22nd June 2016, 02:10 PM
Unregistered

Total number of permissible attempts for JEE Main to get admission in IIT Colleges?

Hello,
I am studying 12th from BSEB, Patna. I want to study Engineering from IIT colleges. I know after passing JEE Main I can get admission in IITs. So, please tell me number of attempts for JEE Main?

23rd June 2016, 01:24 PM
Blessmegod
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Total number of permissible attempts for JEE Main to get admission in IIT Colleges?

JEE stands for Joint Entrance Examination. This exam has two stages, JEE Main followed by JEE Advanced and number of attempts for both stages vary.

*For JEE Main exam, there are three consecutive attempts, one in year in which you appeared for 12th board exam and two in next consecutive years.

*For JEE Advanced, there are only two consecutive attempts for this exam, one in year in which you appear for board exams and other in coming year following it.

You can not get admission in IIT after JEE Main, you will have to crack JEE Advanced after it in order to get admission in IIT in any discipline of engineering.
23rd June 2016, 02:18 PM
pearlrana
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Total number of permissible attempts for JEE Main to get admission in IIT Colleges?

The total no. of attempts for JEE Mains exam are three.These attempts should be consecutive. Hence you can apply for this exam directly after +2 and two Consecutive more years.
23rd June 2016, 03:49 PM
taputanya
Senior Member+++++

The maximum number of attempts given to the candidate to appear in JEE Mains are limited to 3 only and there is not relaxation given to candidates of reserved categories in number of attempts. Make sure that these attempt should be given in consecutive years only.
23rd June 2016, 04:00 PM
pearlrana
Senior Member+++++

Eligibility for JEE Mains:-

The candidate must have passed with Physics, Chemistry,Mathematics from recognised board.

Minimum percentage for General is 50%.and 45% for Reserved categories.