1st August 2012, 07:49 PM
rahul.payyappate

How to start preparation to become a great software engineer? I am a 2nd year BSc student having mathematics and statistics as Major subjects

I am a second year B.sc Student having Mathematics and Statistics as major Subjects.I am planning to do MCA after my Graduation and want to start preparing for entrance tests.Which is the best suited Majors(Maths or Stats) in the third year ?
I have started learning C programming language and very keen in learning more about Softwares. What all should I start in advance to become a good Software engineer ?

14th February 2017, 10:25 AM
sagarika 199193
Senior Member+++

Default Re: How to start preparation to become a great software engineer? I am a 2nd year BSc student having mathematics and statistics as Major subjects

It's good that you have a career goal. As you said, You are eligible & can pursue MCA after completion of your B.Sc. Most institutes conduct entrance exam for MCA admission. You are learning the languages for software is beneficial for your career.

MCA Entrance Syllabus
- Mathematical Aptitude Test
- Analytical Ability
- Computer Awareness
- General Awareness
- English & Comprehension

MCA Specializations
- Software Development
- Networking
- System Management
- Application Software
- Troubleshooting
- System Engineering
- Management Information System

Job Profiles
- Software Engineer
- Software Developer
- Software Publisher
- Computer System Analyst
- Software Consultant
- Database Administrator

Top Recruiters In Software Engineering
TCS, Infosys, HCL Technologies, HP, Accenture, Wipro, Cognizant, Tech Mahindra, IBM, Mphasis, Oracle Financial Services, Mind Tree Ltd
15th February 2017, 12:38 PM
lvnareshsunrise
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How to start preparation to become a great software engineer? I am a 2nd year BSc student having mathematics and statistics as Major subjects