26th May 2010, 11:22 PM
maithili_k

Career options in Biology subject after 12th?

i have passed my 12th exams with 71%..i would like to pursue biology as a special subject.what are the career options including B.Sc

27th May 2010, 12:14 AM

Default Re: Career options in Biology subject after 12th?

After Bsc biology, there may not be many career options, but you could take a post graduation in areas like biochemistry, microbiology, zoology etc and then you could go for some research positions in biological institutes or go for lectureship writing UGC NET exams.
27th May 2010, 01:38 AM
angelica101

Hi, biology is a great career option ..you can either choose to do MBBS or go for bachelors degree either with microbiology, biotechnology , genetics ,biochemistry, chemistry all of which are very rapidly growing fields in India .You can either research these fields or work for pharmaceutical companies and much more .best of luck
27th May 2010, 01:00 PM
sanjusays

If you are interested in biology you can go for bio informatics....it will be a combination of biology and information technology...moreover this field is quite a lot in demand now -a-days in market.....Bsc biology is good but scope wise i would say b tech biology is better.....
27th May 2010, 01:28 PM
Noorul ayn

you can do B.Sc biotechnology,B.Tech biotechnology
and you can also do B.Sc biology,.
after completing B.Sc biotech, do M.Sc biotech, there is lot of opportunities for M.Sc biotech
27th May 2010, 01:48 PM
jicks

Hello dear,

You have variety of options in choosing Biology.
Bio-Technology is becoming fastest growing field in India.
Bio-Technology can be defined as fusion of Biology and Technology.
The following courses are offered in the field of Bio-technology after 12th:-

B.Sc(Biotechnology)-3 years
B.Tech(Biotechnology)-4 years
M.Tech(Biotechnology0 - 5 years
M.Sc(Agriculture) Biotechnology- after B.sc.-2 years
M.Sc(Marine) Biotechnology- after B.Sc.-2 years

Many Universities and colleges offer the above courses.

You have a number of career options if you complete Bio-technology graduation or Post-Graduation course.

Research Scientist
Marketing Manager
Bio-informists
Quality Control officer
Production, Planning areas in Food, chemical & Pharmaceutical Companies
In Govt. Sectors/ Universities/ Colleges

Major organizations offering job:

Thapar group
Hindustan Lever Limited
IDPL
TATA Engineering Research Institute
Bivco
India Vaccines Corporation

Remuneration:

Depends on your academic qualification, and Institute, University from which you are qualified, also on work experience, and the company which offers you the job.

Fresh B.Sc( Biotechnology) get around 50,000 to 70,000 per year
Fresh IIT (Biotech) get around 75,000 to 85,000 per year
27th May 2010, 02:27 PM

There are very wide career in Biology subject after 12th. You can
choose Bsc in biology or biotech or micro biology many more after
12th and You may opt for the Medical line also after completing
12th from biology.........
27th May 2010, 03:25 PM
drdo99

Choice of career is yours. Sometimes one should go by the market
Don’t say no. there are many fields to choose from against B.TECH.do your graduation with bio chemistry, biotechnology, pharmacy, microbiology, life sciences, others. India is a booming market for well trained people and I think your place lies there.
27th May 2010, 03:28 PM
drdo99

Don’t say no. there are many fields to choose from .do your graduation with bio chemistry, biotechnology, pharmacy, microbiology, life sciences, others. India is a booming market for well trained people and I think your place lies there.
Choice of career is one’s own.
27th May 2010, 04:12 PM
kool

dear friend, as you a student passed +2 with 71% marks.
You can build your career in MBBS,BDS,Bio-tech,bio-informatics,microbiology,bio-chemistry,Agriculture etc.
kindly just mind set of yourself & choose career as per your choice.
27th May 2010, 07:17 PM
Revathi rajan

Thumbs up Re: Career options in Biology subject after 12th?

You can better do B.Tech in BioTechnology.....Which has a scope now-a-days.....wish you all the best
29th May 2010, 03:49 PM

i want to do medical science. what to do??
30th May 2010, 01:18 PM

I WANT 2 GO INTO GENETIC ENGINERING AFTER 12TH.WHERE ARE D CGOVT COLLEGES IN INDIA 4 STUDYNG GENETIC ENGINERING?
1st June 2010, 02:11 PM

what is the qualification for bsc biotech
1st June 2010, 07:14 PM

I WANT TO DO BIOTECHNOLOGY FROM BSC
2nd June 2010, 04:58 PM
sarath menon

Originally Posted by maithili_k View Post
i have passed my 12th exams with 71%..i would like to pursue biology as a special subject.what are the career options including B.Sc
if u hav passed +2 and is intrested in biology go for microbiology,nursing. microbiology has a great scope now adays and is much preffered by students lyk u who passed +2. so hurry and get a seat in a good college for microbiology!!!!!!!1 all the best in ur future
4th June 2010, 10:40 PM

i have passed my 12th class with 61%.give me career option in BSc field
5th June 2010, 01:43 PM

i love doctory but my parents says that its too difficult for general category students... so shall i take commerce or bio?
5th June 2010, 08:54 PM

i am in 12th stander wants to know that how i prepare for M.B.B.S. by clearing C.P.M.T. exam? Please tell me the full detail about it.
5th June 2010, 09:05 PM

Smile Re: Career options in Biology subject after 12th?

Originally Posted by sarath menon View Post
if u hav passed +2 and is intrested in biology go for microbiology,nursing. microbiology has a great scope now adays and is much preffered by students lyk u who passed +2. so hurry and get a seat in a good college for microbiology!!!!!!!1 all the best in ur future
hieee..i hav cmpleted ma 12th wid 70.83% i would like to go 4 microbiology would u plz tell me iz der any scope 4 it...n wat r d coll in maharashtra i will b thankful ie u reply me quickly....thhnx
5th June 2010, 09:08 PM

HIIEEE I HAV JUST COMPLETD MA 12TH WID 70.83%...I WOULD LYK 2 MICROBIOLOGY WILL U PLZ TELL IS DER ANY SCOPE 4 IT N WICH COLL OFFER DIS COURSE IN MAHARASHTRA.....THANX
6th June 2010, 12:47 PM

i want to go in microbiology field.Give me suggetion what would i do.Plz rply me i am waiting
6th June 2010, 05:16 PM

i have passed my 2 in 50% im confused coz i got so low % so pls tel me that which has scope in, b sc biology,
11th June 2010, 01:43 PM

best career with highest salary for next ten years for bio students
12th June 2010, 08:39 PM

What is the salary for a candidate completing MSc & Phd in biotechnology?
20th June 2010, 05:52 PM

wht is d scope for microbiology after 12th....could u plz suggest colleges nd courses for d same in mumbai...thanx...!!!
23rd June 2010, 09:53 PM

I've just passed my 12th with biology nd got 94.8% marks. I am confused about b.sc n C.A.
24th June 2010, 10:49 PM
sital

their is lots of carrer option in biology after 12th.
you can do MBBS or BDS.
to get admission to it you have to give an entrance exam
25th June 2010, 12:16 AM
sherleytwain

Most common ones - Medical
B.pharm
biotech - ( I suggest not to go for it poor job oppurtunities at least for now )

DU courses -
I'll guess you Bsc. microbiology, after doing bsc. you can actually do biotech, bio medical science, medical microbiology, the benefit will be that after 3 years there might be some change in scope of such subjects and then choose the right option

but there are some other options also
Bsc. Life science
Bsc. Biochemistry

but in Bsc. courses microbiology is best

or you can also do biomeical science (entrance for this one )
25th June 2010, 08:37 AM
August

Thumbs up Re: Career options in Biology subject after 12th?

dear friend as u have passed 12 with biology as main paper so there is a number of emerging lines u can choose any one of them as per ur intetest.

1.MBBS

2.BIO.TECHNOLOGY

3.MICROBIOLOGY

4.ORGANIC CHEMISTRY

5.PHARMACIST

6.BOTANY,ZOOLOGY

7.NURSING(medical surgical nursing,community health nursing)

8.AYURVED MEDICAL PLANT SCIENCES

9.BIOINFORMATICS

25th June 2010, 12:51 PM
vidh

Hi dear, u may give cpmt entrance exam for mbbs or bds ,acording to your rank u can get colleges other than this you may also give entrance exam for biotech engineering from uptu, u can do b.farma or bsc from various colleges. Gud luck
25th June 2010, 12:53 PM
Amritansu subh

Dear biology is one of the evergreen subject in science as it related to life of human beings and the following are the branches in which you can build you carrier
1-B.sc(zoology/botany/biotech)
2-You can be a pathologist
3-A geologist
4-A nurse
5-A doctor
6-An agriculture engineers
etc
GOODLUCK
REGARDS
**AMRITANSU**
25th June 2010, 10:23 PM
sandy B

hello friend,according to my openion after 12th you can do bio technology,or you can do b.sc in micro biology,or you can do bio medial engineering..
26th June 2010, 05:58 PM
karthu

HAI
Its a nice choice that you have taken . There are many branches of biology in btech.
I will list them.
1. GENETIC ENGG.
2. GENE THERAPY
3. IMMUNOTECHNOLOGIES
4. TISSUE CULTURE
5. STEM CULTURE TECHNIQUES
6. ENZYME ENGG & TECHNOLOGY
7. DRUG DESIGN
8. ORGAN TRANSPLANTATION
9. NANOBIOTECHNOLOGY
10. BIOREMEDIADTION

I think you will like any of these branches.
ALL THE BEST
26th June 2010, 11:41 PM

hiiii presently m second year B.sc student can u suggest some good options dat i can take up aftr B.sc.wat do u think about forensic science.ist it good option and wat abt its scope?????????plzzz reply m waiting
27th June 2010, 04:15 PM
yatsra

genetic is booming industry.
the lots are there in iit as degree holder.
you seek the best to do in microbiology,biotechnology,biochemistry and others.
27th June 2010, 06:16 PM

hi this is tamanna. i am studying in 12th and i an very confused of which course to do in biology. CAN YOU SUGGEST ME SOMETHING OF WHICH COURSE I SHOULD PREFER WHERE I COULD EARN 6 TO 7 FIGURE?
27th June 2010, 06:50 PM
reethmonica

as you have finished your +2 with 71% its difficult for you to get set in MBBS but you can apply for B Sc and B TECH in biotechnology ,biomedical or B Sc bio chemistry, microbiology, Bachelor of Applied Science(BAS), BPharm
27th June 2010, 06:57 PM
SJ.18

you didnt give any medical exam as for now.
If not then you have option in B.Sc. in microbiology, bio-tech,Bio-informatics.
After that you can do masters in your field.
28th June 2010, 12:33 AM
anindya_forever

Since u r too interested in biology, you can complete B.Sc and B.ed to become eligible for a biology teacher in secondary schools.
You can also become biologist,bio-genetic expert etc after completing post graduate in bio (Msc) and joining said posts .
29th June 2010, 03:29 PM

there is a wide scope in biology
you can go for the followiing career
bsc in life science or hons
pharmacy
mbbs
bds
clinical research
physiotherapy
medicine
3rd July 2010, 11:18 PM

are ther jobs after doing bsc. micobiology?
4th July 2010, 08:20 AM
gohan4

HI
Biology is stream which don't left more option for you.
you can give entrance of PMT ,BDS and also go for B.pharmacy and Mpharmacy you can also
become a biology lecturer.

Last edited by gohan4; 9th July 2010 at 08:10 AM.
6th July 2010, 08:37 PM
sherleytwain

are ther jobs after doing bsc. micobiology?
This field is much known for research and quality control therefore a masters or doctorate degree is must for a good job. You cannot get a good job with bsc.
6th July 2010, 08:53 PM

in which biological career i can earn most(max 90,000/month)
8th July 2010, 08:44 PM

hi im studing in 12 and i m confused what to do after 12.plz any one can help me
12th July 2010, 03:45 PM
Dkiran

hi,friend,you need to perform very good in CET exam so that you can go for medical stream,which considers only CET marks which is multiple choice questions with no negative markings.
31st July 2010, 08:31 PM
s.k.singh

clinical research
bsc in life science or hons
pharmacy
drug design
mbbs
physiotherapy
medicine
genetic enginering
gene therepy
tissue cultutre
bds
4th August 2010, 12:35 AM
satish shrivastav

i love doctory but my parents says that its too difficult for general category students... so shall i take commerce or bio?

Hi dear friend ,
If you want to become a doctor and you have the interest in this field then you don't go for other field because you will do better in this field than other,

as per saying your parent it is too difficult for general category,leave that thing ahead and study hard, if you thing that anything is difficult to me then you get fear about that so don't fear that it is too hard or difficult just target your aim,if you do not target the aim how will you achieve it, so you go with your mind instead of other

best luck
5th August 2010, 03:54 AM
Jitendra malviya

Location: 8-bhawani shri lakshya , chhatrasal nagar ,phase 1 ,Bhopal(M.P.),462023

here much more career option after 12 th with bio are-

MBBS

BDS

B.PHARMA

BIOTECHNOLOGY

MICROBIOLOGY

PHYSIOTHERAPY

GENE CLONING

FINGER PRINTING

GENETIC ENGINEERING

CHEMICAL ENGINEERING

PHARMACEUTICALS

GENE THERAPY

IMMUNOTECHNOLOGIES

TISSUE CULTURE

STEM CULTURE TECHNIQUES

ENZYME ENGG & TECHNOLOGY

DRUG DESIGN

ORGAN TRANSPLANTATION

NANOBIOTECHNOLOGY

BIOREMEDIADTION

ETC.