PGIMER MS/MD/DM/M.Ch. 2011

Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education & Research (PGIMER) conducts a medical entrance exam for admission to its Post Doctoral and Post Graduate courses. There are separate entrance examinations for the post doctoral (DM/M.Ch.) and Post graduate (MD/MS) courses. A large number of candidates appear for these entrance examinations.  Students willing to take admission in this postgraduate institute have to collect an application form and submit it within the given date in order to enroll their names for the specified course. This exam includes short and tricky multiple type questions.

Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education & Research is located in Chandigarh. It was established in 1962 by the Government of Punjab. In 1967 it became an autonomous institution under the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India. The institute has the best of faculties for all the courses and very good infrastructure. The institute also provides excellent transport facilities to all the students who commute from different parts of the city.  The institute provides facilities like separate hostels for boys and girls, well equipped libraries, reading hall, seminar halls, outdoor and indoor sports grounds, medical room and dining hall for Staff, Students and visitors.

Popularity of the exam:

This entrance exam is recommended and considered to be highly competitive exam for those aspiring to get admission in various postgraduate and doctorate level courses under Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education & Research. Therefore students start preparing for it much before the actual entrance examination. From different states of our country students are coming to take admission in this institute.

To apply for post graduate medical courses MS & MD a candidate must have done MBBS from an institute recognized by Indian Medical Council. The candidates who will complete their internship before 30th June, 2011 can also apply. For post doctoral courses DM & M.Ch. candidates should have a post graduate degree in corresponding specialty. Also a candidate should not be more than 35 years of age for open category and 40 years of age for reserved categories.

Important Dates (Tentative):

Date of Entrance Test for MS/MD: fourth week of May, 2011

Date of Entrance test for DM & M.Ch.: second week of June, 2011

Last Date for receipt of completed application forms: end of the month of March, 2011

Examination Details:

For Post Graduate courses (MS/MD) the entrance test will be of 3 hours consisting of 250 multiple choice questions. There will be 5 options for each questions and negative marking of 1/4th marks for each incorrect answer.

For Post Doctoral courses (DM/M.Ch.) the entrance test will be of 1 and a half hour consisting of 80 multiple choice questions divided in 2 parts. First part will have no negative marking while the second part will have a negative marking for incorrect answers.

Availability of Application forms:

The forms for PGIMER will be available in the institute. The form can also be obtained by post from PGIMER by sending a Demand Draft along with the request for form. Candidates can also download the form online through the website pgimer.nic.in

Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education & Research

Sector-12, Chandigarh PIN- 160012,   INDIA

Phone: EPBAX: 0091-172-2746018, 2756565,2747585

Fax: 0091-172-2744401, 2745078

Email: [email protected]

52 Responses to “PGIMER MS/MD/DM/M.Ch. 2011”

1. 52
    Raghav kumar:

i had to give supple exam during first year mbbs am i eligible to give pgi for md/ms 2014

2. 51
    Dr,Prasanjit debnath:

i m doing my MD Pharmacology.Sir,i want to know what DM courses can i do besides DM Clinical Pharmacology..?am i eligible for DM Endocrinology??

3. 50
    dr.joginder singh:

what options are there after doing MD Pharmacology. Am i eligible for DM endocrinology?

4. 49
    Nidhi:

Sir i want to know about how to prepare for DM Clinical Pharmacology entrance exam…what books to read and plz can u provide me with few sample ,recent year papers…Kindly help me sir ..I am really confused..thanks

5. 48
    Dr. Avi:

I’ve done MD Pathology and would like to do DM in Hematopathology. Kindly let me know how to prepare and the books to be referred for the entrance examination. regards!

6. 47
    Dr.meera:

i had to give supplementary exam for one subject during my mbbs.am i eligible for giving pgimer ms/md nov,2011?

7. 46
    bharti tanwar:

When is the add for mch exam for admission to jan 12 expected. What is the tentative date?

8. 45
    Dr.Nagaraj Malipatil:

sir, can i get previous years question papers on entrance exam for dm in clinical pharmacology? what books are available to prepare for the same.? please do reply. thank you…

9. 44
    dr rajani:

can i get previous year s question papers on entrance exam for dm in clinical pharmacology?

10. 43
    dr.nikunja bihari das:

I am a pediatrician(M.D),onstate govt job.how to get DM ENDOCRINOLOGY.

11. 42
    Dr vava:

sir wat all books weand sylabus we should cover to appear for dm gastroenterology in pgi and all reputed dm exams? sir pls do reply

12. 41
    dr.chandana:

sir/madam i want to know whether md biochemist are eligible to write dm endocrinology and dm clinical hematology in pgimer , if yes wat books to refer

13. 40
    VANDANA:

I have done my MBBS from pokhra manipal university and MS gen surgery from manglore manipal university as nepali citizen.Can i apply for mch exam and can this degree be valid in india for practise as i married with indian boy?

14. 39
    Dr Sharma:

pgimer may 2011 result is out? where to find?

15. 38
    VALAPARLA VIJAYA LAKSHMI:

I have applied for PGIMER entrance examination. I am not in receipt of Hall Ticket so far.

VALAPARLA VIJAYA LAKSHMI

16. 37
    Dr. Bhatia:

Sir i’m doing my MD Gen Medicine. I would like to know about the syllabus for DM entrance exam. Sample papers, books to be read. Are the previous years papers available in market?

17. 36
    anand:

application form for md/ms is not in downloadable form ,from where i can get it.

18. 35
    Rohit:

how to prepare for DM pulmonary medicine examination & which books & sample papers are to be read for that?
    please help

19. 34
    Rohit:

how to prepare for DM pulmonary medicine examination & which books & sample papers are to be read for that?

20. 33
    dr patkar:

sir i am doing my md med and would like to know how to prepare for dm cardio in pgi the exam pattern and entrance books?

21. 32
    kishore:

sir,can i know about sits for general catagory

22. 31
    R.GOKUL KRISHNAN:

hello sir. i m doing my MD(PAED)… i am very much interested in doing DM(NEONATOLOGY) in pgi.. but i dont know how to prepare for the entrance and wat entrance books particularly to be followed for the entrance..please guide me….

23. 30
    dr. rajendra singh:

how many seats reserved for inservice candidate in july 2011 exam and which department

24. 29
    Dr. Gunjan:

i Vacancy position MD/MS seats in PGMIER Chandigarh
    ii Fees Structure

iii. Stipened

iv. Hostel facility

25. 28
    Gagan:

Kindly indicate:

i. Vacancy position MD/MS seats in PGMIER Chandigarh

ii. Fees Structure

iii. Stipened

iv. Hostel facility for girl candidates

26. 27
    Dr.kh.Amitkumar:

Sir,I am finishing my internship by the end of march.I have also selected in PG entrance exam Of RIMS,Imphal and I Choose general surgery..I want to prepare for MCH Cardiothoracic.How many seats are there for CTVS in your institute and how can I know the syllabus?

27. 26
    dr.vikas sharma:

I want to know about rural service or in service rules & reservation in pgi pre pg entrance exams.

28. 25
    satish bohara:

sir, i passed UG course from ex USSR I complited it in 2002 ipassed mci screening exam in 2005 in fifth attempt now i want to know that am i eligible for pgimer md/ms 2011 if i pass this exam can i will not be having any problem during counselling

29. 24
    Dr Nita Mech Baumatary:

Sir, I would like to know the syllabus for papers 1 & 2 of DM (pulmonary medicine) entrance exam.

30. 23
    vivek:

sir, is there any seat for md medicine under rural area ,it was present earlier what the situation now?

31. 22
    vivek:

sir, is there any seat for md medicine under rural area ,it was present earlier what the situation now?

32. 21
    anamika:

sir, i have completed MSc.home science in food nd nutrition.and plz give me information about the intership programe of dietition

33. 20
    Karuna:

what to study for DM entrance exams

34. 19
    rayees yousuf:

kindly tell me if there r any multiple choice question book avalable on nephrology

35. 18
    divya goel:

how to prepare for DM endocrinology examination & which books & sample papers are to be read for that?

36. 17
    Vivek:

Is there any rural seat for medicine in pgimer

37. 16
    aastha gupta:

how to prepare for DM in pathology?

38. 15
    dr.shree lakshmi:

I have completed MD pharmacology. Can I get DM clinical pharmacology entrance sample question papers.

Kindly reply to my mail.

39. 14
    dr.sheetal agrawal:

wats d eligibility criteria for giving nov pgi md/ms ???

40. 13
    deepak:

can I appear in the ctvs Mch entrance for sponsored category with a second attempt clearnce in microbiology and forensic in second MBBS ?

41. 12
    krishna:

How many seats are available in MD/MS courses per each session of admissions in a year.

42. 11
    ANSHUL:

PLEASE TELL ME HOW TO START FOR PREPRATIOPN FOR DM HEMATOLOGY

43. 10
    Rajendraa P:

I have completed MD pharmacology. Can I get DM pharmacology entrance sample question papers.

Kindly reply to my mail.

44. 9
    dr.prabhjeet kaur:

can u please tell me the highest marks obtained in post doctral enterance exam for neonatology separately in part 1 and part 2 .

45. 8
    niraj kumar:

i have not submitted attempt certificate as i was appearing in the MD exam at that time. what should i do now?

46. 7
    aravind:

if failed in 2 subjects(medecine,paediatrics) ..is he eligible to apply pg entrence

47. 6

about applicastion form

48. 5
    Bargavee Venkat:

I am completing Internship on 31.03.10 from MMC&RI, Chennai.How to enrol for PG in medicine Entrance Exam?

49. 4
    Dr Sushil:

I have completed DNB in paediatrics, am i eligible for DM Entrance exam

50. 3
    Ramindhu:

can foreign graduates enter?

51. 2
    Dr. Satish Kumar.M.C.:

I have completed MD pharmacology. Can I get DM pharmacology entrance sample question papers.

Kindly reply to my mail.

52. 1
    girish:

what DM courses/any other superspeciality courses,other than DM CLINICAL PHARMCOLOGY, can an MD pharmacology ,apply for?