9th December 2009, 04:29 PM
tanveer

How to choose the optional subjects for upsc preliminary and mains exams? can I choose more than one option?

on what basis should one choose the optional subjects for preliminary and main exams of UPSC and can one choose more than one option?

22nd December 2009, 05:24 AM
maddusajj

Default Re: How to choose the optional subjects for upsc preliminary and mains exams? can I choose more than one option?

you should choose the subject on the basis of your knowledge in the particular subject,if you think that you are good in that subject and you can answer it quite easily then you should choose that subject
22nd December 2009, 05:27 AM
satyavani

Default Re: How to choose the optional subjects for upsc preliminary and mains exams? can I choose more than one option?

no you can not choose more than one option,you hav eto choose only one option,you can choose an subject in which you are interested or you have done your graduation,it will be easier for you to answer
22nd December 2009, 05:40 PM
amarjit

the subject that you choose for the exam ....should be the est one you know.......you should have a good command on the subject......and if not then it should be the one which is comparatively easier than other subjects...

23rd December 2009, 02:29 PM
anuja

you should choose subjects according to your area of interest,should not choose lengthy or non scoring subject,
25th December 2009, 01:19 AM
vetriselvi

It is basically the subject where your interest is and can even take your bachelor's degree subject as the optional one but should have a thorough knowledge of it.
25th December 2009, 10:31 AM
balvir

choose subject according to your's area of interest ..............you should have command over it
8th January 2010, 10:23 AM
sivachandran

How to choose exam qualification code&centre code.i want explanation
8th January 2010, 06:14 PM

you must choose from the subjects given in the brochure as those subjects thet you have studied at your graduation level
9th January 2010, 01:49 AM
ryan

first of all you must have a good knowledge of the option present to choose for preliminary exam.

you must try to choose that subjects over which you are having a good command.
you must be able to answer almost all type pf questions.

generally people select history and geography.
9th January 2010, 12:12 PM
kusum singal

you should select those subject in which you have very good interest and knowledge also.
30th January 2010, 05:04 PM
edward
Top Answerer

no you cant choose more than one option for the exam,you can choose those exam in which you are really good and capable of doing good in it.i suggest you to take take maths and physics.
15th February 2010, 03:22 AM
thakurbaba307

for preliminary exam you have to choose one subject so choosen the subject in which you are most comfortable and interested....
in mains choose one papers (same as preliminary) and other like public administration,polticial science,history,geography which aids you in preparation of your general studies.
15th February 2010, 10:16 PM
gautam d wonder lover

just fill the subject in which you have best command so
select easiest one and better go to your known subject.......
22nd February 2010, 11:02 PM
atanu

hey friend,
every one should chose only those subject in which they have good command and intrest,

and at a time you can chose only one optional subject for prelim exam,
ok

22nd April 2010, 10:51 PM

im doing my b.tech in eee branch ... plz guide me the subs which i can opt ...
26th April 2010, 11:12 AM

is choosing chemistry as a optional subject better?
5th May 2010, 02:27 PM

Sir I am a BA student. Sir for BA my subjects are history and political science. Can I choose these subjects for mains ?
9th May 2010, 07:29 PM

which optional subject shoud i choose as chemical engineer?
13th May 2010, 11:13 AM
amitforever

choosing optional in upsc exam is mainly dependet upon your area of interest and how much you know in that subject you cant choose more than one option
the subject which generally prooves easy for a student are generally
public administration and geography
so check your interest and then decide and work hard
ok
19th May 2010, 12:58 PM

i m doing my B.Tech in CSE...which optional subject should i choose
22nd May 2010, 05:44 PM
Aditya.addy

you are required to choose the optional subject in upsc exam.it must be chosen in such a way that you must have a good knowledge in that particular subject.moreover you must have a good command on them.you can not take more than one subject.
23rd May 2010, 03:34 PM

hiiii
m doin my B.Tech in E.C.E. plz suggest me which optnal subject shud i choose
can i choose more den 1 optnl??
31st May 2010, 02:16 PM

is chemistry a scoring subject??????
1st June 2010, 12:09 PM

hi.... m interested in doing journalism... what subjects shall i take in BA?
16th June 2010, 12:39 PM

i am not strong in my ug subject(physics).also, i do not have command over other optionals .what can i do? which main optionals will be better for people like me for upsc.
17th June 2010, 07:01 PM

Chintan please guide me about upsc subjects
29th June 2010, 07:22 PM

IS physics a scoring subject to opt????
12th July 2010, 02:19 PM
Gop

Thumbs up Re: How to choose the optional subjects for upsc preliminary and mains exams? can I choose more than one option?

Originally Posted by sivachandran View Post
How to choose exam qualification code&centre code.i want explanation

Exam Qualification code and the centre code will be available in the UPSC wesite. Check the UPSC website while filling the application form. It is also provided with the notification in the Employment news. You should keep it safe either. I believe, there is also a pamplet provided with the application. You can check with that. But not sure it has. Anyways, it is must that you go through the website or save the Employment News paper.

All the Best.
12th July 2010, 02:30 PM
Gop

Thumbs up Re: How to choose the optional subjects for upsc preliminary and mains exams? can I choose more than one option?

is choosing chemistry as a optional subject better?

It is a question not to be answered by someone else. It is to be answered by you. OBVIOUSLY YOU. Coz only you know, How commanding and interested you are in that subject. Literal opinion is ,the subject is somewhat tough. But the fact is, Tough or Easy depends on the person's knowledge and interest in the subject.
For example,

Chemistry is tough to many, But not to me. Its my favorate. Got cent persent in chemistry in senior sec. Same for mathematics. physics also my fav.
Now, computers.

So no matter, What the subject is, Are you interested? Will you get bored after some days of preparation?.
Ask these questions to yourself. You will get the answer.

12th July 2010, 02:42 PM
Gop

im doing my b.tech in eee branch ... plz guide me the subs which i can opt ...

You hav stated that you are Specialized in EEE. You can take Electrical engineering.

BUT, Mainthing to consider is How commanding you are in that subject. How interested you are,. Doing specialisation wont support you for UPSC. You should have deep knowledge and Interest in that subject.

So, If you are not, Then make a self study. Which subject will interest you a lot. Will entertain you a lot. If you can sort out. You are done. For subjects approved by UPSC, Go through the website: www.onestopias.com

12th July 2010, 03:52 PM
Gop

Sir I am a BA student. Sir for BA my subjects are history and political science. Can I choose these subjects for mains ?

Yes. obviously. Those subjects are very interesting subjects by itself. Many opt for these subjects though there specialisation is different. It is because they are entertaining and mark scoring subjects. Since, you are specialising in those, It is highly advisable to take these subjects as optional.

12th July 2010, 03:56 PM
Gop

Any subjects of your interest. You can take chemistry as you are specialised in that. But Literal opinion is ,the subject is somewhat tough. But the fact is, Tough or Easy depends on the person's knowledge and interest in the subject. If you want to take any other subject, you are always welcomed.
12th July 2010, 04:06 PM
Gop

hiiii
m doin my B.Tech in E.C.E. plz suggest me which optnal subject shud i choose
can i choose more den 1 optnl??

check with my prior posts. you can choose electrical engineering, if you have good knowledge. Never choose an optional subject since you did specialisation in that. Choose optional subject which gains your interest. Only electrical engineering comes close to your specialisation. But again, you need to choose one another optional subject for the mains. So do a self study, Sort out your interesting subjects.
Good Luck
12th July 2010, 04:14 PM
Gop

i am not strong in my ug subject(physics).also, i do not have command over other optionals .what can i do? which main optionals will be better for people like me for upsc.

All optionals are important. There no better optionals, tough optionals, Easy optionals etc. Optinals are chosen based on the interests. If you are weak in all the Optionals provided, Then it is not possible for you to clear UPSC. So make yourself comfortable with any two optionals and prepare. Otherwise, there is no other chance than dropping the IAS preparation.

Best of Luck.
12th July 2010, 04:21 PM
Gop

hi.... m interested in doing journalism... what subjects shall i take in BA?

As you are interested in Journalism, You can consider BA(Hons) in Journalism. Do check with the Insitutes and Universities that offers this course.

All the Best.
12th July 2010, 04:25 PM
Gop

Chintan please guide me about upsc subjects

For the subjects for prilims as well as Main examination, Do check the UPSC website: http://www.upsc.gov.in/. You can also go through the highly informative IAS website : http://www.onestopias.com/ for optional subjects and all other details.

Good Luck.
12th July 2010, 04:30 PM
Gop

IS physics a scoring subject to opt????

Physics is considered one tough subject literally by all those who prepare. But, It is not so, For those who have real good knowledge in that subject. Also it is one of the interesting subject from my point of view. So just check the interest you have with that subject. If you have good knowledge and interest in that subject, Then you can surely consider it as your optionals.

All the Best.
12th July 2010, 04:37 PM
Gop

To all of you here in this thread,

You obviously have to choose two subjects.

CSE Examination is in three phases.

One: Priliminary Examination. Here, you need to choose one optional subject of your interest.

Two: Main examination. here you need to choose two optional subjects of your interest.

Important: You can have the priliminary optional has your one main optional. You can also choose different optionals for priliminary and the main examination .No restriction in that.

Third phase is your personality test.

So I believe the confusion is over for many over here.
30th July 2010, 06:27 PM

hello sir i had my graduation i studied bcom[cmp] i am unable to choose optionals for prelims & mains can u please suggest me which subjects should i take and please send me the answer to my id [email protected]
5th August 2010, 09:32 AM

I have completed my graduation by chemistry, is it right or good choose chemistry as a ptional subjects.And i m confuse when i should fill the form because dates of form availability and summission dates i did get. so please try to give right information ,i want to appear for year 2011.
12th August 2010, 06:36 PM

Hi ! I have a B.com background.Currently, I am persuing my M.A (Eng). I wish to take up English literature as one of my optionals and I need some guidance for choosing the second optional.I have narrowed down my options to Philosophy, History, and Public administration.Even though I have been told that Literature is not a smart choice but am still going for it because am better at it than any other subject available for mains.I like Literature and Philosophy more than the other subjects, but they fetch thin scores.....So its 'interest vs. score'.What is a better combination(more balanced) - literatue and phlilosophy or literature and history or literature and public administration ?
Thanks .
31st August 2010, 05:46 PM

Hi ! I have a B.com background.Currently, I am persuing my M.A (Eng). I wish to take up English literature as one of my optionals and I need some guidance for choosing the second optional.I have narrowed down my options to Philosophy, History, and Public administration.Even though I have been told that Literature is not a smart choice but am still going for it because am better at it than any other subject available for mains.I like Literature and Philosophy more than the other subjects, but they fetch thin scores.....So its 'interest vs. score'.What is a better combination(more balanced) - literatue and phlilosophy or literature and history or literature and public administration ?
Thanks .
I would suggest you to go as per your compatibility with a particular subject. If you like Philosophy and you have knowledge of it, you must go for it. Generally literature students are good at philosophy and so you are so your choice is not uncommon.
There use to be different cutoffs for different subjects in civil services and so people get confused during choosing their optionals.
I would suggest you to forget that CUTOFF word and prepare your subject.
If you think about cutoffs it means you are aiming for the least possible score. Try to think about the best possible score only then you will have chances to qualify.
14th December 2010, 07:05 PM

I've completed my degree in metallurgy and materials engg.
as i know my graduation subject is not avialable in optionals...
whereas i have intrest in zoology, geography, history and anthropology....
can you people tell me which one would be scoring for Priliminary Examination and which two for mains.....
15th December 2010, 10:14 PM
mini rani

hi!

For your kind information the 1st phase of Civil services exam conducted by UPSC namely prelims is being replaced by civil services aptitude test (CSAT). The CST will be effective from 2011. In CSAT exam there will not be any optional paper.It will have only 2 papers - GK & aptitude.

For mains exam you will have to choose an optional subject. You should choose that subject as optionaal in which you have interest & confidence.
27th December 2010, 08:51 PM

which subjects can a computer science and IT graduate student can prefer as the easiest one for UPSC ?
9th January 2011, 06:20 PM

ama yaar kuch bhi lelo, unko kya pta chl rha hai ki tumne kya liya hai
10th January 2011, 12:12 AM
sandipk

you can not choose more than one option,
So go for the best choice, you can choose an subject in which you are interested or you have done your graduation.

good luck...
10th January 2011, 01:26 AM
saswata06

It is not mandatory that you should keep those subjects that are in your graduation.You should choose the subjects on the basis of your knowledge on those subjects.
10th January 2011, 11:22 AM
surendergora

Smile Re: How to choose the optional subjects for upsc preliminary and mains exams? can I choose more than one option?

You can choose one optionals which u have studied in your graduation and other u can choose Public administration.