Railway Engine Driver – How to become a railway engine driver?

Railway Engine Driver is responsible for transporting passengers and goods in a train from one destination to another. Even though several staffs are employed for the safe transportation of passenger and goods, engine driver plays the crucial role by executing the important task. If the engine driver fails to execute his task, then the effort of all other staffs will go in vain. Therefore greater importance is given for the post of railway engine driver. Engine drivers are responsible for halting the train at different stations and reducing the train’s speed in the case of route diversion, following other trains or avoiding early arrival at the station. They control the acceleration and braking of the train.

Qualifying exam

Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) conducts various exams for recruiting eligible candidates to the different vacancies available in the railway sector. Candidates who want to become a railway engine driver should qualify the concerned exam conducted by Railway Recruitment Board (RRB). Notification of the railway engine driver exam will be published on the newspaper or the concerned website. Candidates should read that notification before applying for the exam. Those who have qualified the railway engine driver exam will be first given the post of diesel or electric locomotive assistant driver. After getting much experience in the concerned field, one can get promotion to the post of railway engine driver.

Who are eligible to apply?

Candidates who have completed tenth standard can write the exam conducted for recruiting candidates to the railway engine driver post. Age limit specified for such candidates is between eighteen years and thirty years.  Candidates who are applying for the railway engine driver exam should also complete ITI course in any specified trade.

Key elements in the process

• Pass tenth standard
  • Complete ITI course in any specified trade
  • Qualify the exam conducted by Railway Recruitment Board
  • Obtain enough experience as diesel or electric assistant driver

Skills required for a railway engine driver

Railway Engine Driver should possess a good presence of mind to handle various difficult situations.  They can complete their task only through good patience and discipline.  They should be adaptable to different time schedules.  They should possess good interpersonal skills to interact with their co-workers. They should have immense stamina to drive the train. Lot of hardworking is also essential for this job.

103 Responses to “Railway Engine Driver – How to become a railway engine driver?”

1. 103
    Niken variya:

What is salary of engine driver???

2. 102
    Alece:

im a 17 years girl.. i want to be atrain driver…plz help me wht i have to do for it..
    im a science student and nw in 12th

3. 101
    m.s.venkatesh:

i am studying BCA i am very interest in railway can i get engine driver job or TTR job or gaurd job or any job railway? pls help me sir

4. 100
    Praloy Bagish:

I am 10 th pass student .Age 18+ .My dream is to become Indian rail engine driver My question is can I get the job now ??

5. 99
    B rambabu:

sir, i am a vocational student and my course is “Electrical Wiring & Servicing of Electrical Appliances”.

sir, Am i eligible for railway recruitment like ITI.

please reply me sir, urgent

6. 98
    Sarang:

Sir , my name is Sarang . i am a student of INSTITUTION OF ELECTRONICS & TELECOMMUNICATION ENGINEERING ( IETE ) (DIPLOMA),sir i want to know can i apply for the RRB Exam for the loco pilot
    sir i am wait your reply.
    THANK YOU

7. 97
    paritosh kumar:

sir i am compleated coe electrical sector (basic+adv.) can i apply railway driver

8. 96
    ravi:

Dear sir, my name is ravi . I completed iti electronices(mech) in 2012 .can i eligible or not . Please give me your sagition sir. Thank you sir.

9. 95
    siddarth:

Sir I’m a diploma holder I know that I’m an elligible candidate to IR posts like asst locopilot,station master,JE,TC……..but I don’t know when the notifications announced to these posts so please notify me when the RRB announces any recruit for these posts plese sir I request U

10. 94
    sonu kumar:

sir i am b.tech holder in electronics branch from only UGC certiified college. can i fill the forum of loco pilot

11. 93
    Azar Ahmed:

I am a B.com UG student, can i apply for RAILWAYS EXAMINATION for ENGINE DRIVER post?

12. 92
    Shubham kacharde:

Sir im very intrested in a job, ITI pass

13. 91
    Shubham kacharde:

Sir im very intrested in a job

14. 90
    santosh yadav:

sir i am pass 12th up board and i want to become a railway disel engine driver please tell me

15. 89
    shiv shakti:

sir i am student of B.tech 7th sem civil branch i can apply railway engine driver post

16. 88
    vishnu.b:

Sir iam now pass i.t.i mechanic(diesel) i want a job in railway. how to apply

17. 87
    ranjith kumar:

i have completed my MBA can i become train driver

18. 86
    Vishwajeet sarkar:

Sir mai railway me loco pailot me jyada intrest leta hu
    meri bachapan ka sapna hai ki mai us AIM ko hanshil karoo
    but is wqat mai intet firstyear me hu aur Bio side se hu
    mai kis prakar se ise hansil kar sakunga

19. 85
    vishal kumar singh:

sir i am doing betech (2nd YEAR) with branch applied electronics and instumentation and i dont have ITI CERTIFICATES. CAN I APPLY FOR STATION MASTER AND RAILWAY DRIVER EXAMS….WHAT PERCENTAGE OF MARKS IN 12TH IS REQUIRED….THANYOU…

20. 84
    baljinder singh:

sir i m very interested in railway driver jobs…please hlp nme..sir ;;; thnaking you

21. 83
    damodhar naidu:

what is the qualification required?

22. 82
    K>V>Shashi Kiran:

Sir I am now 10th which course I should i select to become railway engine driver

23. 81
    suresh:

what income of loco pilot

24. 80
    Sk.khaja:

I complete b.com and I stedy iti fittar so I can apply railway Engine driver post or not
    Please tell sir

25. 79
    ansh panwar:

sir what rrb ?

26. 78
    Akshay Kumar:

How can i qualify in eye-test?

27. 77
    vivekraja:

I PASSED ITI ELECTRICIEN.
    I apply railyway driving job

28. 76
    sk danish iqbal:

hi ,danish 10th passed so how can i become a engine driver or courses kha par hoti hai

29. 75
    DANA KUMAR:

Reaspected sir,
    I have passed h.s.c exam electronics technoloy from
    Vocational stream and i have 82%h.s.c exam .can i get
    become railway driver job

30. 74
    Chinta Israyelu:

Sir my name ch.Israyelu.
    i am completed 10th class 95% marks and 12th standard 60%marks. And I didn’t complete the ITI and other cources.so I can apply the Railway Engine driver post or not?Please telle sir…….

31. 73
    lokesh:

iam complited diplama mechanical so i eligibie the railway drivar

32. 72
    arbaz shaikh:

mene abhi 10th ki exam di he aur i am intrested a railway train driving job aur mera sapna he ki me ye job me lag jao aur sab ko kush kardu iske lie mujhe kya karna ho kaunsa course aur kaunsi degree chahiye aur mene abhi 11th commarse me admission le lia h to aap mujhe please help kardo me apka bahot shukra gujar rahunga

33. 71
    kunal:

sir i am kunal i am doing b.c.a i am interested in becoming railway engine driver is it possible..?

34. 70
    rajkumar:

Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) conducts various exams for recruiting eligible candidates to the different vacancies available in the railway sector. Candidates who want to become a railway engine driver should qualify the concerned exam conducted by Railway Recruitment Board (RRB). Notification of the railway engine driver exam will be published on the newspaper or the concerned website. Candidates should read that notification before applying for the exam. Those who have qualified the railway engine driver exam will be first given the post of diesel or electric locomotive assistant driver. After getting much experience in the concerned field, one can get promotion to the post of railway engine driver.
    and,
    sir,i have passed 10th class.i know about railway engine driver and the book

Rajkumar
    Mob no:9914322618

35. 69
    aakash sharma:

sir,i have passed 10th class.i know about railway engine driver and the book

36. 68
    Manjunath Mullal:

I have complited ITI (Electrician) Can I apply Driving job

37. 67
    Rahul Ashok Shinde:

Reaspected sir,
    I have passed h.s.c exam electronics technoloy from
    Vocational stream and i have 82%h.s.c exam .can i get
    become railway driver job

38. 66
    sandeep:

sir now i study diploma in mechanical engg .

should i eleigable for driver? what exam i conduct when it notification?

39. 65
    hinesh hirani:

how much is the salary of railway engine driver

40. 64
    daljit singh:

SIR I AM IN 10 CLASS NOW SIR CAN YOU TELL ME which subject i have to take in 11

41. 63
    MD.YOUNUS:

HELLO sir i have just pass my 10th exam i have intrest in “RAILWAY Engine Driver can i appley for this

42. 62
    akash awale:

i have pass 12th but not complet ltl trade i am eligible to apply post of engeen driver

43. 61
    umesh:

I am Govt. ITI student in Electronics what can i do

44. 60
    vinay sharma:

Can a b.tach student able to become a driver in Indian railway

45. 59
    noel:

I am doing ma graduation sir……… so can i appear for dis exam

46. 58
    krunal:

i am 10th pass and i intrested railway job so what can i do after10th pass

47. 57
    hemen das:

I am passed 12th class with vocational course in mechanical trade.
    sir I am eligible railway assiatent engine driver or locomotive loco pilot.
    please sir inform me..

48. 56
    shivaji:

i am shivaji 10th pass iti 2nd year sir railway engine job

49. 55
    Mukesh srivastav:

What is the jobs for polytechnic diploma holder in indian railways?

50. 54
    praveen:

I’m tenth how to become a train engine driver

51. 53
    Balaji:

after completing diplomo in mech. eng. can I jion as railway engine driver?

52. 52
    bhavani:

respectedsir;
    i amwilling to become an railway driver
    for that what exam i should write
    whatshouldbe my qulafications are?
    pleasemail mesir

53. 51
    Ramneek:

I Have the ability to become a rail driver. My Qualification is passed +2 and persuing b.com.

54. 50
    Abuzar ali:

respected,sir
    i am a student of cbse i am 10+2 pass i am ask .
    how can i apply for railway driving job.

55. 49
    sourav ghosh:

i am very intrested to become a railway engine driver my qualification is 10 2 in commerce can i become a train driver.

56. 48
    Asim Rajak:

I am passed 12th class and passed ITI trade-BBBT (INSTRUMENTATION)
    One year course NCVT approved and appeared ITI Advance Process Control course duration in six month NCVT.
    Sir I am eligible Railway assiatent engine driver or locomotive loco pilot.
    Please sir inform me.

57. 47
    RAKESH KUMAR:

I passed 10th. Sir which trade ITI demand in rail engine driver.
    Pls sir send me five yers old question answer

Thanks sir

58. 46
    challa abhinash:

i am very intrested to become a railway driver my qualification is 10+2 how i can beome atrain driver

59. 45
    chandan:

can i make rail driver from iti in deisel machanic

60. 44
    shivanand chakrasali:

is it possible to get driver post on diploma

61. 43
    Roushan Singh:

How can i get a job of rail. Driver?
    Wireman trade is specefic or not for rail. Driver?

62. 42
    V.Sridhar:

hi sir/madam i have passed 12th standard so i want to become a railway engine driver then my question is what i do to become a railway engine driver?

63. 41
    karan dave:

sir i completed my BE in information technology from gujarat technological university. but i have not done ITI. can i become an engine driver?

64. 40
    Nikhil:

i m Nikhil from punjab sir me is ke aage deploma krlu to ferr iti kro to thik he

65. 39
    paranthaman:

I had finished my diploma in mechanical engineering but iam having arrears. Did i eligible for the loco pilot and i had finished some CAD courses also do you have any opening for CAD Engineers.

66. 38
    gorakh:

i am 12th passed and required the railway job. i am sc cast

67. 37
    imtiyaz:

Sir, I’m 12(science) with 47% & I’ve done dip.A/C and Ref. I want to make career in indian railway as train driver kindly provide detail about it.

68. 36
    MEDAPALLI.SIVA CHAITANYA:

hi sir am passed 10th standard so i becime railwayengine driver then my question is what i do to become a railway engine driver?

69. 35
    shivanand:

is it possible to apply raileay driver on Govt. Tool Room and training center in diploma my branch is diploma in tool and die making

70. 34
    Satish Sabhaji Atkare:

sir , i am ex army Pearson and serving in corps signals in army.what is age limit for engine driver for ex sarvies man and i am 12 th pass and class - I in my army tread can i qualified this job ?

71. 33
    himanshu:

railway driver kis group ka naukri hai.

72. 32
    Aayat:

I am an student of commerce 12std and its my last year for 12.. What to do if i want to become railway engine driver ?

73. 31
    tushar sharma:

hello sir, am passed 10th class and polytechnic in ‘mechanical production’.so my question is- “tell me how to become a locomotive loco pilot”.
    thanking you sir.

74. 30
    Ronak thakkar:

sir my wish is to work in indian railways sir now i am in 11th standard commerce will i will get a job in railways for a train driver in mumbai locals sir please tell me that what should i do for this job please tell me ?

75. 29
    KARTHIKEYAN.S:

sir i am complete mechanical engineer . so please tell me how to become a loco pilot

76. 28
    asim rajak:

I am passed 12th class and passed ITI trade- bbbt instrumentation one year course Ncvt approved and appeared iti six month course process control.
    Sir i am eligible raiway assistant driver or locopilot.please sir inform

77. 27
    lokesh:

what is the age of railway job i am sudlecast

78. 26
    Reji:

I wold like to work with Indian Railway. Engine Driver Job. how to apply this job. please let me know

i have 20 years Exp. in other defendant Category Jobs, Gulf and India

thanks and regards
    Reji Chandi

79. 25
    suresh kumar:

hi .im suresh i have completed tenth but i have no iti ,can i apply for the train driver job please sir ans my question

80. 24
    surendra:

I have passed the 10th but i do not have ITI. have i elegible to apply for the railway engine driver. Please give me the all information required to became an railway engine driver come in any place

81. 23
    Vyshak m:

Iam 21 years old complete ITI how to become railway engine driver

82. 22
    rahul tiwari:

i am an electrical engineer
    so can i apply for railway engine driver

83. 21
    Vinodkumar:

I am 27 years old completed ITI How to become rilway engine driver

84. 20
    jeewan kumar:

what is next process of loco pailote after compit it’s compitation exam

85. 19
    m.nagamanikandan:

12 stend pass

86. 18
    pravinkumar:

sir i m pravin hsc pass & iti/mmv pass first class & also exseviceman army trade driver mt in army my age is 36 i have hmv licence avail i can applicable?

87. 17
    Subramanian:

What are the job offering in railway sector for b.e mechanical engineering course and wat would be the salary range?

88. 16
    yogesh kushwah:

please give me information about to become railway driver .
    i am 12 passed student but i do not have ITI. so can i give the exam conduct by RRB.

89. 15
    sanjeev:

what is the salary of the railway engine driver?

90. 14
    Mithun mohan:

I have passed 10th but I have not appeared for ITI,so I can apply for engine driver in RRB?

91. 13
    refin:

first step to write this exam .all details for conduct this exam.

92. 12
    Shubham singh:

What is starting process and when i will give a rrb exam

93. 11
    mohammed ismail:

I have passed the 12th but i do not have ITI. have i elegible to apply for the railway engine driver. Please give me the all information required to became an railway engine driver come in any place

94. 10
    Jitendra:

sir, i m passed in HSC exam and i do in present ITI (MMV) course and i intrested in LOCOPILOT please give me all information to railway engine driver bharti come in any place.

95. 9
    Biswaranjan Sahoo.:

i am intersst to Railway Engine Driver. so who to apply this job. please sir give me informestion Please.

96. 8
    Aashutosh Shukla:

Respected sir, i have pass my H.S.C. In commerce stream. My age is 24 now. But i have not done any ITI course. I want to become an engine driver. I am from Navsari(Gujarat). What i have to do ?

97. 7
    anbaras:

where we can get application

98. 6
    satish:

Sir i have completed my B.sc(electronics,maths,computer science). I want to become a train pilot.So what should i do to get into Indian Railways as a train pilot.

99. 5
    loco pilot:

Sir i completed 12th standerd in science and i am intrested in train pilot job so how can got the job…..

100. 4
    sachin.p.khamitkar:

can i become the railway driver? using diploma degree in IT trade.

101. 3
    g.selvaraj:

rrb question papers

102. 2
    kiran:

sir i am kiran i am doing ITI civil 2nd year can i get a job in engine driver pls tell me sir.

103. 1
    Sabjay:

how can i prepare for railway ticket checker?