CUSAT CAT-B.Tech 2012

This is a test held by CUSAT for its B.Tech programmes. Started in 1971, CUSAT is offering various courses in engineering and technology. CUSAT with twenty seven departments is offer several contemporary programs. CUSAT CAT-B.Tech test will provide an opportunity for those who prefer to pursue their career in engineering.

Structure of CUSAT CAT-B.Tech

The test is objective in nature. Negative marking will be there for the wrong answers. The subjects and number of questions for each of them are given below.

Mathematics-125 questions

Physics and Chemistry-125 questions (3:2)

Syllabus for CUSAT CAT-B.Tech

Physics

• Work, Energy and Power
  • Waves
  • Thermal and Chemical Effects of Currents
  • Solids and Semiconductor Devices
  • Rotational Motion
  • Ray Optics and Optical Instruments
  • Oscillations
  • Magnetism
  • Magnetic Effect of Currents
  • Laws of Motion
  • Introduction and Measurement
  • Heat and Thermodynamics
  • Gravitation
  • Electrostatics
  • Electrons and Photons
  • Electromagnetic Waves
  • Electromagnetic Induction and Alternating Currents
  • Description of Motion in Two and Three Dimensions
  • Description of Motion in One Dimension
  • Current Electricity
  • Atoms, Molecules and Nuclei

Mathematics

• Vector Algebra
  • Theory Of Equations, Sequence And Series
  • Probability Distributions
  • Matrices and Determinants
  • Integral Calculus And Its Applications Methods Of Integration Standard Types
  • Discrete Mathematics
  • Differential Equations
  • Differential Calculus
  • Complex Numbers & Trigonometry
  • Analytical Geometry

Chemistry

• Transition elements (3d series)
  • Surface chemistry
  • Solutions
  • Solid state
  • Reactions of benzene
  • Properties and uses of some important polymers
  • Principles of qualitative analysis
  • Preparation, properties and reactions of alkenes and alkynes
  • Preparation, properties and reactions of alkanes
  • Preparation and properties of the following compounds
  • Practical organic chemistry
  • Phenols
  • Nuclear chemistry

General topics

• Gaseous and liquid states
  • Extractive metallurgy
  • Energetics
  • Electrochemistry
  • Chemical kinetics
  • Chemical equilibrium
  • Carbohydrates
  • Atomic structure and chemical bonding
  • Amino acids and peptides

The candidates who intend to write this exam must have passed Plus two with subjects Physics Chemistry and Mathematics. Required percentage is 50% for Mathematics. Also, when all these subjects are combined the candidates should get 50% marks. The age of the candidate should not be more than 17 years.

How to Apply?

Candidates should apply for exam through CUSAT website. Website is www.cusat.ac.in or www.cusat.nic.in. Take the copy of online application submitted. This may be needed in future. So candidate should keep it. Also take the copy of challan form and check list. Application fee should be remitted at any branch of State Bank of India or State Bank of Travancore. They will give Student’s copy and University copy of challan after the payment of fee. Candidate should keep the student’s copy.  Print out of the online application, university copy and the documents specified in check list should be send to the address,

The Director, RAA Unit, Cochin University of Science and Technology, Cochin University P.O, Cochin, Kerala, Pin – 682 022.

Applications should reach within specified date. Application fee for different category is specified below.

• General Category- Rs.850/-
  • SC/ST Category- Rs.375/-
  • NRI Quota- Rs.5850/-
  • International students-US$ 100

How to fill the Form?

First of all, read the ‘Key Information’ carefully. Then start to fill the form. Candidates should carefully fill the part specifying communal or special reservation. Application should not be send with errors. Application should completely be filled according to the checklist. Fields with mark ‘*’ are specified as mandatory. It must not left without filling. Passport size photograph should be placed in the print out of the online application. It should be color photograph taken recently. Application without fulfilling these requirements will be rejected. There are Drop Down menus for selecting items. It can be used by clicking mouse or pressing enter button.

Important Dates (Tentative)

Date of Notification for CAT: 2nd Week of January, 2012

Date of commencement of online registration for CAT: 2nd Week of January, 2012

Last date for online registration for CAT: 1st Week of February, 2012

Last date for remittance of registration fee at the bank counter: 1st Week of February, 2012

Last date for receiving application: 2nd Week of February, 2012

Date of Downloading the Admit Card from the University website: 2nd Week of March to 1st Week of April

List of CUSAT CAT-B.Tech centers

• New Delhi
  • Kolkata
  • Mumbai
  • Chennai
  • Hyderabad
  • Bangalore
  • Jamshedpur
  • Lucknow
  • Ranchi
  • Varanasi
  • Kota
  • Allahabad
  • Thiruvananthapuram
  • Kollam
  • Pathanamthitta
  • Alappuzha
  • Kottayam
  • Idukki
  • Thrissur
  • Ernakulam
  • Palakkad
  • Malappuram
  • Kozhikode
  • Kannur
  • Wayanad
  • Kasargod

Contact Address for the CUSAT CAT-B.Tech

Cochin University of Science & Technology, Cochin-22, Kerala, India

Phone: +91-484-2575396, 2577550,

Fax: +91-484-2577595

Email: [email protected]

Colleges Accepting the CUSAT CAT-B.Tech score

• College of Engineering, Munnar, Idukki
  • College of Engineering, Thalassery, Kannur
  • College of Engineering, Kottarakkara, Kollam
  • College of Engineering, Kidangoor, Kottayam
  • College of Engineering, Adoor, Pathanamthitta
  • College of Engineering, Karunagapally, Kollam
  • College of Engineering, Chengannoor, Alappuzha
  • College of Engineering, Kallooppara, Pathanamthitta
  • Model Engineering College, BMC P.O., Thrikkakkara, Kochi
  • College of Engineering, Perumon, Perinad.P.O, Kollam
  • College of Engineering, Pallipuram, Cherthala, Allapuzha
  • College of Engineering, Poonjar, Thekkekkara.P.O, Kottayam
  • The Co-operative Medical College, H.M.T. Colony.P.O., Kochi
  • College of Engineering, Thrikkaripur, Cheemeni.P.O, Kasargod
  • Toc-H Institute of Science and Technology, Arakunnam.P.O, Kochi
  • K.V.M. College of Engineering and Information Technology, Alleppey
  • College of Engineering, GovT. ITI Campus, Attingal, Thiruvananthapuram
  • CMC Nursing college, Campus of the Co-operative Medical College, Kochi
  • T.K.M. Institute of Technology, Karuvelil, Musaliar Hills, Ezhukone, Kollam
  • Co-operative Institute of Technology, Palayanada P.O., Vadakara, Kozhikode
  • Sarabhai Institute of Science and Technology, Vellanada, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Central Institute of Fisheries, Nautical & Engineering Training (CIFNET), Kochi
  • Conspi Academy of Management Studies, Plankalamukku, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Recognized Institutions under Southern Naval Command Head Quarters, Kochi (SNCHQ)
  • M.G. College of Engineering, Thrikkanamangalam, Thiruvallam, Thiruvananthapuram
  • ER & DCI Institute of Technology, P.B.No 6520, Vellayambalam, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management-Kerala (IITM-K), ‘Nila’, Technopark

Reference Books for CUSAT CAT-B.Tech

• Advanced Level Physics by Nelkon and Parke
  • Concepts of Physics Vol I and II by H.C. Verma
  • Problems in Physics by A.A Pinsky
  • Aptitude Test Problems in Physics by S.S Krotov
  • A collection of questions and Problems in Physics by L.A. Sena
  • Elements of Dynamics Part I & II and Dynamics of a Particle & of Rigid Bodies by S.L.Loney
  • Physical Chemistry by P.Bahadur
  • Organic Chemistry by Arihant Prakashan
  • IIT Chemistry by O.P. Agarwal
  • General Chemistry by Ebbing
  • Physical Chemistry by P.W. Atkins
  • Maths XI & XII by R.S. Agarwal
  • Plane Trigonometry Part I and Co-ordinate Geometry by S.L.Loney
  • Higher Algebra by Hall & Knight
  • Co-ordinate Geometry by Dr. Gorakh Prasad
  • Higher Algebra by Bernard & Child
  • Algebra Made Easy by K.P. Basu
  • A Problem Book in Mathematical Analysis by G.N. Berman

Coaching Centers for CUSAT CAT-B.Tech

• T.I.M.E (Triumphant Institute of Management Education Pvt. Ltd
  • Aakash
  • Brilliants Tutorial Pvt.Ltd
  • Tandem
  • Sreekrishna Entrance Coaching Center
  • Career point
  • Oasis education services
  • Sahil study circle
  • J .R. S Tutorials
  • Prof P C Thomas Classes
  • Narayana IIT Academy
  • Hierank School of Competitions

Study Plan

Collect maximum study materials for studying. Divide that into different sections. Allocate a time slot for each of them. Revise whatever is studied by attempting past years question papers. Allocate some time for taking a break from studying.

How and Where To Get the Results?

Results can be accessed from the CUSAT website. The website is http://www.cusat.nic.in.

It can also be got from Director, Public Relations and Publications, CUSAT.

Score Validity

Valid period of this score is twelve months. After this period admission will not be given with this score.

56 Responses to “CUSAT CAT-B.Tech 2012”

1. 56
    Remya:

please tell me the qualification mark of CAT2012?

2. 55
    ajay:

Sir when is the CUSAT CAT-B.Tech 2012 exams to be held on ?

3. 54
    kalyan jee:

sir,we allready submitted my applicatin form but i wants to change my examination center, how can i change ?

4. 53
    REYNOSH SUNNY:

which is the date of B.Tech exam?

5. 52
    aneesha:

i have registered for the cusat,and also submiitted my application form.but i am not sure about my regestration number.is there any help i could get at the present situation,would the admit card be send to the address which i have provided?i am presently living in trivandrum,do i need to come to cochin to verify my application form sice i am not sure of it,please contact immediately because i am keen in geting into your college.and i hope you would give your full support towards it.

6. 51
    pranav:

sir,how can i check the status of my application form

7. 50
    Anandhu krishnan:

Sir, how can i check the status of the application form

8. 49
    VISAKH KUTTAN PILLAI:

I am Visakh studying in +2 and my d.o.b is 07/01/1994 am i eligible for writing cusat B.Tech? please tell immediately

9. 48
    DIVYA MARY T:

status of my application

10. 47
    Babitha:

Sir my name is babitha i m writing ths year my +2 again last year i lost my papers in cbse syllabus so can get admission in cochin unitsity?

11. 46
    reshma a vijayan:

Last date for remittance of registration fee at the bank counter??

12. 45
    vivek kumar:

how to fill cu sat online application form

13. 44
    SUHANA:

my date of birth is on 18/03/1993. Can i apply for this test?????

14. 43
    sidharth k ajith:

is my application valid or not ?

15. 42
    pintu singh yadav:

my application form has been recievedor not? please send me on my mail

16. 41
    FAMIYA JAFFER:

sir my application form is submited but photo & sign is not uploaded. wat should I do?

17. 40
    jaya:

my d.o.b is 08-10-1991. can i apply for cusat cat 2012 .please reply soon.thanks.

18. 39
    saurabh kumar:

sir,what is last date of aply online form

19. 38
    ANAND:

how to check whether my application is accepted or not ?

20. 37
    deepu k s:

i belong to obc(ezhava).what will be the fee structure when i am qualified in my cusat entrance?

21. 36
    siby:

i notice that the age limit should not be more than 17 .is it a printing mistake?

22. 35
    Ravi kumar:

My date of birth is 02-08-1993.
    Can i apply for cusat 2012

23. 34
    subham shivam:

my date of birth is 2/ 03/93 can i fillap this form.?

24. 33
    algebra:

Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across this board and I in finding It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to provide something back and aid others such as you helped me.

25. 32
    ashwathi.:

my date of birth is 16.02.1994 can i apply for the exam

26. 31
    prabhakar:

sir i have got less than 50% in math thats why this year i am giving inprovemental exam .can i fill up application form. pls reply

27. 30
    Rohit:

I have got 64% in p.c.m but in mathrmatics less than 50%.so what should fill up in application form.

28. 29
    pawan kumar:

sir,,,,,,,,,,, examination will be held on which date sir pls tell me

29. 28
    sikku:

my dob is 1993 dec13 am i elgible to write cuset b.tech entrence exam-2012

30. 27
    reshma:

sir, iam a plus two student .i wish to write cusat exam but i have seen the age limitation, my date of birth is 5.3.94.
    can i apply for the exam

31. 26
    Siby:

My DOB is 1993 Aug 26.
    Am I eligible to write CUSAT Btech Entrance Exam?

32. 25
    mohanan:

is above 17 years not eligible for the B Tech exam for 2012? my daughter’s date of birth is 30/06/1993. can i apply for her?

33. 24
    rahul raj:

what is the date of eaxm of 2012

34. 23
    Adheena T E:

Pl send me the date of application? Eligibility to apply?

35. 22
    muhammed shafeeq:

Is there entrance examination for B-arch in the CUSAT examination?

36. 21
    Avinash upadhyay:

Sir, by which date form will b available……?

37. 20
    Rahul Pradeep:

My DOB is 03/12/1994 .
    Can I apply for Etrance?

38. 19
    rima:

how can i apply for cusat engineering entrance exam 2012 by online? and from where i could find the application form?

39. 18
    shantanu singh:

plz,tell the date on which application form will come nd also tentative date 4 entrance………..

40. 17
    Reshma:

sir,my birth of date is 5.3.94
    can i apply for the exam

41. 16
    RINI JACOB:

I would like to know following,

Is there any scholarship programme or financial aid according to merrit ?

Will it be considered SAT Level 2 Score ?

If so what will be CUSAT fees structure.

42. 15
    Ravish:

Sir my date of birth is 02/02/1993.can i apply for cusat 2012

43. 14
    Firoz babu:

my date of birth is 06-oct-1993.
    Can i able to write cusat cat b-tech 2012?

44. 13
    shisham kumar rai:

mera date of birth 20/02/1996hai kya mai cusat ke liye apply kar sakta hu .aur kya isme diffense servese ka alag se koi kota hai

45. 12

Sir my date of birth is 10-10-1994,can i fill the form.

46. 11
    Vishal kumar:

sir i have to ask that i have got 46 marks in mathematics may i sit in cusat 2012 but i have got more than 50% in P.C.M. pls reply .

47. 10
    bindu:

from where will i get the key information to fill the online application?
    when will i start online registration?

48. 9
    jitesh kumar:

B-TECH APPLICATION ,WHEN IT WILL COME?

49. 8
    muhammed savad:

fee structure of B-Tech 2012-2016

50. 7
    sudhir:

applicatiln form kab tk ayga

51. 6
    RISHI RAJ:

sir, my date of birth is 15/02/1994 can I fill the form

52. 5
    Raushan kumar:

my date of birth is
    14/09/1994.
    Can i fill the form.

53. 4
    Sonu saurav:

Sir,i will passed in 12 th class by 60% and in P.C.M above 50% but in math only 46 number can i seet in cusat exam

54. 3
    Manish:

fee structure for b-tech 2012-2016

55. 2
    jay lalita:

sir,i have completed my 12 in 2010 can i sit cusat 2012 .

56. 1
    Anuj mishra:

sir,i want modal paper of this exam.i also want marks criteria