Difference between ANM (Nursing) and B.Sc Nursing

Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) in Nursing is an under graduate course of 4 years duration which deals with the study of basic fundamentals of nursing. Aspirants who possess at least 45% marks in the 10+2 exam can apply for this course. They can do B.Sc Nursing in various specializations.

Auxiliary Nursing Midwifery (Nursing) is a diploma course of 1 year duration which deals with the study of health care of various individuals. The duration of the course can vary up to 3 years depending on the institutes. A candidate who has a pass in the 10+2 level exam can apply for this course.

Both these courses provide an opportunity for the aspirants to choose a career in the field of nursing.

ANM (Nursing) and Opportunities

There are a numerous higher study options as well as career scope for an aspirant after successfully completing ANM (Nursing) course. Some of the work profiles of an aspirant with an ANM (Nursing) qualification include the following.

• Home Care Nurse
  • Nursing tutor
  • ICU Nurse
  • Health Care Nurse
  • Infection Control Nurse

Some of the common employment areas where an ANM (Nursing) Graduate can utilize his capabilities include the following.

• Hospitals
  • Educational Institutes
  • Medical Care Units

They have a great scope in India as well as abroad. They are offered very good remuneration also. Apart from India, there are a variety of work profiles abroad.

B.Sc Nursing and Opportunities

There are various higher study options as well as job opportunities for an aspirant who has completed B.Sc Nursing. They will be offered really good remuneration in reputed organizations. Some of the common work profiles of a B.Sc Nursing graduate include the following.

• Staff Nurse
  • Community Health Nurse
  • Nursing Advisor
  • Trainer
  • Nursing Supervisor

Some of the common employment areas of a B.Sc Nursing graduate are as follows.

• Hospitals
  • Nursing Homes
  • Educational Institutes
  • Private Clinics
  • Health Departments

Key difference between ANM (Nursing) and B.Sc Nursing

B.Sc Nursing is an under graduate course of 4 years duration where as ANM (Nursing) is a diploma course and its duration varies from 1 to 3 years depending on the institute. Even though the employment areas are same for a B.Sc Nursing graduate and an aspirant with ANM (Nursing) qualification, their work profiles and remuneration offered will be different.

15 Responses to “Difference between ANM (Nursing) and B.Sc Nursing”

1. 15
    P C BABU:

HI, NURSES, WE ARE PLACING MSC, BSC & ANM NURSES ABROAD.FOR ALL DETAILS MAIL [email protected]

2. 14
    Reshma:

Sir i would like to study ANM nursing i think it is a 1 year course pls help me i don’t knw the admission date and forms pls tell me the applying date

3. 13
    Nancy Gupta:

My B.sc. Nursing roll number- 201357. I am in general category. My combined rank is 61. So please tel wat is my rank only in general category n do i have any chance to get admission there. Please tell when will be counselling. Wat is counselling date. They will call us or send counselling letter. How will get to know when counselling will start. It is not provided in any site. Please tell sir, i’m getting worried. My email i.d. Is- [email protected]

4. 12
    Tadwala ashiya:

now i m doing bsc.nursing .after the complete of nursing i want to do post mbbs so kindly to you please give information about post mbbs

5. 11
    Tadwala ashiya:

now i m doing bsc.nursing .after the complete of nursing i want to do post mbbs so adviced

6. 10
    jayshree:

I have passed my B.Sc with zoology hons. Now i want to get admission in nursing course in a govt, institute . So what can i do plz.. Reply

7. 9
    punam kumari:

how many time periods of GNM course after complete course anm,, please give me rply soon,,,

8. 8
    sheetal:

What after a.n.m??????????

9. 7
    kishor:

when is the admission starts of anm in u.p. and college in agra ,and pls tellme about the procedure

10. 6
    saji thomas:

SIR i have already complite the anm course.now i service as health worker[f].i want to know how can i do the gnm course from in service of anm.
    is there any exemption in years

11. 5
    Lucy:

Is there any chance to do GNM course after ANM with Eight yrs of nursing experience.

12. 4
    dalpat:

Q1. ENTRANCE EXAM AFTER Bsc NURSING ?
    Q2. CAN I FIGHT RAS, IAS EXAM AFTER BscNURSING?
    Sir plz give me ans of these qustion

13. 3
    Abhipsa Bandyapadhyay:

SIR i have already complite the anm course.now i service as health worker[f].i want to know how can i do the gnm course from in service of anm.please give me the answer.

14. 2
    srinivasan:

How much money will require for doing b.sc nursing?

15. 1
    Anant:

I’ve completed my bsc. Nursing with 80.35% marks what course should i choose in hospital administration area?