3rd March 2010, 04:22 PM
DhandaYuvi

Want to study marine engineering

im doing B.E mechanical engg .. i want to study marine engg ... tell me about that pls.......

1. How to study Marine engineering from Abroad on part time basis? Fees including hostel?
  2. Am I eligible for Marine Engineering after scoring 65% in 12th? Fee structure for Marine Engineering? -- [Most Discussed]
  3. How much marks should I score in +2 to study B.Tech in Marine engineering?
  4. After scoring 67% in 12th am I eligible to do Marine Engineering? Fee structure of this course?
  5. Am I able to do Marine Engineering after 12th with 65%?
  6. Possibility to study M.Tech(Marine Engineering) for B.Tech(Mechanical Engineering) student?
  7. Can I study Marine related courses after completing Diploma in Electrical & Electronics Engineering?
  8. Can I study B.Tech Marine in Institute of Technology and Marine Engineering with 59.75% aggregate in PCM of 12th BSEB? -- [New]
  9. Detailed procedure to get admission to study Master's in Marine Engineering in Abroad for B.E. student?
  10. Can I study Diploma in Marine Engineering after completing B.E.(Electrical & Electronics Engineering)?
  11. After finishing Electrical and Electronics Engineering Diploma how can i study Marine Engineering?
  12. Can I study marine engineering after completing diploma in Electrical and Electronics Engineering?
  13. Will I be able to join marine engineering with 65% in 12th? What is the fee structure?
  14. Marine engineering undergraduate qualification requirements
  15. Possibility to study B.Tech in Marine Engineering through Lateral Entry after completing Diploma in Electronics & Communication Engineering?
  16. Complete details about Marine engineering course
  17. Which are the good colleges for Marine Engineering course? How much loan does the bank provide?
  18. Is there any entrance exam which I can give to join marine engineering after completion of 12th standard?
4th March 2010, 04:26 AM
asish

Default Re: Want to study marine engineering

marine engineering is an interesting career prospect
the first thing is your eyesight.It must be within "-2.30 to +2.30" to be eligible for marine engg.
for more information you always have the internet.
4th March 2010, 01:07 PM
Murugesa Pandian

The various institues providing Marine Engineering Courses are :
Marine Engineering Research Institute, P-19, Taratolla Rd, Kolkata-700088, West Bengal
Marine Engineering & Research Institute, Hay Bunder Road, Mumbai - 400 033, Maharashtra
IIT (Indian Institute of Technology), Powai, Mumbai 400076, (Maharashtra)
Lal Bahadur Shastri College of Advanced Maritime Studies & Research, Hay bunder, Seweri, Mumbai - 400033, Maharashtra
Directorate General of Shipping, Jahaj Bhavan, Ballard Estate, Walchand Hirachand Marg, Mumbai 400001, Maharashtra
International Marine Communication Centre, 134/3 R.H. Road, near Luz Corner, Mylapore, Chennai 600004, Tamil Nadu
Indian Marine College, P.S. No. 1262, Kachiguda Station Road, Hyderabad 500027, Andhra Pradesh

The eligibility criteria for joining Marine Engineering and course duration, at various levels :
B.E Marine Engineering, Duration: 4 years; Eligibility: 10+2 level pass with Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and English
M.E Marine Engineering, Duration: 2 years, Eligibility: B.E Marine Engineering.
Ph.D, Eligibility: M.E Marine Engineering.
4th March 2010, 11:20 PM
meenakumari

Originally Posted by DhandaYuvi View Post
im doing B.E mechanical engg .. i want to study marine engg ... tell me about that pls.......
hai frnd....

congratulations for your wish.....
for this you must have a good eyesight.....
The eligibility criteria for joining Marine Engineering and course duration, at various levels :
B.E Marine Engineering, Duration: 4 years; Eligibility: 10+2 level pass with Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and English

and your course also have the eligibility
4th March 2010, 11:41 PM
rrmohantysmile

well dear friend, marine engineering is definitely a good career to opt for and as you are related to the field of engineering then it is always good to do marine engineering to get a good post as well as a handsome salary...

well i am giving you a link where you can find the colleges offering this course and weather you are eligible or not it is given there in front of every college..

www.indicareer.com/colleges-for-Marine%20Engineering-degree.html

good luck and all the best.........
bbye take care..
5th March 2010, 12:03 AM
Mintoo

hiii...
Marine Engineering involves the design, construction, installation, operation and support of the systems and equipment which propel and control marine vehicles, and of the systems which make a vehicle or structure habitable for crew, passengers and cargo. So, my friend this is good for you to study marine engineering and there is very bright future in marine engg. .......
5th March 2010, 12:52 PM
mike shinoda back

the first thing is your eyesight.It must be within "-2.30 to +2.30" to be eligible for marine engg.

if you want to more information then go to internet and search for marine engg i hope you will get and satisfy.....
it will pleasure to help u......best of luck for future...
5th March 2010, 06:19 PM
charumat

Yes, you can do marine engineering course after B. Tech. Since you will be graduating from a non-marine engineering field, you will have to take a few undergraduate courses before you take the core courses of marine engineering master's program.

These courses would be mainly from mechanical engineering and marine engineering. Because you will have already taken some of the mechanical engineering courses for B. Tech., the number of foundation courses you need to take for Marine Engineering would be less.
19th March 2010, 08:56 PM
jigar jain

SIR m studying diploma in mechanical....i am intrested to do marine engg...so pls guide me.......
25th March 2010, 02:26 AM

you can do it by following the details below:

19th May 2010, 12:19 AM

hai,
how to study marine eng. after b.tech mechanical eng.
admisson procedure? places? university in india....
19th May 2010, 12:25 AM
geosebastian111

m doing B.TECH mechanical engg .. i want to study marine engg ... tell me about that pls.......
23rd May 2010, 04:20 PM

is it better to study mechanical engineering before studying marine engineering?....or studying marine engineering as U.G is better..?
28th May 2010, 12:17 AM
phuchi

hi friend
the study for marine engineering

1.B.E Marine Engineering, Duration: 4 years; Eligibility: 10+2 level pass with Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and English
2.M.E Marine Engineering, Duration: 2 years,
2nd June 2010, 07:09 PM

entrance exam 2010 date for marine engineering admission
4th June 2010, 08:57 PM
k.mohan

Smile Re: Want to study marine engineering

Originally Posted by meenakumari View Post
hai frnd....

congratulations for your wish.....
for this you must have a good eyesight.....

and your course also have the eligibility
I want to do marine eng . i had completed inter 2 year if any notification is there please send me to my mail my mail is [email protected] please send me fast
5th June 2010, 03:34 PM

is there good jobs available for marine?
8th June 2010, 12:18 PM

i am Rituraj Purkayastha,,

i am currently in class 12...i wanna study marine eng.... so i just wanna know what are the criteria s other than phy-chem-maths,i mean wat kind of xams shud i give,,what are the best colleges,,wats the market value,,wat will be my future like...etc etc.....plz help!!!!!!!!
10th July 2010, 11:30 PM

this is good for you to study marine engineering ,for joining Marine Engineering and course duration, at various levels :
11th July 2010, 03:18 PM
parhitoshika

marine engg. is synchrous to mechanical engg.
since you are admitted to mechanical engg.,it is possible for you to join marine in your m.tech.
lateral entry is possible from 2nd year engg.
specalisation like that of cad,cam ,submarine designing are possible with mechanical.
11th July 2010, 03:24 PM
parhitoshika

marine engg. is synchrous to mechanical engg.
since you are admitted to mechanical engg.,it is possible for you to join marine in your m.tech.
lateral entry is possible from 2nd year engg.
specalisation like that of cad,cam ,submarine designing are possible with mechanical.
13th July 2010, 01:46 AM
Shagun Makin

Originally Posted by DhandaYuvi View Post
you can get admissio through bits exam.

for this you need to have 80% in PCM in 12th.

According to your score and rank you can get a good collge affiliated to bits.
13th July 2010, 12:51 PM
Dkiran

The various courses in marine engineering, their duration and eligibility requirements are as follows-
31st July 2010, 06:13 PM
N.MD.AZHARUDDIN

hi friend marine is big dream field you can sure join for it if you are eligible ...........after that you can do hiigher studies in marine..............you can browse in internet for colleges
you can get into the maritine college through gate ........

azhar
31st July 2010, 08:02 PM
s.k.singh

The eligibility criteria for joining Marine Engineering and course duration, at various levels :B.E Marine Engineering, Duration: four years; Eligibility: 12th level pass with Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and English.marine engineering is definitely a good career to opt for and as you are related to the field of engineering then it is always good to do marine engineering to get a good post as well as a handsome salary...
3rd August 2010, 12:16 AM

hi friend,i wanna study marine and it is my big dream..i just completed my inter..AND I AM A GIRL.to reach my dream i should u suggest me to do..if i do it how wil b my future..can u please help with this
5th August 2010, 01:26 AM

definately after btech in ME you can do marine engineering.

as you know marine engineering is a part of mechanical engg. so it will be eassy to do for you.

some university in the south india like-pune university,goa university etc provides marine engineering courses.

you can do marine engineering from there.

all the best......
17th August 2010, 02:19 AM

Hi i m anna mane want to study d marine engg. Now m studing in B.Emech ...so please tell me what is d criteria for same....i mean to say that how many percentage r excepted in B.E(MECH)...
31st October 2010, 09:45 PM

hi iam from computer science can i study marine
16th November 2010, 07:26 PM
vinod999

sir iam studying btech in (eee) dept iam intrest in marine engg .after btech can i do me marine please suggest me....
17th November 2010, 12:52 AM
prakashkumar075

how i do merine engineering after b.tech in mech engineering
13th December 2010, 01:31 PM

sir iam study 11th i want to became marine engineering and iam want to know how much mark i want to score in 12th and i am need any extra qualification say me sir please
14th December 2010, 12:11 AM
lvnareshsunrise

Your option is a very good choice.

Marine engineering has great demand and you can earn more but at the same time you should be ready to stay away from home for a long period of time.

As you have completed your graduation or engineering in non marine specializations directly you will not be eligible to take admission into masters program.

Initially you have to complete some foundation courses.

Some of the good institutes which will be known for these courses are

1.College of Engineering, Visakapatnam
2.R.I.Institute of Nautical sciences
3.Tolani maritime institute-pune
14th December 2010, 08:25 PM
aditya436

Thumbs up Re: Want to study marine engineering

hello friend

to become a marine engineer all you have to do is you should attempt any of the common enterance exams

and there are some institutes which purely deals with the only that course in tamilnadu

it has a very good career

choose the best college

so you'll get benifited

~aditya~
4th February 2011, 07:44 PM

dear candidate,
please contact me D.SHIVKUMAR 09823424365,
TO JOIN MARINE ENGINEERING AND NAUTICAL TECHNOLOGY degree from BITS PILANI, FROM THE TOP RANKED INSTITUTE , BY D G SHIPPING,
HURRY LIMITED SEATS: ASSURED PLACEMENTS
QUOTE=aditya436;272282]hello friend

to become a marine engineer all you have to do is you should attempt any of the common enterance exams

and there are some institutes which purely deals with the only that course in tamilnadu

it has a very good career

choose the best college

so you'll get benifited

~aditya~[/QUOTE]
10th February 2011, 11:03 AM

AFTER 12 CAN I JOIN IN MARINE ENG
15th February 2011, 01:51 PM
pops07

yes, you can join.......
but for this, you had to have physics, chemistry and maths in 12th....
you also have to pass a medical fitness test for sea service under standard norms and with eyesight 6/6 with no color blindness......
thats all....
15th February 2011, 03:08 PM
pops07

Originally Posted by prakashkumar075 View Post
you can get direct admission in merchant navy as a Engine Cadet/ Fifth
Engineer/ Junior Engineer......
if you want to enter the navigational and engineering fields of Merchant Navy,
then you need to complete a Bachelors degree in Nautical Science or Marine engineering.................
15th February 2011, 03:09 PM
pops07

Originally Posted by jigar jain View Post
SIR m studying diploma in mechanical....i am intrested to do marine engg...so pls guide me.......
If you had physics, chemistry, maths in your 12th board, then you can do
marine engineering........
15th February 2011, 03:16 PM
pops07

hai,
how to study marine eng. after b.tech mechanical eng.
admisson procedure? places? university in india....
you can get direct entry to merchant navy with your B.tech mechanical
engineering degree as a Engine Cadet/ Fifth Engineer/ Junior Engineer.....

after you have to undergo a Pre-sea course of 9 months duration in Marine Engineering conducted by the MERI.

your eyesight should be 6/6 with no colour blindness.
15th February 2011, 03:19 PM
pops07

is it better to study mechanical engineering before studying marine engineering?....or studying marine engineering as U.G is better..?
see both are good....
if you had PCM in 12th, then you can do marine engineering and join Indian
Navy after that.....

If you have Mechanical engineering as your bachelor's degree, then you
will get direct entry to merchant navy with your B.tech ME degree at the
post of Engine Cadet/ Fifth Engineer/ Junior Engineer.....

after getting admission, you have go through a Pre-sea course of 9 months
duration in Marine Engineering conducted by the MERI.
15th February 2011, 03:34 PM
pops07

is there good jobs available for marine?
there are so many good jobs available for marine engineers.........

you can get the job of a deck officer, captain or master of the ship,
chief officer, second officer, third officer, marine engineers, chief engineer,
radio officer, electrical officer, chief steward, diver, light keepers, nautical
surveyors
and many more.....

you will also get promotion here.

to know about the jobs in detail, visit the following link:

http://career.webindia123.com/career/options/defence_government/merchant_navy/jobprospects.htm
15th February 2011, 03:40 PM
pops07

i am Rituraj Purkayastha,,

i am currently in class 12...i wanna study marine eng.... so i just wanna know what are the criteria s other than phy-chem-maths,i mean wat kind of xams shud i give,,what are the best colleges,,wats the market value,,wat will be my future like...etc etc.....plz help!!!!!!!!
the future of marine engineers are very bright....

you can get the job of a deck officer, captain or master of the ship,
chief officer, second officer, third officer, marine engineers, chief engineer,
radio officer, electrical officer, chief steward, diver, light keepers, nautical
surveyors and many more.....

you will also get promotion here.

the institutes where you can study marine engineering are:

1)The Horizons
B-xx-83, college road civil lines
Ludhiana, Punjab
Phone :0161-3941308

2)Coimbatore Marine College, Coimbatore (Tamil Nadu)

3)Global Pacific Shipping and Marine Services, New Delhi (Delhi)

4)Halcyon Marine Services, New Delhi (Delhi)

5)Praveenya Institute of Marine Engineering and Maritime Studies, Vizianagaram (Andhra Pradesh)

6)Sailors Maritime Academy(S.M.A.), Vishakapatnam (Andhra Pradesh)
17th February 2011, 08:55 AM

yes you can all u need to do is call me D.SHIVKUMAR :09823424365
CARRER COUNSELOR SINCE 4 YRS IN MARINE COURSES.
AND I WILL DETAIL YOU ALL THE PROCESSES,
WISHING YOU SUCESS.
17th February 2011, 08:58 AM

[yes you can all u need to do is call me D.SHIVKUMAR :09823424365
CARRER COUNSELOR SINCE 4 YRS IN MARINE COURSES.
AND I WILL DETAIL YOU ALL THE PROCESSES,
WISHING YOU SUCESS.
21st February 2011, 03:14 AM

Originally Posted by pops07 View Post
see both are good....
if you had PCM in 12th, then you can do marine engineering and join Indian
Navy after that.....

If you have Mechanical engineering as your bachelor's degree, then you
will get direct entry to merchant navy with your B.tech ME degree at the
post of Engine Cadet/ Fifth Engineer/ Junior Engineer.....

after getting admission, you have go through a Pre-sea course of 9 months
duration in Marine Engineering conducted by the MERI.

"if you had PCM in 12th, then you can do marine engineering and join Indian
Navy after that.....".....how can any1 expect to join INDIAN NAVY after getting a mere degree of btec marine....NOTE: merchant navy and indian navy r totally different terms...u can get to INDIAN NAVY only through prestegious NDA (national defence academy) EXAM which is a tuff nut to crack......not as easy as marine eng...
30th March 2011, 08:43 AM

sir iam study 11th i want to became marine engineering and iam want to know how much mark i want to score in 12th and i am need any extra qualification say me sir please
The minimum percentage required to join B S MARINE ENGINEERING OR B S NAUTICAL TECHNOLOGY IS 60% IN PCM AND 50% IN ENGLISH EITHER IN 10TH OR 12TH.
The fees for both the courses is 10L (Approx) which includes hostel chages , fees, passport,additional value added courses, placement charges( 100% placements available)and swimming etc…. for further information regarding process of addmission please contact
MR. D.SHIVKUMAR: 09823424365. THE DEGREES ARE AWARDED BY BITS PILANI SO RUSH LIMITED SEATS.

Read more: http://www.ithappensinindia.com/b-e-marine-engineering-entrance-fees-eligibility-details/#ixzz1I2mWne8F
Under Creative Commons License: Attribution
30th March 2011, 08:45 AM

The minimum percentage required to join B S MARINE ENGINEERING OR B S NAUTICAL TECHNOLOGY IS 60% IN PCM AND 50% IN ENGLISH EITHER IN 10TH OR 12TH.
The fees for both the courses is 10L (Approx) which includes hostel chages , fees, passport,additional value added courses, placement charges( 100% placements available)and swimming etc…. for further information regarding process of addmission please contact
MR. D.SHIVKUMAR: 09823424365. THE DEGREES ARE AWARDED BY BITS PILANI SO RUSH LIMITED SEATS.

Read more: http://www.ithappensinindia.com/b-e-marine-engineering-entrance-fees-eligibility-details/#ixzz1I2mWne8F
30th March 2011, 08:48 AM

Originally Posted by pops07 View Post
yes, you can join.......
but for this, you had to have physics, chemistry and maths in 12th....
you also have to pass a medical fitness test for sea service under standard norms and with eyesight 6/6 with no color blindness......
thats all....

30th March 2011, 08:53 AM

Originally Posted by prakashkumar075 View Post
Dear candidate, you need to to GRADUATE MARINE ENGINEERING course which is 1 yr course from a reputed marine engineering college and also the course shuld essentially be appreoved by the D G SHIPPING. and also see that placements are assured . Please feel free to contact me for further details D.SHIVKUMAR 09823424365 FOR A PERFECT GUIDANCE....