12th November 2010, 10:56 PM
snig

Books for preparation for ISI college entrance exam?

i want to know the names of some books for the preparation of entrance exam of ISI college for doing M.Sc. with statistics. and how can i get these books online?

17th November 2010, 07:03 PM
sharkarthir

Thumbs up Re: Books for preparation for ISI college entrance exam?

For Statistics, SC Gupta and V.K.Kapoor’s book on Mathematical Statistics. This book has many questions on Probability and they are of the level asked in ISI entrance.

An excellent reference book is “TEST OF MATHEMATICS AT THE 10+2 LEVEL” Β published by Affiliated East-West Press Pvt. Limited. It is a collection of past 20yrs B.Stat Entrance questions which are very similar to the ones asked in MSQE entrance.
18th November 2010, 06:54 PM
raja jeganathan

Default Re: Books for preparation for ISI college entrance exam?

just select the book which is best for you from each section. Actually the list contains my personal favourite books.

Physics:

MECHANICS
• H.C. Verma
• Resnick and Halliday
• I.E. Irodov
OPTICS
• H.C. Verma
HEAT AND WAVES
• H.C. Verma
• Resnick and Halliday
ELECRICITY AND MAGNETISM
• Resnick and Halliday
• R.J. Smith — Circuits devices and systems
• I.E. Irodov
MODERN PHYSICS
• H.C. Verma
• I.E. Irodov

Chemistry:

GENERAL CHEMISTRY
• J.D. Lee
• O.P. Aggarwal
• R.C.Mukerjee
ORGANIC CHEMISTRY
• Morrison & Boyd and its solutions
• Parmar & MP Chawla — Reaction mechanism in Organic Chemistry
INORGANIC CHEMISTRY
• NCERT Inorganic Chemistry
• J.D. Lee– Concise Inorganic Chemistry
• O.P. Aggarwal

Mathematics:

ALGEBRA
• Hall and Knight — High school mathematics
• M.L. Khanna
CALCULUS and ANALYTIC GEOMETRY
• G.N.Berman
• Thomas and Finney — Calculus and analytic geometry
• Loney — Coordinate geometry
• M.L. Khanna
• I.A.Maron
VECTORS
• M.L. Khanna
7th January 2011, 09:00 PM

I want to know what type of question will ask in the exam?
6th April 2011, 10:03 PM

I want to know the syllabus for isi bstat entrance test
6th April 2011, 10:06 PM

I want to know the syllabus for isi bstat entrance test
25th April 2011, 06:31 PM
Mayank Shekhar

For physics the following books are helpful:-
MECHANICS
• H.C. Verma
• Resnick and Halliday
• I.E. Irodov
OPTICS
• H.C. Verma
HEAT AND WAVES
• H.C. Verma
• Resnick and Halliday
ELECRICITY AND MAGNETISM
• Resnick and Halliday
• R.J. Smith — Circuits devices and systems
• I.E. Irodov
MODERN PHYSICS
• H.C. Verma
• I.E. Irodov

For mathematics , these are some of the books which are helpful:-

ALGEBRA
• Hall and Knight — High school mathematics
• M.L. Khanna
CALCULUS and ANALYTIC GEOMETRY
• G.N.Berman
• Thomas and Finney — Calculus and analytic geometry
• Loney — Coordinate geometry
• M.L. Khanna
• I.A.Maron
VECTORS
• M.L. Khanna

For chemistry , the following books are useful:-

GENERAL CHEMISTRY
• J.D. Lee
• O.P. Aggarwal
• R.C.Mukerjee
ORGANIC CHEMISTRY
• Morrison & Boyd and its solutions
• Parmar & MP Chawla — Reaction mechanism in Organic Chemistry
INORGANIC CHEMISTRY
• NCERT Inorganic Chemistry
• J.D. Lee– Concise Inorganic Chemistry
• O.P. Aggarwal

26th April 2011, 10:06 AM
amlendu shekhar

1. Modern Geometry, by M. A. Durrel. Macmillan & Co.

2. Geometry Revisited, by H. S. M. Coxeter & S. L. Greitzer. Mathematical Association of America.

3. Plane Trigonometry, by S. L. Loney. Macmillan & Co.

4. The elements of coordinate geometry, by S. L. Loney. Cambridge University Press.

5. An Introduction to the Theory of Numbers, by I. Niven & H. S. Zuckerman. Wiley Eastern Ltd.

6. Elementary Number Theory, by David Burton. Universal Book Stall.

7. Higher Algebra, by S. Barnard & J.M. Child. Macmillan & Co.

8. Problems in Calculus of One Variable, by I. A. Maron. Mir Publishers.

9. Challenging Mathematical Problems With Elementary Solutions, by A. M. Yaglom & I. M. Yaglom. Dover Publishers.

these are the books i found on internet. i hope they will help you
2nd May 2011, 08:00 AM

best gk books for BBA entrence exam in university
9th June 2011, 01:31 AM

books for preparation for m.stats for isi entranc exam?
2nd September 2011, 12:19 PM

i have exactly 6 months..............i wanna the names of the books which will precisely help me clearing isi ent exam??
13th September 2011, 10:06 PM
Arvind.T

hai sir i am arvind, i am pursuing Bsc with maths, stats, and comp science. I would like to do masters, I am not sure whether ISI provide msc in statistics, if they do provide can you please guide me few books please.
3rd October 2011, 02:41 AM

sir, m chen will u plz tell me the syllbus, whr v get the form for entrance n whn vll b entrance paper(m in delhi)... i droppd this year fo ISI ,, i like only n only maths.. i heard bot ISI bt i dnt get a man who knw bot ISI...i'll b glad b glad if u do so ....... thnk u sir .
15th October 2011, 11:28 PM

Respected Sir, Please sent to my email adress([email protected]) a list of reference book for B.stst and B.math entrance examination.
15th October 2011, 11:37 PM

please send to my email address ([email protected]) a list of reference books for B.stat and B.math entrance examination.
From-
Reshma Nandi
4th June 2012, 11:18 AM

can u prove 19^93-13^99 is divisable by 162
8th January 2013, 06:38 PM

Originally Posted by snig View Post
i want to know the names of some books for the preparation of entrance exam of isi college for doing m.sc. With statistics. And how can i get these books online?
i want to know the information about the msc.stats entrance exam
22nd January 2013, 11:27 PM

please send to my email address ([email protected]) a list of reference books for B.stat and B.math entrance examination.
From-
Yash Bardhan Singh
18th April 2013, 12:12 PM

To prepared for BBA entence exam which book has to refer.
25th April 2013, 09:15 PM

I want to know about ISO syllabus
25th April 2013, 10:50 PM
mxsiva4u

Books for preparation for ISI college entrance exam

12th April 2014, 12:43 AM

sir,please suggest me books for preparation of ISI entrance exam for M.tech in QROR