Master of Finance and Accounting: MFA Course Details

Master of Finance and Accounting is a postgraduate course, with course duration of 2 years. The main aim of the course is to impart professional exposure and training to participants in diverse aspects of accounting and finance. The course study offers adequate knowledge and practical skills to plan the financial strategy and in management of capital. The cash management strategies formulated by finance personals will help an organization in its growth and profitability.

The MFA course educates students in financial reporting which will be much useful for further decision making, business development, strategic planning, and alliance management. Highly specialized knowledge in the area of finance and accounting will help the candidate to earn a rewarding career in the financial job market.

Advantages or Benefits of Master of Finance and Accounting

The course helps the candidate to gain adequate skills in preparing balance sheets, income statements, earnings, and expense analyses. The post graduate level course allows the candidate to have higher education courses such as M. Phil or PhD in Finance or other related subjects. Moreover, successful completion of the course helps the candidate to obtain a promising career in the financial sector.

Eligibility required for Master of Finance and Accounting

Graduation is the basic qualification required to undergo the master’s level course. The candidate has to obtain bachelor level degree in any of the areas of Commerce / Accounting / Management / Economics. They have to qualify the degree with minimum 50% marks from any of recognized institutes of the country. Most of the Universities carry out entrance exams for the selection purpose. During the admission process the marks obtained in entrance exam and qualifying degree are taken in to consideration.

Application Procedure of Master of Finance and Accounting Course

The detailed information regarding admission process is published in the official website of the institution that offers the course. It may cover details on proposed number of seats, important dates regarding application submission, fee details, and details on the ways to fill the application, and so on. The candidate has to read and understand the information clearly. Most probably application forms are distributed through the office of the institution or from the official portal. Completely filled application forms must reach the destination before the deadline.

How to fill the application form?

The application forms must be filled only by following the instructions given in the information booklet. This will be provided along with application form or will be provided as a separate file along with the application form. The applicant has to take care of the documents to be attached while submitting the application form.

Colleges offering Master of Finance and Accounting Course

• Alliance Business School, Chikkahagade Cross, Chandapur - Anekal Main Road, Anekal, Bangalore, Karnataka
  • Amrita School of Arts and Sciences – Kochi, Brahmasthanam, Edappally North P.O , Edappally, Ernakulam, Kerala
  • Ganga Kaveri Institute of Science & Management, No.1699 (43/1), Dr.Rajkumar Road, 3rd Stage, Rajajinagar, Bangalore, Karnataka
  • Goutham College, #258, 5th Main, Ist Phase, W.O.C. Road, Manjunathnagar, Bangalore, Karnataka
  • Government Fine Arts Institute, 472, M.G. Road, Indore, Madhya Pradesh
  • Government Institute of Fine Arts, Sanatan Dharma Mandir Road, Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh
  • Government Institute of Fine Arts, Kala Niketan Polytechnic Campus, Napier Town, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
  • Indian Academy Centre for Research and Post-Graduate Studies, Hennur Cross, Hennur Main Road, Kalyan Nagar, Bangalore, Karnataka
  • Indore Professional Studies Academy, Near Rajendra Nagar Rau Road, Indore, Madhya Pradesh
  • Jyoti Nivas College, Hosur Road, Bangalore, Karnataka
  • Presidency College, Kempapura, Hebbal, Bangalore, Karnataka
  • Tecnia Institute of Art & Design, F-19/14, Sector- 8 Rohini, New Delhi

Master of Finance and Accounting Course Curriculum

Semester-1

• Accounting conventions & Standards
  • Managing people in the organization
  • Macroeconomics for business decisions
  • Managerial Finance
  • QT for Accounting and Finance
  • Financial Markets and Services
  • Business Legal System

Semester-2

• Contemporary issues in Accounting
  • Information Technology for Accounting & Finance
  • Direct Taxes planning
  • Securities Analysis and Portfolio management
  • Strategic cost and management accounting
  • Asset liability mgt. in banks
  • Business Research Method

Semester-3

• International business
  • Indirect Taxes
  • Forex Management
  • Financial Products- Engineering and marketing
  • E- Commerce
  • Insurance and Risk management
  • Internship training

Semester-4

• Strategic Management
  • International Accounting
  • International Financial management
  • Elective (Any one)
  • Management Control System
  • Cost and Management Audit
  • Strategic Financial Management
  • Infrastructure Financing
  • Project

Textbooks on Master of Finance and Accounting

• “Accounting Theory” by Lele & Jawaharlal
  • “Management Accounting” by Sharma RK & Shashi K. Gupta
  • A Guide to Indian Capital Market, by Agarwal
  • An Introduction to Financial Management, by Solemen Ezra & Pringle John
  • Economic Environment of Business by S.K.Misra & V.K.Puri, Himalaya Publishing House
  • Essentials of Management, by DubrinThomson
  • Financial Management, by Van Horn, James C
  • Financial Markets and Institutions, by Gursamy S, Thomson
  • Fundamental of Financial Management, 10e Thomson
  • Global Economy and Business Environment, by Eugene Brigham & Erhardt, Himalaya Publishing House
  • Globalization - liberalization and privatization of public enterprises , by Prof. Laxmi Narain, Sultan Chand & Co.
  • Indian Capital Markets, by Avadhani, Himalaya Publishing House
  • Indian Economy, by I S.K.Misra &V.K.Puri, Himalaya Publishing House
  • Indian Financial System, by Machiraju, H.R, Vikas Publishing
  • Indian Financial System, by Vasant Desai, Himalaya Publishing House
  • Introduction to Information Technology, Wiley India
  • Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management, by Reilly, Thomson
  • Management Accounting, by Hansen & Mowen, Thomson
  • Management Control Systems, by Anthony and Dearden TMH
  • Managerial Accounting, by Louderback, Thomson
  • Marketing Management, by Czinkota
  • Marketing Management, Ramaswamy & Namakumari
  • Marketing Planning and Strategy, by Jain
  • Organisation Theory and Design, by Thomson
  • Organisational Behaviour, 10e, by Hellriegel, Thomson
  • Organizational Behavior, by Fred Luthans
  • Organizational Behavior, by Robins P.Stephen & Judge
  • Principles of Information Systems
  • Principles of Management, by Koontz & O’Donnel, TMH
  • Principles of Marketing, by Philip Kotler, Pearson/PHI 2007
  • Risk Management and Derivatives, by Stulz
  • The Management Process by Davar R.S Rustam

Job and Career after Master of Finance and Accounting Course

The Master of Finance and Accounting Course offers numerous possibilities for candidates to build up a challenging career in financial sector. Apart from the job responsibilities assigned above, finance personal helps in risk management and in global financial expansion. They can perform well in a lot of job profiles in various employment areas mentioned below.

Job profiles

• Accountant
  • Auditor
  • Budget Analyst
  • Business Analyst
  • Corporate Analyst
  • Equity Research Analyst
  • Financial Analyst
  • Investment Banker
  • Investments Analyst
  • Market Analyst
  • Marketing Manager
  • Money Manager
  • Operations Manager
  • Personal Finance Consultant
  • Revenue Agent
  • Risk Analyst
  • Securities Analyst
  • Tax Advisor

Employment Areas

• Banking and Financial Institutions
  • Business and Financial Consulting Firms
  • Capital and Money Markets
  • Commodity Markets
  • Core Banking and Insurance
  • Corporate and International Finance
  • Corporate Treasuries
  • Credit Rating Agencies
  • Depository Services and Stock Broking
  • Economic Consulting Jobs
  • Equity Research
  • Finance, Commerce and the Banking Sectors
  • Financial Consultancy and Advisory Services
  • Forex Advisory Services
  • Import / Export Companies
  • Indian Economic Services
  • Insurance Industry
  • Insurance Management
  • International Finance
  • Investment Advisory Services
  • Investment Analysis
  • Investment Banking
  • Leasing
  • Merchant Banking
  • Money and Capital Markets including Stock Exchanges
  • Mutual Funds
  • Portfolio Management
  • Project Appraisal
  • Real Estate
  • Research Associates with Economic Consulting Firms
  • Risk Management
  • Treasury Operations and Management
  • Venture Capital
  • Wealth Management

Remuneration after Master of Finance and Accounting Course

Students who have completed Master of Finance & Accounting (MFA) can find good opportunities in India as well as abroad. Salary package depends on the location of the organization and the profile in which the candidate works in. The entry level salary may be in the range of Rs. 8000/- to Rs. 15000/- per month. But this may rise up to Rs. 50,000/- per month by gaining reasonable skills and expertise in the job.

13 Responses to “Master of Finance and Accounting: MFA Course Details”

1. 13
    Karthikkumar L:

IS THERE ANY ENTRACE EXAM FOR MFA,IS THERE PLS INFORM WHICH EXAM AND WHEN SHOULD WE APPLY,AND IN WHICH MONTH IT WILL BE CONDUCTED

2. 12
    arshad:

i want to know about MFA course and i completed ug in mangalore university. i want to know whether course started or not

3. 11
    vanchalya:

details of universities offering master of finance and accounting course for correspondence

4. 10
    padmaja krishnamurthyt:

dear sir/mam,
    i have completed my B.com and i want to pursue my further education.will i be able to take up mfa in correspondence?i also want to know whether central college,bangalore offers mfa course.plz do the needful and help in taking a good decision.

5. 9
    sana:

do we need to write any entrance exam for MFA?

6. 8
    sangeetha:

do we need to write any entance exam for MFA??

7. 7
    vishnu k:

i am good at accounts. i want to know the procedure to apply for the course MFA. do i need to write any entrance exam? please tell me the scope. i completed my Bcom.

8. 6
    bvmanjunath:

Dear sir i want to join for MFA course coresspondence course i am pursuing CA&Mcom final year i want to knw the fees & good collage in banglore

9. 5
    robin:

fees of each sem for mfa course

10. 4
    kuldeep:

what is the duration of this course

11. 3
    trilochan achary:

the best institutes in orissa and address

12. 2
    Pankaj:

i stay in BHUBANESWAR AND WANT TO ADDRESS OF THE INSTITUTE WHERE I CAN LEARN IN ORISSA

13. 1
    nithiya:

respected sir/madam,

I am completed my ug degree in annamalai university distance education. i got my 44%. next i am completed regular college in M.com(ca). now i am intersting for MBA degree. but UG degree percentage not a eligiable for MBA degree. MBA degree to only consider ug degree.please I request give me any suggestion.