12th February 2011, 08:08 PM
mansal

Pattern of RRB Section Engineer Exam for Mechanical Stream? Books to be referred?

sir i wanted to know the pattern of rrb section engineer exam for mechanical stream and if possible tell me the book name or website.

24th February 2011, 09:43 PM

Default Re: Pattern of RRB Section Engineer Exam for Mechanical Steam? Books to be referred?

For RRB exam,you can take the book of R.S.Agarwall(for Aptitude test,Reasoning,,,,,it may be verbal or non verbal).If you practice this book,then it will be helpful for you really.Because at first,it doesn't matter from which stream you belong to,,,it may be either mechanical or any other stream.
25th February 2011, 08:46 AM
rks@estate

Default Re: Pattern of RRB Section Engineer Exam for Mechanical Steam? Books to be referred?

Hello Dear,

In Indian Railway Section Engineer exam consist of two sections i.e.

1. Technical section - It includes only technical part from basic related to relevant branch.

Book For Technical Section is Galgotia for mechanical engineering & Rathore for mechanical engineering.

2. Non-Technical Section - It includes reasoning, aptitude, general knowledge, current affairs, english, maths.

Book For Non-Technical Section is R. S. Agrawal

Good Luck
25th February 2011, 09:33 AM
omprakash sharma

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
( Code No. 406)
Standard : Diploma in Mech Engg. Total Marks : 300
Nature of Paper : Objective Type Duration : 1 ½ Hours

1.Strength of Material : Stress and Strain, Strain Energy,
Shearing forces and bending
movement, Stresses in moment of Inertia, Principal Planes
and Stresses, Slope and deflection,
Direct and bending stresses, Columns, Torsion, Thin
Cylinders.
2. Mechanical Technology: Engineering material, Non-chip
forming processes, Chip forming
processes, Modern development and new mechining processes
of Metal cutting, Drilling, Milling,
Boring, Broaching, finishing and super - finishing, Gear-
Production etc.
3. Theory of Machines and Mechanisms: Kinematics and
dynamics of machines, role of friction,
different power devices and power transmission equipments,
Application of Cams in Machines
and Engines.
4. Hydraulic Machinery: (a) Hydraulics -- Fluids and their
properties, Fluid pressure and its
measurement, Fluid-flow and its measurement etc.
(b)Hydraulic Machines -Impact of jet, Water-Trubines,
Centrifugal pumps, Reciprocating pumps,
Positive Displacement pumps, Hydrostatic Machines,
Hydraulic-Control Circuit.
5. Thermal and Power Engineering: Sources of Energy ;
Principles and working of-Heat
Engines, I.C. Engines, Air Compressors, Refrigeration, Air-
Conditioning.
6. Production Technology: Process and Process Engineering,
Plant Engineering, Industrual
Engineering, Tolls designing.
7. Metrology and Quality Control.
8. Electrical Technology and Applied Electronics:
(A) Electricl Technology - D.C. Circuits, Electro-
Magnetism, A.C. fundamentales, 3-Phase
A.C., Single-Phase-transformers, Electric Drives,
Dynamometer.
(B) Applied Electronics - Study of Semi-conductor diode,
Transistor, Zener, Rectifiers,
Amplifiers, Oscillators with their application, circuit
diagram, Operations and uses of -
S.C.R., V.J.T., F.E.T., C.R.T., Photo devices, Transducers,
Multimeter T.V.M., C.R.O. etc.
Power control circuits.
Paper II (Optional)
AUTOMOBILE ENGINEERING
( Code No. 402)
Standard : Diploma in Automobile Engg. Total Marks : 300
Nature of Paper : Objective Type Duration : 1 ½ Hours
1. Strength of Material : Stress and Strain, Strain Energy,
Shearing forces and bending
movement, Stresses in moment of Inertia, Principal Planes
and Stresses, Slope and deflection,
Direct and bending stresses, Columns, Torsion, Thin
Cylinders.
2. Mechanical Technology: Engineering material, Non-chip
forming processes, Chip forming
processes, Modern development and new mechining processes
of Metal cutting, Drilling, Milling,
Boring, Broaching, finishing and super - finishing, Gear-
Production etc.
3. Theory of Machines and Mechanisms: Kinematics and
dynamics of machines, role of friction,
different power devices and power transmission equipments,
Application of Cams in Machines
and Engines.
4. Hydraulic Machinery:
(a) Hydraulics - Fluids and their properties, Fluid
pressure and its measurement, Fluid-flow and
its measurement etc.
(b)Hydraulic Machines .- Impact of jet, Water-Trubines,
Centrifugal pumps, Reciprocating
pumps, Positive Displacement pumps, Hydrostatic Machines,
Hydraulic-Control Circuit.
5. Thermal and Power Engineering: Sources of Energy ;
Principles and working of--Heat
Engines, I.C. Engines, Air Compressors, Refrigeration, Air-
Conditioning.
6. Automobile Engines: Theory, working and constructional
features of Auto Engine, Detail study
of Petrol and Diesel Engines, Theory of Combustion, Engine
Electrics, Fuel and Lubricants,
Performance and Testing of Auto Engines.
7. Automobile Chassis : Vehicle layout, Clutches and gear-
boxes; Propeller shafts and final
drives, Brakes, Front axle steering and suspension system.,
Wheel and tyres, Performance of
the Vehicles, Chassis frame, Body enginnering, Running
Gear, Electric Equipment.
8. Vechicle Maintenance, Repairing and Servicing.
9. Transport Management and Motor Industry:
(a) Transport Management - Elements of Transport, Bus
Transport Operations, Goods
Transport Operations, Motor Vehicles Act, Taxation,
Insurance.
(b) Motor Industry- Automobile Industry in India's economy,
Structure of Indian Manufacturing
Processes and Production, Prices, Marketing, Testing,
Associations and Research
Organisations in India.
25th February 2011, 02:33 PM
goldin

RRB Solved PAPER 1
1:52 AM 1. When was the first underground railway (Metro Railway) started?
(a) 1982 (b) 1989 (c) 1984�(d) 1992
: C
2. Shatabdi Express train was started in
(a) 1984 (b) 1988 (c) 1990 (d) 1985
: B

3. At which of the following places Diesel Component Works is
established?
(a) Jamshedpur (b) Patiala (c) Perambur (d) Varanasi

4. Which Zone is the largest in Indian Railways?
(a) Central Railway (b) Northern Railway
(c) Eastern Railway (d) Western Railway

5. The railway station situated in the extreme south is
(a) Chennai (b) Cochin (c) Kanyakumari (d) Trivandrum

6. A platform surrounded by rail lines from all the four sides, is
called
(a) dock platform (b) passenger platform
(c) island platform (d) goods platform

7. When was the nationalization of Indian Railways done?
(a) 1952 (b) 1950 (c) 1951 (d) 1954

8. In which year Research,Design and Standard organization was
established ?
(a) 1954 (b) 1957 (c) 1959 (d) 1967

9. Railway Staff College is situated at
(a) Bangalore (b) Secundrabad (c) Chennai (d) Vadodara
: D

10.Where is the Research, Design and Standard Organisation situated?
(a) Lucknow (b) Bangalore (c) Pune (d) New Delhi
: A

11.Which is the following pairs of regional Railways and their
headquarters not true?
(a) South-Central Railway - Secunderabad
(b) Central railway - Bhopal
(c) South Railway - Chennai
(d) North Railway - New Delhi

12.Between which of the destinations the first Indian train was
started?
(a) from Calcutta to Delhi (b) From Mumbai to Thane
(c) From Mumbai to Surat (d) From Mumbai to Madras

13.When was the first train in Indian started?
(a) 1851 (b) 1852 (c) 1853 (d) 1854

14.In which Governor-General's reign railway lines in India was
established?
(a) Lord William Bentick (b) Lord Cornwallis
(c) Lord Kenning (d) Lord Dalhousie

15.A station where the rail lines end, is called
(a) junction station (b) way-side-station
(c) block station (d) terminal station

16.How much distance was traveled by first train of India?
(a) 33 km (b) 36 km (c) 34 km (d) 46 km

17.What is the position of the Indian Railway in the world according
to the length of rail
lines?
(a) First (b) Second (c) Third (d) Fourth

18.What is the length of North-Eastern Frontier Railway (NEFR)?
(a) 4300 Km (b) 3700 Km (c) 4290 km (d) 5298 km

19.The headquarters of North-Eastern railway is situated at
(a) Mumbai (V.T) (b) Guwahati (c) Gorakhpur (d) New Delhi
20.When was the North-Eastern frontier Railway (NEFR) established?
(a) 15th Jan, 1958 (b) 15th Jan, 1955
(c) 2nd Jan, 1956 (d) 14th April, 1952

21.The headquarters of North -Eastern Frontier Railway (NEFR) is
(a) Calcutta�(b) Maligaon (Guwahati)
(c) Chennai� (d) Gorakhpur

22.In which of the following cities, the first sub-way train was
started?
(a) Mumbai (b) Delhi (c) Calcutta (d) Chennai

23.General Manger is responsible for
(a) Railway Board (b) Railway Ministry
(c) Both railway Board and Railway Ministry
(d) None of these

24.The headquarters of South-Central Railways is situated at
(a) Mumbai (V.T) (b) Chennai (c) Secundrabad (d) Mumbai (Central)

25.The headquarters of Northern Railway is at
(a) New Delhi (b) Guwahati (c) Gorakhpur (d) Mumbai (V.T)

26.The headquarters of South Railways is situated at
(a) Calcutta (b) Chennai (c) Delhi (d) Mumbai

27.In which institution the training of electric work is being given?
(a) Indian Railways Institute of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering
(b) Indian Railways Institute of Electrical Engineering
(c) Railway Staff College
(d) Indian Railways Institute of Civil Engineering

28.Who invented the railway engine?
(a) Charles Babbage (b) Isaac Newton
(c) James Watt (d) George Stephenson

29.Where is the Indian Railways Institute of Mechanical and Electrical
Engineering Insituated?
(a) Nasik (b) Baroda (c) Jamalpur (d) Pune

30.Metro Railway is functioning in which of the following Indian
States?
(a) Gujarat (b) Maharashtra (c) West Bengal (d) Tamil Nadu

31.The zone with the minimum length is
(a) North-Eastern Railway
(b) North-Eastern Frontier Railway
(c) South-East Railway
(d) South-Central Railway

32.Where is the Indian Railways Institute of Civil Engineering
Institute situated?
(a) Pune (b) Chennai (c) Nasik (d) Sikandrabad

33.How many training institutions of Railways are in India?
(a) Three (b) Four (c) Five (d) Six

34.What is the position of the Indian Railway under the zonal system?
(a) First (b) Second (c) Third (d) Forth

35.Which of the gauges is used in the hilly areas?
(a) Broad gauge (b) Meter gauge
(c) Narrow gauge (d) Special gauge

36.Where is the extreme north of India a railway station?
(a) Jammutavi (b) Amritsar (c) Pathancoat (d) Guwahat

37.How many institutions do give suggestions for railways technology?
(a) One (b) Two (c) Three (d) Four

38.Diesel Locomotive Works is situated at
(a) Perambur (b) Varanasi (c) Kapurthala (d) Bangalore

39.The manufacturing of steam engine in Chittranjan Locomotive Works
was stopped in
(a) 1974 (b) 1961 (c) 1971 (d) 1973

40.The passenger bogies of the Indian Railways are manufactured at
which of the followi
places?
(a) Kapurthala (b) Chittranjan (c) Perambur (d) Bangalore

41.Indian Railways which is the largest of the Public Sector
Enterprises, is divided in many regions?
(a) 7�(b) 9 (c) 8�(d) 10

42.Besides Mahrashtra, Karnataka and Goa, which of the following is
the fourth State of Konakan Railway Project?
(a) Kerala (b) Tamil Nadu (c) Gujarat (d) Andhra Pradesh

43.Palace On Wheels train was inaugurated in
(a) 1988 (b) 1972 (c) 1982 (d) 1965

44.When was the Central Railway established?
(a) 5th Nov 1951 (b) 14th Nov 1951
(c) 14th April 1951 (d) 16th August, 1951

45.Rajasthan is under which of the following railway zones?
(a) Northern region (b) Western region
(c) North-Western region (d) Central Region

46.The largest national enterprise of India is
(a) Indian Railway (b) Indian Shipyard
(c) Airways (d) None of these

47.The first locomotive which was manufactured in Chittranjan on
(a) November 1950 (b) October 1950
(c) September 1949 (d) October 1954

48.Where is the wheel and axle plant of Indian Railways situated?
(a) Chittranjan (b) Kapurthala (c) Bangalore (d) Perambur

49.When was the Jammu City appeared on the map of Indian Railway?
(a) 1965 (b) 1963 (c) 1967 (d) 1965

50.Where is the headquarters of Central Railway situated?
(a) Mumbai (V.T) (b) Mumbai (Church Gate)
(c) Gwalior (d) Gorakhpur
25th February 2011, 10:59 PM

Default Re: Pattern of RRB Section Engineer Exam for Mechanical Stream? Books to be referred?

The exam is mainly conducted for filling up the posts in railway.
  • The pattern of the exam is as follows
  • The paper is mainly of 2 hours duration and it consists of 150 questions.
  • The 50% to 70% is mainly technical kind and other percentage of question is GK,Maths and reasoning.
  • The paper consists mostly of objective questions with 1/3 Negative marking.

• A small percentage of paper also contains english related questions also.
8th April 2011, 06:48 PM

Default Re: Pattern of RRB Section Engineer Exam for Mechanical Stream? Books to be referred?

sir I want to know about BE Mechanical engineering for section engineer question pattern and books.
21st April 2011, 01:24 PM

Originally Posted by mansal View Post
sir i wanted to know the pattern of rrb section engineer exam for mechanical stream and if possible tell me the book name or website.
please tell me syllabus for section engg for mechanical enginering,please send to my email ,[email protected].
13th May 2011, 09:20 PM

Can you please tell me the syllabus for RRB chennai section engg for EEE. Please sent to my mail [email protected]
26th May 2011, 10:58 AM

i am B.E mechanical engg.can i go for section engg?
31st May 2011, 06:46 AM

yes... brother .. u religible for section engg. post but u hve 2 clear the paper which held by RRB... REGION...
4th June 2011, 12:17 PM

Dear seniors, please suggest me the best possible way to prepare for the railways section engineer exam.and also tell me that there is the part of logical n reasoning questions also!
11th June 2011, 06:30 PM

Pattern of RRB Section Engineer Exam for civil Stream? Books to be referred?

l
27th June 2011, 06:05 PM

sir, send me the previous question papers to me
my id is:
28th June 2011, 01:39 AM

sir I want to know about pattern of RRB Section engineer Exam for Mechanical streem?Please send me at [email protected]
1st July 2011, 01:21 PM

sir i have done diploma in mechanical engineering , can i apply for section engineer ,please tell me syllabus for section engg for mechanical engineering and also tell me that which book is best for reference ,please send to my email , [email protected]
11th August 2011, 01:40 AM

pattern of RRB SENIER SECTION ENGINEER EXAM FOR MECHANICAL STREAM
15th August 2011, 03:10 PM

India's capital
20th September 2011, 12:43 PM

sir i wanna know that what is the educational qualification for mechanical section engg
25th September 2011, 11:51 AM

sir willu send me the rrb syllubus for ece branch ?
28th September 2011, 01:52 AM

dear sir, Pls send me syllabus for rrb section engineer for ece streem ,also suggest books for preparation & solved prevous question papers on [email protected]
17th December 2011, 05:12 PM

sir, plz send me previous year question papaer of rrb for section engineer.
my mail id is [email protected]
29th December 2011, 09:08 PM

books for mech engg streams for section engg in railway
13th March 2012, 05:12 PM

plese sent rrb mechanical engg syllabus in my id [email protected]
18th March 2012, 08:59 AM

Pattern of RRB Section Engineer Exam for electrical engineer
21st March 2012, 01:51 PM

sir, plz give me the information about which books to be prepared for the section engineer for mechanical stream. plz send to [email protected]
24th March 2012, 05:07 PM

i want to know the pattern of section engineer for civil stream and also kindly tell which book i have to refer.please send to [email protected]
26th March 2012, 10:27 PM

I would like to know the pattern of question asked in RRB for Mechatronics engineering ....Please send me the update and sample paper to [email protected]
6th April 2012, 02:39 PM
swapnil juvatkar

Please can anyone send me previous solved question papers of mechanical engineering section engineer... my e-mail id is [email protected]
6th April 2012, 10:37 PM

RRB section engineer Mechanical Engineering stream

Plz give me suggetion for which book will be better of preparation for sr. Section engineer and also give me plz the previose question paper. My mail id- [email protected]
14th April 2012, 01:13 AM

Please can anyone send me previous solved question papers of mechanical engineering section engineer... my email ID :- [email protected]
plz snd me.... im rqstng 2 all...
23rd April 2012, 11:38 AM

sir, plz send me previous year question papaer of rrb for section engineer.
my mail id is [email protected]
17th May 2012, 12:12 PM
ashokchoudhary2610

Please Send Me The Question Paper Of Last 5 Year For Mechanical Stream
17th May 2012, 12:14 PM
ashokchoudhary2610

DEar Sir,
Plz Send Me The Question Paper Of Last 5 Year For Mechanical [email protected]
9th August 2012, 02:52 PM

PLS SEND THE PREVIOUS PAPERS OF RRB CHANDIGARH FOR J.E MECHANICAL ON
MY ID [email protected]
13th August 2012, 08:10 PM

please send me 2010 rrb sec engineer mechanical paper.my email [email protected]
14th August 2012, 12:45 AM
randeephooda.2012

The exam is mainly conducted for filling up the posts in railway.
The pattern of the exam is as follows
The paper is mainly of 2 hours duration and it consists of 150 questions.
The 50% to 70% is mainly technical kind and other percentage of question is GK,Maths and reasoning.
The paper consists mostly of objective questions with 1/3 Negative marking.

A small percentage of paper also contains english related questions also.

24th January 2013, 12:12 AM
dandor

I want coaching for railway junior engineer.where I will get it?mostly I prefer mumbai , hydrabad,and pune please send me the coaching classes list.
12th March 2013, 10:50 AM

i did my b.tech in mechatronics, i want to know, in which stream i have to write exam for rrb, is there any separate syllabus for mechatronics or i have to write test in mechanical....plz guide me.
27th July 2013, 10:42 PM

PLEASE SEND ME PREVIOUS YEAR QUESTION PAPERS FOR JUNIOR ENGINEER MECHANICAL ENGINEERING TO [email protected]
28th July 2013, 04:13 PM
Ravikanth2027

RRB engineering exams i.e Sr.Section Engineer , Junior Engineer , Senior Supervisor & Depot Material Superintendent

RRB Written Exam Pattern :

Aptitude Test :

General Awareness

Arithmetic

General Intelligence

Reasoning

Technical Test : Specific Engineering branch

Total : 150 objective type questions

Duration of Exam : 2 hrs

Negative marking : 1/3rd

RRB Exam Books :

Railway (Technical Engineering Cadre ) Exam Guide By RPH Editiorial Board

Railway Civil Engineering Practice Work Book By Kiran Prakashan

Guide to RRB Electrical Engineering By GK Publication

Guide to RRB Civil Engineering Junior Engineering Grade II By GK Publisher
16th August 2014, 11:07 AM

sir, i am abhishek pathak. i want to know that when the vaccancies of section engineer come in railway .