ST : 5 years
  • FOR OBC : 3 years
5)NUMBER OF ATTEMPTS:
  • FOR GENERAL CATEGORY: 4 Attempts
  • FOR SC/ST CATEGORY : No limit
  • FOR OBC CATEGORY : 7 attempts

APPLICATION FORM: You can fill it online or Offline.The Application form is free for reserved categories.The Cost of Application form is Rs 100/ only.

To fill the form you can check the website www.upsconline.nic.in or you can buy it from the designated post offices across the country.

->THE LIST OF SUBJECTS WHICH ARE OPTIONAL ARE:

->THE SCHEME OF EXAMINATION FOR THE CIVIL SERVICES EXAM IS:

[SIZE="3"]THE BOOKS TO REFER ARE:
[/SIZE]

SYLLABUS FOR CSAT IS:

This test is conducted by UPSC for the recruitment of candidates for the IAS,IPS,IFS and IRS (Indian Revenue Service) and numerous other services posts.

The CSAT consists of two papers of 200 marks and two hour duration each.

[SIZE="3"]THE SYLLABUS FOR THE CIVIL SERVICES APTITUDE TEST IS:
[/SIZE]

[SIZE="2"]PAPER I: GENERAL AWARENESS [/SIZE]

-Current events of national and international importance

- History of India and Indian National Movement

- Indian and World Geography - Physical, Social, Economic geography of India and the World.

- Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.

- Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development, Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.

- General issues on Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change - that do not require subject specialization

- General Science.

[SIZE="2"]PAPER II:[/SIZE]

- Comprehension

- Interpersonal skills including communication skills

- Logical reasoning and analytical ability

- Decision making and problem solving

- General mental ability

- Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. -Class X level)

- English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level).

GOOD LUCK.
22nd January 2013, 10:10 PM
Onkar Kaur

Hello Friend,

IAS stands for Indian Administration Service. This exam is conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) through CSAT exams means Exams for Civil services.

1. Candidate must be graduate in any stream from reognized University with any grade.
2. Must citizen of India.
3. Age Limit: 21-30 years (Age relaxation for SC/ST/OBC candidates.

No. of Attempts:

1. General Candidate: 4
2. OBC: 7
3. SC: Unlimited

Exam:
Exam can be divided into three main sections:

1. Preliminary Exam:

It can be divided into two main papers, one is general Knowledge which is compalsory for all. Second is optional, candidate can select according to his/her choice.

PAPER I:

-History of India and Indian National Movement

-Current Events of National and International Importance

-Indian and World Geography

-Indian Polity and Governance

-Economics and Social Development

-General Science

-General Issue on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and climate change

PAPER II:

-Comprehenssion

-English Language Comprehension

-General Mental Ability

-Logical Reasoning and Analytical ability

-Decision Making and Problem solving

-Basic Numeracy

-Interpersonal Skills

2. Main Exam

PAPER I: GK

PAPER II:
any optional Subject

PAPER III: Language English

This exam will be of 2300 marks as total.

3. Interview

List of optional Subjects:

1. Geology

2. Botany

3. Zoology

4. Indian History

5. Agriculture

6. Geography

7. Sociology

8. Statics

9. Medical Science

10. Political Science & International Relations

11. Economics

12. Phsycology

13. Management

14. Chemistry

15. Maths

16. Physics

17. Civil Engineering

18. Philosophy

19. Mechanical Engineering

20. Animal Husbandry

21. Vetinary Science

22. Anthropolgy

23. Commerce and Accountancy

Best BOOKS:

1. CSAT

2. Gateway to successful career and powerful Memory

3. IAS PRE English Guide

List of Best Coaching Institutes of UPSC in Bangalore are listed below:

1. Malnadu Institute

2. JTS Institute

3. Innovative Coaching Centre

4. Global IAS Academy

5. JICE Success Assured

6. Vikas Coaching Classes

7. Achiever's IAS Academy

8. Sri Sai Tutorial for IAS

9. Rao's IAS Institute

10. Victory IAS Classes

Wish you all the very best........
22nd January 2013, 10:12 PM
Onkar Kaur

Smile Re: Are IITians eligible for IAS exam? What is the cutoff mark for IAS exam?

Hello Friend,

IAS stands for Indian Administration Service. This exam is conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) through CSAT exams means Exams for Civil services.

1. Candidate must be graduate in any stream from reognized University with any grade.
2. Must citizen of India.
3. Age Limit: 21-30 years (Age relaxation for SC/ST/OBC candidates.

No. of Attempts:

1. General Candidate: 4
2. OBC: 7
3. SC: Unlimited

Exam:
Exam can be divided into three main sections:

1. Preliminary Exam:

It can be divided into two main papers, one is general Knowledge which is compalsory for all. Second is optional, candidate can select according to his/her choice.

PAPER I:

-History of India and Indian National Movement

-Current Events of National and International Importance

-Indian and World Geography

-Indian Polity and Governance

-Economics and Social Development

-General Science

-General Issue on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and climate change

PAPER II:

-Comprehenssion

-English Language Comprehension

-General Mental Ability

-Logical Reasoning and Analytical ability

-Decision Making and Problem solving

-Basic Numeracy

-Interpersonal Skills

2. Main Exam

PAPER I: GK

PAPER II:
any optional Subject

PAPER III: Language English

This exam will be of 2300 marks as total.

3. Interview

List of optional Subjects:

1. Geology

2. Botany

3. Zoology

4. Indian History

5. Agriculture

6. Geography

7. Sociology

8. Statics

9. Medical Science

10. Political Science & International Relations

11. Economics

12. Phsycology

13. Management

14. Chemistry

15. Maths

16. Physics

17. Civil Engineering

18. Philosophy

19. Mechanical Engineering

20. Animal Husbandry

21. Vetinary Science

22. Anthropolgy

23. Commerce and Accountancy

Best BOOKS:

1. CSAT

2. Gateway to successful career and powerful Memory

3. IAS PRE English Guide

List of Best Coaching Institutes of UPSC in Bangalore are listed below:

1. Malnadu Institute

2. JTS Institute

3. Innovative Coaching Centre

4. Global IAS Academy

5. JICE Success Assured

6. Vikas Coaching Classes

7. Achiever's IAS Academy

8. Sri Sai Tutorial for IAS

9. Rao's IAS Institute

10. Victory IAS Classes

Wish you all the very best........