6th September 2010, 07:36 PM

GATE or CAT, which exam B.tech students should prepare?

I am a student of B.Tech. and I am in second year. Please tell me for which exam I should prepare for? Is it GATE or CAT?

6th September 2010, 08:38 PM
kool

Default Re: GATE or CAT, which exam B.tech students should prepare?

These both exams CAT & GATE is belong to two different field.
It is fully depend upon your choice that in which field you want to move after your B.Tech.
If you are continuing your study towards your technical paper or research field or teaching field
then you should choose GATE.
otherwise CAT is better for you, it provide you the way to take admission in different B schools like
IIMs. & Todays the market of MBA is very booming & job oriented course.
kindly choose any one of these options & start preparation from now.

6th September 2010, 09:22 PM
robart

Thumbs up Re: GATE or CAT, which exam B.tech students should prepare?

you are free to do choose any career option after B.tech. because you are eligible for both exam.
now it depends upon you that in which field you want to go.or in which field your interest is.

look after doing GATE you can join teaching and research fields.these fields are very interesting.you can earn fame as well s money.after getting good marks in GATE exam you can join reputed engineering college like IITs, NITs etc.

after doing CTA you can join top reputed managements colleges like IIMs.

after passing your management course you will join top companies as a manager.your salary will be much more higher than any field.
so choice is yours.you can choose any field.

6th September 2010, 09:23 PM
Fraction Down

There are mainly two ways after B.Tech,in that case I think it is totally depends upon your willingness ,means in which course you have more interest go for that.

The main two ways are M.Tech & MBA,these are totally different ways of study.

As you are a student of B.Tech,according to me you should go for M.Tech,
after completion of the M.Tech there are so many ways,you can go for PH.D or professor post because after all those your confidence & experience will be in the high.

for taking admission in M.Tech you have to sit in GATE exam,
Gate is one of the top national level exam .

for this exam:
i)you have to study properly,
ii)you have to clear all basic concepts,
iii)general aptitude,verbal,non-verbal are also added in new pattern of GATE exam.

If you have interest in MBA for your status or money ,for this you have to sit in CAT exam.
at last everything is depends upon you.

Good luck.
6th September 2010, 09:47 PM
Sushant Roy

Hard to answer in your respect. Introspect yourself, whether you are lacking in your technical skills or you are having managerial ability.
Old type of suggestions , isnt it??
friend, no need to confuse in such a matter when you know that GATE exam is much easier to crack than CAT. It is true that course curriculum in GATE is much tuffer than CAT but you can easily take out this fact that number of applicants and competition as well , is more than GATE examinationl.

As there are hardly 100000(one lacks for a single stream) student appear for GATE exam but for CAT this figure goes to more than 3.75 lacks.
All it depends upto you whether you want to fight with your technical subjects in future or not.
6th September 2010, 10:48 PM
poplu13

In my opinion..GATE is the stream which most b.tech students must prefer as we can apply our knowledge and we get full value to what we have learnt...Going for CAT is absolutely not a bad idea...but remember CAT makes your stream different...its about bussiness and management...

Well the choice is always yours...

Good luck !!
6th September 2010, 10:49 PM
nikhilesh005

Thumbs up Re: GATE or CAT, which exam B.tech students should prepare?

Both test have a good competition level and are best at their place now it completely depends upon you,If you are interested in master,s degree in Engineering line or you have interested in lectureship then you should join M.Tech through GATE and if you think you are good in business then you should prepare for CAT examination i.e for MBA
7th September 2010, 12:07 AM
chaitu667

Hai!

Both the GATE and CAT are of different streams, I mean they are different in every aspect.

GATE is the exam that based on your B.Tech knowledge where you can score most of the marks. In case of CAT it is different and it gives you the oppurtunity to enter in B-schools like IIM, which are most successful institutes for business management.

Generally speaking, there is a different life in doing MBA after finishing B.Tech. It gives you most of the best oppurtunities for to settle down in life. Opting for CAT is the best one than GATE but GATE has its unique oppurtunities to grab and to settle in future. So, I suggest you to prepare for CAT more than GATE and dont neglect GATE.

CAT(MBA) is more professional than GATE(M.Tech). Please try for CAT.

ALL THE BEST!
7th September 2010, 01:05 AM
noproblem

MBA is not only for commerce student its for everyone specialy for those people who has marketing skills
HR
so my advice would be go for it if u r having those skills & by the way lots of engineering guys are doing MBA !

Well about CAT it require much more effort
7th September 2010, 08:58 AM
meeria

GATE & CAT exam totaly different each other,
if you want to do M.tech after B.tech then you will must appear in GATE exam after qualify GATE you can take admid in M.tech,

if you want to do MBA after B.tech then you will must appear in CAT exam after qualify CAT you can take admid in MBA,

you are B.tech student well, you see if you interested about your B.tech subject
then you can do B.tech by given exam GATE, after M.tech, you can do P.hd
if you will do good score in GATE exam more then 96% then you can get chance in IIT college like................

IIT Bombay http://www.iitb.ac.in
IIT Guwahati http://www.iitg.ernet.in
IIT Kanpur http://www.iitk.ac.in
IIT Kharagpur http://www.iitkgp.ac.in/
IIT Madras http://www.iitm.ac.in
IIT Delhi http://www.iitd.ernet.in/

beside have many NIT & government .............

you can also do MBA by given CAT,after B.tech...........
some MBA colleges are........

1.Indian Institute of Management (Ahmedabad)
Address : Vastrapur, Ahmedabad - 380 015, INDIA
Contact No : 91 79 2630 8357, [email protected]

Indian Institute of Management (LUCKNOW)
Address : Prabandh Nagar, Off Sitapur Road,Lucknow,Uttar Pradesh,India,PIN : 226013
Contact No : 00(91)(522)2761397, 00(91)(522)2761437,

Indian Institute of Management (Kolkata)
Address : Diamond Harbour Road Joka, Kolkata (Calcutta) - 700104, West Bengal, INDIA
Contact No : +91-33-2282-4598, +91-33-2467-9178

Indian Institute of Management (Kozhikode)
Address : IIMK Campus P. O., Kozhikode 673 570, Kerala, India
Contact No : +91-495-2803001

Indian Institute of Management (Indore)
Address : Prabandh ShikharRau-Pithampur Road,Indore 453 331,Madhya Pradesh, NDIA
Contact No : + 91-731-4228400

Indian Institute of Management (Bangalore)
Address : Bannerghatta Road, Bangalore, IndiaPin Code : 560 076
Contact No : 91-80-26582450

Faculty of Management Studies, Delhi University (FMS)(New Delhi)
Address : Faculty of Management StudiesUniversity of DelhiDelhi - 110007
Contact No : +91 11 2766 6382 / 6387 / 6388

Jamnalal Bajaj Institute of Management Studies (Mumbai)
Address : Backbay Reclamation, Mumbai, India. Pin - 400020
Contact No : +91 - 022 - 22024133 / 22024118 / 22025153

Xavier Labour Research Institute (XLRI) (Jamshedpur)
Address : XLRI Circuit House Area (East)Jamshedpur 831 001JharkhandIndia
Contact No : +91 - 657 - 398 3333

SP Jain Institute of Management & Research (Mumbai)
Address : Munshi Nagar, Dadabhai Road, Andheri West,Mumbai - 400 058, India.
Contact No : +91-22-2623 7454 / 0396 / 2401

Institute of Management Technology (Ghaziabad)
Address : Raj Nagar, Ghaziabad 201 001, India
Contact No : +91 0120 3002200

Xavier Institute of Management (Bhubaneshwar)
Address : Bhubaneswar - 751 013, India
Contact No : 91.674 3012345

International Management Institute (New Delhi)
Address : B-10, Qutab Institutional Area, Tara Crescent, New Delhi - 110016
Contact No : 2696-1437/3519/6143, 2686-3701, 2652-8276/9237/9338/9239

Management Development Institute (Gurgaon)
Address : Mehrauli RoadSukhrali, Gurgaon - 122001INDIA
Contact No : + 91 124 2349831-36, 4013050-59

FORE School of Management (New Delhi)
Address : B-18, Qutab Institutional Area, New Delhi, India
Contact No : 91-11-41242424-33

National Institute of Industrial Engineering (Mumbai)
Address : NITIE Campus,Near Vihar Lake,Mumbai 400087, Maharashtra, India
Contact No : 022 28575590

Balaji Institute of Modern Management (BIMM)

Address: S. No. 55/2-7, Tathawade, Opp. Wakad Police Station,
Off Mumbai-Bangalore bypass, Pune - 411 033
Maharashtra, India
Contact No : +91-20-6674 1249, 6674 1250
Fax No : +91-20-6674 1242

18- Indian School of Business (ISB)Address: Gachibowli
Hyderabad-500 032
India
Contact No: +91 40 2300 7000

as you wish

7th September 2010, 10:47 AM
sanjusabu

The Common Admission Test (CAT) is an all-India test conducted by the Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs) as an entrance exam for the management programmes of its seven business schools.

Question Type :-

The test is multiple-choice based with roughly one-fourth negative-mark penalties for wrong answers, and

The syllabus includes :-
Arithmetical problem solving, geometry, statistics, data interpretation, logical reasoning, puzzles, and English language skills.

Exam Date :-
It is held on the third Sunday of November each year.

Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE) is an all India examination administered and conducted jointly by the Indian Institute of Science and seven Indian Institutes of Technology on behalf of the National Coordination Board – GATE, Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India.

Question Pattern :-

1) From Q.1 to Q.25:- It will carry one mark each where subtotal will be 25 marks. There will be negative marking. If you have given wrong answer, 1/3 mark will be deducted for each wrong answer .

2) From Q.26 to Q.55:- It will carry two marks each where subtotal will be 60 marks. For every wrong answer, 2/3 marks will be deducted.

3) From Q.56 to Q.60:- Questions of General aptitude will carry one mark each. So there will be sub-total of 5 marks and for each wrong answer, 1/3 marks will be deducted.

4) From Q.61 to Q.65:- It will carry two marks each where the sub-total will be 10 marks. For every wrong answer, there will be deduction of 2/3 marks.

For details of GATE and CAT syllabus check out my attachments.

Now choice is totally depend upon you. Good luck.
File Type: txt cat_syllabus.txt(2.1 KB, 486 views)
File Type: txt gate_syllabus.txt(35.3 KB, 327 views)
7th September 2010, 11:50 AM
NiketGupta

I am a student of B.Tech. and I am in second year. Please tell me for which exam I should prepare for? Is it GATE or CAT?
There are equal opportunities in both the fields you must find your interest whether you like the technical stuff or management one.
You can join courses in India or abroad also.
You just think by yourself what is your field of interest is.
7th September 2010, 07:44 PM
bapuram

you can attain both of the two, if you want to be a faculty of an institute then you must admit through gate in a recognized institution but if you want to be a job in manager post or want to start a business then you complete mba course through cat exam now choice is yours what you want to be.
7th September 2010, 09:38 PM
mini rani

Whether to prepare for GATE or CAT exam depends on which course you want to pursue further.

CAT exam is conducted by IIMs for admission into their management course i.e. PGDBM. Some other top institutes like BIT, MDI, ISM etc. also accept CT score. For admission into MBA course you can also appear for other management entrance exam like MAT, XAT, SNAP etc.

GATE exam is necessary to qualify for admission into MTech course.
8th September 2010, 06:24 AM
priyo06

dear friend ,

see CAT and GATE both are two different type of exam , so different preparation.

for GATE just go through departmental paper but you not mention your department if you mention your department then it is easy to me to tell you about the syllabus and how to prepare yourself.

for CAT you have to go through management subject wise and departmental subjects.

one best suggestion i give you to search internet and collect information about this type of exam.As you are a 2 nd year student ,so from tomorrow you start your preparation and i hope you will score a good in GATE exam in your final year GATE exam..

good luck...
8th September 2010, 12:48 PM
sayan550

I'm suggesting you to go for GATE after B.Tech.by through gate you can entered in masters of B.Tech.that is M.Tech.but completing your BE you don't need to take CAT.which is all over India entrance exam for MCA.it because for our IT sector MCA degree is equivalent as per as BE
From here you can all the necessary information about your 2011 GATE exam...

http://www.careerquips.blogspot.com/2010/06/gate-2011-exam-date-notification.html

From here you can all the necessary information about your 2011 CAT exam...

http://www.careerquips.blogspot.com/2009/10/cat-2010-exam-date-notification.html
8th September 2010, 03:46 PM

GATE and CAT is totally different. GATE exam is for M.tech. in M.tech you can study about your technical subject. after completion you may join to a college as a lecturer or you may join in large company.
but CAT is exam after which you can study MBA if you qualify. in MBA you will be manager of any company or you will be in administrative level. the salary will be very high comparable after completion of M.tech.
i will suggest you to be prepare for GATE. because in CAT any graduate student can appear but in GATE can not. also for MBA technical knowledge is less required then why you studied b.tech with so much expense. so GATE should be more preferable for b.tech student. they can explore their technical knowledge from GATE.
at last choice is your. both the field has different different advantage and disadvantage. choose the best one which is suitable for you more.
8th September 2010, 06:36 PM
Bishwajit Giri

Generally,there are two ways in which maximum students wanna go for higher study after B.Tech,these are M.Tech & MBA.

According to me as you are a student of B.Tech,then you should go for M.Tech in which you achieve more and more knowledge in your subject as well as your experience also.

I am saying because MBA and M.Tech are two different ways,these are so good in their position ,

generally MBA is business line ,marketing,financial line ,
in case of M.Tech you will achieve more and more knowledge in your subject as well as your experience also. .

To take admission in M.Tech after the B.Tech then you have to sit in GATE exam,
through which you can get chance to take admission in so many good institutes on India,such as :

if you can score more than 95 percentile you can have:
1:all NITs,
2:all IIts(Kanpur,Kharafpur,Bombay,Roorkee,Delhi,Madras, Guahati)
3:Jadavpur University etc...in those top most M.Tech colleges.

If you have interest in MBA,then you have to sit in CAT(Common Entrance Test),through which you can take admission in all IIMs.

However,choice is 100 percent yours.

If you wanna increase your knowledge then go for M.Tech and then Ph.D,
If you have choice in making a very good life style,status of your life or management skill, or money then you can choose MBA,

at last choice.

Good luck.
15th September 2010, 11:41 PM

i just want to ask that what types of jobs we gate after doing MTech.
16th September 2010, 12:47 AM
poplu13

dear friend after b.tech both the options are equally good...CAT will put ypu into a different line ..that is management section such as finance and marketing and M.tech will have applications of what you have studied in your b.tech/.the choice will be always yours/...

Good luck !!
16th September 2010, 01:02 AM

i just want to ask that what types of jobs we gate after doing MTech.
An MTech person is more specialized to his field and ofcourse he/she is having more knowledge of the field.
So an M tech person gets to be appointed to a higher post than that of a Btech gets.
The main advantage is that if you got both chances ie. Research and Development Section and the other is Operation section.
You can make your way as per your interest after doing Mtech.
But Btech candidates are very less appointed in R&D section and also they start with level one of executives. Whereas M Tech candidates get directly to level 2 or level 3 post.
18th September 2010, 01:24 AM

i just want to ask after btech which field we like,mtech or mba where we earn more money & better life which is best for my parents becoz i am confussed.
26th September 2010, 01:02 PM

for btech cse which one i.e GATE or cat is best
26th September 2010, 01:24 PM

today is the b.tech not sufficent.............................
4th October 2010, 08:12 PM

what is the use of writing gate or cat exam ?
12th October 2010, 08:16 PM
prerna priyam

how many chances a student can get to sit in gate exam?
12th October 2010, 08:22 PM
prerna priyam

how many chances a student can get to sit in gate exam?
12th October 2010, 09:46 PM
Rudraprasad

Smile Re: GATE or CAT, which exam B.tech students should prepare?

if you wish to stay in technical course then GATE option for you,or if you are not interested in technical and want to go for management then go for CAT.

12th October 2010, 10:56 PM
prashantmeghalia

dear friend, a btech student should prepare for gate exam only. this is because mtech is related to what he had studied in btech. cat exam is entirely different from his field. if you go for mba then you will find a lot of difficulties in doing that. becuse that is a management field and a btech student deals with technical knowledge. so in my opinion, he should go for gate exam.
13th October 2010, 12:26 AM

see, you can do two career oriented courses.

the given below two career oriented courses will be benificial for you.

1.MTECH.

2.MBA.

if you want to do engg related jobs in good company. then mtech will be best choise for you.

so you must give gate exam.

but if you don't have interest in engg related jobs. then MBA will be best option for you.

so you must give CAT exam.

but one things you should remember, for getting promotion in company, mba is essentially required.

all the best............
13th October 2010, 12:40 AM
teeks

DEAR b.tech student can prapare for both the CAT AND GATE depends on there interest if you want to study more in your field then go for GATE and M.TECH and
if you want to get good salary in the marketr then go for the CAT AND A do MBA.
13th October 2010, 01:06 AM
August

CAT and GATE are different from each other. both are different fields.

it is all about your interest .

CAT is an entrance exam to get admission in MBA which is related to business field.

any graduate can apply for this .

if you will score good percentile then you will be able to take admission in IIMs and other reputed business schools.

GATE is to get admission in M.TECH.

it is your higher study in your own field.

both the fields have more scope . don't get confused about your decision for your own career.

13th October 2010, 01:39 PM
aotiwari

The same difficulty i was facing whether to go for technical or for non technical, but understand one thing if you are interested in businees then only opt for an MBA.
13th October 2010, 06:09 PM
expart

hello friend

see if you are interested to do core engg related jobs. then mtech will be best option for you.

then you give gate exam.

if you are interested in manegerial jobs then you must give cat to do mba.

all the best....
13th October 2010, 06:17 PM
vik111

An MTech person is more specialized to his field and ofcourse he/she is having more knowledge of the field.
So an M tech person gets to be appointed to a higher post than that of a Btech gets.
The main advantage is that if you got both chances ie. Research and Development Section and the other is Operation section.
You can make your way as per your interest after doing Mtech.
But Btech candidates are very less appointed in R&D section and also they start with level one of executives. Whereas M Tech candidates get directly to level 2 or level 3 post.
15th October 2010, 08:36 PM
skaagarajsikri

my college is not very good so i am not good in btech related subject but i am also not know about managment so tell me which will be better for me btech or mba
10th November 2010, 03:31 PM
chandana Reddy

hi...
both are equivalently good...
if you want to take up research then go for mtech after your btech...if you are interested in business side then go for MBA..

12th November 2010, 01:29 AM
Gaurav.jain88

If you want to continue in the technical field then gate is better otherwise cat is better.
I think it is better to go for cat in current senerio as it gives you good tag in comparision to gate.
If you looking for some public sector then gate is better and if you looking for the private sector then cat is best.
19th March 2011, 08:40 PM

What kind of jobs does an ECE (B.Tech) student get?
20th March 2011, 08:51 AM
maddusajj

hi..
truly speaking this is an very ethical question,
there is an lots of thoughts that if an student want to do an mba degree then there is no need to do the engineering at all because in mba there wont be any use of his technological knowledge which he has gained in four years,
there are many thoughts that an engineering student should go for higher studies in the field of technology only and go for research but in our country because most of the engineering graduates go for the mba there have not be any research or new finds in our country in the engineering fields,and the number of research scholars are very less,
were as if you see in the foreign countries its completely opposite as the student from engineering back ground prefer research as there career option,
but all this is an moral question its up to you decide your future
24th April 2011, 11:04 AM
Expert_Exams

It actually depends on the interest and the skills of a person.

If you want to pursue a management carrer then go for CAT. Skill set required for cracking CAT is that you should be good in school level maths and English. Moreover the skills which will help you to become a good manager is good understanding of human beings, situation and communication skills.

If you want to pursue a research carrer then go for GATE. Skill set required for cracking GATE is that you should be good in Engg basics, maths, QA,LR,DI and English. Carrer in research would expect you to be innovative and is often tough. You should mastered the Engg Concepts and should also be innovative to excel in a research carrer.
15th May 2011, 03:06 PM

what are the different ways after GATE Exam?
28th May 2011, 08:50 AM

Hello !
What is the minimum percentile to get an IIT?
12th July 2011, 10:21 PM

I am B.E(MECHANICAL) student of second year.How to prepare for GATE and what are the contents for preparing for GATE.
14th July 2011, 10:56 PM
shekhar.379

Hard to answer in your respect. Introspect yourself, whether you are lacking in your technical skills or you are having managerial ability.
Old type of suggestions , isnt it??
friend, no need to confuse in such a matter when you know that GATE exam is much easier to crack than CAT. It is true that course curriculum in GATE is much tuffer than CAT but you can easily take out this fact that number of applicants and competition as well , is more than GATE examinationl.

As there are hardly 100000(one lacks for a single stream) student appear for GATE exam but for CAT this figure goes to more than 3.75 lacks.
All it depends upto you whether you want to fight with your technical subjects in future or not.
7th September 2011, 12:55 AM
harshchauhan

Hi ,
What I personally believe is you should get into M.tech .
Since your an engineering student , you should opt foe masters in the same field only .
If you are so interested in MBA then why did you opt engineering , you must have selected B.Com ,or BBA it would have saved you a year . And would provide you a proper back ground for your future studies .
16th September 2011, 04:22 PM

sir..i hv done MCA from ignou and i want to be a professor......is gate helpful for me....
24th September 2011, 01:52 AM

Hello, m a student of Engineering IT 3rd year and m very confused dat I should opt for M.Tech or MBA?? Plz suggest me accordng to my technical IT field...
15th October 2011, 11:48 PM

if recession hits then management guys are the first to be chosen for firing... mtech guys have alternate fields to make their carrier...raghavendra gokhale
31st October 2011, 12:38 AM
vinay21feb

my friend,
GATE is the graduate aptitude test of engineering.
After completing B.E graduation and also B.E final year student can apply for GATE exam.
there is no limit to apply for GATE.
GATE result is valid for 2 year.

the next GATE 2012 exam is on 12 febuary.
form and registration process is finished.so you can not apply for GATE 2012 even you are eligible for apply.
best of luck.....