How to Prepare for GATE Exam?

The GATE is National level Entrance Exam and it is held every year in different zone all over the country. The GATE exam is carried out by GATE Committee. The candidates will be admitted in different PG courses at renowned engineering colleges in the country. The Entrance Exam will be conducted on the first week of February. A Bachelor Degree in Engineering is a must for those wish to apply for the exam. Those who have appeared in their final degree exam are also eligible to apply for this test.

Structure of the GATE Exam

The entrance exam consists of 60 questions which be of objective and will be for 100 marks. The duration of this test is 3 hours. There will be a total of four options and the answer should be marked in ORS sheet. From this the candidate will have to choose the apt one. Negative marks will vary based on the marks for a particular question.

Syllabus of the GATE Exam

The questions will be based on the stream chosen by the candidate. The syllabus will be related to the B.Tech course. There will also be a section on the General Aptitude. For each of the specialisation there are certain areas that the candidates must prepare. A total of 55 questions will be from the engineering syllabus. Out of these there will around 15 marks questions from Engineering Mathematics. There will be both 1 mark and 2 marks questions in this section. Rest 10 questions will be from the General Aptitude section. This section will have questions which will have both ½ mark and 1 mark.

Reference Books for GATE Exam

There are a wide range of options available. Books by Millman Halkias are known for Electronics stream. There are various authors like Mathew Sadiku, K.D.Prasad in the Electromagnetics area. Candidate needs to select the books based on the stream chosen.

Study Plan for the GATE Exam

The exam will test candidate’s conceptual knowledge. Standard books for GATE exam are available. Time available should be properly apportioned for each section. Prepare well for all the portions thoroughly. They can try to prepare some notes on each chapter after they read. This will be helpful during the revision period. There are many websites available in online which will help to analyze their preparation level. The GATE Exam consists of objective type questions and sometimes solving these questions is tricky. The candidate should go through previous year question papers and model papers. This will offer you an idea about the exam.

22 Responses to “How to Prepare for GATE Exam?”

1. 22
    U Mishra:

i study in b tech first year in ece branch now.
    please tell me , how i prepare for GATE ?

2. 21
    mani:

sir iam in final year b.e in telecom stream what are the streams available in mtech for telecom

3. 20
    Swapna:

Now iam going to 4-1(btech civil). I want to appear in 2013 Gate exam with better preparation of gate at home.sir plz suggest me the best way to study and send tips & material how to get rank in Gate.plz send. Thankyou…

4. 19
    sharad s.:

how time we can give the gate exam?

5. 18
    srikanth:

hai sir,
    I am studying 3rd b.tech ece. plz…..sugest me how to prepare gate exam 2014

6. 17
    Kirankumar:

I am studying in 2nd yr cse dept.suggest me the book material to study and tell about how to prepare for the gate exam..

7. 16
    Revathi:

which book material is helpful for it stream?

8. 15
    Lakshmi:

what is the Syllabus for aeronautical engineering students to prepare gate exam?

9. 14
    bhupendra:

im ece 2nd yr student. pls suggest some books to start my preparation.

10. 13
    sreelaksmi:

send the names of reference books for GATE in the stream of EEE.

11. 12
    sneha:

i am doing b.e in electrical and electronics, presently i am in 2nd year, i want to crack gate on my own hard work, i.e i dont want to join any institute for its preparation, so pls guide me for which books i should refer, what should me my plans throughout, pls help me…..

12. 11
    suvetha:

which book material is helpful for it stream?

13. 10
    jothi:

hai sir.
    how to prepare gate exam ece 2012

14. 9
    Radhika:

hi…….i am 3rd sem in mechanical.i have less time so plz tell the tips to get the seat in delhi

15. 8
    ishant mahajan:

hii i am in 3rd sem. i want to crack gate exam . plz sugest me some tips to start my preparation.

16. 7
    Mani:

How to clear gate in mechanical stream

17. 6
    manjeet paswan:

what should be the minimum mark required for an S.C. candidate to get I.I.T. college for mechanical?

18. 5
    KALYAN:

PLZ SUGGEST ME ANY ONE REFERENCE BOOK TO COVER CONCEPTS IN ALL SUBJECTS, BCUZ ITS SUM VAT DIFICULT TO GET DIFRNT BOOKS 4 DIFRNT SUBJCTS. .

19. 4
    bhagya:

hi i am in 3rd year mech. i want to appear for gate in 2012 bt i am confused how and from where should i start? plz guide me

20. 3
    Nagendrababu.Vaka:

I m in 4th sem civil engineering(b.tech).I started prepn of gate at home.Sir plz suggest me the best way to study & best books for all semesters to studt. Plz send me a list of books to my id.Plz sir i want to appear in 2012 gate examination with better prepn.thank u……………………

21. 2
    anvesh:

i have few knowledge about gate syllabus and but i have to succeed in gate how ? plz guide me and which coaching centre is best for me

and plz send tips and materail
    how to get rank in Gate ? plzzzzzzzzzz..send

22. 1
    ayush:

i m in 4th sem(b.tech.).I started prpn of gate at home.sir plz suggest me the best way to study & best books for all semesters to studt.
    i have purchased study material of made easy institute,is it benificial or not.
    plz send me list of best books to my id plz sir,i want to appear in 2012 gate examination with better prepn.
    thank you…..