6th November 2009, 04:52 AM
kumar.abhigyan

What is the procedure to join merchant navy?

i want to join merchant navy as a engineer. i m final year mechanical B.E STUDENT..what is procedure to join merchant navy..

25th November 2009, 11:26 AM
explore_urself

Default Re: What is the procedure to join merchant navy?

Candidates having a Bachelor degree in Mechanical/ Electrical/ Technology Engineering are eligible to join the Merchant Navy as a Engine Cadet/ Fifth Engg/ Jr. Engg. If you want to join Merchant Navy, you have to appear in a Joint Entrance Examination which is conducted by IIT. A merit list is prepared for the interview on the basis of results of written examination. Then the Director General of Shipping choose which of the 2 training programs is suitable for the candidate.

Be in touch with Internet to get the details about application forms and the related Important dates.

All the Best.
25th November 2009, 09:45 PM
krishnakanth

you have to refer ignou website there u will find oud some result otherwise you have attend a exam for training after qualifying there you will be sent for training you have to pay fee up to 2.50 lakhs
25th November 2009, 10:52 PM
saswata ghose s/o santanu

Apply for the College Prospectus by sending a Demand Draft of 550 Rs/- in favour of:

“ROYAL BOMBAY MANAGEMENT SERVICES PVT. LTD”
at the following address:
ROYAL BOMBAY MANAGEMENT SERVICES PVT. LTD,
406, SHIVAM CHAMBERS,
NEAR SAHARA TV OFFICE,
SV ROAD,
GOREGAON W,
MUMBAI – 400 062
this is a non government organisation through which one can try for marchant navy only after passing class X. my answer must be chnage after I passed XII.
9th December 2009, 03:30 AM
amarjit

u just need to do a course for 1 month and then you will be eligible for the job.....if is accompanied by a interview and medical check up.....apply to any of the govt. or private shipping company which gives the training as well as gives placement in their ships........

23rd December 2009, 02:10 PM

Since you are a mechanical engineer you can join merchant navy directly,as a 5th or junior engineer.

The required thing is that you have to undergo a 10 month pre-sea training in marine engineering which if offered by MERI,kolkata or recruiting company itself.
24th December 2009, 03:12 PM
balvir

u just need to do a course for 1 month and then you will be eligible for the job..........then there will be a interview and medical check up.....apply to any of the govt. or private shipping company which gives the training as well as gives placement in their ships.......
following is one best merchant navy company--www.namacindia.com
15th January 2010, 01:42 AM
ryan

ho abhigyan,

there are several private institutes which select engineering graduates for the officers post into merchant navy.
they conduct a written exam followed by a simple interview and then you have to go for a 2-3 months of sea training and you are in.

but i would suggest you to go for Marine Engineering & Research Institute (MERI), Mumbai,which offers 1 year course for Graduate Mechanical Engineers.The fees for this course is around Rs. 1,40,000/- including messing, uniform and accommodation.

The address is :

Marine Engineering & Research Institute,
Hay Bunder Road, Mumbai – 400 033,
Tel. 022- 3723577,
E-mail - [email protected]
25th January 2010, 03:50 AM
edward
Top Answerer

all you have to do is write a exam and pass the interview and the medical exam and go for 2-3 months sea training and then you will be eligible to join any company.
27th January 2010, 06:00 PM
ROHIT KUNDLIYA

www.namacindia.com/join_mn.htm. plese visit that site for more detail.

Officers

3 year degree course in Nautical Science for (10+2) students.

4 year degree course in Marine Engineering for (10+2) students.

2 year course for Diploma Holders.

1 year course for Graduate Mechanical Engineers.

3 month course for Deck Cadets for (10+2) students.
31st January 2010, 06:33 PM

you can join by doing a graduation in marine or nautical science you need to write in IIT JEE EXAM
16th February 2010, 10:10 PM
Abhay Jamwal

I am pursuiting my Non Med. XII.. About to pass out next month,2010.. I want to join merchant navy as an officer.. Which course should i join.. and which college should i apply for.. Can you please tell me where will i get the forms.. and when are the exams are conducted...
19th February 2010, 12:41 PM
atanu

you can give the exam..of merchant navy and join the merchant navy..
if you are graduate ...and within 24 years,and physically fit then you can go for it ...
okk
19th February 2010, 10:16 PM
abhishek yadav

What is the procedure to join merchant navy?and i want to3 month course for Deck Cadets for (10+2) students.
13th April 2010, 09:37 PM

@kumar.abhigyan

You have'nt mentioned your qualification,so that I can guide you accordingly.

However,there are various modes of entries for Merchant Navy.

As a DECK CADET.

You can have to undergo 12 months of pre-sean training the minimum requirement is you have passed your class 12 (PCM) if you have scored at least 60% aggregate.

As an OFFICER

For that you have to acquire at least a B.sc (Nautical science).

As a TRAINEE OR 5TH ENGINEER

For that you have to persue B.tech (Marine engineering). Or mechanical,electronics & telecomunication and electrical engineers can join it directly after persuing a 10 months pre-sea training in Merine engineering.So you have to go for this training. IT is offered by many institutes across India (For example- MERI,Kolkata etc.) or also by recruiting company itself.

Best of Luck
13th April 2010, 11:16 PM
nalanda

when ever the form of the application will be available then fill it and the all the information is given there.

also you can visits the given websites
www.namacindia.com
14th April 2010, 10:52 AM

firstly you have to pass the merchant navy exam,
once you pass the exam you are eligible to join the job.
If you do graduation the competitaion will be less, with less
competitaion you will get your job......

ok
14th April 2010, 02:02 PM
Bella

you have to appear for a written exam and then you have to do 6 months sea course and after that you can apply for any of the company you wish to join.........
15th April 2010, 02:28 PM
bond007

after completing your 12th you can appear for various entrance exam conducted by different companies..........if you clear it then you will be called for an interview and then for a medical test also...............clear all this exam and join the merchant navy compay of your choice..........
15th April 2010, 07:15 PM

can students passing out wid physics chemistry and biology join for merchant navy?
17th April 2010, 09:59 AM

@Unregistered guest.

Sorry dear, student pasing out with physics,chemistry and biology can not join merchant navy,as a Deck cadet or Ofiicer or Engineer.This because "Mathematics" is required as one of the main subject for all entry scheme.It is one of the most important tool in SEA,non-maths students can not even measure the sea distance in "KNOTS MILES".

However,still there is a you can join merchant navy after persuing 'Airhostess' or 'Cabin Cruie' training.

You can also get job in ongoing sea vessel and cruise by getting MBA (Aviation,hospitality and hotel management).

Best of Luck
19th April 2010, 04:50 PM

Can you please tell me where will i get the forms.. and when are the exams are conducted...
20th April 2010, 09:51 PM

HI I am a B.com Graduate and My age is 28 years, I wish to know if i can join merchant navy along the DECK Dept, if so please guide with precise website or college
address where i can go and register myself and begin the course. if you can refer me to some one my number is 9702470007 and i am from mumbai. Thanking in
anticipation.
Samir.
25th April 2010, 09:05 AM

pls tell me which DG registered private institution is giving pre sea training to electrical engineers such that they can join as 5th engineer or 4th engineer...
25th April 2010, 03:10 PM

whether a medical student can join merchant navy or can work in cruise liner ships after bsc nurnising.
27th April 2010, 01:45 PM

pls tell me which DG registered private institution is giving pre sea training to electrical engineers such that they can join as 5th engineer or 4th engineer...
Followings are some of the best Institutes for that purpose:-

ANGLO EASTERN MARITIME TRAINING CENTRE
Plot No. 50, Karmyog Building,
Parsi Panchayat Road, Opp. Serling Auto
Andheri East, Mumbai 400069, India.
Tel : 91-22-26837007, 26836721-24.

CHENNAI MARITIME ACADEMY
54 East Coast Road, Near RTO Office,
Thiruvanmiyur,
Chennai-600 041.

COIMBATOR MARINE CENTRE
1166 Maruvarasi Complex, Trich Road,
Coimbator-45.

DON BOSCO MARITIME ACADEMY
Premier Automobile Road Road, Kurla West,
Mumbai- 400070.

M R O
1/1 Bhaghajatin (1-Block)
Regent Estate, Calcutta 700092, India.

INSTITUTE OF MARINE ENGINEERS (India)
IMEI House, Plot No. 96, Sector-19, Nerul,
Navi Mumbai- 400 706, India.

INSTITUTE OF MARITIME STUDIES
ISBT Complex,
Bogda, Vasco-da-Gama,
Goa-403 802

INSTITUTE OF MARINE EDUCATION & TRAINING
Saguna More, Off Bailey Road,
Patna-801 503, India.

INDIAN INSTITUTE OF MARITIME STUDIES
# 61, Sector-2, Vikas Nagar,
Lucknow-226 022, India.

MARINE ACADEMY
Udyog Bhavan,, Unit No. 123, Sonawala Lane,
Goregaon (E), Mumbai 400 063,India.

MUMBAI MARITIME TRAINING INSTITUTE
Victor House, 1st Floor, Veera Desai Road, Andheri (W),
Mumbai 400053, India.

MARITIME FOUNDATION CHENNAI
Marine Centre, #37 East Mada Church Street
Roypuram, Chennai 600 013

INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE OF MARITIME STUDIES,

INDIAN MARITIME TRAINING CENTRE

HINDUSTAN INSTITUTE OF MARITIME TRAINING

EURO-TECH MARITIME ACADEMY Pvt. Ltd.

ACADEMY OF MARITIME EDUCATION & TRAINING

whether a medical student can join merchant navy or can work in cruise liner ships after bsc nurnising.
Courses like follwoings are there,buit I cant provide more details then that:-

Post Sea Medicare Course

Eligibility: Second Mate or NWKO (NCV) Certificate of Competency.

Post Sea Medicare First Aid/Pre Sea Elementary First Aid

Eligibility: ElementaryFirst Aid Certificate.

All these courses are offered by, So kindly contact them for further details on how to acquire the certificates etc.

BP MARINE ACADEMY
403, Sai Pooja Chambers
Plot 58, Sector 1, CBD Belapur,
Navi Mumbai- 400614.
Tel : 91-22-2757 4082.
Fax :91-22-2757 9103.

Best of Luck

~Faiyaz~
27th April 2010, 08:46 PM

i have given a class xii exam and result yet not come. iwant to know that how can i get admission in merchant navy and how much fees i have to paid for doing this course?
28th April 2010, 02:24 PM

i have given a class xii exam and result yet not come. iwant to know that how can i get admission in merchant navy and how much fees i have to paid for doing this course?
There are various modes of entries into Merchant Navy.

As a DECK CADET.: You can have to undergo 12 months of pre-sean training the minimum requirement is you have passed your class 12 (PCM) if you have scored at least 60% aggregate.Appearing candidates can get provissional admission.

As an OFFICER: For that you have to acquire at least a B.sc (Nautical science).Appearing candidates can get provissional admission.

As a TRAINEE OR 5TH ENGINEER: For that you have to persue B.tech (Marine engineering). Or mechanical,electronics & telecomunication and electrical engineers can join it directly after persuing a 10 months pre-sea training in Merine engineering.So you have to go for this training. IT is offered by many institutes across India (For example- MERI,Kolkata etc.) or also by recruiting company itself.Appearing candidates can get provissional admission.

Check Above the list of institutes which offers direct as well as entrance based admission to all above mentioned courses in Merchant Navy.

Best of Luck

~FAiyaz~

Last edited by faiyaz; 28th April 2010 at 02:25 PM. Reason: editting
9th May 2010, 11:39 AM

plasment of merchant nevy ?
11th May 2010, 12:10 PM

if i have got 60% marks in 12th(PCM) then how i can apply for merchant navy in mumbai institute without filling forms
20th May 2010, 01:44 PM

i have scored 54 percent in science in pcm in 12th class .do i hold a chance to join the merchant navy?
21st May 2010, 12:16 PM
herpreet singh

Location: herpreet singh s/o sr. kuljeet singh 215/371 harjeet bhawan bhashirat ganj lucknow -226004

Originally Posted by kumar.abhigyan View Post
i want to join merchant navy as a engineer. i m final year mechanical B.E STUDENT..what is procedure to join merchant navy..
hi i wanna tell u that there are many exams held by govt on the following way ok 7 if u wanna to join it then it would be complusory that u have to do ur b.tech from followoing field like electrical/mechanical & much more after ther exam will be held u have 2 clear the u can join it
i think it will helps u
2nd June 2010, 12:06 PM

i had submitted the form for imu cet exams which will be held on 19th june 2010. i want to know how can i prepare for the exams to get a good score. after giving this exam can i get direct admission in colleges like ts chanakya ,etc .
9th June 2010, 08:07 PM

i have got 58% in 12th in science will i get job in merchant navy?
10th June 2010, 03:49 AM

Threre are two possible ways to join Merchant Navy.

a)Joining the navigation department:
You will need to pursue Bachelors programme in Nautical science. The
course duration will be 3 years. After successfull completion of this
course, you may join merchant navy as Deck Cadet.

b) Joining the engineering department:
You will need to pursue Marine engineering. The course duration will be
4 years. A marine engineer could join merchant navy as junior engineer.

2. One can also join Merchant Navy through direct entry. Direct entry as Deck Cadet will need to go through a pre sea training arranged by the recruitter. The minimum qualification for direct entry as deck cadet is successful completion of 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Maths.
whereas, for direct entry in the engineering department of merchant navy, one needs to have a bachelors degree in engineering, along with 9 months of pre-sea course conducted by MERI.

Here is the list of some major institutes which offers courses for Merchant navy for the candidates who has qualified the entrance exam such as IIT JEE, AIEEE and others.

The Training Ship Chanakya (T S Chanakya), Karaus, Navi Mumbai.

Marine Engineering Research Institute, P-19, Taratolla Rd, Kolkata-700088

Marine Engineering & Research Institute, Hay Bunder Road, Mumbai - 400 033

Directorate General of Shipping, Jahaj Bhavan, Ballard Estate, Walchand Hirachand Marg, Mumbai 400001
20th June 2010, 12:27 AM

i want to dothe training nautical science, pls help me
5th July 2010, 02:19 AM

i have done diploma in mech.engg with 54%. Now my my que. Is how can i join merchat nevy as an 4th or jr.engg. i am 27 year old.

Vishal.
19th July 2010, 11:52 AM

i m in rd year of mechanical engg. and my age is 22 runnig .so it is possible to me join merchant navy?
2nd August 2010, 03:37 PM

sir, i hv passed 12sci with 46% nd i have completed seamen course.sir i dnt hv any idea plz give me sujjetion wat should i do nw cn i get admision in deck cadet.plz give me sujjetion sir.thank u
4th August 2010, 02:58 PM

sir this is nitin ihave done engineering in mechanical i want to join merchant navy directly pls advise me the procedure, and also what post will i get after doing mechanical engineering also what pay scale i will get
6th August 2010, 10:53 AM

The minimum qualification for direct entry as deck cadet is successful completion of 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Maths.
whereas, for direct entry in the engineering department of merchant navy, one needs to have a bachelors degree in engineering, along with 9 months of pre-sea course conducted by MERI.
6th August 2010, 05:00 PM

For joining the Merchant navy you should score at least 60 % in Physics ,Chemistry and Maths in your +2.Your age should not exceed 25 years. You need to have degree in Marine engineering or Nautical Science. There would be an entrance test followed by interview and medical test. Your eyesight should be 6/6.+/- 2.5 is also considered. You would be initially appointed as Deck cadet.
16th September 2010, 12:33 PM

i want to become deck cadet & engine which is the procedure in bp marine at cbd belapoor
16th September 2010, 12:37 PM

i want to become a deck cadet& engine in bp marine at cbd belapur which is the procedure
16th September 2010, 12:39 PM

iwant to become a deck cadet in merchant navy which is the procedure in bp marine at cbd belapur
28th November 2010, 05:44 PM

sir my name is ganesh & i m an 12th commerce student can i appear for merchant navy exams?
29th December 2010, 04:20 PM
ASAD ABBAS

details for filling form of deck cadet. what details are required for filling form. jh
31st December 2010, 02:06 PM

sir, i am a mechanical graduate and i have faith to get a job in merchant navy ship.so,please guide me to take path for 1 year pre- sea course.
6th January 2011, 10:29 PM

i'm an electronics engineer graduating in may....wht should i do to join merchant navy??
7th January 2011, 06:31 PM
priyanka_swengg

Smile Re: What is the procedure to join merchant navy?

i'm an electronics engineer graduating in may....wht should i do to join merchant navy??
yes you can go for merchant navy but being a ELECTRONIC engineer why you want to join merchant navy.......better option in same field is why dont you try for indian navy...........think on it..........and make decision.....

Always Indian NAVY as it is for technical people and give respectful post than Merchant navy.For merchant navy we need just 12th class and Indian NAVY need gaduation this make difference and also pay scale also high for Indian NAVY.