30th June 2012, 06:47 PM
Unregistered

Is possible to do IIT/B.tech after diploma in computer engineering?

Sir,i am a student of 2nd year diploma in computer engeneering.. Is it possible for me to do IIT(computer field) or B.tech please reply fast i am in great confussion ???

16th November 2012, 03:23 PM

Default Re: Is possible to do IIT/B.tech after diploma in computer engineering?

Hello dear ,
your question is not so clear ........ but taking your question into account If u want to do the "bachelor in technology" degree from one of the IIT's , you have to clear up an exam now conducted by CBSE called CET (Common Entrance Test ) . Then onwards , you have to clear up the JEE mains exam after clearing it to enter into one of the IITs . There is a separate program for the Diploma's known as Lateral Entry ......

you have several other options for lateral entry as -
NITs
BITS Pilani
DEC delhi
BIT sindri
and many more........
16th November 2012, 06:18 PM
sherleytwain
Senior Member+++++

First thing you should know is that IIT is a group of university not a course. IIT stands for Indian Institute of Tecnology. There are several IITs in the country and they offer B.Tech and M.Tech degree.

As a candidate of diploma in computer engineering you can take admission for B.Tech in Computer Science Engineering after completing diploma course. However you can not take admission in IIT.

As per the rules of IIT, the diploma students are not eligible for admission. It is because IIT does not offer lateral entry admission which means direct admission into second year of B.Tech course. For admission in IIT, one must have completed 12th with PCM subjects and then appear for the IIT-JEE entrance exam.

But since diploma course is done after 10th standard, such candidates are not eligible to appear in IIT-JEE entrance exam. This virtually rules out the possibility of seeking admission in IIT for B.Tech.