30th June 2010, 08:47 PM
VISHAL123456789

WHICH IS BETTER B. Arch (Architecture) or B. Tech (Civil/ Mechanical engineering) ?

Which one is better
B. Arch (Architecture) or B. Tech (Civil/ Mechanical engineering)

Please tell your answer on basis of following points:-

1- Scope (in next 4-5 years)
2- Earnings per annum
a) Government sector
b) Private sector
3- Possibility of government jobs
4- Job Security in Private Sector

Assuming that one can get degree from any NIT in Architecture or from top private colleges of State Technical University (U.P.) in Civil or Mechanical Engineering.

Please answer the question as earliest as possible.

Thank You.

1. Entrance exams for master degree in architecture after B.Tech. in Civil Engineering
  2. Possibility to appear in JELET to study B.Tech(Civil Engineering) for D.Arch student?
  3. Is it possible to become an Architect after passing BE in Civil engineering? -- [New]
  4. Is it easy to compete with the subjects for M.Arch? Do I have to take an additional course before doing Architecture after Engineering?
  5. Is there any entrance exam for doing M.Arch course in abroad after completion of B.Tech Civil Engineering?
  6. Am I eligible for B.Arch pursuing Diploma in Civil Engineering? Different options for me to get admission into Architecture course?
  7. Is it difficult to study Master's in Architecture and Planning for Civil students?
  8. Can I get admission in Lateral B.Tech(Civil Engineering) after completing Diploma in Architecture?
  9. Is AP university conducting any exam for students who have completed 12th?
  10. Post graduatution in architecture M.Arch. after BE civil engineering? possible?
  11. Possibilities of doing Architecture Engineering after Diploma in Mechanical field?
  12. Eligibility for Architecture after Civil engineering?
  13. What is the future of B.Arch in comparison to B.E Civil? Should I choose Civil or B.Arch if I am getting NIT for Architecture and Local college for B.E?
  14. Am I eligible to do M.Arch after passing Civil Engineering? Do we need to write any entrance to join M.Arch?
  15. Is it possible to study M.Arch after completing B.Tech(Civil Engineering)?
  16. Am I eligible for MSc applied nutrition course after completing BSc MLT course?
  17. Can I study B.Arch after completing Civil Engineering Diploma? List of B.Arch colleges in Pune?
  18. Is it possible to do M.Arch course after Mechanical Engineering degree?
1st July 2010, 12:56 AM
SJ.18

Default Re: WHICH IS BETTER B. Arch (Architecture) or B. Tech (Civil/ Mechanical engineering) ?

Originally Posted by VISHAL123456789 View Post

Which one is better

2- Earnings per annum
a) Government sector
b) Private sector

Assuming that one can get degree from any NIT in Architecture or from top private colleges of State Technical University (U.P.) in Civil or Mechanical Engineering.

Thank You.
According to me you must choose B. Tech (Civil/ Mechanical engineering)
Because CE have good scope in both public sector and private sector.
If you are intarested in government job then this field is good for you.
Good luck
1st July 2010, 02:09 AM

Default Re: WHICH IS BETTER B. Arch (Architecture) or B. Tech (Civil/ Mechanical engineering) ?

Both are equally good and earning wise both are great. But i will tell you something.

Civil engineers can be architect engineers but architecht engg cant be civil engg. I said this because civil engg are tought little bit of architechure in their course and if not then later they can do it seperately.

But its you choice whether which one to join. For architect aptitude is important. If you dont have aptitude in it then you will never be successful in it. You should be good at drawing and imagination skills etc

For civil engg your basic maths concepts should be good along with that you should be fast in calculations and also must have talent to deal with pressure.

So you can easily see what you have and so choose the desired.

Now answering your questions one by one
1) No doubt both will have great scope forever as construction work is evergreen as someone said that food, shelter and clothes are the most important
2)Earning will increase according to your experience. It can be lakhs a month.
3)You can get a govt jobs easily like you can get into PWD and other related departments

An Mtech in any of the above field will boost your career.

So decide whats the best for you
1st July 2010, 05:47 AM

I have scored 20214 in MPPET .WHICH BEST COLLEGE CAN I GET IN MADHYA PRADESH? CAN I GET THE LIST OF THAT COLLEGE?
1st July 2010, 11:35 AM
kryp+ony+

Considering that you are getting Arch in NIT and mech/Civil in private college i think Arch will be good for you.
- Placements of a government college is far much better then private college, also some government job demands a government degree. Studying in a private college will narrow your scope of placements.
-India being a developing country will always have a requirement for good architects, so it scope is quite nice within years to come.
-An average arch engg. can earn upto Rs 40-50 thousand a month but if you are good at it then you can earn even in lakhs.
-There are opportunities in both of the sectors.
-Job is not that secured in private sectors. If they found a better architect than you then you`ll be replaced. ( seen that )

As far as choice amongst mech/civil/Arch is concerned then on the basis of maximum salary package, most job opportunities and most secure carrier Mech is the best option..
The only demerit you posses if you`ll opt for mech is that it wont be from a good college.
But if you think that the private college you mentioned is like BITS or something then i`ll suggest go for mech, else Arch...
1st July 2010, 12:58 PM
krishna d patel

u know something, b-architecture is good but i think if you are choosing your carrier on basis on your earnings in next five or six years & according to position you need in the government or any private sector as you mentioned you must select b-tech for civil or mechanical as u get better options further. also there are chances of further doing any specialization in any field you are interested in. also u can do m-tech for better chances you want it for your carrier point of view in sense of earnings too.
1st July 2010, 01:15 PM
mathursaab

B.Tech with mechanical engineering is better than other two because you can get jobs in different automobile companies and doing M.Tech after B.Tech will also increase your job opportunities and helpful in increasing in your packages.
1st July 2010, 02:58 PM
Dkiran

hi vishal,If you are interested in architecture then for this you need to have a very good imagination power,then jobs will come to your house.coming to civil/mechanical branch these are evergreen branches no recession like that here.
1st July 2010, 07:09 PM
Hitha Nanjappa

i suggest you do engg in basic engg.. i.e. civil or mech.. this will give u a wider scope compared to arch.. basic design course is taught in both these engg streams..
civil: with respect to constructions
mech: with respect to machines
but the fundamentals taught is the same
if u go for further studies, you can shift to any other field..
basic engg gives you wide options to choose for higher studies n career.. depending on your aptitute, you can pick a job and be satisfied.
2nd July 2010, 07:16 PM

opportunities for diploma holders in civil engineering? can they do hotel management or anything else in maharashtra?
2nd July 2010, 07:39 PM

which is better b.arch [architecture] or b.tech [plastic]
3rd July 2010, 12:49 PM

In forth coming years which is in greater demand???B.Arch or B.Tech(civil)???????
5th July 2010, 07:58 PM
Gop

Thumbs up Re: WHICH IS BETTER B. Arch (Architecture) or B. Tech (Civil/ Mechanical engineering) ?

Both the courses has its priority and quality. It is your interest which is to be analysed.
If you are looking for a career in interior designing and infrastructure,creative works, Then go for B Arch.
If you are looking for a career in constructions and developmnets, technical aspects, Then go for B tect in Subjects you prefer.(mech r civil)

Remuneration and other aspects, you queried about, Will never depend on the specialisation. It depends on your excelling in the specialisation.

19th July 2010, 09:29 PM

which is better barch/biotech
20th July 2010, 11:09 PM

i think friend biotechnology and b.arch both are totally different fields
so there is no comparison among them could be done
so you must go with your interest
if you have interest in biotechnology then go for biotech
and
if you have interest in architecture field then go for a b.arch
or go for b.tech in civil that is more valued
21st July 2010, 01:59 PM
RV9018

Hi!
According to me B.tech civil/mechanical is a better choice and if you want to choose between civil and mechanical I would suggest you mechanical because it has large scope in private as well as public sector.If you will choose civil you need a strong background means that your any relative needs to be a builder or in that sector.Mechanical has a good scope in India as well as foreign countries.
Then its your choice.
All the best...........
21st July 2010, 02:48 PM

all of the trade of the engg you have mention are nearly equally good.

but civil engg is much more demanding trade compare to the others.jobs opportunity is also very good for civil engg.

all the best......
25th July 2010, 08:46 PM

HI
THIS IS SENTHIL FROM CHENNAI I HAVE COMPLETED DIPLOMA IN EEE IN 2003 , NOW I HAVE COMPLETED B COM AND MBA , I SHIFTED MY CAREER IN MARKETING , I HAVE 7 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE IN MARKETING NOW IAM WORKING AS A AREA MANAGER IN ONE COMPANY BUT NOW I WOULD LIKE TO DO CIVIL ENGINEERING IN CORRESPONDENCE .. ANYTHING CAN HAPPENED IN SALES, RECESSION CAN COME PEOPLE WILL LOSE JOBS I HAVE TO TAKE CARE OF MY FUTURE WAT S UR SUGGESTION?
28th July 2010, 07:08 PM
subhash5687

Thumbs up Re: WHICH IS BETTER B. Arch (Architecture) or B. Tech (Civil/ Mechanical engineering) ?

Which one is better

2- Earnings per annum
a) Government sector
b) Private sector

Thank You.
dear B.tech is much better than b.arch.it has more scope of job for all kind of student .which is not in b.arch.
30th July 2010, 03:16 PM

sir i want to know complete description about the b arch course like placemented coleges list
30th July 2010, 07:28 PM

i hav scored gud marks in arch cet n will get jj col(mumbai)or mmca in pune n averge score in engi cet...and i wil get 2or 3yrs old private coll for mechanical engi....so m confused wer 2go
as m interested in creative fild n wan2 do my career in desigin especially in industrial desiging(automobie desiging) so wat degree will be mor impactful 4 desining cource in post graducation?? n if i dnt do pg in desining then for option which will b gr8 mech engi or arch, if i select 2do pg in dat field in future.???
and my drawing is also gud plus my maths is also gud best but only less interestd in physics, so pls help me out so as i can tak appropriate decision......
2nd August 2010, 12:15 AM

hi i have completed my 12th my rank in eamcet[AP] is 17185 and iwill not be geting in any universitiescampus i will get in good private collage in hyderabad. i wrote nata and i will get in JNTU(H) university i can draw well .i can think creatively . i dont have good hold in physics. what would be best to opt?i am a girl.
2nd August 2010, 12:13 PM
August

as per the mentioned options by u then i will suggest to go for b.tech(civil/mechanical).

both these fields have good scope in upcoming years . it will give u a good salary , great chance in both private as well as in public sector.

2nd August 2010, 12:43 PM
ravi6

hello dear,
acc. to me both B.ARCH and B.TECH(ME/CIVIL) are best trades. both has full scope in companies.B.ARCH is career in designing map of buildings and on other hand the trade civil is also related to this work.
B.TECH mechanical trade is different from civil and arch. because it include designing of machines,related to thermal plant companies etc.
so bith trades are very good and i advise you that choose acc. to your interest with full confidence.

REGARDS
ravi6
2nd August 2010, 02:31 PM
sampat

Which one is better

2- Earnings per annum
a) Government sector
b) Private sector

Thank You.
this is depand upon your interest because if u having a sound knowledge in perticular field than u get a good job
2nd August 2010, 10:33 PM
indhirani.d

Smile Re: WHICH IS BETTER B. Arch (Architecture) or B. Tech (Civil/ Mechanical engineering) ?

Which one is better

2- Earnings per annum
a) Government sector
b) Private sector

Thank You.
hi friend it is better to do civil engg. bcoz in present and future more civil engineers are wanted in both private and public sector...especially in PWD for environmental engineer....... also there is a great demand for civil lecture........
6th August 2010, 02:02 PM
Jitendra malviya

Location: 8-bhawani shri lakshya , chhatrasal nagar ,phase 1 ,Bhopal(M.P.),462023

as my information B. tech in mechanical is better.. because it has a good scope..

but you can opt to your interest..

31st October 2010, 08:44 PM

I am a girl.But I do not know which is better civil or architect for me.But I studied civil subjects.Thus what should I continue do for my life carrer. Somebody say that girl do not suitable for civil.Please advice me. Thank you.
22nd November 2010, 08:35 PM

Sir, I have a doubt, whether the work of an architect ends with designing???
what is the nature of work of an architect????
13th January 2011, 03:31 PM

civil is better than architech.
17th January 2011, 08:01 PM

hai my would be had done his B.E civil engineering . he like to do his master degree in architecture..please advise how to proceed. whether M.E can be done in architect after B.E civil. like to have detailed answer
18th January 2011, 09:44 AM
G-rocks

Hello friend

In my point of view both are equally good.Both the courses has its priority and quality

Best of luck..
18th January 2011, 03:53 PM
edgeineervinay

Which one is better

2- Earnings per annum
a) Government sector
b) Private sector

Thank You.
btech mechanical is far more better than any
it scope in todays date is best and in on 4-5 yrs will increase
but not decrease.
28th January 2011, 04:29 PM

Hi at all .there is too much misunderstanding about architecture. Architecture never end with design . U can get admission to m.tech ,b.arch,b.des and so many fields. Bud drawback is this is five years degree. Only architect know about what is building and construction. And civil engg. Is just presentation of architecture. Architecture need awareness about environment, physiology, climatology, and so many things which is never part of other education .architecture is better combination of subjects which is related with human life , and it is knowledge to deal with earth and life . And architecture earn more than others coz of many reasons. Have hidden reasons also.
29th January 2011, 04:03 PM
Deb51

both are good. go according to your knowledge and chances.
what point you have mentioned is good for both of your option.
so you should choose according to your interest. that will be better option.
24th February 2011, 02:43 PM

Originally Posted by vishal123456789 View Post

which one is better
b. Arch (architecture) or b. Tech (civil/ mechanical engineering)

please tell your answer on basis of following points:-

1- scope (in next 4-5 years)
2- earnings per annum
a) government sector
b) private sector
3- possibility of government jobs
4- job security in private sector

assuming that one can get degree from any nit in architecture or from top private colleges of state technical university (u.p.) in civil or mechanical engineering.

dear ,
in my opinion b.arch is better then b.tech civil with respect to the following reason.
If you establish your own enterprenuership
if you believe in youy capacity to work hard with inteligency
if you believe the money for your hardwork because in open market your image stands for the quality of your product
if you believe independency and want to remain free from unnecessary burdon of political as well as corrupt working system
if you want to touch the height as sky is the limit for an architecture. Many examples are there.
Last , if you set an example for others to work with honesty as well as in deciplined way of working where you can get wealth + health + appreciation simultaneously in one creative work of an architecture that should be in real architectural involves astrology & advance vaastu principles in planning as well as designing

with regards!

Er sk sachdeva
astrovaastu consultant
18th March 2011, 01:38 PM

is artecture eng have good scope in future?
31st March 2011, 10:11 PM

Hey,
I am completing ma 12th std this year i am confused wat should i take B.arch or B.E...........suggest which is gud for me plz.........
7th April 2011, 11:18 PM

hi i have just done my 12th science exam but my result not came,i am from gujarat and i have confusion in civil and in architect,My father is best civil engineer in surat..my maths is not perfect but my drawing is also not perfect,so i have lot of confusion in this two fields,So Can You Please Tell Me That which is better for Me B.Arch or B.E.Civil?pls ans fast......my id is [email protected].
plz reply fast..........
13th April 2011, 12:39 PM

HEY!
GOOD MORNING
IM NOT GOOD IN STUDIES AND IM SO MUCH CONFUSE THAT IM DO B.TECH OR B.ARCH . AND I WANT GOV. COLLEGE FOR DOING DIS COURSE PLZ TEL ME WAT I DO!
23rd April 2011, 03:41 PM
aditya436

Arrow Re: WHICH IS BETTER B. Arch (Architecture) or B. Tech (Civil/ Mechanical engineering) ?

is artecture eng have good scope in future?
Yeah of course friend

Architecture engineering is having a very bright future..

As the comforts are increasing all the humans are looking after their social prestige

for this they can show in their dressing,their vehicles,and also with their Home

So they are requiring the professional suggestions for this Architectural engineers are in demand

For this reason only the professional and prestigious colleges like IIT's are also taking special care for Architectural engineers

Architectural engineering is also called as Building Engineering

An engineer in the structural, mechanical, electrical, construction or other engineering fields of building design and construction.

The architectural engineers are having gloabal demand

So do not worry about Architectural engineering's future.

I'm attaching a good PDF relating to the Architectural engineering

So please have a look

~aditya~
File Type: pdf archeng.pdf(136.1 KB, 1227 views)
30th April 2011, 04:16 PM
strange_rahul

Smile Re: WHICH IS BETTER B. Arch (Architecture) or B. Tech (Civil/ Mechanical engineering) ?

I think it depends on you that in which you have interest but i want to suggest you that you should go for B.Arch because there is a lot of demand over it........
30th April 2011, 10:50 PM
wagle

b.arch is better then b.tech civil with respect to the following reason.
If you establish your own enterprenuership
if you believe in youy capacity to work hard with inteligency

Architectural engineering is also called as Building Engineering

An engineer in the structural, mechanical, electrical, construction or other engineering fields of building design and construction.

The architectural engineers are having gloabal demand

So do not worry about Architectural engineering's future.
9th May 2011, 10:11 PM
nishuberry

after completing b.arch(aieee)........what i have to do next in U.S.A??
20th May 2011, 10:19 PM

How civil engg could be benefitial for girls?
27th May 2011, 03:03 PM

civil is better
1st June 2011, 11:50 PM

how much arti. own if is capcity is good or if he is better
2nd June 2011, 04:52 PM

sir i have just got a good rank in UPSEE 2011 in B.ARCH, is it have a good scope in future, ca i go for it, please help me in taking a good decision
5th June 2011, 07:37 PM

i am getting computer science(in Manipal, Karnataka) and probably ill get barch in NITs because my Barch paper of 2011 went very good. so can please suggest me a feild to opt. for which pay me a gud salary of 40-50thosand pm just after my bachelor degree..please help...
5th June 2011, 09:35 PM

sir , my rank in aieee 2011 in B.Arch exam is 2990 n in upsee 2011 its 609 , wht coll can i gt at dis rank in both aieee n upsee , and which one is good ?

.. is it hving a good scope in future or shud i go for btech ?
pls guide me .