24th September 2010, 09:49 PM
Unregistered

What is the procedure to join Merchant Navy? Age limit and requirements for joining merchant navy?

Respected sir,
I am having 3 year diploma in electrical enggineering with 62% marks then i changed my field and selected mechanical engg.Now i am in last semester of b.tech in mechanical engg.I am having great interest in merchant navy and want to job in merchant navy at any cost.I want to ask that what is the procedure for joining merchant navy,what is the age limit,what is the %age recquirement for job in merchant navy and what are the other requirment should be considerd?Sir please help me.Sir my mail id is [email protected] will be thank full to you.

12th May 2011, 10:30 PM
ASHUROCKSTAR

Default Re: What is the procedure to join Merchant Navy? Age limit and requirements for joining merchant navy?

friend,
i liked your spirit,how devoted you are for merchant navy.

All Indian citizen after completing their engineering are eligible to join merchant navy.For this you have to appear in the entrance exam conducted by institutes like IIT.

As you are a mechanical engineering student,you may get some exception in some courses. Some institution offer courses especially designed for mechanical engineering stream.these courses are available to Indian students at different government and private institutions.There are many institutes offering these courses,like,chanakya institute in navi mumbai ,LBS institute in Mumbai,MERI institute in both Mumbai and Kolkata.

Hope this information will be valuable to you.

with regards
your well wisher
13th May 2011, 03:44 PM
rohitkumarramesh
Senior Member++++

Default Re: What is the procedure to join Merchant Navy? Age limit and requirements for joining merchant navy?

Career in Merchant Navy can be pursued either as an officer or a rating in mainly two specialized fields, i.e. Marine Engineering and Nautical (deck).