31st August 2012, 05:47 PM

How should I prepare for CDS Exam?

Kindly guide me regading Cds OTA Exam what should prepare by me thanks.

6th September 2012, 10:49 PM
venkataprakash.v

Default Re: How should I prepare for CDS Exam?

CDS Exam Pattern :-

-->> English Language - 100 Marks .

-->> General Knowledge - 100 Marks .

-->> Mathematics - 100 Marks .

English Language :-
  • Comprehension
  • Antonyms
  • Synonyms
  • Correct the errors
  • Prepositions
  • Grammar
  • Vocabulary

General Knowledge :-
  • Current affairs
  • History of India
  • Social Science
  • Science
  • National Events
Mathematics :-
  • Arithmetic
  • Algebra
  • Geometry
  • Trigonometry
  • Statistics
  • Mensuration
  • Unitary Method

Books for CDS Exam :-

The Pearson Guide to the Combined Defence Services Examination
Publisher: Pearson Education
Price: Rs. 415

CDS: Combined Defence Services Examination Guide
by R. Gupta
Publisher: Ramesh Publishing House
Price: Rs. 295

CDS Exam Guide: Combined Defence Services Exam
by Datason Rp
Publisher: New Light Publishers
Price: Rs. 445

SSB Interviews & Psycho Intelligence Tests
Publisher: Ramesh Publishing House
Price: Rs. 110

Mathematics For C.D.S.Entrance Exam.
by R S Aggarwal
Publisher: S.Chand Publishing
Price: Rs. 275

English for Combined Defence Services Examination
Publisher: Tata Mgraw Hill
Price: Rs. 250
7th September 2012, 03:06 PM
Shaenma

Default Re: How should I prepare for CDS Exam?

CDS Exam Eligibility Criteria:
  • Union Public Service Commission conducts the Combined Defense Services Examination. If you want to pursue your career in any one of the defense academy in India then you have to give this examination. By giving this exam you can enter the following academies: Indian Military Academy, Air Force Academy, Officer's Training Academy and Naval Academy.
  • Indian Military academy:- To enter the Indian Military academy you need to be a graduate in any discipline from a recognized university. Your age should vary from 19 to 24 years.
  • Air Force Academy:- You should have a bachelor's degree in engineering or technology or you can get a B.Sc degree with physics or mathematics. Your age should be between 19 and 23 years.
  • Naval Academy:- To enter this academy you need to have a bachelor's degree in science with physics or mathematics or you can also get a B.E./B.Tech degree in engineering or technology. Your age should be between 19 and 22 years.
  • Officer's Training Academy:- For officer's training academy you can get a bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognized university. Age should vary between 19 and 25 years.
  • Selection Procedure basically includes: 1) Written Examination 2) Personal Interview and 3) Physical Fitness Test
  • Apart from the exam for Officer's Training Academy all the other academies have the same exam pattern. Questions for the exam will come from the following sections: English, General Knowledge and Elementary Mathematics. For every paper you will get two hours' time. There will be 120 questions to answer of 100 marks.
  • For the officer's training academy exam you will get questions from the following sections: English and General Knowledge. Total marks allotted for the exam is 400 marks. For each paper you will get two hours and you have to face 120 questions in all of 100 marks.
  • Although the written exam is of primary importance but the personality test also holds a lot of importance. You will be made to take part in group discussions, do group planning and other outdoor tasks. They may even ask you to give speech on relevant topics. Confidently you need to do all of them.
  • Here i have shortlisted the name of few books which you can go through to learn more about the questions pattern and the areas to stress on. I would request you to go through the list once. You may find this useful.

List Of CDS Exam Books:

Pathfinder CDS: Combined Defence Services Entrance Examination
by Sanjeev Jain, Amit Rastogi, Atul Sharma, Digvijay Singh, Preeti Gupta, Prashant Kumar, Balmukud Singh
Publisher: Arihant Publications

CDS Combined Defence Services Examination: 10 Practice Sets
by Expert Compilations

CDS Examination Combined Defence Services
by Expert Compilation

Combined Defence Services Examination
by Jain, Kishore
Publisher: Upkar Prakashan

Study Package For CDS
by Atul Bhardwaj
Publisher: Tata Mcgraw Hill Education Private Limited

CDS Examination: Solved And Practice Papers (Paperback)
by Jha S N
Publisher: Upsc Portal

CDS Coaching Centres In India:

~Cavalier India
~Dr.Rama Study Circle
~Time Institute For CDS
~R.S Study circle
~Baalnoi Academy
~New Careers Academy
~Bolster Academy
~Brain Storm Academy

To know more about the question pattern and the areas to stress on you can also go through the question papers that i have uploaded for you. You may find them useful. Work hard and you will surely make it. All the best.

Hope this helps :-> :->
File Type: pdf CDS Examination English 2011.pdf(448.7 KB, 40 views)
File Type: pdf CDS Examination English 2012.pdf(543.5 KB, 56 views)
File Type: pdf CDS Examination Mathematics 2011.pdf(629.1 KB, 55 views)
File Type: pdf CDS Sample Paper 1.pdf(523.2 KB, 45 views)
File Type: pdf CDS Sample Paper 3.pdf(655.7 KB, 45 views)